Lexington, KY 
River Hill Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: amryan11 Hole #3 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 237ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Very enjoyable little course

1    9/28/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: jbrian24
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first pro that pops into my head is the very large concrete tee pads that this course has. These are the best and most roomy I have played on. The course is very well maintained, even the overgrowth is kept groomed so there is little chance of loosing a disc. This course does play short as mentioned in other reviews, but there are still times you have to shape a shot to get a good score. All baskets and signs were present today and in good shape.
Cons: It was nice and dry when we were there today. I even played from a creek bed lie once. I can see how it may be muddy if it had been raining or otherwise wet.
Other Thoughts: Overall we had a very enjoyable round at this course after leaving nearby Veterans. I will definitely return for more rounds in the future. Don't hesitate to stop for a visit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quality 9 holes in family park

2-4    1/2/2013   1/2/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 168  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located just off Man O'War Blvd on the south side of Lexington, KY, this 9 hole disc golf course works its way around the majority of a sweet community park which also features a nice kiddie playground, a paved walking/jogging trail, tennis and basketball courts, a ball field, with accessible bathrooms and trash cans throughout. The course flow is logical, easily followed, and fairly well separated from the rest of the aforementioned activities.

Generous concrete tee pads are accompanied by simple, but informative tee signs, and almost every basket (each an Innova discatcher with the yellow band) is visible from its tee. Before you get to the first tee, just south of the 28 space parking lot, there's a new practice basket nestled in a grove of trees so you can actually over-prepare for tricky putts. The baskets on the course proper aren't as closely guarded. None of the holes are excessively long (180-290' or so), so this is a nice course for rec to intermediate players to work on controlled shots. It has some rolling elevation, and the woods are typical to slightly abundant for a park-style course, but cleared and maintained so there is next to no chance of losing a disc.

If anything, the course tends to favor line shaping that finishes to the right (rhfd or lhbh). You will have to control your shots when the creek is up, as holes 3, 4 & 7 either finish at the creek, or run along it. Holes 6 & 8 cross the shallow creek bed.
Cons: Because the course runs through the lowest areas of the park, and along the creek, it can get very muddy and even marshy during the rainy season or winter melt. The tee post on hole 8 is missing its sign.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this little course the two times I've stopped by, and did not encounter other players during my small sample. It's a good warm up or cool down for playing the nearby 18 hole courses (the more open Shillito or more wooded Veteran's).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice warm-up course

5+    3/23/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: goosefraba1
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Large concrete pads
-holes 1,2,3, and 6 have some interesting elevation change.
-several different lines on almost every shot.
-nice facilities
Cons: -plays a little short
-flooding/mud can ruin most of the holes.
-hole 9 plays right beside the basketball court.... this being a beginner course.... easy for a beginner to land near the court.
Other Thoughts: I really like holes 2,3, and 7. This is a nice warm-up before travelling down the road to Veterans.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Quick/Easy Course

2-4    10/2/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: amryan11
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -large concrete tee pads
-mixture of open and wooded shots
-multiple basket locations on some holes
-very clean, groomed park
-shorter holes great for beginners or practice
-quality baskets, logical flow of course and markers at each tee
-creek hazard adds some interest
Cons: -a few of the tee posts are missing their signs
-signs are simple and don't contain maps for each hole
-can be muddy down by creek
-could be considered too easy for advanced players
Other Thoughts: This is a great little course that will make you feel good about your game. While some of the pars may be a little generous, it's one of the best 9-hole courses I've ever played and is a lot of fun. There are some great technical shots to try and make in the woods even though none of the holes is overly difficult. This is a great place to work on your game especially if you don't have tons of time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Training Course

5+    3/4/2011   3/11/2011
Review By: jdjohannides
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good concrete tee pads, decent tee signs, easy to find next hole
Cons: Hole 4 can get real muddy
Other Thoughts: While most intermediate (and up) players may find the course too short, it is a great course to practice your wooded throws without losing your disc (especially with some tight gaps). Also, if you don't have much time, you can easily get the 9 holes done in about 35 minutes. And because of the course length and unlikely chance of losing a disc, it is a great course for beginners.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick clean fun

