Reading, PA 
Angelica Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Tough to navigate.

1    9/7/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: jbetz45453
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2013
Pros: Baskets had the hole number on them which helped you at least know what basket to shoot at. Nice use of the land available. Also nice they have a practice basket. Good course for newbies like me.
Cons: No tee boxes. In desperate need of some signs to help out the first timers. Some of the earlier reviews mentioned posts or something at the tee boxes but there is nothing really there anymore other than a big dirt patch. Not much of a fairway on #6.
Other Thoughts: Ended up in the area for a function with my daughter and I had 2 hours to kill. I knew the course was nearby and decided to check it out. Saw the practice basket an some others near the parking lot but was unsure if I could find my way around. Luckily I ran into another player who helped out a little and told me where the second basket was. Holes 2,3 and 4 I found easy enough after crossing the creek. Hole 5 I could not find the tee box and walked all around until some other players told me where it was " the dirt spot up by the road". Hole six is easy to find from there but there is not much open area on 6 and it seems like it could be easy to lose a disc in the brush. The basket for hole 7 seems like it has been moved or I played it wrong. The basket for hole 7 was down near the tee spot for hole 8. You did not have to throw it over the creek like it shows on the course map here. Hole 8 was easy to find but on hole 9 I used a dirt patch that I do not think is really the tee box as it seems like the real tee box is really back further if you want to play this as a par 4. Probably not a course you would want to drive out of your way for. Not sure if they are planning on adding tee boxes or not. Looks like they tried to put ones in on #2 and #6 but they were a bit small.

Nice Nine

2-4    8/2/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Open layout with enough trees in the park to keep each hole from being the same. Beginners to experts can play this course and have a good time. I took 4 first timers out to play this course and they enjoyed the round. The park was neatly groomed and kept free of trash.
Cons: Dirt tee boxes with minimal signs to guide play. Hole 7 does not have a fairway through to the basket. A small tree row makes you use one throw just to get through. Maybe clear the under brush to be able to throw through to the basket. Hole 8 has a very slim fairway with a huge tree set in the middle. If you do not lay short next to the tree and end up in the rough you get to enjoy the thick picker vines. Wear long pants because if you throw into the rough anywhere on the course you will be in thick under brush loaded with picker vines.
Other Thoughts: For a 9 hole course this is great fun and worth the play. Having the map is a must to keep you on track. The course was never busy and you can take as much time as you want to play.

Best course in Reading, PA

5+    7/10/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: Never crowded
Descent variety of shots
Some holes are challenging/longer
3rd hole is there after being gone for a year so you have to play through twice to get 18 in
Nice baskets
Has holes where water comes into play
Wooded and open holes
Cons: No tee pads
No signage (this is a problem that I assume will be taken care of in the future) so it is difficult to find your way around the first time playing but this course is not a destination course so people playing here will know where they are going the 2nd time out and everytime after that.
The first hole is right next to the road and then to get to the second hole you have to walk across the bridge to get to #2.
Other Thoughts: With some care this course would be a great 9 hole course.
In the future I hope they will add 9 holes out on the wetlands to make it 18 since there is lots of space available.
Overall it is a nice course for people who live in the area.

Could easily be a lot better

1    7/4/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: jcarvin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.5 Years
Pros: The course is fine with a number of straight shots with some tree cover and a few along the creek. The creek is relatively shallow so there's no real worry unless you wear nice shoes.
Cons: Dirt/mud tee pads that are mostly not marked at all. Nine posts are all it would take to save some headaches. I had to look at the map over and over to find them. Even them, apparently some have been moved and there's no good way to find out where to start without asking someone familiar with the course.
Other Thoughts: This is only about 30 minutes from my house but since it's only 9 holes and it leaves a lot to desire, I won't be going out of my way to play here again. It's very sad that this is the only disc course anywhere near Reading.


5+    1/4/2013   1/10/2013
Review By: Interloper
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of my favorite 9 holes around. Despite the Cons, its just a pleasurable place to play.
Cons: Mostly dirt pads. The tee areas in general are just dirt, and very sloppy.

BASKET #3 WAS REMOVED DUE TO STREAM BANK CONTRUCTION AND LIKE A YEAR AGO AND HAS NOT BEEN REPLACED, DESPITE THE PROJECT BEING COMPLETED FOR ~6 MONTHS.

Very annoying.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just Happy to Throw

2-4    11/26/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: homemadegravy
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course makes good use of the space provided. While it's not a "destination course," the trees and water provide a mild challenge for beginners and experienced tossers alike. There is little elevation change and a chance to let one or two rip.
I'll give the park the benefit of the doubt and say that it is indeed beautiful. However, I visited after a considerable downpour and an unseasonably early snowstorm that downed several branches and even entire trees. The park was a bit of a mess, but I am certain it was my timing.
Cons: Complete lack of signage. My cousin and I spent a good 10 minutes just figuring out the flow of the course and even then we threw from the wrong tee at the wrong basket. The only things you have to go by are the numbers on the basket, a neglected arrow directing you from basket one to tee two (You'll need it, so look for it), and at every "tee box" there is a wooden stake, but even then you aren't sure which tee is which.

