Longmont, CO 
Loomiller Park Share
Uploaded By: Leroy Hole #8 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good practice round

5+    10/4/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very clean park setting.
-Concrete tees and signs at every hole.
-Multiple pin placements.
-Water in play on two holes adds risk.
-Brand new baskets, with a practice basket at the first tee.
-Good variety of hole distances, with a few air it out holes and a few ace runs.
-Good use of the mature trees in the park, leading to nice, defined lines.
-Restrooms on site.
-The pavillion on hole 1 is a great "staging area" for the frequent league/doubles nights.
Cons: -The park is a shared park, and gets crowded. It's not terrible, but you'll likely end up waiting for walkers, or giving a heads-up shout to the groups of kids that seem to gather. All in all, everybody is understanding.
-Johnny Law! Watch those beers, 'cause they will be. We had some officers watch us with binoculars for four holes...
-Most holes tend to be hyzer lines, which can get repetitive. Still worth a play.
-If your disc goes in the pond, kiss it goodbye. It gets deep fast, but is easily avoidable.
Other Thoughts: This park is right up the street from Clark Centennial, which is another nine-holer. The two together are worth the trip to Longmont. Both are very well maintained, and fun to play. It's easy to sneak a couple of rounds on either within a couple of hours, and the alternate tee placements do a great job of keeping them from getting stale. I consider them both my local practice courses, and the Long's Peak Disc Golf Club is very active on both. There are regular meet-ups on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and they are always eager to play with new folks. Worth the trip, and you can bag two fun courses in an afternoon!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for just 9 holes

2-4    9/9/2010   7/9/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is similar to expo park in Aurora, with the exception of the water is not all swampy. There are a few trees offering shade along with a nice pond in the middle of the park.
Cons: This course is too short.
Other Thoughts: This is a small city park, with plenty of other pedestrians walking around. Be careful before you tee off.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, Easy, Fun

5+    5/27/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course requiring a fair amount of long drives coupled with accuracy. There are a fair amount of trees throughout the park, and a large pond which comes into play on holes 1 and 3... however I would not call the course technical. There are obstacles, but you find yourself throwing the same shot for a majority of the course. Considering it is such a small park, I think they did a quality job of hole layout with what they had.
Cons: This place is right next to a (middle or high?) school and can get overrun with younger kids not playing disc golf during the school year. I have played the course ten or so times, and seen two fights between middle-schoolers on holes 3 and 5. Having said that, these kids disappear after the school year is over, and the park is usually vacant. There is also a sandbox/playground area in the middle of the course which comes into play on 1,7, and 8 which mothers often bring little children to. If you play with accuracy, they are not an issue, but I always feel uneasy hurling a driver with a two year old nearby.
Other Thoughts: Come here after the Colorado middle school year has ended... there will more than likely be nobody at this course. If you come during the school year however, expect a completely different story.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Polished Nine Holer

1    7/8/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are multiple pin positions, and most are easy open positions to spot from the tee box. Number nine has a whopping four pin positions, and the long plays across number one over 500'. Depending on placement, the course plays longer than 2674' length posted on this site, so big arms will still enjoy this place.

There are large concrete tees, and full color signs indicating the length of each pin position. There is even a small trashcan attached to each tee marker, which is a great little feature you don't see on many courses.

There is water in play on holes #1, #2, #3, but #1 is the only place where losing a disc seemed like a possibility. The park is itself is flat, but well done with playgrounds and bathrooms so you can keep the family happy while you get in a round.

BEST HOLE/S: #9
Cons: The course itself is pretty repetitive. Although there are an okay amount of trees, I found myself getting a little bored after #5.

The fantastic pond, as mentioned in previous reviews, isn't a real integrated feature anymore - which is unfortunate since it's the best part of this flat straight forward course. There are also walking trails with lots of foot traffic that can slow down your round.

WORST HOLE/S: #4; #5
Other Thoughts: I was happy to make Loomiller Park my 100th course played. Although it's not a destination location, the installers did a fantastic job of making this place look good. They put in quality boxes, signage, and choices on pin placement, which far and away gives Longmont the most polished courses in the northern Colorado area.

