Ukiah, CA 
Low Gap Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #16
3 / 275ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun old school layout

1    6/29/2014   9/12/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays up and down a wooded hill. A few holes are pretty open, the rest play through a forest of smaller trees. There's not a whole lot of underbrush, but there are enough tree trunks to define technical fairways and make recovery shots a challenge after a bad drive. There's a decent mix of different hole shapes, and the elevation changes add some fun challenges. Many of the pins have rollaway potential with hard packed ground and steep slopes.
Cons: There are some major safety issues here, way too many of the tees are right next to the previous basket. It's really easy for discs to end up headed right for people playing the next hole. The dog park comes into play on the last hole, and it's open enough for the wind to come into play. The signage isn't very descriptive, a couple holes are blind and need scouting your first time through.

The ground is extremely compacted, and the slopes are showing a lot of erosion. Many of the tee pads are now significantly above grade, and that's leading to cracking and uneven pads. This course has seen a lot of foot traffic, and it's really beat down. A couple holes have odd lines that feel like they're luck dominated rather than rewarding skilled throws consistently.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun beginner course, with short lengths, reasonable challenge level and enough interesting shots to keep things interesting. Experienced players won't need anything faster than a mid here, it's a fun line shaping test and a good place to work on your short game. I would stop here again for a quick round, the views are nice and the elevation is a lot of fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hilly, short & technical course

1    8/17/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 32  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: This course turned out to be a lot more fun & challenging than I expected. The abundance of 200-250ft holes dampened my expectations. Fortunately, most holes are designed thoughtfully with critical hazards that punish missed lines. It plays across a large forested hill and features a healthy variety of wooded, open, uphill and downhill shots.

All 18 holes have concrete tees and most are marked with distances and maps. Many challenging greens with roll-away potential
Cons: - Pretty much all short, technical wooded holes. Almost no opportunities to let'er rip. A lot of mids off the tee
- I got super annoyed with the condition of the teepads. Most were small, not level and had a 4-6 inch ledges on all sides. The uncertain footing led to some timid opening throws.
- Rocky, rutted, compacted soil seriously chewed up some of my discs
- 1 & 18 are simple and open. The dog park impinges into the 18th fairway
Other Thoughts: Leave your distance drivers at home because these holes tend to be short and technical. It's a fun little course with enough variety and challenge to keep you engaged but it's not a destination course.

Enjoyable Rec Course On Hilly Terrain!

1    8/17/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the hilly mountainous terrain here. It makes for some always interesting uphills, downhills and invariably, the dreaded rollaway.

Low Gap (Cool name, huh?) has older concrete tee pads with sometimes high up-fall off me- ledges, signs with all the info you need such as hole #, distance and par. There is a rules sign at the beginning and benches to rest on around the course.

The ground is hard packed dirt, especially here in late summer. Other times of the year???? I don't know?

The holes gradually climb higher and higher through hole 8.

Then # 9 with the funny shaped tee pad is a very cool anhyser throw that follows the contour of the land and road to the basket down in the trees below.

The Pars on the signs are definitely recreational such as the 319' Par 5, # 13. Step up right and get your EAGLES boys! I was happy with mine.

The # 15 sign is broken and lying on the ground next to the pole. Quick, someone fix it before the sign disappears. This was also a fun little 204' toss to a hidden basket.

I assume that # 16 is the hole that previous reviewer "discomatic" was primarily disenchanted with. It's a long downhill where your disc is going to have to endure a rugged landing and probably yell "Ouch." The ground is very hard down there.
Cons: I didn't like # 18 with the dog park on the right. And the wind was blowing towards the dogs tonight. Discs are going to land in the park or worse case, someone or a man's friend's best friend is going to get thumped and the dog people are going to go bitch to the park people about the disc people and then they'll be problems.

Every course I've played that is next to a high school always has it's litter/vandalism/grafitti problems. It's inevitable.

I wish the course had a little more greenery, just for aesthetics.


Other Thoughts: The players from Ukiah are well set with courses with the two Mendocino Lake courses and Low Gap here. They're all three basically similar type courses. The Lakes courses are a little more challenging hence the reason for more high school students playing here. There's many areas around the country that would be thrilled to have just one of these courses to challenge disc golf skills on a daily basis. Count your blessings Ukiahanites!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ukiah's Baja Gappo

