Arnold, MO 
Arnold City Park Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #1 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Mandatory between two trees.



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    5/13/2015   5/13/2015
Review By: TheGodfather
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good flow. Nice mix of wide open holes & wooded holes. Like some of the goofy rules the course has. Like one hole you throw between two electric poles. If you don't throw between them it's a one stroke penalty.
Cons: Some standing water on holes 8 & 9. Very flat. Not really that challenging. Too short.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not my first choice

2-4    4/22/2015   4/24/2015
Review By: theRHW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +A&B tees for each of the 9 holes
+most holes are pretty short, except for holes 3 and 4
Cons: -No course map
-dirt tees
-no hole designation, basically just throw to the only basket you see from each tee
-the Course main sign says only disc golf, nothing else with no direction to the tees, which are on the exact opposite end from the parking
-bugs bugs bugs, holes 4 through 9 are in dense wooded areas and the Mosquitos are everywhere. take your industrial bug spray
-the area is frequently wet and smells terrible for the entire second half of the course
-trash and litter everywhere, including torn up truck cab seats at hole 6
Other Thoughts: this is my last resort course for a fast 9 holes

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beginner goodness

1    8/4/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: lbond
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good flow. Nice colored baskets. Nice pond/fountain by hole 1.
Cons: Short. Easy.
Other Thoughts: This course is great to take people that are just starting the game or wanting to know what it is about. I took a friend for his first time and we still managed to knock out 27 holes in a couple hours. Good mix of short and long holes, but I think Schroeder is a much better 9 hole course in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent 9-Hole Course

5+    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 118  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic Lake, Shot Variety, Long Holes, Multiple Pads, Elevated Pins, Powder Coated Baskets, Technical, Easy to Navigate, Good Flow

Arnold City Park is home to one of, if not the best 9 hole course in the area. The disc golf parking lot over looks a beautiful, large lake and fountain. You can see the elevated basket of hole 1 in the distance. The practice basket is on the near side of the lake, so you can get a little warn up with a serene backdrop. Once you walk around the lake, you have your choice of short (red) tees or long (blue) tees. Both sets of pads are indicated with paint and marked with distances throughout the course. Though they are all natural tee pads, they are level and easy to throw from. The designers made great use of the land that was provided and even had room for a few holes that are around 400' long. An old subdivision street round through the course ands adds an extra challenge of OB. The shorter holes are technical as they wind through the wooded edge of the course and require a good shot to score well. DGA Baskets are powder coated orange and really stand out from their surroundings. The holes flow well, one after the other and common sense will always take you in the right direction.
Cons: Only 9 Holes, Natural Tee Pads, Flat

Really, this is a great little 9-hole course. I love that they have longer holes and require you to throw a multitude of different shots. My only gripe is that the course is only 9 holes when the park easily has room to accommodate 18. Concrete Tee Pads would be nice, but you really don't even need them since the natural pads are in just as flat as the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is one of the best 9 hole courses I've ever played. You need distance and accuracy at different times to score well. The course itself does not take up much space, but the designers did a great job with the land they were given. If I lived closer, this would be a great course to practice all facets of your game on a regular basis.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good warmup/Practice course

2-4    4/10/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: twiggycdxx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for a quick round.
Cons: Short and some of the holes are tightly wooded. Also the wooded holes can be muddy after rain.
Other Thoughts: The course is close to where I play sand volleyball during the week, so I try to play it before my games. Since it is only 9 holes can get some quick practice in.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Arnold city park

2-4    1/29/2013   1/29/2013
Review By: jameswilkson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good setup and very changeable with the winds so good Still the best Course by far would recive a higher rating if had tee sign to point where the basket is
Cons: Still no tee signs just small markers and no tee pads

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  good practice course

5+    11/20/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: muttdawg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Good on cooler or windy days as sun shines on 1st 4 holes and the woods block some of the wind. Playable in winter when sun is out. 1st 4 holes are longer, good for practicing distance, not much challenge. The last 5 holes are short wooded holes. Each pin has 2 tee boxes.
Cons: No cement pads, only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course to learn on especially if you live near Arnold.

Arnold City Park

2-4    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: catkiller12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Course is good for a quick round or two.

2) The layout of the course is smooth and easy to follow.

3) The baskets are in good condition.

4) While the course is small, it has a variety of short holes, longer holes, holes that allow you to rip some long drives, and holes that require accuracy and technique.
Cons: 1) Lack of hard surface tee pads. Tees are serviceable when the weather is dry, but after a good rain, the tees become mud slides. When the tees are that muddy, I normally throw in the grass next to the tees.

2) The course is not overly challenging. There are several very short holes. I don't mind a couple short holes on a course, but when 4 to 5 of the holes on the course are about 200 ft or less, it leaves me wanting a little more of a challenge.

3) On a very nice day, the park can get busy with walkers, runners, and bikers. Several holes (1, 4 - 9) play over or next to the running path. Makes me nervous sometimes that my disc will deflect off a tree near the path.

4) Some of the tees are very close to the previous pin placements. On these holes, I will often wait for players ahead of me to play through the next hole to give myself peace of mind that a horribly thrown disc won't hit a player on the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course when I am itching to play a quick round; the park isn't too busy; and the course is dry.

This course is also good for beginners since it has a little bit of everything and not too overwhelming.

Considering the amount of space the course has to offer, the design is decent. Not sure where the park's bounderies are, but if the park were able to expand the course into the wooded areas that border the current course, that would be really cool.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: ihurt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
Pros: A fun course. Locals are very friendly. Easy and relaxing if youre just looking for a quick nine. A good variety of open and wooded holes. A lot of improvements have been made, such as mulching the wooded fairways, recently. Also a practice basket available at the beginning of the course.
Cons: While the course has multiple tees, they dont always make sense. Sometimes they arent that far apart, and other times the tee is almost in the fairway of another hole. The mandos are also a little ridiculous, especially on hole six. In the picture it shows the mando on the hole as to the left of two telephone poles, but now its actually between, which is sometimes hard to hit with the angle of the tee. Trash can become an issue.
Other Thoughts: I do enjoy playing this course, as it is quick and fairly easy. Multiple birdie and ace opportunities, and i have hit some of both. However, dont underestimate it as i have before, still take it seriously.

 Warm up Course

2-4    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: Corack
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a good beginner course in my opinion. Fairly easy to see bright orange baskets. The first few holes let you get warmed up in the open and work on distance while the back side forces you to work on more control over distance.
Cons: It has been a little muddy on the wood holes a few times I played. Hard to find the first time you look for it unless your familiar with the park. Could use a few signs directing from the park entrance.
Other Thoughts: As a pretty new player I like to take my friends there to introduce them to the game. Its convinent for where they live and gives them space to try out the game. It is not challenging for more experienced players, but then that is why we go to different courses for different levels of play

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.