Flagstaff, AZ 
Northern Arizona University DGC Share
Uploaded By: jlogflagstaff Hole #18 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 280ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great campus course through the Ponderosas.

1    7/16/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 57  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.5 Years
Pros: Very good concrete tee pads, tee signs on each hole, good baskets and some benches. This on campus course is set in a largely unused area of the campus, next to rec facilities, track facilities and an apartment complex. Should be very easy to get to for students.

Nice variety of holes, left, right, up, down and some that went up and down. Just right distance wise, a few ace runs (4,10, 11) and a few longer holes (9 and 15).

A lot of nice Ponderosa Pines on the course, especially in the first 4 holes. They only grow at elevation (Flagstaff is at 7300') so I haven't seen these before. I found out early that the Ponderosa's (that drop their lower branches to defend against fires) have pretty thick and sticky needles, if I threw into them, the disc didn't go far.

Some really memorable holes - #7 short, 240', blind tee shot up and over large boulders. The tee is next to sand volleyball courts, unfortunately no co-eds playing when I was there. #9 - long, finishes uphill and to the right. #11 - ace run, basket is 10' from a sound barrier for I-40, yes, the same I40 that starts in Wilmington, NC and goes all the way to Cali. #14 - dogleg left that finishes with the basket just across a ditch that dips six feet. #15 - 535' Par 3 (what ?) that starts with a five foot rise you have to clear then clear and downhill to the basket. Great view of the San Francisco Peaks from the green, including 12,000 foot peak.
Cons: No facilities at the start, but a practice basket was there. (There is a building beside #9, that appeared to get a lot of use.)

#10 and #11 did get close to an apartment complex. If there are a lot of kids running around it could get iffy, but probably just student housing.

#18 was kind of a bland finishing hole. 16 and 17 were both fun, 16 is along the hammer throw area for track, with signs reading "Beware of Thrown Objects" and 17 basket is guarded by a large hardwood tree. I was expecting more for the last hole.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed playing this course before our tour of the Grand Canyon. Had planned to play McPherson or Thorpe, but this course was one block from our hotel, couldn't pass it up. This now makes 7 college campus courses I have played, ranked right up there with UNC (tough as that is to say). Right on campus, nice variety, good equipment, these kids are spoiled!
Flagstaff looks like a cool college town, my wife thought this could be nice to retire to and I was fine with that, 4 good 18 hole courses in the area plus a couple of niners. Then she found out they get 100 inches of snow each year, so that idea is out.
Maybe if we come back to visit Sedona or the Grand Canyon again, I'll get to the other courses in town, and a revisit here.


5+    11/30/2014   12/5/2014
Review By: samartin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a sneaky-difficult course that is challenging for both fore and backhanders. Good mix of par 3's and 4's. Heavily treed. Baskets and concrete tee boxes always in great condition.
Cons: At one point, about midway - forget which hole) you have to cross a soccer field which can be confusing if you don't have a map or have never played before.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Another Great Flagstaff Course

1    6/15/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee-pads
-Baskets are in good shape and catch well
-Nice tee-signs that show the layout of the hole, the pin position, the distance and the recreational par.
-Multiple pin positions on some holes
-Lots of trees come into play on many of the holes and they will definitely knock down inaccurate shots.
-This course features a lot of nice elevation changes.
-The course is easy to navigate with the exception of three spots (see the cons below).
-Practice basket
-Lots of fun well-designed holes that take advantage of the available elevation changes and trees.
-There are nets near the few tee-pads that tee close to the last hole, which is a nice touch to help prevent safety issues on some holes.
Cons: -The course is hard to navigate in three areas. (To find hole 7 you have to go down the hill near hole 6 and then walk back toward hole 5's basket to find the tee-pad for 7. To find the tee-pad for hole 8 you have to walk across the corner of the football field that is closest to hole 7's basket. Finally to get to hole 9 you have to walk past the tee- pad for hole 13 to the tee-pad located in the open area.) Other than these three holes, the course was easy to navigate.
-The course in general plays pretty short (especially holes 7-14). Hole 15 is over 500 feet and hole 16 is about 370 feet, but other than that most of the holes are 300 feet or under.
-Hole 16 plays along a practice baseball field that could lead to safety issues if you throw your disc over the roped off area.
-The concrete tee-pads seemed slightly two short. This was especially noticeable on Hole 12, where the tee-pad is right against a retaining wall, so you have no extra room for your run-up.
-The interstate is right next to this course and constantly hearing cars fly by takes away a little bit of the pleasantness of this course.
-Some of the hills that this course play on are starting to get badly eroded, which could lead to bad footing and injury. (The hill that hole 7 throws up is the worst offender of this).
-The rocks on this course will eat-up and destroy baseline plastic.
Other Thoughts: Another great course in the Flagstaff area that is a lot of fun to play. It has a few navigation issues and doesn't feature a lot of distance but it is still a great stop if you are in Flagstaff.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course right on campus!

5+    9/15/2011   1/13/2012
Review By: scrowl92
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great variety
-concrete pads
-signs with maps
-great location for students like me who live on campus at NAU
Cons: -rocks, rocks, and more rocks
-parking can be an issue, lot is marked permit only
-can be busy at times
Other Thoughts: for 5.00 at the parking kiosk you can get a day parking pass or I've heard that you can go to the new Health and Learning Center at NAU to get some kind of disc golf pass, I have not tried that one yet though because i usually walk or ride my bike to the course.

