Modesto, CA
East La Loma Park Share
Uploaded By: BENFTS Hole #18 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 317ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Variety and Difficulty Curve

5+    11/13/2013   3/13/2014
Review By: Numbnuts
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Multiple positions for each pin
*Fast grass
*Nice difficulty increase as you progress
*Some elevation changes
*Well maintained
*Concrete Pads
Cons: *Some regulars in large groups ALWAYS there
*Could be a bit tough to recover disc if you throw over the fence in a few places
*Could lose disc in creek, difficult to recover
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course that I learned to play on growing up. It has been expanded to 27 holes, with a temporary 9 holes up occasionally. The 'old' front nine is very easy for people beginning to play, where the regulars hang out. This area is laid out in a way giving lefties who throw forehand an advantage depending on pin position, which is changed every few weeks. After getting past this old front nine, it's clear and open, and the trees are old and established in this well thought out course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  East La Loma, Modesto, CA

5+    1/14/2012   1/21/2012
Review By: cobraguy16
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of holes.

The front 9 tend to be shorter and easier for beginners with parking close by.

Check it out!

Hole 6:

It has a newly installed bench that is really a work of art. It is concrete with a stained glass depiction of a basket and flying discs. Nice ...

The front nine also has several alternates, two of which have nice elevation changes. The locals are friendly and would be happy to show you.

The middle nine tends to have longer, more intermediate to advanced holes. Very fun. Bring water.

The back nine has longer and more technical holes best for advanced players that includes water hazards. Again, bring water.

Cons: Holes made by ground squirrels, watch where you are walking.

Modesto can be very hot from May through October. (But it's a dry heat)

Fortunately, there are a lot of trees. As long as you stay in the shade it's very tolerable on all but the hottest of days.

Sometimes the grass becomes too tall and produces annoying foxtails (May-June). You'll need gators, or bare feet with flip-flops works surprisingly well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very nice course, and improving! (back 18 review)

2-4    12/24/2012   1/2/2012
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of length. This course has plenty of room for you to throw, and requires you to do it on a consistent basis.

Fun terrain. Massive canyon throws on 2 and 16, and mostly flat ground with scattered tree obstacles elsewhere.

Very uncrowded. Those who play here are generally very courteous about playing through and such.

This course is starting to get some love from the local DG association. Helpful tee signs are in place, and some of the hole layouts have been tweaked and improved over the past year.

The out-and-back layout of the course makes navigation simple, and if you're in a time crunch it's easy to play a round of less than 18 holes.
Cons: A bit on the challenging side for beginners. A couple of holes cross a 200+ foot wide creek (or canyon, depending on the season), and the course as a whole is decently long.

Gigantic critter holes are all over the place. If you're not careful, you could easily end up with a twisted ankle.

The layout is confusing on occasion. There are a couple of pins that closely overlap each other, and one teepad is pointed 90 degrees away from the pin positions.

A lot of the holes play next to a walking path. However, the path isn't that crowded, and you can see people a long distance away, well before they're at risk of getting hit.
Other Thoughts: We looked at the front 9, and immediately turned around when we saw a very crowded field with scattered baskets (quick guesstimate: 1.5-2 disc rating.)

The back 18 are a totally different story. At the beginning and end, the course is technical and requires controlled shots to avoid losing a disc in the creek. In the middle, the course opens up and allows players to cut it loose and gun for the birdies.

Every time I visit, the condition and maintenance of the course seems to be improving. This is very encouraging!

I definitely recommend this course for locals or people passing through. We stop by this course a lot when we're on the road from Sacramento to LA and are very happy with it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Two Courses For The Price Of One

1    10/15/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 Holes!
Multiple Pin Placements
Great Tee Pads
Decent signage
Only crowded on beginner 8 holes
Water in play on several holes
Actually pretty hard place to lose discs. Even the water is slow and shallow (although reportedly toxic-but no rash on my legs yet)
Easy to find
Cons: Not a lot of shade, was a bit hot even in October
Probably be backed up on Beginner 8 in evenings and on weekend afternoons
Walking/biking path in play on most holes
Most of the birdie holes are bunched together
Pretty flat. Only elevation in play on the two holes that shoot across the creek.
Other Thoughts: Navigation- Start on hole 1 and play through hole 8. Can't get lost here. Then, after finishing 8, walk past the playground (keep going and going) until you see a basket and teepad 12. Yes, that's right, you go from 8 to 12. The second 18 is numbered separately from the front 9. You then play through to hole 18 and start again up the hill from 18 by the parking lot (no tee sign here and pad is hard to distinguish from sidewalk) at hole 1. You play back through hole 11, then walk a ways to the area behind the tennis courts you parked by and play hole 9 behind it. It plays fine once you know where you're going.

