Lebanon, IN
Longley Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brooks Hole #13 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 315ft.   3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice city park

1    3/7/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large city park. Many holes play out in grassy fields with scattered trees, while several holes play through tighter woods for some nice variety. The course goes in and out of the woods too, so you don't have all the holes of one type right in a row. The tighter holes offered some good lines to hit, and had some different hole shapes to mix things up. The wooded holes were shorter, while the more open holes offered some more length, again adding to the variety.

The long tees were nice concrete pads with a good surface. The tee signs were plenty descriptive to know where to throw, and the baskets were in fine shape. The short tees were marked with small posts that made them easy to find. The flow of the course is decent, there was only one or two spots where it wasn't immediately obvious, but they didn't take long to figure out.
Cons: The course feels a little repetitive in some parts. The open holes don't have enough trees to force different lines, so you have a straight or hyzer shot on most of them. The wooded holes felt pretty hyzer heavy (for RHBH), with some straight shots mixed in but not enough right turning shots to feel really balanced. The last two holes have some major safety issues, it's too easy to throw into the street or onto the ball field, and it's likely that you'll be throwing right near spectators on a game day.

The short tees are pretty bad. most are boxed in wood chips and are pretty rutted. Many of them offer some different lines, but the ones on a few of the open holes just changed the distance slightly, I would have liked to see bigger differences. The course doesn't drain well at all, it seemed like water hangs around for quite a while on this very flat course and there are some areas that can flood and get pretty soggy.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent city park course that's worth playing if you're in the area. Beginners will find the short tees challenging but not to the point of being frustrating. There is some thick punishing rough, but there are enough holes with little or no punishment to balance that out. More experienced players will find some nice challenges on some of the long tees, though there are some sections of the course that aren't as interesting.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quality layout in a large park

2-4    11/13/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 218  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing I noticed with this course is it that its almost always windy to some degree. That adds a little bit more challenge in knowing what disc to throw (and not throw) and how to putt. Longley provides for good practice with both. Course is primarily flat with a mix of lightly wooded to heavily wooded holes. There is more length in the lightly wooded holes with a few holes to let rip on. When winds are calm, this course would be great for rollers due to the well manicured grass and open fairways. The heavily wooded holes are very technical with a good selection of shots required to have a chance at birdie. All of the pro teepads are concrete and while there are shorter pads, most of them are not concreted yet. Good use of other obstacles in the course as OB to keep away from other activities in the park.
Cons: Like I mentioned this course is mostly flat. Only the slightest of elevation changes and I didn't even notice them until I looked back at the tee from the basket. Also mentioned was the consistency of wind but I don't really count this as a con, just something that should be noted. Several of the short pads are just woodchips inside of a frame, this may affect footing. Several of the tee signs in the woods have been vandalized but it didn't appear to be done by disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: The wooded holes that run along the fence in the back are adjacent to a shooting range. All discs that go over CAN NOT be retrieved by jumping the fence. Players need to have their discs labeled with a name and phone number to have any chance of getting it back. All lost discs over the fence will be called if a number is available otherwise it will go to the local club to be picked up.

Overall, Longley is a fun course to play for players of all skill levels. More skilled players shouldn't have much trouble shooting a few under par. Having only played it in the fall, I'd imagine that the course would play a stroke or two harder in the summer with all the trees full.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Longley Park DGC

1    10/20/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: SteveDisc
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are a few holes that have plenty of trees for a challenge. The baskets are nice. The concrete tee pads are in good condition.
Cons: There were some missing signs. The park waas being setup for some sort of Halloween walk, and many of the baskets were blocked with the Halloween displays. I had to give up on holes 9-13, because they were not playable. There were people working on the Halloween setup, and vehicles were parked in fairways.

Holes 17 and 18 are terrible. The softball field is out of bounds, and if you go to the right on 17, you are in the street or in an apartment complex. If there was a softball game in progress, this would be a 16 hole course in my book. This park has the typical problems of a multi-use park.
Other Thoughts: For a first time player, it is hard to figure out where the next tee is on many of the holes. I had to search a while to find 17's tee.

Don't expect to play all 18 holes around Halloween.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I-65 must stop

