Castle Rock, WA 
Twin Cedars DGC Share
Uploaded By: ChampViking Hole #6 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Area



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Worth the stroll

1    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: b-mart
Played: 45  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very accessible. Take exit 52 and drive west about 100', and you're there. I've always wanted a place to stretch my legs on the drive between PDX and Seattle, and I've finally found it.

The baskets are in great condition and catch well, and the course is reasonably well designed. Ignoring the length of the holes, I have to say that there are some creative lines here. You have hyzers, anhyzers, and as much elevation change as the land will allow. Notable shots are hole 6 from the wooden platform and hole 8 from the entrance. Hole 5 was memorable too, but that's because I dropped a thumber into the bed of a pickup truck.

I don't often go to disc golf courses for anything but disc golf. In fact, I never go to disc golf courses for anything but disc golf. But the other activities here are definitely worth bringing the family for. Paddleball, giant croquet, badminton, a playground...

Cons: The challenge just isn't here. I'm not a good player by any stretch, and I was still bored by the end of the course. Holes 5 and 6 were okay with a tight window and a low ceiling respectively. Any semi-serious player will be bored before they're halfway done though. Grab a putter and maybe a mid and you should be good here.

I feel like this next one is a con on waaay too many courses: The teepads are awful. They're well marked, but any time that a tee is non-existent it's going to get worn in, pitted, and treacherous. This course obviously won't get a ton of traffic, but I did hook at least one drive because I was concerned about my footing.

It was pretty easy to navigate here, but a map of some sort would be helpful for the target audience. A family walking up with a Frisbee that they found in the woods probably won't even figure out where tee 1 is.

The other activities at the park can get in the way, with the croquet field being in play on hole 2 and what I'm assuming used to be the BMX track following that. Hole 9 is the only one I would truly call a con though. The basket is placed far too close to a playground, which is an accident just waiting to happen.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for the crowd that it's designed for: Beginners and rec players. I hadn't officially introduced my girlfriend to this addiction yet, and it was a perfect place to hand her a Gazelle and a Fuse and watch her catch the bug. But if I'm reviewing this against a lot of the other courses that I've reviewed, I can't give it a good rating. Definitely worth a stop for the accessibility, but not anywhere close to being a destination.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One Of My Two Favorite Rest Area Courses!

1    6/1/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location, Location, Location! Like a previous review commented, it's probably 20 seconds off the freeway. This makes it the perfect little "Stop and stretch your legs and play a quick nine course between Seattle and Portland." There are plenty of excuses you can feed the wife for this stop. Tell her the kids can play in the play area. There's covered basketball and ping pong tables. Play the world's largest croquet course. Have lunch. Meanwhile, you can play a round in 20 minutes and be back in the car. The baskets are brand new (2009). There's no cost to play. The tees are clearly marked between two yellow posts. It's just a fun little easy throw. As everyone has mentioned, the signature hole is # 6. The hole is really not so signature, it's the well constructed, raised wooden platform that has been built there. That's the signature feature of this course. EVERY COURSE IN AMERICA would love to incorporate this raised wooden platform into their course somehow. It's perfect for course baggers like myself to add another course. It's a great spot to introduce someone to our favorite sport.
Cons: The grass field was probably two feet high. I'm sure it's normally cut short. We just happened to play after days of rain. It's just a little pitch and putt. There is little to no challenge for anyone past a beginner. But like someone previously mentioned, challenge yourself to shoot 9 under. Rack up another ace. The course is somewhat bland and easy but the quirkiness of the place adds to the experience.
Other Thoughts: This is just another perfectly placed rest stop course right along Washington freeways (along with the Moses Lake Course) that allows you to break up the long drive with a quick 9. The course is comical in a sense with the piles of logs, equipment, etc. Obviously, the owner is a character of sorts. I would like to meet him.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Stretch them legs

1    4/26/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: ChampViking
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Toutle river RV resort and Twin Cedars DGC is 20 seconds from the I-5 off ramp, check in at hut for free parking pass, and you can be playing very quickly. While if this course were located anywhere else it would be a disapointment, it just so happens that being located in prime I-5 rest stop area between Seattle, WA and Portland, OR coupled with the non-disc activities for fellow travelers makes it a very valuable resource. Throwing from the signature twin cedars man made tee structure is more fun than it seems.
Cons: No food/restaurants on same freeway exit. There is fast food on other I-5 exits near this DGC. No privacy on course, as is set around open fields. I Did not see any or ask about bathroom facilities.
Other Thoughts: Thanks for editing my photo's with the proper numbering. The course seems to rate as a 1.5, but the whole experience as a rest stop should garner a 3 of 5 in fun value, worth the stop. While the course is short and made for beginners, some fun can be had. Safari holes are easily do able, to extend the distances by throwing from tee pad 3 to pin 6 for example. They had benches in a pile near the course, I imagine those could be added in the future. Looks like a covered full size basketball court is installed, but they need to get the construction equipment moved to make it available. If I were an RVing Disc Golfer, it would be a great place to stay the night and play some beer rounds with glow discs, as there is no brush to loose your disc in, and plenty to entertain any children you may have with you.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A little wacky but still fun

1    2/7/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the best things that this course has going for it is that it is located pretty much right off I-5, making it a really convenient stop for anyone doing the Portland-Seattle trip. Twin Cedars is half wide open field shots and half semi-tight woods; its all very short and simple although not poorly constructed in any way. It just suits the main target group who will be playing there, which are probably almost all very new to the game.

I think that if you had to choose one hole to represent this course, it would have to be the Twin Cedars hole (#6?). You are basically teeing off from a small wooden platform between two cedars (hence the course name) and throwing a very short straight shot with just a few scattered birch on either side of the fairway. The other part that makes this a representative hole is that you are also throwing over and around several small storage sheds, lots of bundled fence supply, and piles other building/maintenance supplies - oh yeah, and don't go long or you'll end up in a 5 foot high pile of cut firewood! The course is comical in that way, but in a positive way.

It was free to play, which is a big pro and probably a good choice to keep it free for the owners because I could see myself stopping by again sometime during the summer and trying out the gigantic croquet set or buying some food there in between a short round.
Cons: Multi-use - In the summer, you might have to skip some holes if the place is packed or if people are using the gigantic croquet court.

Challenge - The holes out here are all legitimate for the true beginner player but much too short and simple for experienced players. Without realizing it, I was shooting -8 going into our last hole which I promptly choked :) If you are only into championship golf, this won't be your cup of tea - the most difficult hole is probably about a 150' shot through a tunnel of trees, but its worth a stop for those who like to play at lots of different venues just because it is so easy to get to.
Other Thoughts: As another reviewer has noted, the place itself is a bit loony. There is construction equipment everywhere, a giant barn pavilion stuffed with toys, benches, a triple-decker golf cart, and a whole bunch of other craziness. The croquet court looks pretty crazy as you use oversized mallets and hit soccer balls instead of those little ceramic ones - they market it as the largest croquet course in the world!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.