Lebanon, IN
Longley Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brooks Hole #3 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Home Course

5+    12/9/2013   1/9/2014
Review By: KDinIN
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thoroughly enjoy Abner Longley, and seeing as it is the closest disc golf course to my home, I have played it a number of times.

In terms of pros, I would start by saying that this park is extremely well kept. Outside of the basket area of 13 (which is under tree so doesn't have a lot of grass and can get pretty muddy in the spring/fall), there are no regular "messy" spots on this course.

Another plus is there are two sets of tees, the "Pro" tees are concrete, and are definitely a challenge, not just in added length, but in many places, definitely different lines from the amateur tees, but the am tees are natural, so when things are wet these can get messy.

The baskets are great, and though there are no massive holes, (Holy 16 is 515ft I think from the Pro tees) this course offers a good range of shots and lines and also gives its opportunities to really bomb a drive.

Signage is great at each hole, and is clear and easy to understand.
Cons: In terms of Cons, I would begin by saying when we have had a lot of rain, this course gets messy pretty quickly. Between the woods section getting muddy, there is a drainage ditch going running through the fairways of 4 and 5. Somewhat in play, but mostly not. Either way, when wet, flooding appears along the ditch as well as standing water in a few other spots around the course.

There are also no trashcans/water fountains/or bathrooms on the course. The park itself has a set of bathrooms on the playground that is near the basket of 12/tee of 13 which are open, and if there is sporting events going on (baseball/soccer) than the building after 16 normally has bathrooms open as well.

It has been mentioned before, but this is a multi-use park, with baseball happening in the summer, soccer in the fall both will effect the disc golf course. There are some permanent soccer goals up, but during the fall, the younger divisions get set up on the fairway of 16, so it might need to be skipped, and in the Summer 17 goes around a baseball field, and the errant throw into the outfield is pretty common, so this should be skipped as well.

Only other thing I would say, which doesn't affect me, since I play regularly, is there is no real indication of where the next tee is. I don't think it is tough to navigate, but there are some trouble spots where people might feel like they are wondering around blindly. (the transition from hole 6 to 7, the transition from 8 to 9, the transition from 13 to 14, and 14 to 15 as well.)
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great course, one I am thankful I live close enough to play regularly. It might not be the best course in the area, but it is definitely a quality disc golf course for Central Indiana. For little to no elevation change, the designers put together an exceptional course that doesn't get boring and still keeps me coming back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth the drive

1    10/23/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course. The designers have done a good job of using the woods. Several shots require you to keep throws low. You have options in some places and you'll have an opportunity to use a full repertoire of shots.

This is a well-kept, clean park. Grass is nice and thick and there are seemingly miles of mulch through spots where there isn't grass to keep you from trudging through mud. It drizzled most of my round and the ground was wet from the previous day, but I didn't get muddy at all.
I don't think I've ever seen a course that has the first tee as close to the parking lot as this course does. It's like 5 or 6 feet from the car to the tee.
After playing about 6 or 7 courses in the Indianapolis area I'd put this one as my second favorite behind Hazel Landing (there are still a few I haven't played though.) It's also easily accessible from I-65 as it's not more than a mile or two from the exit.
Cons: I didn't notice any water fountains or trash cans. I played in late October so perhaps there is water and I wasn't in enough need to find it, but I don't think there was.
As mentioned by others there could be some problem if the baseball field is in use but you should be able to avoid throwing into the outfield (maybe beginners would want to avoid it, but most players won't end up in the outfield.
While there are two distances listed on each sign there is only a teepad for the longer distance. Shorter pads are natural.
Not much you can do about this as it's the natural terrain, but everything is pretty flat.
Other Thoughts: All distances are listed from the pro tee
#1 285'. Basket is pretty straight ahead but it's set back in an opening in the trees. You also have to stay straight and low, as there are two trees that provide a gap you have to hit about 100' or so from the pad.

#2 315' You walk back out of the woods to the teepad, but then throw right back into them. The basket placement will require a bit of a turnover shot, as it's a bit right of straight.

#3 285' This one is a shot through the woods. You again tee off out of the woods, but quickly hit a gap to get right back into them and there isn't a lot of room for error. Get all the way through the woods and the basket is about 50 to 75' out in the clearing.

#4 375' The road runs along the right of the fairway and it won't take too much of an errant throw to get yourself OB. There are a couple of trees directly in front of the pad along the road that can mess with your shot too. Basket sits in the open.

#5 #440 Sort of a "grip it and rip it" but you have small trees periodically along either side of the fairway that may force you to think twice about it. Trees get thicker as you approach the basket.

#6 325' Doglegs to the right. You have trees to contend with on either side as you throw out of a bit of a shaft. Small trees throughout the fairway force you to be accurate and fairly low (unless you have the arm to go super high,) and the basket is protected by low trees as well.

#7 275' Not long but narrow. Hole is mostly straight but you'll need to turn a bit to the left to get to the basket.

#8 330' Not overly long, but with the low ceiling you have it makes every bit of that 330 work against you. Some might opt for a roller here and maybe even try to get it to the left around the obvious alley.