Granted it's only nine holes, but the equally good and newer Clark Centennial Park is right down the road - making it the best one two combo north of Denver. In my opinion, Edora Park in Fort Collins, and Oxbow DGC in Windsor are better individual front range courses, but I would be happy to have Longmont and Loomiller Park or Clark Centennial Park be my home course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Passing through

1    7/11/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course was well maintained, and trash-free. The tee boxes were clean, and each one provided a trash can. Also, the road made for n interesting OB.
Cons: I think the pond could have been integrated more. It only came into play on the first two. It's such a nice OB, I would've liked to play over it more. The course didn't have any really long holes despite having some extra room in the park. A nice local lead me through a mildly confusing course. The openness of the course, the roads, and telephone wires prevent the sublime feeling most courses give.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/1/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: sllaptaztik
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is very well place using the lakes and tree's as obsticles. Challenging and easy at the same time!!!
Cons: The course is usually over run with careless high school kids during spring and fall.
Other Thoughts: The course is equiped with bathrooms, picnic tables and shelters, and also the park is very well maintained.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 impressed for a 9 hole in CO

1    8/20/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: colodiscgolfer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained park! The grass looks like it could be from a ball golf course. Great tees, great baskets, and 2 different practice baskets about 150 ft from each other around a tree so you can throw approaches back and forth then putt out to warm up. Trash bins at every tee! The water hazards come into play, but as long as you don't completely shank your drive, they aren't very menacing. I actually enjoyed the holes played next to the street where you can put your drive out over the road and watch it fade back in. Course design in the pin positions we played showed good use of the obstacles present, some had light posts directly in line with pin, others were fairly well guarded by trees. Played on a thursday evening, and I didn't really have a problem with foot traffic and overcrowding which was a big concern based on other reviews. The signage was top notch, with overhead shots of all pin placements and distances. The front board that has the course map also included club info, all recorded aces, and lots of other good info. I was impressed at the effort that went into the signage here.
Cons: There's no elevation change on this park at all. I could definitely see that foot traffic and overcrowding were a possibility, even if that wasn't the case when we were there. I also see where others didn't like throwing over (or next to) the road, but I was entertained by it.
Other Thoughts: Of the 9 hole course I've played here in CO, I'd have to rank this as the best one yet. It's not going to ever be a world class tournament quality course, but was very well designed for the space it uses, and was flat out more interesting holes than the other 9's I've played out here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good 9 hole play

1    9/21/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 3/31/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a beautiful park with nice grass and some scattered pines that provide most of the challenge. The first hole requires a nice drive over a small pond. The pond also comes into play on a later hole as well. Most holes are fairly open and short to medium range in length. A couple of holes lie in line with the road making this a danger zone and a good challenge. Not too much accuracy required, so if you can throw 400' drives, every hole can be a potential 2 on the scorecard.
Cons: Loomiller park is very close to the high school, making this a busy area during weekday hours. Other than a few moderately technical holes, the course is pretty open and flat.
Other Thoughts: When I played it was about 2 hours before sunset on a weekend. The course was empty, looked great, and I had an enjoyable round with my fair share of birdies.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/14/2008   4/15/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good 9 hole nestled in the center of Longmont, Co. Extremly technical course with Old trees and water that plays into Hole 1, 2 and 3. Mulitple locations for Baskets keep course interesting. A good mix of length and some long holes make this course a challenging 9 hole. Very easy to navigate. All tee pads are cement and well marked.
Cons: Constant traffic that can block off or hold up holes. Holes 4, 5 and 9 play along very busy side streets and cars are always parked along the road. This makes it much more technical But a bad shot and you can take out a car easy.
Other Thoughts: A fun course that is a quick to play and a lot of diversity. Traffic on this course can make you have to skip a hole or two. Overall a fun course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Loomiller in Longmont

5+    3/1/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: byoung39
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: * Open shots
* Nice pin placement variety
* Water hazard in play
Cons: * Paths & people through the middle of the park
* Not enough obstacles
Other Thoughts: For a 9 hole course in a small park, this course is pretty decent. The creators of this course did a GREAT job with the space they had. But, the foot traffic through the middle of the park (and course) can be pretty frustrating. This is a great practice course, but once you have your shots down, it can get a little repetative. Good course to play, but not one you want to be your home course all of the time.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center