1    5/18/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: discomatic
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Close to town
- True 18 hole course
- Some challenging holes
- Some tunnel shot
- Birdie-able (and H in 1 potential)
- Hilly course = good for cardio
- Tough to loose a disc here
- Water fountains on the course actually work
Cons: ...geez, where should I start?
This course is ROUGH, in so many different ways.
- Concrete t-pads are more pedestals, w/ up to 1.5 foot drop offs
- Dirt, dirt, dirt
- Rocky course with tons of tree roots every where
- Roll-aways will keep going and going and...
- Old school Mach 2 baskets are like cheese graters on your plastic
- Tight trees on some holes are like a wall of wood
- Tons of poison oak
- Lots of sketchy homeless folks scattered throughout the park
- Can be extremely windy
- Tons of other park users can make this course hazardous, to themselves
- Baskets are cemented in and never change position
- Can be predicable an not challenging for some
Other Thoughts: If you have any respect for your discs DO NOT use them here - this course is designed to chew up your plastic! Use your throw-away, back up, secondary garbage discs here. If you use your favorite, special "go to" discs here, you will be sad and you will cry many tears...

The parking lot is quite some distance from the first tee, so going back to grab stuff out of your car is a bit inconvenient.

If I lived in Ukiah and did not own a car and had no money this would be my "go to" place. But I do own a care and I do have money so I would recommend driving the 30 minutes to Anderson Valley Brewing Company and playing their pristine, 18 hole course. Plus, great beer, before, during and after!

Closer to town, Lake Mendocino's two courses are a bit more challenging, but is exposed, hot and just as hard on your plastic.

This park is right across from the local high school, so lots of kids go there to "party". Homeless folks abound here and usually keep to themselves, yet they are not shy about encountering day users.

This is a great course for a quick round after work. Weekends tend to be crowded. Great for beginners and intermediates, alike. If I was a teenager with only a bicycle and a yearning to pick up this sport, this place is "da bomb"!

...other than that, enjoy!
(just play it with your crappy discs)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Low Gap Park

1    1/25/2013   1/29/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3'x6' - 3'x8' cement tees on every hole. Simple signs by each hole with hole layout and distance to pin. Hole numbers on baskets (although some facing the wrong direction and some very hard to read). Good elevation change on most holes. Hole 4: 230' blind slightly uphill shot. Several other blind shots up and downhill. Many technical shots in the middle of the course requiring shot shaping and finesse. Good variety of shot types required. Nice scenery. All holes birdie-able. Several ace runs. Moderately to heavily wooded throughout most of the course. Friendly locals.
Cons: Pretty wide open on first few and last 2-3 holes. Baskets are older Mach 2s, but still function perfectly fine and are in good shape. All shorter holes with only a few over 300' and nothing over 350'. Tee pads are a little short on some holes. Signs are not the greatest and not in the greatest shape either. Several pins and tees are close to one another. Not very challenging, but not really a beginner course either.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent intermediate level course offering a moderate challenge for experienced players, but nothing amazing. I like that the course starts with some open shots, then moves into the woods and hills for some more technical shots, and then opens back up at the end. Hole's 1 and 18 are kind of a joke though because they are completely wide open and flat. The course seems to see decent traffic but all the locals I ran into were very friendly and always told me I was free to play through if I wished before I could even ask.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  The gap

5+    6/13/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: Lordlucid
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A technical course with a variety of holes.
-Most holes are near or around the 300' Mark.
-Nice elevation changes.
-A variety of different types of shots can be used on pretty much all the holes, from Back hand to forearm, to rollers.
-Great for all types of players from beginners to Pros.
-It has friendly locals, who're willing to help you out or point you in the right direction.
-Lots of foot traffic that's has helped to beat down the brush and poison oak.
-Pretty much all concrete tee offs. With the exception of hole-18 which is on a gravel road.
-Beautiful scenery, lots of shade, Drinking fountains, bathrooms.
-There are benches at Hole-1, 8, 11, 16. There is another at 12 but I don't recommend you sit at it since it's in the line of fire.
-There are tennis courts, hiking trails, BBQ pits, Places and things for children to play on, a creek to cool down, a skate park, a dog park, horse shoe pits, and an archery range.
-And it's free!
Cons: -Because it's free it's a very busy park: Near hole-1 and 2 there is a covered area called Harrison Grove that gets a boat load of usage on the weekends. Multiple times I've found myself skipping the aforementioned holes because of this. However, during the weekdays it is not used so much. You'll also find yourself waiting for hikers and passersby.
-There are a lot of blind holes: if you have a spotter or someone willing to do so I recommend it your first time through, Particularly on Hole-8 because it is very much a Risk/Reward shot with a pretty steep hill that consumes discs or they'll roll down it and you'll tire yourself out climbing down, then back up.
-Its and older park with pretty old mach II baskets, most of the signs are missing, or have been vandalized.
-Hole-18's Tee off area is pretty rough. Quite a few pot holes. Filp Flops/Sandals are not recommended you might walk away with a little less big toe then you started with. Trust me on that one.
-Poison oak: not so much on the paths to the baskets but right off of them or at the base of some of the trees. So if you get some crazy out of control shot, be careful, Also another reason to wear shoes over sandals.
Other Thoughts: Windy, this course is a giant wind tunnel. I was going to put this is the Con section however decided not to. The wind is something that will challenge you as a disc golfer and in my opinion you should learn how to use it to your advantage or learn to play with it and not fight it. However if you're a casual weekend player I could see it being not very much fun.
I have to say this is my home course and the one I learned to play on. It has to be my favorite if not seconded to the college course here in Ukiah. Low Gap is pretty easy to get to and it's not too far from town. Ukiah has 3.5 Courses and I believe is or has finished working on getting the .5 to a 1 by the locals. So if you have a few days to kill you can hit up the two at the lake the one at the college, Low gap, the KOA in Willits (bring money for this one), also hit up Highland springs in Lake Port.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Techinical but Fun