#9 240' Keep it low again, as you're throwing into the trees. You're in a pretty good clearing but there are small trees here and there that can kill you. Again there will be a slight right to left that should work well for a skip from a regular RHBH.

#10 285' Sweeping left turn. You have to contend with a handful of thin trees that can kill you as you try to hit the fairway and you have to get far enough (but not too far) to have a look at the basket on your 2nd shot.

#11 240' Another hole that has 4 or 5 trees in the fairway that can mess you up. Not too long but the basket is well protected.

#12 275' The "light at the end of the tunnel.Throw through the gap to get out of the woods. The basket sits about 60' beyond but there is thick rough from the end of the woods past the basket along the right side. Probably would be a good flick hole for a rightie.

#13.400' Somewhat downhill (but not much of an elevation change anywhere on this course.) Must keep it low as you have to get past some fairly mature trees. Could be an issue here if people are using the horseshoe pits which are right of the fairway. There is a gravel road to the left of the fairway that is OB.

#14 320' Pretty straight and open but there is are two big trees (first one right of the tee, 2nd one left,) that you may need to "S" around. Miss those and you're totally in the clear.

#15 300" Throw from the wide open and you don't have to content with a tree for about 200'. At that point you have to choose left or right to get to the basket, as it's back behind a big tree.

#16 505' Avoid a couple of big trees and you'll be in the wide open. Don't let your 2nd shot get left, though, or you'll be on the baseball field (OB.) The basket sits atop a berm that's about 3 or 4 feet tall. There is also OB to the right of the berm.

#17 375 Narrow. You are just outside the right field fence and there is a road to your right that's OB as well. The biggest obstacle here is probably the foul pole. The best throw is going to hyzer along the same curve as the fence, as the basket sits beyond the centerfield fence.

#18 305' Couple of paths but you can get in trouble here. Road/parking lot to the right is OB but some may go high and over it to hyzer back in. You can throw straight but there's a light pole directly in front of you. Just left of that pole is the left field foul pole from the baseball field and a big tree behind it, not to mention another tree left of that one. Once you get past all that there are a few other small tress to contend with closer to the basket.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

1    2/16/2013   2/16/2013
Review By: lukejones
Played: 43  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.7 Years
Pros: This was a fun course. The pro tees are concrete with plenty of length for a full runup. Signs thoughout were accurate and easy to understand. Baskets were also newer and in excellent condition.

The course also has am tees, but as of today they are not concrete. The pro tees though provided a very tough challenge. There is a nice mix of long and short holes, low ceilings, and tight technical holes in the woods. Really, one of those courses that wouldn't ever get old given the variety and challenge of shots required.
Cons: A few wooded holes border a shooting range which has a barbed wire fence bordering the hole. Really didn't come into play for me but a slightly errant throw or bad bounce off a tree might result in a lost disc.

Hole 17 is not a good design, located around the fence of the baseball diamond. Probably would need to skip this hole when the ball diamond is in use.

pleasantly suprised!

1    8/2/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: ashmgee
Played: 52  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice mix of medium and shorter technical holes combined with some open longer holes.
Mostly plays through mature trees and provides shade on hot summer days.
Very nice baskets and tee pads.
Signage at tees and bulliten board were new and accurate.
Birdie oppertunities are available, but generally you need to make an acurate tee shot and most times keep it low.
Errant shots can be punished by o.b. and woods adjacent to fairways.
Easy to navigate from baskets to tees.
Fairways do not cross or play on top of each other because of the design of course. (for me this is important)
Cons: Some of the finishing holes play near baseball fields and public areas of park, and while this was no problem when I was there I can see that a couple of holes might be tough to play if the park was busy.
One hole around 10 or 11 required walking back the fairway to get to the next tee which would be inconvinient in tourney play or if the park was busy.
The last couple longer holes were very open so not much challenge to big arms while being out of reach for smaller arms. (no consequence for errant drives of longer throwers)
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this course! It was much nicer than I expected, and I will definately be back when I am back in Indiana. It is possible to score low on this course, but it would require good shotmaking and execution. All in all this course is worth a look if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Keep your drives low

1    7/16/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Significant challenge for a short-to-moderate length course, especially given the limits of my reliable drives. My son and I played from the blue tees. A unique "box around the park border" layout minimizes the need for adjacent fairways, and keeps the course from feeling repetitive.

Good concrete tee boxes and signs from the pro distance.

I have a hard time picking favorite holes on this course, but I like how the first hole cuts into a patch of woods for the final 30 feet, without making the approach/putt punitive. Good basket placement to the right on #6. #17 has an interesting double OOB left and right, as long as there's no game in play on the baseball field.
Cons: This can be a very frustrating course to play. It's generally short and entirely flat, and the first impression is that low scores should be common. I don't need to score well to enjoy my round, but I do want to feel my best shots are rewarded - and that's often not the case here. Longley Park has two recurring features that I find especially unforgiving and arbitrary.

