Arnold, MO
Arnold City Park Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #9 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 210ft.   3 / --   3 / 255ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: Basket is on a gentle dogleg to the left.



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Excellent 9-Hole Course

5+    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 111  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 13.1 Years
Pros: Scenic Lake, Shot Variety, Long Holes, Multiple Pads, Elevated Pins, Powder Coated Baskets, Technical, Easy to Navigate, Good Flow

Arnold City Park is home to one of, if not the best 9 hole course in the area. The disc golf parking lot over looks a beautiful, large lake and fountain. You can see the elevated basket of hole 1 in the distance. The practice basket is on the near side of the lake, so you can get a little warn up with a serene backdrop. Once you walk around the lake, you have your choice of short (red) tees or long (blue) tees. Both sets of pads are indicated with paint and marked with distances throughout the course. Though they are all natural tee pads, they are level and easy to throw from. The designers made great use of the land that was provided and even had room for a few holes that are around 400' long. An old subdivision street round through the course ands adds an extra challenge of OB. The shorter holes are technical as they wind through the wooded edge of the course and require a good shot to score well. DGA Baskets are powder coated orange and really stand out from their surroundings. The holes flow well, one after the other and common sense will always take you in the right direction.
Cons: Only 9 Holes, Natural Tee Pads, Flat

Really, this is a great little 9-hole course. I love that they have longer holes and require you to throw a multitude of different shots. My only gripe is that the course is only 9 holes when the park easily has room to accommodate 18. Concrete Tee Pads would be nice, but you really don't even need them since the natural pads are in just as flat as the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is one of the best 9 hole courses I've ever played. You need distance and accuracy at different times to score well. The course itself does not take up much space, but the designers did a great job with the land they were given. If I lived closer, this would be a great course to practice all facets of your game on a regular basis.

Good warmup/Practice course

2-4    4/10/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: twiggycdxx
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for a quick round.
Cons: Short and some of the holes are tightly wooded. Also the wooded holes can be muddy after rain.
Other Thoughts: The course is close to where I play sand volleyball during the week, so I try to play it before my games. Since it is only 9 holes can get some quick practice in.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Arnold city park

2-4    1/29/2013   1/29/2013
Review By: jameswilkson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good setup and very changeable with the winds so good Still the best Course by far would recive a higher rating if had tee sign to point where the basket is
Cons: Still no tee signs just small markers and no tee pads

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good practice course

5+    11/20/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: muttdawg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Good on cooler or windy days as sun shines on 1st 4 holes and the woods block some of the wind. Playable in winter when sun is out. 1st 4 holes are longer, good for practicing distance, not much challenge. The last 5 holes are short wooded holes. Each pin has 2 tee boxes.
Cons: No cement pads, only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course to learn on especially if you live near Arnold.

Arnold City Park

2-4    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: catkiller12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Course is good for a quick round or two.

2) The layout of the course is smooth and easy to follow.

3) The baskets are in good condition.

4) While the course is small, it has a variety of short holes, longer holes, holes that allow you to rip some long drives, and holes that require accuracy and technique.
Cons: 1) Lack of hard surface tee pads. Tees are serviceable when the weather is dry, but after a good rain, the tees become mud slides. When the tees are that muddy, I normally throw in the grass next to the tees.

2) The course is not overly challenging. There are several very short holes. I don't mind a couple short holes on a course, but when 4 to 5 of the holes on the course are about 200 ft or less, it leaves me wanting a little more of a challenge.

3) On a very nice day, the park can get busy with walkers, runners, and bikers. Several holes (1, 4 - 9) play over or next to the running path. Makes me nervous sometimes that my disc will deflect off a tree near the path.

4) Some of the tees are very close to the previous pin placements. On these holes, I will often wait for players ahead of me to play through the next hole to give myself peace of mind that a horribly thrown disc won't hit a player on the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course when I am itching to play a quick round; the park isn't too busy; and the course is dry.

This course is also good for beginners since it has a little bit of everything and not too overwhelming.

