Marble Falls, TX
Westside Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: skurf Hole #5 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Blue Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well Designed 9 Holer

5+    11/27/2013   11/27/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 45  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This compact 9 hole course plays around a city park. Typical mowed turf and trimmed up mature trees with no underbrush. Creek is in play on several holes. Water level varies widely with rainfall.

While there are no tunnel shots or tight drives, there are enough trees on some holes to require line shaping. Both hyzer and anhyzer shots come in handy.

Large concrete teepads are great. Most holes offer two tees (red and blue). Holes 3, 6, and 8 have a single tee. Excellent signs at start of course and at each tee position.

Discatcher baskets in good shape, though the basket at Hole 8 was leaning due to catching debris in a recent flood.

Hole 3 requires a shot onto a raised "island" green and Hole 4 drives across the creek to a hidden basket at the tip of a peninsula created by a bend in the creek. The Hole 6 drive requires a carry across the creek. While short, these holes are among the more interesting on the course.

A few baskets are set at the edge of the creek, so some risk/reward comes into play. If you run a putt and miss you may end up wet or at the bottom of the creek bank. On some holes it is 10' - 15' down to the creek.
Cons: Several of the holes (1, 2, 7, & 8) offer wide open drives and little challenge in the way of obstacles.

On two different occasions recent rainfall has made parts of the course difficult to play. The course crosses back and forth over a creek several times, and when water is high the crossings can be tricky. For instance, crossing from Hole 7 to 8, and then back from Hole 8 to 9 may require walking up to 2nd street which adds several hundred feet each time.

Little elevation change available at the course. Hole 6 is a downhill drive across water, but that is about it.
Other Thoughts: Large parking lot and adjacent restrooms are a plus.

While none of the holes play particularly close to the playground or picnic tables, there could be some delays or pedestrian issues on a busy weekend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Used To Be Nice

5+    6/27/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: A Wise Engineer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tees

- Nice Signs

- Restrooms

- Nice mix of distance and precision

- Multiple Tee Boxes for most holes

This course is a decent 9-hole course that is a good fit for amateurs and experienced disc golfers alike. It has a nice mix of long open fairways and challenging obstacles. I live just down the road and have been enjoying this course since it was built.
Cons: This course used to be extremely nice when it first opened, but it's been all downhill since then. A heavy lack of maintenance has lead to sticker burrs and tall grass around holes 6-9. The creek has dried up all but on holes 6-9, where it has just become stagnant and disgusting. Even saw a water moccasin on the sixth hole the other day crossing over to the basket. Lots of opportunities to lose discs around water hazards due to grass not being kept.
Other Thoughts: Overall the design of this course is nice for a 9-hole. Definitely worth a play if you're in the neighborhood but be careful. Just navigating the course can be dangerous, and all in all I recommend avoiding the pit of filth that has become the 6th hole unless you're a professional.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth a play, if you're in the area

1    5/23/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course utilizes some of the unique topography and trees in the park to provide an experience that is varied in look and challenge. The course tests distance, accuracy, and provides several strategic decision-making shots.

The signage, tee pads, and ease of navigation get high marks. The two sets of tees compliment each other well in accomodating players of a fairly wide range of skill levels and variety for the locals.
Cons: As a previous reviewer noted, some of the water crossings are a little precarious. It greatly surprised me to see two creek crossings on elevated logs in a public park. Locals told me that a friend of theirs had fallen and blew up her knee from one of the crossings.

From hole 3's basket, the walk to hole 4's tee crosses immediately next to hole 2's basket.

Hole 1 offers a left to right shot and a right to left shot. The right to left shot has a stand-up bbq grill in the middle of the shot, which is only 20 ft. away from a picnic table.

Hole 8, unfortunately had several trees die which had provided the only challenge on the hole and now it's a wide-open dinker.

The creeks are disc-eaters :(
Other Thoughts: Be a kind disc golfer: leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/11/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: I really enjoyed Westside. Friendly locals to great signage. The first hole is about 30 yards from the parking lot by some enclosed fence. This is a 9 holer that has shorts and longs. The tee pads were in great condition and so were the tee signs. The tee signs were excellent they were typically Houck tee signs with an accurate map and distance. The DiSCatchers were in great shape.The course used all the elevation that was possible. There was a mix of short technical holes to a little bit of room to stretch arm. There was even a blind shot on hole 4.
Cons: There really isnt too many cons except from tee pad to basket. What I mean is the crossing to progress throughout the hole such as Hole 5 was a little scary walking across the telephone pole. You are extremely high. Also, Hole 6, where you cross the wooden planks in the water are a little wobbly. And after hole 7 going to 8 to cross the creek you have to walk on rocks that are pretty spaced out. I had no problem but I imagine someone who is older may have trouble or someone who may have balance issues.
Other Thoughts: This was an awesome course. The navigation was easy and some really exciting shots, I only played the shorts but I imagine playing both the shorts and longs would make the course a very good 18 holes.

 I'm not a fan of Houck design.

1    9/27/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: osbogosley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 31.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great signs. Big enough cement tee pads.
Cons: Typical of Houck designs in that if you want to score well play safe. Drop offs behind baskets encourage safe layups. Creek near baskets-don't run at for fear of ob. One dimentional holes-one route. Short holes are too short, I threw putter from standing. Grass was very long. A few rather long walks to next tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park with high ground and some elevation but the course is in the flood zone.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Houck did it again!!!!