1 - lots of wide low branches across the entire fairway. Three straight holes play this way, 7-9. Either you pull off a drive that you can keep in the air and less than 9 feet above the ground, or you don't. The effect reappears on #13. There's also a low ceiling for the approach at #5.

2 - Masses of trees that require too much luck to navigate. This is the case on #3 and #10, and to a lesser extent on #2 and #11. #2 and #3 were especially awkward, because the drive is open for the first hundred feet or so. There's nothing immediately off the tee to help frame your target. You simply fling your disc into the forest and watch it crash land. It's deflating to come across holes like this so early in the round.

Only one concrete tee option. The short tees are typically uneven unusable patches of mulch.
Other Thoughts: There is a great bulletin board with a map of the course as you approach the first hole. It helps to look this over, because there aren't any directional signs from basket to tee on the course. Most, but not all, of the walks are simple enough to guess at.

The layout isn't ideally integrated with the park. The course tends to feel squeezed into the margins, especially on the non-wooded holes. We played on a busy park weekend, with softball games in progress. We got lucky and reached #17 just as one game was getting ready to start. The outfield fence marks the left OOB. With a game in play, we would have skipped that hole. A line of people from the previous game walked across the 16th fairway as we were playing. They were entirely polite about it, and we weren't in a hurry. One family walked straight down a path in the middle of the fairway as we waited to play 10 and 11. Not a huge deal, but it all reinforces the feeling that this course is a grafted-on afterthought. That's often the case for disc golf, but it's not always this obvious.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    7/4/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: cjones63
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Location, way more technical then power, shaded, 4 seasons of play with different degrees of difficulty each season,no walkers, not crowded.
Cons: tough course for beginners, AM boxes can be limiting for drives-need to be cemented or boxes removed (or mulched better)
Other Thoughts: Love playing this course, just started playing again, its been 10 years. Have a few friends that play and are very good and have brought them to my home course and they really love it gives them a whole new challenge, since its more technical than power!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/16/2011   6/26/2012
Review By: jomomo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: one of only a few couses ive played in indiana. i like the layout and tee are placed very well.
Cons: all the low line brush. i lost 2 diccs there. those need some triming
Other Thoughts: ...........................................................................................

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/7/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: RecMan
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has a good mix of shots! Good use of the available land! I liked the combination of wooded holes and a few open holes. Good signs on the blue tees!
Other Thoughts: Although the course does hold water after a rain... I thought this added another obstacle for the course! It may cause problems after several days of rain, but I would still play it!! I thoroughly enjoyed my time!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interstate Sidetrip

1    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 34.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is easy to find, right off of the Interstate and has plenty of parking. The course offers two sets of tees (Red and Blue) and has nice signs on the Blue tees...with distance for both tees

The course offers different lines for the long and short tees...not just a difference in the distance. It also offers a lot of low ceilings on some of the wooded holes, so low line shots that hit the lines are important.

The course is easy to follow for the most part and an easy course for beginners or kids. Not too challenging for newer players but some challenge for the more seasoned player.
Cons: The course doesn't drain well. We played following a night of rain and there were some sloppy areas.

The short tees are all marked but some have tee boxes that have not been filled with cement or crushed rock yet while other short tees have nothing but a short post.

A few areas you can see more than one basket and it is not immedialy clear which basket one might be throwing to on your first time through the course.
Other Thoughts: We played while traveling through on our way from South Carolina to Minnesota. It's a great course to play with your kids. My two youngest boys are 5 and 6 and they LOVED the course.

I'm not sure if the city was setting up for an event that was planned or had just happened, but there were area that were roped off for whatever event. In my mind, that shows a lack of respect for disc golf.

I think overall the course was well designed for what the property offers. I'd like to play again once the course has matured a bit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 No Sign of Luc

1    6/12/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 326  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tees per hole, concrete/signs at blues; natural, small posts for red. A visiting drum-n-bugle corps was practicing in the open field, providing background music throughout the round.
Cons:
Quite flat. A few of the wooded holes were "thick".
Other Thoughts:
Course plays around the outer edges of a multi-purpose public park. Primarily in patches of small/mid-sized trees, supported by thick brush and undergrowth, early, the course moves into the open the latter third, initially playing amongst larger, scattered hardwoods, then moving into the open, but close to ob road, parking lot, and a softball field. The alternate red trees really shorten the distance to the basket, and the concrete teepads and signs at the blues were fine quality.

The course is extremely flat. The trees forming the wooded holes were not very tall, so permitted lots of sun to reach the ground, hence the thick bushes and undergrowth. Throwing lines entering, exiting, and playing through the woods were on the tight (at times, not existent) side, so discs may often go astray, and take quite some time to find.

Favourite hole: #5. A hedge runs the entire length of the right-side. Early to the left are a few trees, preventing the sweeping left-to-right approach. Nearer to the hole, woods begin squeezing in from the left, then the basket is in a mini-clearing, slightly behind a large bush.

A course containing all the basics, with a blend of open and tight, but not overly exciting - your mileage may vary.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.