Disc Golf Store
Lebanon, IN 
Longley Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: burdphil Hole #9 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 I-65 must stop

1    8/21/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: bigronbowski
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: just right off the I-65. Pro and amateur tees. Great variety of long shots from the pro tees. Nice park.
Cons: softball field on 17.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to stop and stretch your legs if you are traveling through on I-65. Really right off the expressway. Had my wife with me when I played and she is beginner level. She did throw into the softball field and had to walk all the way around twice. I was busy retreiving my disc from the tree lawn across the street.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Layout / Design

2-4    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: Kramer
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Balanced - There were a mix of short tech's and long drives, trees come in to play for almost all holes. And a sprinkling of short easy shots to keep your attitude positive.

Clean Lanes - They took some time clearing out debris to make sure that you could get a run for Aces. Not to say that every hole was open, it still requires some imagination and hitting the line.

Nice Pads / Baskets.
Cons: Looks like the Park could be busy with Ballgames and Soccer Matches. The course winds around a lot of these fields. Some of the course is also a walking trail? (or used as such by Locals). Good to spark interest, bad if you bang the head of a spectator on a grip lock.

Land was mostly flat. The elevated green (15) was only a difference of maybe 3'.
Other Thoughts: I would play again, just for a course to have fun. The Alts they set up are beasts for Tourneys. (the one is a basket set upon a 25' mound). Locals are great to help promote the sport.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A nice variety

1    11/28/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 118  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a lot of great things about this course. 18 new discatchers with alternate pin placements. Concrete tees for the longs (short tees are currently marked with a red stake). Teeposts with current laminated signs which are going to be permanent eventually.
The course offers a good mix of wooded and open holes, short and long holes, and left turning and right turning holes.
Cons: No practice basket, I don't recall seeing trash cans or benches. hole 13 plays close to the horseshoe pitts and hole 17 plays along the fence of the baseball field.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the layout and variety that this course had to offer. The first three holes play into, out of, and through the woods. Then you get to holes four and five where you get to let your arm loose onto a more open fairway. The next few holes play through some defined fairways with brush along the edges. And then you head back into the woods for a few more holes before coming out for the last 6 holes which play through mature growth. I really like how the course allows you to get your arm warm with the shorter/more technical holes before playing the longer open holes.
In addition, the wooded holes are fair, there are defined fairways. However, some are still tight, you just have to hit the right line.

This course is just off of the interstate so if you are driving through, you should definitely stop and play. There is a playground for the kids as well as a few other park ammenities.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  My First Course

1    11/14/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: Chalks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm brand spanking new to disc golf, the addition of this course to my hometown got me started and I'll tell you what, I'm glad of it. I've really gotten hooked on the sport fast (and already spent too much money on discs). So, this is definitely from a beginner's perspective:

I love the variety in the holes. The first 12 (with the exception of #4 and maybe #5) take you through fairly heavy wooded areas, especially #2. Most of the holes are straight shots, but there's enough obstruction that you need to be creative, or at least pay attention to where you're throwing.

For a new player, there were a few holes that were very difficult. I found #9 and #11 the most challenging. My favorite holes though are #8 and #6. The former is simply gorgeous, there's definitely a "tunnel of trees" as the other review said, and it is quite tranquil. It requires a very straight shot to get any sort of decent score on it. #6 is just plain fun. It's the least straight of all the holes and it's behind what looks like will be a beautiful garden come spring with a few low hanging trees around.

Once you get through to #12, everything else is pretty much unobstructed by more than a couple mature trees. I feel like the change from wooded to open field happens at just the right time to keep you from getting bored/frustrated. So, the last six holes are a pleasure, you really get to just let loose and throw your discs good and hard. Of these, I think #14 is my favorite. The hole is between two mature trees next to the tennis courts (high fence, no worries about interrupting a tennis match) and gives a little bit of a putting challenge after a good throw.
Cons: I'm new, and sometimes my hand decides to throw my disc somewhere entirely crazy. This was a problem on #17 and #18 as they are both near a road and parked cars. Fortunately I didn't hit anything, but it would be very easy to with one wild throw. Also, on some of the holes (especially #7... I think) I threw into some brambles. It wasn't much fun retrieving those.

The tee for #7 (I think?) is behind a shed, out of sight. It took me 2 playthroughs to actually find it. #9 has the same problem... it's waaaay off down a path, not intuitive at all. Once you find it, it makes sense but finding it that first time can be tough.

I feel like the holes are all a little bit short. I don't have much trouble getting a hole in 4 shots (5 if I have a fit of beginner-itis), and my side-arm throw doesn't get nearly the distance that I know it could. It takes me 2 throws to cover the entire distance of the longest hole, and I know my throw is weak. I may change my mind as I get better though, I don't really know.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I feel really lucky to have had this my first course. It's great! I hope others enjoy it as much as I have.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.