1    8/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Lead pipe
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The design of the course is perfect for the land that was alloted. Has great holes that include some par fours. Great tee boxes for both red and blue along with detailed tee signs.
Cons: IT'S ONLY 9 HOLES!!!!!!!!
Other Thoughts: Drive out there... Grip and rip... Play both boxes.. Call it 18.... Awesome...

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A course that makes you think

1    6/30/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: TexRex
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent signage, parking and facilities.
Course is well laid out with impressive infrastructure. This course really makes you "play golf". You need to consider what to throw and how to throw it. A very enjoyable and rewarding course to play.
Cons: None come to mind.
Other Thoughts: My first time to play a Houck course and I'm eager to play others!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole

1    6/20/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: Cody
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Best 9 hole I've ever played! Since there's only 2 reviews on here I thought I'd add my 2 cents worth and my star rating. You get the idea of what this course has to offer from the other reviews.
Designed by John Houck-- nuff said.
Cons: None I can think of. If this course was transplanted to an idyllic setting like a Colorado mountain stream or something, then I'd give it 5 stars.
Other Thoughts: This review isn't meant to be a "play-by-play" description of each and every hole like I said above to all you guys giving me thumbs down.
Basically, this course is great, so drive out there & check it out....

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Times

1    5/28/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: insobox
Played: 76  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - First off the signs done by John Houck were great as always. Easy to read and navigate for a first time player of the course.
- Beautifully mowed short grass course wide made it an absolute pleasure to play.
- This course being 9 holes has 15 unique boxes which is great if you want to make your own 18 out of it by playing it twice since this is the only disc golf course in the area that I know of via DGcoursereview that my friend and I could find.
- Quick play looked like a low foot traffic course only saw two other groups present on a Friday afternoon while playing out there.
- Technical and challenging holes with a variety of long and short (3 holes over 500 feet on a 9 hole is just awesome). As well as several technical holes (3-6). My favorite hole would have to be 6 shooting from the top of a little hill over water to a basket on the other side of the creek.
- Nice water crossings that were sturdy/safe.
- Great Tee boxes.
- Course was very clean no trash around
- Overall great design, fun, and will definitely play again when in the area.
Cons: - Personally my friend and I had no problems with the course, but to be fair the Red box on hole 9 seems to be placed in a flood zone so there was a lot of washed out rock/gravel over it.
Other Thoughts: Well thought out, well planned, and great execution.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse 9 Holer with some distance

5+    10/8/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -concrete tees with separate red and blue tees on many holes.

-Best signage I've ever seen with a sign for both red and blue tee boxes as well as an overall map at the beginning and a sign that tells you the rules of disc golf.

-Good mix of long and short holes. 3 par 4's.

-The shorter holes offer a technical challenge like avoiding water, hitting small gaps or tight turning fairways.

-Many of the pins are in challenging locations. Some are on the sides of hills or near the creek's edge or both.

-Wood steps, rock steps, utility poles used as creek crossings.

-Some very large, beautiful oaks that make for some nice disc golf obstacles

-Trash cans, restrooms, water fountain, playground.
Cons: -The park is next to some kind of rock quarry/rock processing plant and holes 1, 6, 7, 8, and 9 play next to or near it. Pretty much ruins the ambiance of what is otherwise a really nice park.

-You have to partially walk back down the fairway to get to the next tee on 2 occasions due to the location of the creek crossings.

-A lot of the tee pads are not flush with the ground so you need to be extra careful with where you plant and where you follow through.

-Hole 6 is really just ridiculous. I'm all for a challenge, but not when that challenge has a high probability of losing my disc. You go up this hill to the tee box only to have to make this tight right turning touch shot with a low ceiling and some seriously nasty water right in front of the pin. Basically, if you hit a tree you lose your disc and the likelihood of doing that is increased by creating a low ceiling due to throwing off the hill.
Other Thoughts: I really like the fact that this 9 hole course has some par 4's where you can really rip into it. Then add in the multiple tees and technical aspects of some of the shorter holes and you've got yourself a nice little 9 holer.

The creek comes into play on a lot holes, and overall, probably a little too much. Hole 7 is nearly 600' and the entire fairway runs right next to the creek and then the pin is guarded by a couple trees that will swat your disc into the water on the approach shot, but I guess that's why it's a par 4 and there is a shorter/safer tee to throw from on this hole.

An interesting aspect about the dual tees is that the difficulty seems to be dramatically reduced from the shorter tees. This is great for this particular course because it is the first and only course in the city so most of the locals will be beginners. However, it somewhat makes the dual tees pointless for a more experienced player. When I play two rounds out here I play them both from the long tees because the short tees are not nearly as challenging and actually take away the appeal of many of the holes.

Not only is the course diverse in distance and shot type, but it is extremely well tended. The city has truly devoted some resources to make (and keep) this course looking and playing great. After the recent flood, there were city workers out here every day fixing up the park and putting in the baskets that had been washed away, making new paths across the creek and what not. They have got the course looking as good as ever and the grass is always mowed. Every time I go out there it seems that there are city workers maintaining or improving the park and/or DGC.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.