Disc Golf Store
Lebanon, IN 
Longley Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: burdphil Hole #14 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Blue Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very tough course

1    4/26/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: smitdavi
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Pads: Good concrete tee pads from the long position.

Layout: This course had a great layout for the first 15 or so holes. The wooded section was awesomely challenging (better put it in the fairway or the rough will PUNISH you). Had a nice mix of open to wooded holes.

Difficulty: Don't bring your rookie friend, he might not ever want to play again. I played the open holes at even par and had my lunch eaten in the woods. This could be a con too though
Cons: Directional Signs (Next Tee): We had a hard time locating the next tee just about every hole. There were a few times we almost threw from the wrong tee pad just because we couldn't figure out where to go.

Standing Water: The area must have had some rain the night before because there was A LOT of water in the wooded are behind 1-4. Also there was a nice little stream through I believe hole 5.

Other Thoughts: We played on a Saturday afternoon and there were TONS of people in the park and some LARPing in the woods which made it tough to play because they would just walk out in the middle of throws and fairways. There wasn't any games on the baseball field so that made holes 17 and 18 mentally easier since we didn't have to worry about hitting the little center fielder with an arrant throw.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

1    2/16/2013   2/16/2013
Review By: lukejones
Played: 52  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: This was a fun course. The pro tees are concrete with plenty of length for a full runup. Signs thoughout were accurate and easy to understand. Baskets were also newer and in excellent condition.

The course also has am tees, but as of today they are not concrete. The pro tees though provided a very tough challenge. There is a nice mix of long and short holes, low ceilings, and tight technical holes in the woods. Really, one of those courses that wouldn't ever get old given the variety and challenge of shots required.
Cons: A few wooded holes border a shooting range which has a barbed wire fence bordering the hole. Really didn't come into play for me but a slightly errant throw or bad bounce off a tree might result in a lost disc.

Hole 17 is not a good design, located around the fence of the baseball diamond. Probably would need to skip this hole when the ball diamond is in use.

 Interstate Sidetrip

1    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 34.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is easy to find, right off of the Interstate and has plenty of parking. The course offers two sets of tees (Red and Blue) and has nice signs on the Blue tees...with distance for both tees

The course offers different lines for the long and short tees...not just a difference in the distance. It also offers a lot of low ceilings on some of the wooded holes, so low line shots that hit the lines are important.

The course is easy to follow for the most part and an easy course for beginners or kids. Not too challenging for newer players but some challenge for the more seasoned player.
Cons: The course doesn't drain well. We played following a night of rain and there were some sloppy areas.

The short tees are all marked but some have tee boxes that have not been filled with cement or crushed rock yet while other short tees have nothing but a short post.

A few areas you can see more than one basket and it is not immedialy clear which basket one might be throwing to on your first time through the course.
Other Thoughts: We played while traveling through on our way from South Carolina to Minnesota. It's a great course to play with your kids. My two youngest boys are 5 and 6 and they LOVED the course.

I'm not sure if the city was setting up for an event that was planned or had just happened, but there were area that were roped off for whatever event. In my mind, that shows a lack of respect for disc golf.

I think overall the course was well designed for what the property offers. I'd like to play again once the course has matured a bit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice city park

1    3/7/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large city park. Many holes play out in grassy fields with scattered trees, while several holes play through tighter woods for some nice variety. The course goes in and out of the woods too, so you don't have all the holes of one type right in a row. The tighter holes offered some good lines to hit, and had some different hole shapes to mix things up. The wooded holes were shorter, while the more open holes offered some more length, again adding to the variety.

The long tees were nice concrete pads with a good surface. The tee signs were plenty descriptive to know where to throw, and the baskets were in fine shape. The short tees were marked with small posts that made them easy to find. The flow of the course is decent, there was only one or two spots where it wasn't immediately obvious, but they didn't take long to figure out.
Cons: The course feels a little repetitive in some parts. The open holes don't have enough trees to force different lines, so you have a straight or hyzer shot on most of them. The wooded holes felt pretty hyzer heavy (for RHBH), with some straight shots mixed in but not enough right turning shots to feel really balanced. The last two holes have some major safety issues, it's too easy to throw into the street or onto the ball field, and it's likely that you'll be throwing right near spectators on a game day.

The short tees are pretty bad. most are boxed in wood chips and are pretty rutted. Many of them offer some different lines, but the ones on a few of the open holes just changed the distance slightly, I would have liked to see bigger differences. The course doesn't drain well at all, it seemed like water hangs around for quite a while on this very flat course and there are some areas that can flood and get pretty soggy.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent city park course that's worth playing if you're in the area. Beginners will find the short tees challenging but not to the point of being frustrating. There is some thick punishing rough, but there are enough holes with little or no punishment to balance that out. More experienced players will find some nice challenges on some of the long tees, though there are some sections of the course that aren't as interesting.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quality layout in a large park

2-4    11/13/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 231  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing I noticed with this course is it that its almost always windy to some degree. That adds a little bit more challenge in knowing what disc to throw (and not throw) and how to putt. Longley provides for good practice with both. Course is primarily flat with a mix of lightly wooded to heavily wooded holes. There is more length in the lightly wooded holes with a few holes to let rip on. When winds are calm, this course would be great for rollers due to the well manicured grass and open fairways. The heavily wooded holes are very technical with a good selection of shots required to have a chance at birdie. All of the pro teepads are concrete and while there are shorter pads, most of them are not concreted yet. Good use of other obstacles in the course as OB to keep away from other activities in the park.
Cons: Like I mentioned this course is mostly flat. Only the slightest of elevation changes and I didn't even notice them until I looked back at the tee from the basket. Also mentioned was the consistency of wind but I don't really count this as a con, just something that should be noted. Several of the short pads are just woodchips inside of a frame, this may affect footing. Several of the tee signs in the woods have been vandalized but it didn't appear to be done by disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: The wooded holes that run along the fence in the back are adjacent to a shooting range. All discs that go over CAN NOT be retrieved by jumping the fence. Players need to have their discs labeled with a name and phone number to have any chance of getting it back. All lost discs over the fence will be called if a number is available otherwise it will go to the local club to be picked up.

Overall, Longley is a fun course to play for players of all skill levels. More skilled players shouldn't have much trouble shooting a few under par. Having only played it in the fall, I'd imagine that the course would play a stroke or two harder in the summer with all the trees full.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.