Overall great course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice lunchtime diversion

5+    5/12/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: dickybird
Played: 80  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I work across the street from Hole 3, so it's a nice lunchtime diversion to hop over there and play a round. A variety of holes requiring a variety of shots. Some terrain change, but not too much. Multiple pin placments.
Cons: Pins are not switched around very often. Nice to have them moved ocassionally to add variety to the course. Could us some longer holes, but space is limited so they do the best with what they've got.
Other Thoughts: This is version 3.0 of an NAU course. They keep moving and re-configuring it to accomodate other uses. If you took the top 18 holes from all versions, this could have been a premier course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great college course

1    3/25/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 8.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Finally the new course is in the ground after the construciton is done and the temp course is out. Large cement teepads with great size and excellent shape. Teesigns on all the holes that give all the info you need, including the next tee area. Navigation is very easy with most baskets close to where the next teepad is. Also there are wood chip paths that lead to the next tee. Baskets in great shape. Definately a great variety of shots here, left/right, short/long. Mainly shorter holes, with lots of trees to get in the way. You have to shape your shots more here then the other courses in town. Technical! Elevation changes throughout, especially on hole 7 where you basically throw on top of a steep hill. A couple of longer holes where you can let it rip. Wonderful pine trees throughout the course with awesome views of the mountain.
Cons: Nothing too major with the cons here. A couple of holes on the back nine felt repetitive. Sme slight navigation issues on the back nine as well, but easily figured out. Some large trash items on the course, i.e. shopping cart, pallets, cables, old chairs. There are a few trashcans throughout the course as well. Parking could be an issue. The one place I know of to park is in a permit only lot, it wasn't busy and parked there without problem. The first hole is not noticable. I would like to see a sign or something that would easily identify it as the beginning or start.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course. The actual play is great with the variety and technical aspects of the shots. However it is located on a college campus, with some holes less then 100 feet from the interstate which takes away from the enjoyment. Put this course in a more isolated area away and I probably would give this a 4/5 disc rating. This could make for a great day of disc golfing if you add Thorpe and MacPherson park which are all within a few miles.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NAU 3.0

1    11/15/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: domromer
Played: 64  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newest course in Town.
Great mix of shots.
Cons: Gets a little crowded with tee pads being very close to baskets.

Parking is a pain. Unless you have a student pass you can only park after 5:30pm weekdays and all weekend.
Other Thoughts: I've lived in Flagstaff through 4 courses at NAU and I think this one is the best of them all. In fact I think this is now the best course in Flag. It has more variety of shots then any course in town. Other than the mountain course at snowbowl it has more elevation change than all the other courses as well. They have also installed benches at a few holes which is always nice. So now if I had to recommend a single course to someone coming to Flagstaff it would have to be the NAU course. Oh and if you don't have a parking passI think Walmart would be the closest place that you could park and walk back in.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/10/2010   10/11/2009
Review By: jlogflagstaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: what a great new addition to flagstaff. Nau dgc will test your accuracy, and if you hit those lines you will be rewarded and if not you will be getting a par. There is a great variety of holes here...hyzers,anhyzers,flip hyzers,a few thumbers if you wanted, barrel shots, and straight shots. also, a few holes have steep drop off's behind the baskets.
Nau has large cement teepads and mach 2 baskets. 3to 6 holes have muliple pin positions. ( i am sure eventually alot more holes will have mulitiple pin positions )
Each hole has tee signs giving you the placement of the hole and the direction to the next hole.
It plays fare for righties and lefties, it provides enough variety for both hands. Alot of ace runs.
Great mountain views throughout the course. trashcans are also a plus.
I would say its mostly a tight wooded course with a few open holes.
the land is used well, there are blind holes and multiple OB's.
Bathrooms and water avaiable by hole #9.
Alot of nice locals who are willing to let you play threw or join.
Nau offers the perfect balance of holes and uses the land perfectly. favorite holes: 3,5,15.
Cons: low branches
since nau dgc sits on a college campus its croweded alot.
More trashcans needed ( always full )
Some holes come very close to overlaping. ( Heads up on 4 and 17 ).
shorter then the other courses in flagstaff. ( but it makes it up by the tight fairways )
Mach 2's tend to spit disc out.
Besides that its a great balanced course that is alot of fun to play

Other Thoughts: Nau is a great new addition to the disc golf community in flagstaff,az.
come on out and breath in the 7,000ft air and enjoy our great dg courses.
thorpe and mcpherson DGC within 3 miles from nau.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New and Different

1    10/9/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 144  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement teepads
Mulched pathways
Metal Baskets
Great use of elevation creating a variety of uphill and downhill shots
Blind holes and realistic OB
Tight fairways that can punish you if dont hit the gap
Amazing views of the peaks
Hole 3- Great hole with a right to left spike crush or a tight 12ft wide tunnel on the left that cuts off about 75ft of distance to a blind hole with a drop off behind the basket.
Hole 5- Nice tunnel shot that opens to a meadow with an uphill basket placement. (370ft)
Hole 15- 540ft hole downhill blind hole with a clever basket placement on the left edge of a dense pine forest.
Hole 16- 370ft hole that begins in the woods and opens up with OB in play all along the left side.

Water and bathrooms on hole 9
Cons: Many short holes
Just installed so it needs some clearing (this wont be a con for long, installed today 10-9)
More benches
Some fairway overlap due to the remodeled design, holes 6 and 7 and holes 16 and 17, can be dangerous on crowded days
Mach 2 baskets tend to spit putts more than any other basket I have used

Other Thoughts: This is a really fun and challenging course that favors placement and accuracy over power. The fairways are tight and long with baskets in tough placements. The course does not have the WOW factor but is still great nonetheless. Practice basket is coming soon. The course is brand new so check it out. Pictures coming soon.

I have played a lot of courses and am a tough reviewer. In a few months this course will be a 3.5 or better with the OB additions, alternative teepads and multiple settings that will be installed. This course will only be better after time and natural clearing from other discs. A must play if you are in Flagstaff

Course will be open year long

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.