Disc Golf Center
Flagstaff, AZ 
Northern Arizona University DGC Share
Uploaded By: jlogflagstaff Hole #2 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 292ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Underrated course!

5+    3/21/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout: good selection of par 3s and par 4s. There's even a nice par 5 (#15) down a hill.

The upkeep: NAU keeps their course very nice - all tee pads are in tact, there is great signage, and the fairways are clear of trash.

The foliage: If it rains consistently, mint leaves will grow in the area near baskets #2 and #4. Don't believe me? See for yourself.

The parking: probably the easiest place to park and play disc golf ever. This is often overlooked for most courses, but NAU makes it great. There are plenty of parking spaces (especially for a university), and the tee pad for #1 is just a short walk from the parking lot.
Cons: The challenge: the course is generally easier than most. Additionally, the first few baskets on the back nine are not the most creative. But considering this course is on university property (and universities typically put buildings on all of the land they own), the designers did a great job of making the most out of what they have. Kudos.
Other Thoughts: If I'm playing disc golf in Flagstaff (and the Snowbowl course is not an option), NAU is my second choice. Which is good! There are some quality courses in Flagstaff, and NAU is one of them.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another Great Flagstaff Course

1    6/15/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee-pads
-Baskets are in good shape and catch well
-Nice tee-signs that show the layout of the hole, the pin position, the distance and the recreational par.
-Multiple pin positions on some holes
-Lots of trees come into play on many of the holes and they will definitely knock down inaccurate shots.
-This course features a lot of nice elevation changes.
-The course is easy to navigate with the exception of three spots (see the cons below).
-Practice basket
-Lots of fun well-designed holes that take advantage of the available elevation changes and trees.
-There are nets near the few tee-pads that tee close to the last hole, which is a nice touch to help prevent safety issues on some holes.
Cons: -The course is hard to navigate in three areas. (To find hole 7 you have to go down the hill near hole 6 and then walk back toward hole 5's basket to find the tee-pad for 7. To find the tee-pad for hole 8 you have to walk across the corner of the football field that is closest to hole 7's basket. Finally to get to hole 9 you have to walk past the tee- pad for hole 13 to the tee-pad located in the open area.) Other than these three holes, the course was easy to navigate.
-The course in general plays pretty short (especially holes 7-14). Hole 15 is over 500 feet and hole 16 is about 370 feet, but other than that most of the holes are 300 feet or under.
-Hole 16 plays along a practice baseball field that could lead to safety issues if you throw your disc over the roped off area.
-The concrete tee-pads seemed slightly two short. This was especially noticeable on Hole 12, where the tee-pad is right against a retaining wall, so you have no extra room for your run-up.
-The interstate is right next to this course and constantly hearing cars fly by takes away a little bit of the pleasantness of this course.
-Some of the hills that this course play on are starting to get badly eroded, which could lead to bad footing and injury. (The hill that hole 7 throws up is the worst offender of this).
-The rocks on this course will eat-up and destroy baseline plastic.
Other Thoughts: Another great course in the Flagstaff area that is a lot of fun to play. It has a few navigation issues and doesn't feature a lot of distance but it is still a great stop if you are in Flagstaff.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A visitor from Sea-Level

1    4/8/2013   4/12/2013
Review By: seano2222
Played: 58  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Practice basket
- Water Spigot
- Tree trunk obstacles
- Branch obstacles clear below 15'
- Obstacles near tees
- Obstacles near baskets
- Spectacular Ponderosa pines
- Stunning mountain views
- Blind baskets
- Clever use of elevation
- Couple grip and rip holes
- Great on-line map for smart phone navigation
- Excellent signage
- Decent, but awkwardly sized, concrete tee pads
- Much rock clearing done
- Rock bordered paths made
- No parking pass required on weekends according to campus signage.
- Couple of stores that have a display of discs nearby.
Cons: - No bathrooms
- No turnover
- No glide
- Gusts of high wind
- Current pin locations not stickered/noted on permanent signage
- Parking requires pass on weekdays during the peak times
- Couple tricky navigation spots for those first timers not prone to paying attention to the previous tee sign (like myself).
Other Thoughts: Reviews made it seem like Thorpe was the one to try if you were only in town long enough to try one, so I did. Although a beautiful course, Thorpe was quick to reveal that the hole design lacked creativity, variety or challenge. I noticed the next morning I happened to be staying in walking distance from NAU so I got over there for 8:00 on a Sunday, well before any students were stirring, to give it a try.