Considering the amount of space the course has to offer, the design is decent. Not sure where the park's bounderies are, but if the park were able to expand the course into the wooded areas that border the current course, that would be really cool.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/17/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: ihurt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
Pros: A fun course. Locals are very friendly. Easy and relaxing if youre just looking for a quick nine. A good variety of open and wooded holes. A lot of improvements have been made, such as mulching the wooded fairways, recently. Also a practice basket available at the beginning of the course.
Cons: While the course has multiple tees, they dont always make sense. Sometimes they arent that far apart, and other times the tee is almost in the fairway of another hole. The mandos are also a little ridiculous, especially on hole six. In the picture it shows the mando on the hole as to the left of two telephone poles, but now its actually between, which is sometimes hard to hit with the angle of the tee. Trash can become an issue.
Other Thoughts: I do enjoy playing this course, as it is quick and fairly easy. Multiple birdie and ace opportunities, and i have hit some of both. However, dont underestimate it as i have before, still take it seriously.

 Warm up Course

2-4    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: Corack
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a good beginner course in my opinion. Fairly easy to see bright orange baskets. The first few holes let you get warmed up in the open and work on distance while the back side forces you to work on more control over distance.
Cons: It has been a little muddy on the wood holes a few times I played. Hard to find the first time you look for it unless your familiar with the park. Could use a few signs directing from the park entrance.
Other Thoughts: As a pretty new player I like to take my friends there to introduce them to the game. Its convinent for where they live and gives them space to try out the game. It is not challenging for more experienced players, but then that is why we go to different courses for different levels of play

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 fairly nice little course

2-4    11/19/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: wildcat5415
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: baskets in great shape, easily seen with the orange paint. pro and amateur tees. never seen it very busy/ usually no waiting. hard to lose a disc. practice tee at parking lot. bathroom/pic-nic areas at parking lot
Cons: couple of big hidden holes in open fairway, old road running thru front 4 holes will scratch and ding up your disc pretty good if you hit it.
Other Thoughts: not a bad little 9 holer, good practice course. can only really air it out of a couple holes. finesse shots thru woods can give you easy birdies on a few in the woods. all in all, i like playing this course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Skip it

1    10/1/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: Buckstlkr1
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: The pros....well the baskets were easy to see. Oh ya easy to get a bird and you won't loose a disc.
Cons: This course is very short. The first four were somewhat ok for distance. But there was no technique needed, if you kinda throw straight and can make a putt you get the birdie. The wood are crazy short, with little challenge. Doesn't seem very imaginative coure design. Signage has been destroyed by vandals, along with basket 4.
Other Thoughts: Save your gas money go to JB or Festus you'll have a better time.

 It's a disc golf course...

5+    5/21/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 33  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's tough to find positive things to say about this course, but there are a few.
The baskets are in fantastic shape and the bright orange top rings are very easy to spot.
The course has a practice basket right next to the parking lot and the lake for you to warm up on (but it's always been a bog of standing water when I've been).
Holes 2 and 3 give you a good chance to throw a decent length drive with nothing much in the way and no real elevation changes so you can certainly use it as an opportunity to practice some basics and keeping your discs flat and straight.
Holes 4 through 9 are really short and provide an opportunity to attempt some nice long putter/ace throws with a fair amount of obstacles. Hole 3 has a huge fallen tree right in front of the basket that I can't tell whether it is on purpose or incidental, but I like it.
The grounds are nicely manicured where applicable and there is really no way you'll be losing a disc here.
Cons: Well, there honestly isn't much to the course. The property is flat and there isn't much in the way of creativity. Each basket has been cemented into the ground and there are no alternate positions.
The natural tees are becoming a bit worn and the tee off for 1 is a little hard to deal with being half on/off a walking path.
The 5th through 9th holes are all ridiculously short and each one seems very much just like the other - in the marsh with some thin trees, and a short hyzer/anhyzer to the open basket... the same distance as the last.
The really big problem here is water. Those short 'woodsy' holes 5 - 9 are all below flood stage and, of the 5 times I've been by to play (a friend lives in the neighborhood), were under a foot of water and were being patrolled by angry ducks. Completely unusable.
Other Thoughts:
I suppose that this course could be improved by expanding the space a little to get 5 of the 9 holes into the open area and give more room for some variety on the last section. I don't think anything can really be done with the available space to get the course out of the flood plain... so that is what it is.
Wasn't bad for practice, but it just isn't much of a game playing Arnold City Park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.