Get your birdies early here. Holes 1 through 8 are putter shots (one is 108 feet) or at most a mid. The crowds will ooh and ahh as you park shot after shot. Then you'll have to pull out the driver and try to keep it off the paths and out of the river (not easy when there's a 4 foot window between the tops of 25 foot bamboo plants and the bottoms of the canopy of the oaks). I ended up -5 after 8 holes, then managed (thanks to 3 penalty strokes) to shoot the last 19 holes at +6 for a total of +1 (922 rating.) Birdies are few and far between on the back 18.

I really like that the course can be a beginner course as well as an advanced course. And it's easy to play less than the full 27 since you basically play out and back. You could turn around anywhere you like and shorten it up.

Thanks Marcos and Jim for showing me around.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 They created a monster...

5+    7/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: SuperUnleaded
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes. ( Wide, open, long-bomb 9 hole on the front side. Semi-technical 18 hole in the back.)
Decent cement tee pads.
Great place to learn.
Most of the locals are very friendly and helpfull.
You can hear the ice cream truck from the front 9.
3 options for pin placements, but Im not sure how often they switch them up.
Cons: A lot of squirrel holes.
Hot in the summer time with not much shade on the top 9.
No elevation changes.
Missing signage on some of the holes toward the back.
Other Thoughts: I learned to throw on this course after getting a couple of discs from one of the locals, and Ive been hooked ever since. It was nice to learn the game on some wide open fairways, and not have to worry about losing your only driver. The bottom 9 is a great place to work on your drives with the short holes coming in at 200-250 feet. These are mostly open, with trees that wont cause you grief. The upper 18 holes are a bit tougher, with windows and lanes through the trees. There are two water crossings with small windows that offer no courtesy for errant shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 modesto ca

5+    8/2/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: giantsfan4life1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: - 27 holes
- cement tee pads
- all holes have signs
- easy to map out and guide
- Lots of different types of thows can be used
- Great locals to play with
- theres a weekly dub and singles round
- theres a few tourneys held here
- Super nice people around there
- nice course layout
- restrooms and H2o fountains
Cons: - No elevation change
- FOXTAILS in some parts of the year

Other Thoughts: My home course. I love the course it has great people there and some great competition as well. There currently 27 holes and a few alternate tee pad positions and they are looking to expand if they are ever allowed too. Youll throw all kinds of shots. Good for beginners and open players.

 Almost a Gem

1    5/4/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'll never complain about 27 holes! Flowed well, even though pretty crowded for midweek. A couple of very challenging holes (16 & 18 in particular). Very large park with plenty of space for us DGers. Disc Golf interest is alive and well in Modesto! Met an absolutely gorgeous jogger with 4 dogs who apparently frequents the park often ;p
Cons: Quite an uninspiring layout, especially the first 7 holes, but I guess it's safe. The course layout and sequence seem to be in limbo right now. All I know is, there's 27 baskets out there, so one way or another you'll get through them. There were quite many stickler bushes and weeds out there, so wear khakis or ankle guards! The "Scenic" course isn't really that scenic.
Other Thoughts: This place kinda reminded me of a much longer, and not quite as good Parque De La Raza in San Jose. Although decent, I can't see myself coming back again, tho.
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (27 holes; covers a lot of ground)
Difficulty: B+ (long; can get dense & narrow)
Fun factor: B (watch out for sticklies)
Aesthetics: B+ (nice variety of terrain; layout could be better)
----------------------
Overall: B+

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Scenic Course and East La Loma Course

5+    10/13/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: Timmcclary
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are actually two courses to be played here. The Scenic Course starts at Pamela Monterosso Park at the intersection of Coffee Rd. and Scenic Dr. The other course is located at East La Loma Park. If you have a couple years of experience and want a challenge then play the Scenic Course. You will need a variety of drives and a certain degree of accuracy to play this course. There are two creek crossings and bad drives will result in lost disc while good drives are rewarded with birdie opportunities.
Cons: Signage for the course is fairly accurate; sometimes the locals will move baskets to locations not on the tee pad sign. The East La Loma Course's signage is screwy, but this will change when another nine holes go in east of hole 4.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and our club, Modesto Area Disc Golfers try to maintain a course that is playable for out-of-towners. There is a course map for the Scenic Course in the kiosk by hole 1.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fair Course

1    9/27/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: (this review covers the larger 18 hole course only)

Easy to find course/parking. Wide open for the most part. Tee pads are all in great condition
Cons: Hard to find your way at times. 2 holes play over an active fast flowing river but the brush is not real clear (at this time at least). Dont make it all the way to the basket area, your screwed. Bums begging for quarters on #4 and #5. Hard to find baskets, needs new/updated signage. Lots of holes so watch your step
Other Thoughts: Personally I thought this course sucks in its present state. I would not go out of my way to play it again. I did not visit the other 9 as I did not have time so I can't speak to the condition of those holes.

