Lexington, KY 
River Hill Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: amryan11 Hole #2 (Taken 6/2011)
4 / 287ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Quality 9 holes in family park

2-4    1/2/2013   1/2/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 166  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located just off Man O'War Blvd on the south side of Lexington, KY, this 9 hole disc golf course works its way around the majority of a sweet community park which also features a nice kiddie playground, a paved walking/jogging trail, tennis and basketball courts, a ball field, with accessible bathrooms and trash cans throughout. The course flow is logical, easily followed, and fairly well separated from the rest of the aforementioned activities.

Generous concrete tee pads are accompanied by simple, but informative tee signs, and almost every basket (each an Innova discatcher with the yellow band) is visible from its tee. Before you get to the first tee, just south of the 28 space parking lot, there's a new practice basket nestled in a grove of trees so you can actually over-prepare for tricky putts. The baskets on the course proper aren't as closely guarded. None of the holes are excessively long (180-290' or so), so this is a nice course for rec to intermediate players to work on controlled shots. It has some rolling elevation, and the woods are typical to slightly abundant for a park-style course, but cleared and maintained so there is next to no chance of losing a disc.

If anything, the course tends to favor line shaping that finishes to the right (rhfd or lhbh). You will have to control your shots when the creek is up, as holes 3, 4 & 7 either finish at the creek, or run along it. Holes 6 & 8 cross the shallow creek bed.
Cons: Because the course runs through the lowest areas of the park, and along the creek, it can get very muddy and even marshy during the rainy season or winter melt. The tee post on hole 8 is missing its sign.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this little course the two times I've stopped by, and did not encounter other players during my small sample. It's a good warm up or cool down for playing the nearby 18 hole courses (the more open Shillito or more wooded Veteran's).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice warm-up course

5+    3/23/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: goosefraba1
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Large concrete pads
-holes 1,2,3, and 6 have some interesting elevation change.
-several different lines on almost every shot.
-nice facilities
Cons: -plays a little short
-flooding/mud can ruin most of the holes.
-hole 9 plays right beside the basketball court.... this being a beginner course.... easy for a beginner to land near the court.
Other Thoughts: I really like holes 2,3, and 7. This is a nice warm-up before travelling down the road to Veterans.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Quick/Easy Course

2-4    10/2/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: amryan11
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -large concrete tee pads
-mixture of open and wooded shots
-multiple basket locations on some holes
-very clean, groomed park
-shorter holes great for beginners or practice
-quality baskets, logical flow of course and markers at each tee
-creek hazard adds some interest
Cons: -a few of the tee posts are missing their signs
-signs are simple and don't contain maps for each hole
-can be muddy down by creek
-could be considered too easy for advanced players
Other Thoughts: This is a great little course that will make you feel good about your game. While some of the pars may be a little generous, it's one of the best 9-hole courses I've ever played and is a lot of fun. There are some great technical shots to try and make in the woods even though none of the holes is overly difficult. This is a great place to work on your game especially if you don't have tons of time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome a new course

1    10/30/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: tennissaxplaya
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is nice to have a new course in the area. Some of the best parts about this course are how it incorporates the woods on almost every hole. From my perspective the first couple of holes seem to faver the lhbh or rhfh thrower with better openings to shape the shot from left to right. The middle holes are nice in that there are multiple routes to the hole available. A nice little creek comes into play on some of these holes and adds some nice scenery. The last two holes are great birdie opportunities. For the most part there is a good flow to the course since I played it twice in 40 minutes and did not have to search mush for discs, which is nice for beginners.
Cons: Whenever a course is new, there is stuff that will improve. Since the Grand Opening is scheduled for the Nov. 7th (I believe) there will probably be signs added to the posts. The two biggest complaints I have is there is not a hole that I really felt like I could bring out my biggest drivers because I would either go past the hole (which I did on a couple with other discs) or because I felt like I would bang them up on trees. Secondly, I was there in beautiful weather and there was a a lot of mud. I can envision where the park got its name after a good rain because all the water would run to the center part of the course and could be messy. For some people a couple of the holes my be difficult to maneuver since you are crossing the creek on a couple of holes especially if there is more water.
Other Thoughts: I was kind of torn between a 2.5 and a 3 for this course. I went with a three because of the beauty of the park and the trees. I think this is a welcome addition to the lexington area disc golf community, and will be enjoyed by many. I fell like this gives the Fayette/Jessamine area a lot to choose from:
Centennial Park (Wilmore)- open and long throws, good wind practice
Lake mingo (Nich)- A little more technical and more trees.
River Hill- Less distance than above, more trees and accuracy required.
Veterans- Well wooded course, more distance, more challenge
Shilito- Good mix of short and long holes, not as wooded
Riney B- Gives you some of all the above.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Wooded Beginner's Course

5+    10/18/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice beginner's course in a park setting. It is more wooded than most beginner's courses, with many narrow fairways that will force new and old players to throw accurately. This aspect of the course makes up for the lack of length on the course. However, because there is schule on only one hole, even errant shots are still easily recoverable.

The course has a good balance of wooded (5) and open (4) basket locations. Many of the holes either begin in the woods and end in the open or do the opposite. In this regard the course stays interesting. There are many ace runs, but only if an accurate and good line is taken (watch for local routes). The holes in the open, especially those that start in the woods and end in the open, have interesting wind affects.

The course has a small creek and walking path for out-of-bounds challenges. It also makes decent use of the elevation changes in the park.

Even though this park has a playground, basketball and tennis courts, and a walking path, for the most part the course is separated from those other amenities.

The course is easily accesible, being right off of Man-O'-War Blvd, and makes a nice spot to play if one doesn't have time for Veterans Park's full 18.

The course has excellent flow and a minimal amount of fairway interference. It has Discatcher baskets, a practice basket, Houck signs, and top of the line 12' x 6' tee pads. Additionally, there are two pin placements for each hole, adding to the course's variety.
Cons: It is only a 9 hole course. It is very short with no holes longer than 285.

Even with its tight fairways, the course is very easy. As an 818 rated player, I was able to birdie 6 of the 9 holes in the first 2 days of the course's existence.

A possible con is that, given the number of trees, if you are having an unlucky day, the course may beat you and your disc up.

After particularly rainy periods (like this October's record rainfall), the course can be a bit muddy.
Other Thoughts: If you were introducing a new player to disc golf, this course plus Shillito's front 9 would be ideal for teaching them to play on wooded and open courses.

Due to its location and terrain, this course is kind of like a "Veterans Junior" course.

On a historical note, the course was installed at the request of the parks department and the local city councilman who desired something to occupy and interest the older kids in the neighborhood. The city and the park paid for the course, and our local club is grateful to them for their support.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.