The setting: Rolling hills, in view of the snow peaked mountains, laden with tall Ponderosa Pines, occasionally playing tangent to NAU sport and parking facilities. The entire course was brush free and a tremendous amount of effort had been put into clearing loose rock from the playing surface, repurposing it as borders forming walkways to guide to the next hole. No water, no moisture to speak of and no bugs - The tall pines provide intermittent sun coverage.

The Course design was so well done and I was so intrigued after playing it the first time that I skipped some things I had planned before leaving town just to go back and give it a second whirl. What makes this course special is that almost every hole has a reward for a well placed shot. Most holes can be deuced, but none of them easily so you might be ten down one day and even the next - That is what makes a course great. This course uses elevation, near and far obstacles and distance exquisitely to accomplish this. That said, it is a surprisingly open course, easy to pick your lines amongst the obstacles, but you have to execute them precisely over 250'-350' of distance. Add in persistent blasts of wind and some blind targets and you really can see yourself falling in love with the pursuit of a perfect round here.

Here's the rub though for you out of towner's like myself. I normally play at sea level, 7000 feet below this course. I thought there was something wrong with me - I was struggling to drive 300 feet and couldn't get the Boss I brought to click at all. I finally realized after my putts kept dropping like bricks in front of the basket that this thin air really does make a difference. There simply isn't any glide and any disc you bring becomes overstable. At times it was like I was throwing a discus and not a disc. You get used to it, but wow, I never thought I would notice the difference, but it hit me like a sack of door knobs.

Not ready to proclaim this a destination course, but I would recommend making time to try this one of you are in town. Much credit to the course designers for making great use of the hand they were dealt.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

NAU DGC

1    10/30/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: PumaPaws
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: Interesting course. A wee bit tighter than the nearby McPherson course but not very tight. Have played many courses much tighter than this one. Good layout requiring different throws. Challenging but not overly tough.
Cons: Received a parking ticket for parking in the parking lot without a pass. Saw no signs that said a pass was needed. Luckily it was only a warning, so no fine for first time violator. Finding hole #7 and hole #8 was very tough. The map I had was incorrect on several holes.

 Great course right on campus!

5+    9/15/2011   1/13/2012
Review By: scrowl92
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great variety
-concrete pads
-signs with maps
-great location for students like me who live on campus at NAU
Cons: -rocks, rocks, and more rocks
-parking can be an issue, lot is marked permit only
-can be busy at times
Other Thoughts: for 5.00 at the parking kiosk you can get a day parking pass or I've heard that you can go to the new Health and Learning Center at NAU to get some kind of disc golf pass, I have not tried that one yet though because i usually walk or ride my bike to the course.

Overall great course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice lunchtime diversion

5+    5/12/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: dickybird
Played: 78  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I work across the street from Hole 3, so it's a nice lunchtime diversion to hop over there and play a round. A variety of holes requiring a variety of shots. Some terrain change, but not too much. Multiple pin placments.
Cons: Pins are not switched around very often. Nice to have them moved ocassionally to add variety to the course. Could us some longer holes, but space is limited so they do the best with what they've got.
Other Thoughts: This is version 3.0 of an NAU course. They keep moving and re-configuring it to accomodate other uses. If you took the top 18 holes from all versions, this could have been a premier course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Close to NAU Campus

1    9/4/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: hangwind
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Cement pads and signs with basket info and arrow to the next basket. Some challenging lines (some with multiple choice) in a forest of pine trees and bushes. There is elevation that is used, up and down, a couple of long throws down and threading through lots of trees. The longest hole has a wide open fairway.
Cons: Lot's of ROCKS, your discs will be beat up even if you play well. Although the course is marked, there are areas with lack of "flow" to the next basket, if you are not paying attention to the signs, you will be adding time to your game by searching for the next tee. There is lot's of riff raff that looks like it is destined to be pulled off the course. Easy to lose discs into, piles of downed cut limbs and such. Did I mention lots of rocks?
Other Thoughts: Very busy on the weekends during school. Lots of new people learning to play. I dig the lines that are designed into the placement, challenging yet a couple of choices will do. A must play if you are in the area. Walking the course, be careful, lots of rocks.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great college course

