McCall, ID 
Bear Basin DGC Share
Uploaded By: 3j0hn Hole #1 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Target



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/23/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: DesertRat
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: This was a fun, different style of course than what I usually play. Most of the holes are on the shorter side and most of it plays though the woods requiring a more technical arsenal of throws vs just having a power game. On most holes there is usually more than one route to the tone pole (hole). Some of the more direct lines require the accuracy to navigate narrow windows creating many nice risk vs reward decisions. The other huge plus was how incredibly scenic the course is.
Cons: Finding the first tee was a bit of a problem but once found the first 9 holes were pretty straight forward and flowed well. There were some signs (looks like a sharpie on chipboard) but many were weathered and hard to read. With the signs we were able to navigate. However the back nine didn't have signs and it was easy to get off track. We spent so much time hunting for the tees and holes that when we couldn't find tee 15 after a short hunt we ended up skipping holes 15 and 16 because we were out of time.
Other Thoughts: This was our 1st time in the McCall area, we were on vacation. The weather was great but had to watch where we were stepping as the snow was still in runoff so some of the ground was muddy. I enjoyed the tone poles and while I would like to play with them from time to time I still prefer the modern chain baskets. I really like the required technicality of the course as it and the shorter holes gives me a chance to beat my son who can throw considerably farther than I. All in all we liked the course and would recommend it to any one vacationing in the area. We will definitely play it again next time we are in the area. Also a big "thank you" to the local who showed us where hole number one was.

Nice "guerrilla" Course

2-4    8/2/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: 3j0hn
Played: 84  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice "guerrilla" course set up on pretty national forest land with rocks and branches marking tees, and large steel tanks balanced on posts as tone targets. It is fun to play and generally pretty easy to follow with good use of trees and elevation to make things interesting.
Cons: While very well marked on the front 9, it is a bit hard to follow the course starting with the first of the par 4 holes, #14.
It would have been nice to have some slightly longer holes in the front 9, everything is pretty close to 250' with the exception of a couple ace runs.
Other Thoughts: The homemade tone targets boom really nicely when hit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  West Central Idaho's Best Kept Secret

5+    5/14/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: JONNY_SHREDWARDS
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great mash-up of super techy shots, fun blind shots, killer ace runs, two looong awesome par fours and great mix of right and lefty drives. One of the most scenic backdrops, you will know what I mean as soon as you roll up to the meadow... Great secluded spot with excellent camping opportunities everywhere in and around the course. Mccall Area Disc Golfers is our dedicated facebook page representing just that, and we do a great job of maintenance, trash control, and whatever else we can do to make this the funnest course EVER !
Cons: A local logging company was contracted to do prescribed fire preventive thinning last fall, wich was actually great, (this being a more guerilla type course, there were many small saplings and needless brush, shrubs etc. that would make it hard to find discs often) but they left all of it on the ground where they fell it, instead of creating neat clean slash piles... This however dose not affect your game, it just makes walking through some of the holes a small pain, but we are planning to group together this weekend to clear it ourselves as much as posibble.
Other Thoughts: This is your classic grass-roots guerilla course that is evolving into the pride and joy of McCall's underground disc golfing elite crew. PACK IT IN, PACK IT OUT !!! (that means cigarette buts & beer cans !) If you come play, PLEASE review it on here, THANX !

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/2/2010   3/2/2011
Review By: appysdad
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: lots of fun challenging shots for all skill levels long bombs for the bigger arms several ace oppurtunities some fun no look shots the views are outstanding and it makes for a great hike
Cons: dont really have any cons

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/1/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: russkins
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the coolest courses i have ever played. There is alot of different shots that can be played on almost every hole. Almost all the course is in the trees but dont let that discourage this from playing it, there is alleys through the trees so no more than 3 holes are super technical. We have pole dingers that make quit a big noise in the quitness of the forest so if there is any doubt that you wont be able to hear it when you hit the dinger on putt or ace lets just say half of valley county can hear this!
Cons: Well i dont really have any cons about this course i guess im just bias seems how 4 of my friends n i built this course, but i guess the only thing is we dont have baskets but this course is less than 6 months old so eventually when disc golf takes off in mccall we know we will be able to get local sponsors to get basket...but til then we will be ringing the dinger making some of our own "mountain music" WOOOOO!
Other Thoughts: This was all set up by local disc golfers who didnt have anywhere locally to play and got SICK N TIRED of the battle golf in boise where it takes 5 hrs to play 18 holes and wait on every shot...so if laid back forest golf with a beutiful views and occasionally deer walking through the course is what your after BBDGC is right up your alley. To anybody who has played CONIFER in CO. this course is right up there with it! We do have a ritual we started, anyone playing thier first round PLEASE sing the #18 dinger with you name and your score. so far we have aslmost 15 signatures n score so see how ya faired! See ya out there!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/31/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: Nailer Tretzen
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a super fun course some friends and I built this summer in the woods near McCall, Idaho. There is a great variety of shots and holes with moderately hilly terrain, trees, and mountain meadows. The dingers have a nice ring to them and the holes should both challenge and reward players of all levels. From tight, technical routs in the trees to open meadow bombers its got something for about anybody that tosses plastic.
Cons: This course doesn't make a complete loop, so you have to walk a little to get to the first tee. We have plans to add another 9 holes to connect it all together, which will make it a 27 hole momma.There are no signs to help with guiding you to the next hole, but for the most part it's pretty straight fore ward once you start playing.
Other Thoughts: From McCall go east towards New Meadows and take a right on Bear Basin Road, follow about a mile to the meadow, park and walk up the road to the north about 1/4 mi and look for the little orange flags on the right (marking hole #1) before the road splits. the course plays south from there on the east side of the road, and into the trees, looping into the southern field,& back to where you park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice mountain course

5+    10/10/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: Well, I am a little biast since I am one of the people who built the course. The course has many different shots ranging from an uphill shot that can make or break your start to blind shots over a little knoll, to downhill, and then there are 2 par 4 shots that are legit par 4's. Overall, I think that the course is excellent. Its got many different shot opportunities on most of the holes and its not overly tough. Plus, the scenery is beutiful, A huge meadow that grow purple camas flowers in the summer and a view of Brundage Mt. ski resort only 2 miles away.
Cons: The only con I know of is that you have to walk about 1/4 from the parking lot to get to hole 1. We are working on putting in another 9 holes to wrap the course around back to one. Maybe in the springtime that will happen, but until then, enjoy the walk and take in the scenery. You will be pleasantly surprised.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.