Longmont, CO 
Loomiller Park Share
Uploaded By: Leroy Hole #3 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
That Was Interesting

2-4    10/4/2014   10/7/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 100  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed course that sits in a well maintained park. There are plenty of mature trees to play through and around, which does tend to be rare out of the mountains in Colorado. There are some great new signs and the poured tee pads are all still in great condition. The few tee pads on the side walks are good as well. The baskets were all on good condition as well. The course has a lot of unique challenges from one hole to the next, it will keep you thinking from start to finish. There are a few really classic holes that you just want to remember. There is a great local community that loves this course and seems to take care of it. The park does have other attractions for the non-disc golfers in the family and there is a bathroom in the park near holes 5 and 6. There is also a nice picnic area and the pond has lots of great places to sit and observe. There are two practice baskets that sit on the other side of the picnic area from hole 1's tee pad.
Cons: This park does get a lot of non disc golf visitors and they really seem to be clueless. It is right next to Longmont High School and I imagine there is often an interesting crowd of young people at this course. The two holes that play over the water might be a bit intimidating for players that do not throw that far. There are only 9 holes, but only because I enjoyed my round so much and wished there were another 9 holes of similar design. The course does seem to take up most of the space in the current park.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time at the first sanctioned tournament. I really had an enjoyable time and felt like the course wasn't that hard to figure out. This is the home course of 2014 Amateur National Champion Colten Montgomery. Please do be careful of other park users when playing this course, they tend to be all over the place and pop up randomly. Apparently there is an alternate set of tees that makes up a back 9. They are supposed to be marked but I never found them and apparently they would be tough to play with others playing the normal layout. I would recommend finding a course guide to help with that. The only parking for the park is on the street. Be careful if you park too far west near the first tee as you put your car in the way of the huge anhyzer line for hole 9. Hole 1 is on the North side of the park, furthest away from the high school. Directions given to me by Google Maps were slightly different than what is posted on here, but both work well. There is also a route in from the north that is faster than going all the way down to 119.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Interesting park course

5+    10/4/2014   10/6/2014
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 41  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great use of land. Not a large park but all 9 holes have decent distance with none being very short

-More obstacles than a small course like this would normally have. Trees, pond, etc.

-Can be made even more challenging by playing sidewalks and beyond as OB, as it was during the recent Lunacy tournament
Cons: -Park goers have no concept of disc golf and don't know to watch out. PLEASE play with caution

-Tons of sidewalks. Can easily make a drive go awry into an area you don't want

-Two holes play a little too close to the playground for comfort. Again, PLEASE be careful
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course by any means but still worth a play. Only 9 holes, so you can get in a quick round if you're in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Use that lake!

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Were there 2 practice baskets? I think so, one at the very least.
-Detailed signs and intuitive layout make this course quite easy to navigate.
-Probably won't lose a disc here unless you really botch holes 1 or 3. If you throw into the lake, your odds are not good. It is fairly murky and looks like it drops off right away. There are some trees that could hang up a disc but you can get those down.
-Adequate tees made of concrete.
-Bathrooms, shelter, playground, paths, are also in this park.
-Mini garbage cans on every tee. They look to be emptied often.
-Decent length and variety of length. Some of the shots were on the long end for a parks style course and others were ace runs but not too short and almost always incorporated some obstacle.
-The park looked well maintained. No erosion issues, garbage, etc
-Multiple pin locations that look to offer a variety of looks at most holes.
-Starts and finishes near the same place (north side of park)
Cons: -Goose poop everywhere.
-Can get quite busy with the school right next door.
-May have to wait for other park users to pass through on the paths. The course does a good job of avoiding other park amenities.
-Bathrooms were locked when I was there. I really had to use them!
-The course is pretty flat.
-They should have incorporated the pond into the layout more. At least as alternate tees so that you have the option to throw the more difficult and interesting tee shot.
Other Thoughts: -Try to not play after school or during lunch, you will be dealing with teens.
-This is a solid combo with Clark Centennial less than 2 miles away. Both courses are pretty fun park style 9s that are challenging enough for a variety of skill levels. Definitely worth playing at least once.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Round and around

1    1/18/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate.
Makes use of the few landmarks and terrain items.
Nice signage, with easy to ID pins. You can be sure you know what distance you need to hit.
Cons: Geese, and their doo-doo.
Across from the high school: best behavior! (The kids need good role models).
This is a multi-use park, so delays while sharing the park will be inevitable.
A little tedious shot selection, but it is only a 9er, after all.
Other Thoughts: I played this course at 8 in the morning,it was 19 degrees (f), and sunny. There were no other golfers out, but a few civilians were enjoying the park. The distances and simple shots were good for me, as a beginner with a fair all-around game. I would not drive here just for this course, but I will stop by every time I'm in town on business (unless I decide I like Clark Centennial better; that will be on a different trip, though).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    8/18/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: Baldzillabill
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout. plenty of challenges and short and long shots.
Cons: Holes 1 and 3 are water infused! I lost a disc on my first throw. Couldn't use my retriever because it is so rocky in the water.
Other Thoughts: Just play it safe on holes 1 and 3 if you're a novice as myself. you will lose your disc if not careful.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hole 1 And Then Some !

1    7/18/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Along with Clark Centennial Park this gives Longmont two fine 9 hole courses in close vicinity. They both have much in common, being typical city park 9 holers, that recreational challenging in a grassypark with mature trees and both features water hazards. I thought the pond throw on # 1 was flat out scary. Throwing straight overto the pond directly to the basket was definitely out of my comfort zone and throwing around the pond to the right still left the tree looming to possibly bat my disc into the foreboding murky pond. I later watched a couple of locals take the safe route aound the pond. Hole # 3 is much easier throw across the pond there.
The course features concretepads, nice course sign, Innova baskets with yellow rims and visible numbers. 4 & 5 tee off the sidewalks. There are garbage cans at each tee.
Cons: Except for # 1 & 3, all the holes kinda had the same feel. Just your basic hyser throws, retty wide open and flat.
Other Thoughts: I think the designers did a nice job with what they had here. The two water holes certainly make the course memorable in my book. This, coupled with Clark, would make a nice little 18. This is just a solid little 9 holer but all in all, I prefer Clark a little more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, Easy, Fun

5+    5/27/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course requiring a fair amount of long drives coupled with accuracy. There are a fair amount of trees throughout the park, and a large pond which comes into play on holes 1 and 3... however I would not call the course technical. There are obstacles, but you find yourself throwing the same shot for a majority of the course. Considering it is such a small park, I think they did a quality job of hole layout with what they had.
Cons: This place is right next to a (middle or high?) school and can get overrun with younger kids not playing disc golf during the school year. I have played the course ten or so times, and seen two fights between middle-schoolers on holes 3 and 5. Having said that, these kids disappear after the school year is over, and the park is usually vacant. There is also a sandbox/playground area in the middle of the course which comes into play on 1,7, and 8 which mothers often bring little children to. If you play with accuracy, they are not an issue, but I always feel uneasy hurling a driver with a two year old nearby.
Other Thoughts: Come here after the Colorado middle school year has ended... there will more than likely be nobody at this course. If you come during the school year however, expect a completely different story.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.