Another review mentioned there are several opportunities to hit park-goers. It should also be mentioned, there are a couple spots where fellow tossers may be in the line of fire - particularly 8&9 can easily share a fairway. Speaking of which, the fairway is a serious water-collection area.

While it wasn't a big problem for me, the natural tees were a little awkward. Most notably was "tee" nine, which isn't natural, but a cement slab with four sneaky bolts sticking out of it. I'll leave it to you to guess how we figured that one out.
Other Thoughts: After we had played through once, we enjoyed the course, but, even now, I'm not convinced we did it correctly.

The course info says it's be there for 2-3 years. I don't know the school's financial situation or the cost of such maintenance, but this course would benefit greatly from some simple signage. Even numbering the tees would be an improvement, which, at this point, could be done with a magic marker.

Despite its shortcomings, I was just happy to be able to throw so close to the city. I was visiting for the holidays and am always looking for new places to throw. I'll be back next year. I hope to see this park get some lovin'.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Angelic

1    8/3/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: amusedbum
Played: 271  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots. Hyzer, Anhyzer and straight shots can be made on many of the holes. Good pin locations. Beautiful park.
Cons: Natural tees make good run ups challenging. Poor signage, very little information. Difficult to navigate. I had a hard time finding the second tee box, it's across the stream and up the road..
Other Thoughts: Excellent place for a new player to get started or for a more experienced player to work on their game.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  eneije

5+    11/18/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: eneije
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: compact 9 hole course can be played rather quickly, and is great for beginners, "got my wife to play" since were used to playing "French Creek" it is a nice "open" change. Few trees really but the baskets can be seen from almost every "T", although with a little risk comes better rewards. easy to navigate and very hard to lose a disc, you'd almost have to try to loose one. Also can be Safaried to add distance and make it play 18 holes, or do like i do, play it twice! Most holes play under 300 feet and easily reachable for birdies. #9 is long but very open, also a par 4.
i recommend this course to beginners and pros alike.
Cons: no "T" pads, and short, 45-50 minutes to complete, although that could be a good thing for some.
Is just a little bit on the easy side, not a lot of challenge here but fun and can let it rip!!!!!
Other Thoughts: practice basket near hole # 1.
Water from the creek plays in a few holes which is very cool. Not much in the way of elevation, but the elevation they have has been utilized very smartly.
easy to find, go check it out!!!

 Fun afternoon

2-4    11/21/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, new baskets. Navigation is relatively easy. Decent use of natural terrain, including a babbling stream.
Cons: Lots of opportunities for people to be in the way. The course was also pretty damp, even after a few days of sun. No signage, aside from the bare minimum (more below). Natural tees only, mostly in poor shape.
Other Thoughts: The course is nice enough, for what it is - a town park course. The tees need work, but the layout isn't too bad. It's not a destination course, but if you're in the area it's a fun way to spend a couple hours. There's a stream that cuts through the course, coming into play directly or indirectly on about half the holes.

The course isn't difficult to find, per se; I did however start walking it backwards to find out where everything was, as there was absolutely no signage. The tees are marked by a short stick with a red flag and number; that's the only indication. The course starts further into the park - past where the road curves left, rather than just when you come in. The basket you can see when you come in belongs to hole #7.

Better tees and some improved signage would better this town course a lot. However, enjoy it for what it is, and don't expect too much.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Play

1    7/17/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
New baskets. Near amenities. Easy to enjoy, for Beginners to Advanced alike.
Cons:
Single (natural) tee/basket. Plenty of opportunities for non-players to be in the way (many picnic tables along fairways, kids playing near stream, walkers crossing bridge). Course below road-level, much of it between the road and the stream, so wetness could be an issue.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a pretty public park, fairly flat, low-cut grass, a smattering of large hardwoods, with a shallow stream and its nearby brush-growth running through the park. The first four holes are nice but somewhat similar - ~275', small number of hardwoods to miss, what elevation there is (the bank of the road) coming into play - and the creek, ever so subtly, too. Number-5 is long-n-flat until the end, when the basket is down and right, protected by trees. Number-6 is fun - choose between a wide right-turner, or throw over some high brush and follow the stream, dropping to the left at the end. Number-7 is back over the creek, needing to clear the brush early, and some large trees in the background late. A flat, hardwood-littered hole greets you at #8, and longest-hole #9 has you throw across an open field, with trees to mis both early and late.

Navigation: Fairly easy - look for the wooden posts painted orange on top. Course flows in a clockwise direction. Tee-2 is on the other side of the stream from basket-1 - cross the road's bridge to reach it. Tee-7 plays back over the creek, near the park's pedestrian bridge.

A relaxing, fun play, with the hardwoods and stream providing some challenge and nice ambiance. Worth a visit if travelling nearby.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.