Longmont, CO
Loomiller Park Share
Uploaded By: Leroy Hole #8 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Use that lake!

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Were there 2 practice baskets? I think so, one at the very least.
-Detailed signs and intuitive layout make this course quite easy to navigate.
-Probably won't lose a disc here unless you really botch holes 1 or 3. If you throw into the lake, your odds are not good. It is fairly murky and looks like it drops off right away. There are some trees that could hang up a disc but you can get those down.
-Adequate tees made of concrete.
-Bathrooms, shelter, playground, paths, are also in this park.
-Mini garbage cans on every tee. They look to be emptied often.
-Decent length and variety of length. Some of the shots were on the long end for a parks style course and others were ace runs but not too short and almost always incorporated some obstacle.
-The park looked well maintained. No erosion issues, garbage, etc
-Multiple pin locations that look to offer a variety of looks at most holes.
-Starts and finishes near the same place (north side of park)
Cons: -Goose poop everywhere.
-Can get quite busy with the school right next door.
-May have to wait for other park users to pass through on the paths. The course does a good job of avoiding other park amenities.
-Bathrooms were locked when I was there. I really had to use them!
-The course is pretty flat.
-They should have incorporated the pond into the layout more. At least as alternate tees so that you have the option to throw the more difficult and interesting tee shot.
Other Thoughts: -Try to not play after school or during lunch, you will be dealing with teens.
-This is a solid combo with Clark Centennial less than 2 miles away. Both courses are pretty fun park style 9s that are challenging enough for a variety of skill levels. Definitely worth playing at least once.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Round and around

1    1/18/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate.
Makes use of the few landmarks and terrain items.
Nice signage, with easy to ID pins. You can be sure you know what distance you need to hit.
Cons: Geese, and their doo-doo.
Across from the high school: best behavior! (The kids need good role models).
This is a multi-use park, so delays while sharing the park will be inevitable.
A little tedious shot selection, but it is only a 9er, after all.
Other Thoughts: I played this course at 8 in the morning,it was 19 degrees (f), and sunny. There were no other golfers out, but a few civilians were enjoying the park. The distances and simple shots were good for me, as a beginner with a fair all-around game. I would not drive here just for this course, but I will stop by every time I'm in town on business (unless I decide I like Clark Centennial better; that will be on a different trip, though).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

1    8/18/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: Baldzillabill
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout. plenty of challenges and short and long shots.
Cons: Holes 1 and 3 are water infused! I lost a disc on my first throw. Couldn't use my retriever because it is so rocky in the water.
Other Thoughts: Just play it safe on holes 1 and 3 if you're a novice as myself. you will lose your disc if not careful.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hole 1 And Then Some !

1    7/18/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Along with Clark Centennial Park this gives Longmont two fine 9 hole courses in close vicinity. They both have much in common, being typical city park 9 holers, that recreational challenging in a grassypark with mature trees and both features water hazards. I thought the pond throw on # 1 was flat out scary. Throwing straight overto the pond directly to the basket was definitely out of my comfort zone and throwing around the pond to the right still left the tree looming to possibly bat my disc into the foreboding murky pond. I later watched a couple of locals take the safe route aound the pond. Hole # 3 is much easier throw across the pond there.
The course features concretepads, nice course sign, Innova baskets with yellow rims and visible numbers. 4 & 5 tee off the sidewalks. There are garbage cans at each tee.
Cons: Except for # 1 & 3, all the holes kinda had the same feel. Just your basic hyser throws, retty wide open and flat.
Other Thoughts: I think the designers did a nice job with what they had here. The two water holes certainly make the course memorable in my book. This, coupled with Clark, would make a nice little 18. This is just a solid little 9 holer but all in all, I prefer Clark a little more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, Easy, Fun

5+    5/27/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course requiring a fair amount of long drives coupled with accuracy. There are a fair amount of trees throughout the park, and a large pond which comes into play on holes 1 and 3... however I would not call the course technical. There are obstacles, but you find yourself throwing the same shot for a majority of the course. Considering it is such a small park, I think they did a quality job of hole layout with what they had.
Cons: This place is right next to a (middle or high?) school and can get overrun with younger kids not playing disc golf during the school year. I have played the course ten or so times, and seen two fights between middle-schoolers on holes 3 and 5. Having said that, these kids disappear after the school year is over, and the park is usually vacant. There is also a sandbox/playground area in the middle of the course which comes into play on 1,7, and 8 which mothers often bring little children to. If you play with accuracy, they are not an issue, but I always feel uneasy hurling a driver with a two year old nearby.
Other Thoughts: Come here after the Colorado middle school year has ended... there will more than likely be nobody at this course. If you come during the school year however, expect a completely different story.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.