 Creeky Fun and a Split Personality

1    3/20/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Reasonably easy to locate although there are multiple entrances
• A decent park with a few additional activities (e.g. basketball, tennis, bike/walking paths (dog friendly), picnic areas, etc….) and facilities (e.g. restrooms, water fountains, etc…)
• Warm-up basket by the tennis court
• The creeks are in play and a factor
• Tee pads are in great shape
• Tee signs are in good shape, although #3 is missing
• The layout is reasonably easy to follow except for a couple holes. There is a map online and at the course near the #1 'Tennis Court' hole (this is how I will be referring to the 9 holes near the tennis courts, which I will abbreviate as TC9), although I don't get what they're doing with the numbering on these maps.
Cons:
• Very crowded on the TC9. Keep your head up and be prepared to yell "Fore" yourself.
• The people paths are in play causing delays
• House fencing is a bit close on a couple holes
• The creeks are in play and a factor (Yes, I listed it twice. I loved it. My girlfriend…not so much.)
• They don't mark the basket locations on the tee signs so you'll have take some educated guesses, which is usually not an issue, but there were a couple holes where we or a neighboring group threw at the wrong basket.
• The crowd here is a mixed bag. There were friendly folks on the main 18, but the groups on the TC9 had a little too much test-ass-torone. Lots of braggadocios, trash talking going on there. This doesn't bug me that much but the GF wasn't feeling it.
Other Thoughts:
Tips
• The #9 TC hole is near the roadway behind the tennis courts. It's a slight jaunt from the finish on #8.
• If you want to start on #1 for the larger 18 hole course, park at the small lot at the intersection of Scenic Drive and Coffee Road. #1 is right at the start of the walkway leading into the park.

Random Thoughts:
I feel like I should almost write two reviews here because there is a pretty dramatic difference between playing the TC9 and the other (Main? Original? I'll go with Main.) 18. We started on the TC9 and it was SUPER crowded and since 8 of these holes are quite short 100-200 ft and very close to each other, it's not the most comfortable round, although I'd probably recommend starting there as it's a good warm-up for the Main 18. I feel like the TC9 is like the executive course. If you want to ring up an ace, I could imagine it not taking long out here. In any event, once you're done there and you walk into the park, the first tee you'll come to is #12. And here's where it gets weird. I counted probably at least 50 people playing the TC 9. On the Main 18, I think I saw 10 people. I have no idea why this was the case or if this is normal, but we were happy to see a clear course ahead…except for the other park goers, of course, but this wasn't too big a deal really. Overall, this 18 is an out and back style course that criss-crosses the creeks running through it, although you only throw over the creeks on a few holes. Most of the holes have you throwing pretty straight at the baskets with a few trees thrown in to demand a bit of accuracy. Where I think this course shines are with the holes that bring the creek into play (#1, #2, #3, #16 ad #18). Technically, #9 throws over a creek, but it was dry (and shallow) when we were there. #1, #3, and #18 don't have you throw over the creek but the 'fairway' runs right next to it, sooo you better keep your shots straight or take them out towards safety. But the real sphincter-tighteners are #2 and #18. #2 is a slight right to left across the creek at 240 feet with no real great path to the basket, but let's get real; your objective is to get it over the creek without hitting a tree or bending your shot into the water. I'm happy to say I made it and had a reasonable shot at birdie. The group in front of us I'm pretty sure put every disc in the creek, but managed to keep them all dry. The real fun, though, is at #16. It's shorter at 180 feet but the hole you need to get your disc through on the near and far side of the creek is quite small. Take a breath and let fly. I threw one of the better shots of my short discing career and ended up 10 feet from the basket, which drew cheers from the crowd. And then I promptly bounced the birdie shot of the top of basket, which drew a small "mudderhumper!" from me. But truthfully, I was just happy to be across.

Bottom Line: While this course overall is a bit schizophrenic in atmosphere and challenge, it's in good shape and does have a couple memorable holes. And 27 holes overall is nothing to sneeze at. I can't say I'd recommend going a long ways out of your way, but if you're close or in the neighborhood, do check it out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.