Modesto, CA 
East La Loma Park Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #15
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very nice course, and improving! (back 18 review)

2-4    12/24/2012   1/2/2012
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of length. This course has plenty of room for you to throw, and requires you to do it on a consistent basis.

Fun terrain. Massive canyon throws on 2 and 16, and mostly flat ground with scattered tree obstacles elsewhere.

Very uncrowded. Those who play here are generally very courteous about playing through and such.

This course is starting to get some love from the local DG association. Helpful tee signs are in place, and some of the hole layouts have been tweaked and improved over the past year.

The out-and-back layout of the course makes navigation simple, and if you're in a time crunch it's easy to play a round of less than 18 holes.
Cons: A bit on the challenging side for beginners. A couple of holes cross a 200+ foot wide creek (or canyon, depending on the season), and the course as a whole is decently long.

Gigantic critter holes are all over the place. If you're not careful, you could easily end up with a twisted ankle.

The layout is confusing on occasion. There are a couple of pins that closely overlap each other, and one teepad is pointed 90 degrees away from the pin positions.

A lot of the holes play next to a walking path. However, the path isn't that crowded, and you can see people a long distance away, well before they're at risk of getting hit.
Other Thoughts: We looked at the front 9, and immediately turned around when we saw a very crowded field with scattered baskets (quick guesstimate: 1.5-2 disc rating.)

The back 18 are a totally different story. At the beginning and end, the course is technical and requires controlled shots to avoid losing a disc in the creek. In the middle, the course opens up and allows players to cut it loose and gun for the birdies.

Every time I visit, the condition and maintenance of the course seems to be improving. This is very encouraging!

I definitely recommend this course for locals or people passing through. We stop by this course a lot when we're on the road from Sacramento to LA and are very happy with it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Two Courses For The Price Of One

1    10/15/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 Holes!
Multiple Pin Placements
Great Tee Pads
Decent signage
Only crowded on beginner 8 holes
Water in play on several holes
Actually pretty hard place to lose discs. Even the water is slow and shallow (although reportedly toxic-but no rash on my legs yet)
Easy to find
Cons: Not a lot of shade, was a bit hot even in October
Probably be backed up on Beginner 8 in evenings and on weekend afternoons
Walking/biking path in play on most holes
Most of the birdie holes are bunched together
Pretty flat. Only elevation in play on the two holes that shoot across the creek.
Other Thoughts: Navigation- Start on hole 1 and play through hole 8. Can't get lost here. Then, after finishing 8, walk past the playground (keep going and going) until you see a basket and teepad 12. Yes, that's right, you go from 8 to 12. The second 18 is numbered separately from the front 9. You then play through to hole 18 and start again up the hill from 18 by the parking lot (no tee sign here and pad is hard to distinguish from sidewalk) at hole 1. You play back through hole 11, then walk a ways to the area behind the tennis courts you parked by and play hole 9 behind it. It plays fine once you know where you're going.

Get your birdies early here. Holes 1 through 8 are putter shots (one is 108 feet) or at most a mid. The crowds will ooh and ahh as you park shot after shot. Then you'll have to pull out the driver and try to keep it off the paths and out of the river (not easy when there's a 4 foot window between the tops of 25 foot bamboo plants and the bottoms of the canopy of the oaks). I ended up -5 after 8 holes, then managed (thanks to 3 penalty strokes) to shoot the last 19 holes at +6 for a total of +1 (922 rating.) Birdies are few and far between on the back 18.

I really like that the course can be a beginner course as well as an advanced course. And it's easy to play less than the full 27 since you basically play out and back. You could turn around anywhere you like and shorten it up.

Thanks Marcos and Jim for showing me around.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 They created a monster...

5+    7/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: SuperUnleaded
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes. ( Wide, open, long-bomb 9 hole on the front side. Semi-technical 18 hole in the back.)
Decent cement tee pads.
Great place to learn.
Most of the locals are very friendly and helpfull.
You can hear the ice cream truck from the front 9.
3 options for pin placements, but Im not sure how often they switch them up.
Cons: A lot of squirrel holes.
Hot in the summer time with not much shade on the top 9.
No elevation changes.
Missing signage on some of the holes toward the back.
Other Thoughts: I learned to throw on this course after getting a couple of discs from one of the locals, and Ive been hooked ever since. It was nice to learn the game on some wide open fairways, and not have to worry about losing your only driver. The bottom 9 is a great place to work on your drives with the short holes coming in at 200-250 feet. These are mostly open, with trees that wont cause you grief. The upper 18 holes are a bit tougher, with windows and lanes through the trees. There are two water crossings with small windows that offer no courtesy for errant shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Almost a Gem

1    5/4/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'll never complain about 27 holes! Flowed well, even though pretty crowded for midweek. A couple of very challenging holes (16 & 18 in particular). Very large park with plenty of space for us DGers. Disc Golf interest is alive and well in Modesto! Met an absolutely gorgeous jogger with 4 dogs who apparently frequents the park often ;p
Cons: Quite an uninspiring layout, especially the first 7 holes, but I guess it's safe. The course layout and sequence seem to be in limbo right now. All I know is, there's 27 baskets out there, so one way or another you'll get through them. There were quite many stickler bushes and weeds out there, so wear khakis or ankle guards! The "Scenic" course isn't really that scenic.
Other Thoughts: This place kinda reminded me of a much longer, and not quite as good Parque De La Raza in San Jose. Although decent, I can't see myself coming back again, tho.
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (27 holes; covers a lot of ground)
Difficulty: B+ (long; can get dense & narrow)
Fun factor: B (watch out for sticklies)
Aesthetics: B+ (nice variety of terrain; layout could be better)
----------------------
Overall: B+

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.