1    8/21/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: bigronbowski
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: just right off the I-65. Pro and amateur tees. Great variety of long shots from the pro tees. Nice park.
Cons: softball field on 17.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to stop and stretch your legs if you are traveling through on I-65. Really right off the expressway. Had my wife with me when I played and she is beginner level. She did throw into the softball field and had to walk all the way around twice. I was busy retreiving my disc from the tree lawn across the street.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    8/7/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: Victory33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You shoot into the woods, out of the woods then get great low ceiling, and tunnel shots. Very nice use of the wooded areas and open space. Some really tough shots inside the wooded area too, hit the first tree and you are in trouble. Also some long range shots and wide open looks for all types of players. Pro/AM tees are nice, and I believe there is also alternate placements as well....always a plus. Wasn't very crowded at all, maybe two other groups on a Sunday.
Cons: No elevation, I saw a big hill in the park that would have been really fun to drive from, but wasn't being used. Didn't like hole 17 or 18 at all. Softball field is in play on 17 and 18. There was a softball game going on so I ended up hitting the close apartments on the right trying to avoid fading into the softball field. Disc almost ended up on someone's deck! Poor throw, but worse hole placement. Needed some help from locals finding some of the early tees.
Other Thoughts: Great change of pace from the Indianapolis courses, really challenging course. Not too far from Indy, since it's right off the interstate. I will definitely make it back here soon, as I'm getting tired of playing the same courses and this one stands out as a unique place to play around Indianapolis. Not much else to add that hasn't been said!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    5/29/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice park, seemed to be taken care of very well. Disc golf section pretty much separate from the other parts, except on the back end. Could see it getting crowded by non-dger's on a bad day.
- Great mix of open holes and wooded holes, and even some in between. Some holes have you shooting fairly deeply into the woods from the open field, and others have you shooting fairly deeply from the woods into the open field.
- Tunnel shot created by mature trees a real challenge, especially with the mando. Interesting to see a tunnel shot that really wasn't in the woods, technically.
- Great mix of shots needed to score well. A little right, a little left, and a lot straight. Accuracy is a must for many of these holes, more so than distance.
- Two sets of tees is great for a newer player to hang with a more experienced one. Seemed like they were both appropriate, skill level wise (only played Pros myself).
- Baskets and tees OK
Cons: - Signage was missing on some of the forest holes. I guess they are getting new ones, but when I was there it was not great. Getting from 6 to 7 got me turned around for a minute.
- Local kids riding around on motorized scooters around the course, mostly inside the forest. They didn't get in the way too badly, but were pretty distracting.
- Pretty much no elevation change to speak of. A basket on a small hill was about it.
Other Thoughts: - Rough was extremely thick on some holes, especially by 6. Watch that disc if you end up too far right.
- No water at all is in play on this course, which to me doesn't really count as a con.
- For such a flat area, they made a really a good course. Great mix of forest and open holes, with a lot of trees in play on the open holes. Only a handful that didn't stand out in some way.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 quality city course

1    3/27/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 685  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 25.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual tees; longs recently poured concrete. Nice and long; and done well; broomed.
Tee signs using laminated paper (sounds like more permanent ones to come eventually). Short tees using elegant post. Footage of signs seemed very accurate.
Nice innova buckets.
Alt. pin placements.
Wooded holes at beginning and end. Bomber holes also available.
We felt there were good amount of benches available.
No troubles with navigation.
A number of tight and/or low ceiling lines required.
Cons: Couple of tee signs missing.
A little less demanding than Camp Cullom; i.e. a little more of an open, city park feel; but still a very good course.
Played one short tee, due to long being very swampy. One section of course was very wet; but, in this section they had raised at least one of the tees off of ground level, in an attempt to alleviate this problem.
Other Thoughts: Four of us playing this one on a journey. Two of the four of us, 900+ rated players....long tees...+2, best score of our group. In other words, tough, quality disc. Would I return here? Most definitely.
This is a good city course; and progress is on the upswing to making it even better, in terms of tees, signs, etc.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Layout / Design

2-4    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: Kramer
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Balanced - There were a mix of short tech's and long drives, trees come in to play for almost all holes. And a sprinkling of short easy shots to keep your attitude positive.

Clean Lanes - They took some time clearing out debris to make sure that you could get a run for Aces. Not to say that every hole was open, it still requires some imagination and hitting the line.

Nice Pads / Baskets.
Cons: Looks like the Park could be busy with Ballgames and Soccer Matches. The course winds around a lot of these fields. Some of the course is also a walking trail? (or used as such by Locals). Good to spark interest, bad if you bang the head of a spectator on a grip lock.

Land was mostly flat. The elevated green (15) was only a difference of maybe 3'.
Other Thoughts: I would play again, just for a course to have fun. The Alts they set up are beasts for Tourneys. (the one is a basket set upon a 25' mound). Locals are great to help promote the sport.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely balanced course

1    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 139  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great bomber holes

Winds in and out of woods

Balanced lines and shots

Nice pads
Cons: Drainage problems

Could use more detailed signage

Not much elevation action
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, diverse course.

You wind into, out of, and through trees of varying density the entire 18. The pins are placed well, when in the relative open, to shape lines with the random cover. There are A LOT of low ceiling shots. Some of these have substantial distance. There are a few 400+ft holes to lay into.

Many of the pins are somewhat guarded. The fairways are very fair and well defined throughout. This course hits most every distance and angle. I needed distance drivers, fairways, mids and p&a's. I used a great mix of discs off the tee's...pretty much used every disc in my bag.

I mentioned the drainage problems. Clearly, it is early Spring and the rain has been plentiful. Even still, some pins and pads were under water. I expect mud, but some areas were at least a foot deep. No big deal, just something you should consider with the weather.

You should bring a map your first time out. Its not real difficult to navigate, but I did refer to the map more than a few times.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A nice variety

1    11/28/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 112  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a lot of great things about this course. 18 new discatchers with alternate pin placements. Concrete tees for the longs (short tees are currently marked with a red stake). Teeposts with current laminated signs which are going to be permanent eventually.
The course offers a good mix of wooded and open holes, short and long holes, and left turning and right turning holes.
Cons: No practice basket, I don't recall seeing trash cans or benches. hole 13 plays close to the horseshoe pitts and hole 17 plays along the fence of the baseball field.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the layout and variety that this course had to offer. The first three holes play into, out of, and through the woods. Then you get to holes four and five where you get to let your arm loose onto a more open fairway. The next few holes play through some defined fairways with brush along the edges. And then you head back into the woods for a few more holes before coming out for the last 6 holes which play through mature growth. I really like how the course allows you to get your arm warm with the shorter/more technical holes before playing the longer open holes.
In addition, the wooded holes are fair, there are defined fairways. However, some are still tight, you just have to hit the right line.

This course is just off of the interstate so if you are driving through, you should definitely stop and play. There is a playground for the kids as well as a few other park ammenities.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.