Arnold, MO 
Arnold City Park Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #5 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 145ft.   3 / --   3 / 250ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Dogleg right after large tree.



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good warmup/Practice course

2-4    4/10/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: twiggycdxx
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for a quick round.
Cons: Short and some of the holes are tightly wooded. Also the wooded holes can be muddy after rain.
Other Thoughts: The course is close to where I play sand volleyball during the week, so I try to play it before my games. Since it is only 9 holes can get some quick practice in.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Arnold City Park

2-4    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: catkiller12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Course is good for a quick round or two.

2) The layout of the course is smooth and easy to follow.

3) The baskets are in good condition.

4) While the course is small, it has a variety of short holes, longer holes, holes that allow you to rip some long drives, and holes that require accuracy and technique.
Cons: 1) Lack of hard surface tee pads. Tees are serviceable when the weather is dry, but after a good rain, the tees become mud slides. When the tees are that muddy, I normally throw in the grass next to the tees.

2) The course is not overly challenging. There are several very short holes. I don't mind a couple short holes on a course, but when 4 to 5 of the holes on the course are about 200 ft or less, it leaves me wanting a little more of a challenge.

3) On a very nice day, the park can get busy with walkers, runners, and bikers. Several holes (1, 4 - 9) play over or next to the running path. Makes me nervous sometimes that my disc will deflect off a tree near the path.

4) Some of the tees are very close to the previous pin placements. On these holes, I will often wait for players ahead of me to play through the next hole to give myself peace of mind that a horribly thrown disc won't hit a player on the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course when I am itching to play a quick round; the park isn't too busy; and the course is dry.

This course is also good for beginners since it has a little bit of everything and not too overwhelming.

Considering the amount of space the course has to offer, the design is decent. Not sure where the park's bounderies are, but if the park were able to expand the course into the wooded areas that border the current course, that would be really cool.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Warm up Course

2-4    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: Corack
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a good beginner course in my opinion. Fairly easy to see bright orange baskets. The first few holes let you get warmed up in the open and work on distance while the back side forces you to work on more control over distance.
Cons: It has been a little muddy on the wood holes a few times I played. Hard to find the first time you look for it unless your familiar with the park. Could use a few signs directing from the park entrance.
Other Thoughts: As a pretty new player I like to take my friends there to introduce them to the game. Its convinent for where they live and gives them space to try out the game. It is not challenging for more experienced players, but then that is why we go to different courses for different levels of play

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun. Not Challenging.

1    1/2/2011   1/5/2011
Review By: chains314
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - I found this course to be a great warmup course.
- You will not leave this course angry at yourself as below par is very easy to achieve.
Cons: The course is tightly packed inside of a looped walking trail so watch for people and dogs. Out of the nine holes you will find only a repetitive set of short fairway shots and a repetitive set of short wooded shots. No restroom.
Other Thoughts: It's only a few miles from Jefferson Barracks and West City. If you can, just drive a little further to those much better courses.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 lot of ace opportunities

1    12/4/2009   12/5/2009
Review By: dajuicej
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 34.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: new course
new baskets
good course for a quick round of disc
dual tees
a lot of hole in one opportunities
Cons: no signage, tee boxes are marked by blocks in the ground. the flags marking their locations are disapearing.
not particularly challenging but fun
prone to flooding, holds water, so muddy
Other Thoughts: course still needs work, at least tee signage, concrete tee pads would be nice given the sloppy tee conditions.
i'll play the course again if i`m down that way but i doubt i`d make a special trip to play it again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

1    10/10/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of the land that is given. It's a surprisingly difficult layout (author is an AM at best) packed into not a lot of space.

Brand new bright orange Mach 2's that ya can't miss. This will be especially helpful when spring comes around and things start filling back in.

Beautiful lake in the middle of the park and sparse traffic make for a quiet, relaxing game of golf.

Practice basket has a spiral of stones laid out at various distances around it just like Endicott. A great way to warm up.

A pretty cool view at 4's pin following the power lines up the hillside to the north
Cons: The course is flat, and not very far above either the park's lake or the Meremac River. I imagine light to moderate flooding will be common.

4 of the 5 wooded shots have a hyzer bias. I don't know if this wasn't given much thought or that's all that could be accomplished with the space given. Looking at how the course was crammed in, i'd assume the latter.
A sign (or bigger one if there was one) is needed to point discers to the park from Tesson Ferry. The turn in for Bradley Beach Road is very non-descrpit and easy to miss if you're not looking straight at it.

Forcing a throw over the walking path (twice) on hole 7 will produce many delays, if not busted pedestrian noses. The tee could be moved 15 feet to the left and out of the way of the trail with minimal shovel/sawzall work.
Other Thoughts: This course is brand new! (It's not even officially open for another month or so as of today (October 10)).

As such, there's nothing there but ingots for blue and red tees and the baskets. No tee signs, no pads, no benches, trash cans, info kiosk, scorecards, or help navigating between holes. Debris hasn't yet been cleared and mulch hasn't been laid.

Since all of this will be covered in the next few weeks when the course is ready for visitors proper, the lack of amenities should not be considered a con and as such wasn't reflected in the cons section or the overall score.

Hole 1: Either come out straight between two trees only a few feet away, (and leaving you only a 3-4 foot gap to shoot through), or throw a big hyzer around. The big hyzer route, though, pretty well nixes any chance of a deuce as there is a large tree with a big low-hanging branch that will snag your drive before you get too far. A well designed hole.

Hole 2:Open and straight, but an OB road to the right that forces a BIG hyzer for RHBH'ers. Fantastic pin placement between two trees that forces a good approach/drive. Shots that fall off to either side will force a tough putt.

Hole 3: Basically the same as 2, but a little longer. Same OB road to the right, and another protected pin, though not as tough as 2's.

Hole 4: Again open, but a mild hyzer, and the same road that plays OB on 2 and 3 also plays here. Bad news is, there's a park access road BEHIND the pin that also plays OB. Worse news, that same road wraps around to the left, and there's a large log and some brush that blocks an approach from the front. Anyone scoring a deuce here has played the hole VERY well.

Hole 5: Into the woods we go, and this one is tough. From the blue tee, it plays as a mild hyzer, but there's not a lot of room to get through, and another 75-100 feet to go if you even pull it off. Pin is straight ahead past this gap in a clearing in the woods.

Hole 6: Shortest hole on the course, but not much easier than any other. Plays straight until a left kink at the end to a slightly elevated pin. Another tight tunnel to make.

Hole 7: Another tunnel into/out of/through woods and a mild anhyzer, but plays (twice) over a pedestrian/bike trail (not the safest design IMO). Bad releases or grip-locked shots will likely land on that trail and guarantee a 4, if not more.

Hole 8: Another narrow hyzer with a slightly elevated tee and the pin blocked by a large tree. An accurate release and a big looping hyzer shot could produce an ace.

Hole 9: Longest hole on the course by a good margin. Yet another tight shot and yet another mild hyzer. Pin is protected big a large pile of brush directly in front, and going long will leave you in the middle of a patch of tall grass.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.