2-4    3/4/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: djjeremiahj
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun technical course. Challenging for all skill levels. Plays close to the 300' mark on most holes. Requires a variety of different shots and use of line shaping. Most holes offered FH, BH and Overhand shot lines. Good use of terrain and rolling hills.
Cons: Like most technical courses, the first few times playing are spent figuring out where the hole is, what line to take and which disc to use. A bit short. Advanced players wouldn't need a long range driver.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. The style of play reminded me of my home - Golden Gate. Lots of technical holes in the 300' range that require the thrower to hit a specific window or follow one of a few established lines. Seemed balanced on the FH to BH type throws.

While the signs are posted with distances, for me, most holes threw 20-30' longer than posted. Overall i noticed a lot of very specific turnover (both FH and BH) lines.

This is the type of course that after the first go-around, you figure it out and quickly drop your score. Outside of 1-2 holes, i didn't notice any holes that required very specific one purpose type of discs (eg. stingray), or favored one throwing style (eg. thumber).

Beautiful scenery, nice folks, and very fun.
Dog friendly.

Located in community park, with many different amenities.

Geographically, "out of the way" for most (nor cal), but absolutely worth playing if you can get to it.

An advanced player would make use of a full range of discs. A beginner would have fun with a travelers bag. - Bring "Straight" and Turnover Discs. Control is the key!

- Like mentioned by another post. Every hole is 3 and is birdie-able with the right line.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Almost 30 years old

5+    7/3/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: 707_Roc
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2011
Pros: Other than whats already been said I only have a few comments to add.

Est. in 1982, Low Gap is a pretty old course (if you're in the area also play Highland Springs Reservoir, in Lakeport,CA est. 1980).

Nice variety of shots and alternate (natural) tees for most holes.
Cons: Baskets and tee boxes sit high because of erosion/years of use. Tees boxes are small.Tee signs are dated. No alternate pin locations.
Other Thoughts: Low Gap still sports super-old 18 chain Mach 2 baskets.

Ignore tee signs, all holes are played par 3.

There are some very fast "greens" here. Rocky course that will chew through low-grade plastic. Some PO.

 

2-4    8/27/2010   3/10/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lot's of variety, some holes are realy open, others are tightly wooded. There are left's, right's and holes that go straight ahead
- Elevation change on allmost every hole
- Fun downhill shot on hole 16 with great views of Ukiah
- Lots of drinking fountains
- Some ace-able holes
- Risk / reward shots on a few holes
- Friendly locals that enjoy showing new people around
- Lots of other things to do in the park other than just disc golf
Cons: - It can be a little hard to find hole 1's tee if it is your first time out here
- Right next to the local high school, so there are usualy kids around drinking and smoking.
- Broken glass all around the course, probably due to the high school next door
- Roll away potential on a couple of holes, but this just makes you play it smarter
- Other park users can get in the way on some of the course
- Signs are getting a bit old and could probably use updating.
- Could use some alternate pin positions
- Can get a little crowded on weekends
Other Thoughts: A fun little park in the city of Ukiah. It starts off easy and tends to get harder as the holes progress. There are some great views of the city of Ukiah from hole 16's tee.

The park itself is used by many diffrent users, and has just about everything from playground to archery range. I offten see groups of high school kids hanging around the course as it is an open space right next to the school.

Low Gap is a fun course overall and well worth visiting if you are traveling through.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    8/3/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: jtiedemann6
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good length
Changes in elevation make you be careful or else you'll end up downhill on another hole or in the archery range
Definitely a wide variety of shots
Has concrete tee pads
A couple water fountains if you forgot to bring some
Cons: Needs new tee signs
Bad throw on Hole #18 could result with your disc being in the dog park
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed playing this course. Definitely my favorite around Mendocino County. Locals are very friendly, so if you need any advice, feel free to ask.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.