1    3/25/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Finally the new course is in the ground after the construciton is done and the temp course is out. Large cement teepads with great size and excellent shape. Teesigns on all the holes that give all the info you need, including the next tee area. Navigation is very easy with most baskets close to where the next teepad is. Also there are wood chip paths that lead to the next tee. Baskets in great shape. Definately a great variety of shots here, left/right, short/long. Mainly shorter holes, with lots of trees to get in the way. You have to shape your shots more here then the other courses in town. Technical! Elevation changes throughout, especially on hole 7 where you basically throw on top of a steep hill. A couple of longer holes where you can let it rip. Wonderful pine trees throughout the course with awesome views of the mountain.
Cons: Nothing too major with the cons here. A couple of holes on the back nine felt repetitive. Sme slight navigation issues on the back nine as well, but easily figured out. Some large trash items on the course, i.e. shopping cart, pallets, cables, old chairs. There are a few trashcans throughout the course as well. Parking could be an issue. The one place I know of to park is in a permit only lot, it wasn't busy and parked there without problem. The first hole is not noticable. I would like to see a sign or something that would easily identify it as the beginning or start.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course. The actual play is great with the variety and technical aspects of the shots. However it is located on a college campus, with some holes less then 100 feet from the interstate which takes away from the enjoyment. Put this course in a more isolated area away and I probably would give this a 4/5 disc rating. This could make for a great day of disc golfing if you add Thorpe and MacPherson park which are all within a few miles.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NAU 3.0

1    11/15/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: domromer
Played: 42  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newest course in Town.
Great mix of shots.
Benches
Cons: Gets a little crowded with tee pads being very close to baskets.

Parking is a pain. Unless you have a student pass you can only park after 5:30pm weekdays and all weekend.
Other Thoughts: I've lived in Flagstaff through 4 courses at NAU and I think this one is the best of them all. In fact I think this is now the best course in Flag. It has more variety of shots then any course in town. Other than the mountain course at snowbowl it has more elevation change than all the other courses as well. They have also installed benches at a few holes which is always nice. So now if I had to recommend a single course to someone coming to Flagstaff it would have to be the NAU course. Oh and if you don't have a parking passI think Walmart would be the closest place that you could park and walk back in.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 NAU DGC

5+    1/10/2010   10/11/2009
Review By: jlogflagstaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: what a great new addition to flagstaff. Nau dgc will test your accuracy, and if you hit those lines you will be rewarded and if not you will be getting a par. There is a great variety of holes here...hyzers,anhyzers,flip hyzers,a few thumbers if you wanted, barrel shots, and straight shots. also, a few holes have steep drop off's behind the baskets.
Nau has large cement teepads and mach 2 baskets. 3to 6 holes have muliple pin positions. ( i am sure eventually alot more holes will have mulitiple pin positions )
Each hole has tee signs giving you the placement of the hole and the direction to the next hole.
It plays fare for righties and lefties, it provides enough variety for both hands. Alot of ace runs.
Great mountain views throughout the course. trashcans are also a plus.
I would say its mostly a tight wooded course with a few open holes.
the land is used well, there are blind holes and multiple OB's.
Bathrooms and water avaiable by hole #9.
Alot of nice locals who are willing to let you play threw or join.
Nau offers the perfect balance of holes and uses the land perfectly. favorite holes: 3,5,15.
Cons: low branches
since nau dgc sits on a college campus its croweded alot.
More trashcans needed ( always full )
Some holes come very close to overlaping. ( Heads up on 4 and 17 ).
shorter then the other courses in flagstaff. ( but it makes it up by the tight fairways )
Mach 2's tend to spit disc out.
Besides that its a great balanced course that is alot of fun to play

Other Thoughts: Nau is a great new addition to the disc golf community in flagstaff,az.
come on out and breath in the 7,000ft air and enjoy our great dg courses.
thorpe and mcpherson DGC within 3 miles from nau.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.