2-4    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: jrmorin9
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Quick fun! From Indy and best park so far (better than Riley b and lake mingo). Lots of shade and some good technical holes as trees gaurd the pins. If u can get through them you are looking at an easy 2 or 3. Some really fun shots!
Cons: Would be better if there were better maps on each hole. Also there were a few stumps that you may trip on but it was worth it!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Little Course

5+    5/9/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: otter420
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great wooded shots, definitely a must if you're working on your technical shots. Kind of like a small Veteran's, sans water
Cons: Trees, trees, trees. If you don't have a side arm throw, you're in trouble on some holes

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short Options

1    4/4/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Long-n-wide concrete teepads, nice tee signs, two pin positions per hole. Mininal chance to lose a disc.
Cons:
Mostly flat, mostly short. Seasonal creek and water run-off could keep some holes rather wet.
Other Thoughts:
Except for the wide-open finishing hole, the course plays in-to, out-from, and through the thin woods forming the outer border of a small neighborhood park. The thing that struck me most about this course, that you typically don't see in a short, beginner-suitable course, is that you usually had 2~3 choices of flight path from the tee. Instead of the obstacles (trees) dictating a specific throwing path, you'd often have the choice, depending upon how tight a window you care to try to hit, of going left, right, or straight in order to reach the basket.

Good course for introducing beginners to wooded shots, without a chance for disc loss, and more experienced players can develop their shot-shaping and decision-making here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 good coarse

5+    1/16/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: jazz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Though not long, trees come into play on all holes, and rather heavily on several of them. It's takes some thought to get around it, and some ability to make good shots around trees and through openings.
Cons: Not a whole lot. Guess it could be really soggy right after rain. Navigating from hole to hole wasn't much of a problem.
Other Thoughts: Lexington and the surrounding area have a good amount of fairly easy, nine-hole courses, and this one joins that number, but in it's favor, River Hill has more bite than many of the others. It's more challenging then Centenial Park and Lake Mingo, and even the first nine at Shillito. I would compare it most with Camp Catalpa (CC being a kind of modified 18 hole with 9 fairways having 2 different catchers for the separate 9s). Distance is about the same, Catalpa has tight but fairly clean fairways but getting into the brush can be brutal, while River Hill may be more "through the woods". Much less likely to lose discs here than at Catalpa.

I don't think I would recommend this course for true beginners, but it may be a good step up for those who have been playing for a bit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome a new course

1    10/30/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: tennissaxplaya
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is nice to have a new course in the area. Some of the best parts about this course are how it incorporates the woods on almost every hole. From my perspective the first couple of holes seem to faver the lhbh or rhfh thrower with better openings to shape the shot from left to right. The middle holes are nice in that there are multiple routes to the hole available. A nice little creek comes into play on some of these holes and adds some nice scenery. The last two holes are great birdie opportunities. For the most part there is a good flow to the course since I played it twice in 40 minutes and did not have to search mush for discs, which is nice for beginners.
Cons: Whenever a course is new, there is stuff that will improve. Since the Grand Opening is scheduled for the Nov. 7th (I believe) there will probably be signs added to the posts. The two biggest complaints I have is there is not a hole that I really felt like I could bring out my biggest drivers because I would either go past the hole (which I did on a couple with other discs) or because I felt like I would bang them up on trees. Secondly, I was there in beautiful weather and there was a a lot of mud. I can envision where the park got its name after a good rain because all the water would run to the center part of the course and could be messy. For some people a couple of the holes my be difficult to maneuver since you are crossing the creek on a couple of holes especially if there is more water.
Other Thoughts: I was kind of torn between a 2.5 and a 3 for this course. I went with a three because of the beauty of the park and the trees. I think this is a welcome addition to the lexington area disc golf community, and will be enjoyed by many. I fell like this gives the Fayette/Jessamine area a lot to choose from:
Centennial Park (Wilmore)- open and long throws, good wind practice
Lake mingo (Nich)- A little more technical and more trees.
River Hill- Less distance than above, more trees and accuracy required.
Veterans- Well wooded course, more distance, more challenge
Shilito- Good mix of short and long holes, not as wooded
Riney B- Gives you some of all the above.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center