Course Extinct
St. Paul (Inver Grove Heights), MN
North Valley Park Share



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Changes & Upgrades Coming

5+    9/15/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: Cgkdisc
Played: 569  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: This a design update for fans and critics of this course. The City Council has approved plans to not only upgrade tee pads, baskets and install signs after 20 years but add four holes in South Valley on the other side of the tunnel on 16. The redesign will take place this spring. The revised layout will be longer but still 18 holes and there's room for expansion in South Valley to 24 in the future. The big changes will be combining holes 2 & 3 into a tough par 4 and eliminating holes 8, 11 & 12 to reduce nagging erosion problems in the steeper areas of the park. There will be a few tweaks to existing holes including shifting a few tee pads and adding a few alternate pin placements. The four new holes in South Valley will replace the four lost and include some interesting holes with two legit par 4s and two par 3s. Once the new routing is ready to play, we'll create a new course listing called The Valley and retire this North Valley listing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Time, Needs Signs

5+    11/16/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: discgobisco
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2010
Pros: North Valley is a very balanced course that has a great array of long and short holes combining skill shot lines with sheer gusto. As previously mentioned, the park contains a large bowl area with a big lake/pond. The amount of holes and difficulty of these holes utilizing the geography is great. The course also has a few number of signature shots, including the aforementioned 600ft bomb over the pond for hole 15. I also really like the shot on 13 gliding over a tall brush grove.
Cons: The signage is horrible. If you haven't played the course, a few times, it's very easy to miss holes and tee pads, including some of the best shots on the course. Some tee pads are a little ratty and they could use a few more garbage cans to keep the littering down. The main improvement NV needs is to improve the signage and teepads.
Other Thoughts: This can't be added as a con, but i wish they would put the four or five holes on the bottom back in. It's been quite a few years, and the pads down below where even worse than the ones up top, but there were a few really cool holes going down to the lower pond and coming back up. That helped keep the congestion down on the front nine as well. I'm guessing it's not ever happening, but a guy can hope.
Fun course, follow someone if your new to it though.

 Worn down

5+    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 40.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: NV does offer some fun holes but the way the course is run down is a great example of why pay to play is the future. I live out in the West burbs and get spoiled with the courses out there. It was a shame to see the eroison, the litter, vandalism, and the ablsolute lack of signage. Some fast greens, some elavation, a nice bridge on #15, mix of open and wooded all positives.
Cons: Lack of any signage. Horribly confusing layout. Several times you had to cross over fairways to get to the next tee. Have a local show you around. Walking path/ bike path came into play on majority of the holes, some blind even. I almost killed a biker on #16 off the tunnel.
Other Thoughts: Make it pay to play, fix up the tees, get some/ any signage and the course would be Ok.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 In need of maintenance

2-4    8/8/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 65  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice layout with quite a few fun holes. There is a decent mix of righty and lefty holes, some shorties and long holes as well. The signature hole I would have to say is hole 4 with "the guardians". This hole is a short one, but has 4-5 trees all leaning to the right to make a wall on a right hooking shot. The other memorable hole is the 500+ foot shot over water.
Cons: When I played this course, it was very wet, overgrown, and due to rain the pond extended at places over 50 feet larger than what I've been told it usually sits at.

-The tee pads are aweful. The smallest teepad I think is on the longest driving hole. They are cracked, narrow, and when I played them slick from caked mud and sand.

-Overgrown. Tight shots are fun, and present a challenge, but not shots that are luck of getting through because the trees and shrubbery have grown out so large that stray branches catch about everything.

-Poor signage. Or rather lack of any signs. If you go to North Valley, be sure to hook up with a local player that knows the course. Some holes are pretty straight forward, but others are just ridiculous to find. One starts on a sidewalk and you have to go backwards on the fairway you just finished to find it.

-Hazardous fairways. Some of the holes are especially bad for tournament play, cause hold ups, and can be dangerous. Make sure you have a voice when you go because you will have to yell "fore!" to any group that's behind you. This doesn't occur a whole lot, but enough to make me put it in the review
Other Thoughts: Regardless of all the negatives, I still believe it deserves a 3. If it wasn't so wet and flooded I might have been able to give it a 3.5. The holes themselves were fun, and my biggest pet peeve was the teepads. Having a sliver of concrete to throw off of, when wet, and having to run up to the pad in mud is just horrible for drives.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course...but Confusing

2-4    6/15/2008   5/12/2009
Review By: manzilla86
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course that after you play it, despite your round, you should have the feeling that it was a fun course. There is a great variety of holes; long, short, wooded, open, water, flat, hilly, baseball field, you name it. And while it is important to share the park with non-disc golfers, there is ample space for stray discs, most of the time.

This course is a fairly far drive from my house. I guess the best indicator for if a course is good or not is if you have come back to it even if it is kinda far away, and I have come back multiple times.
Cons: By far, the biggest con, and the reason it doesn't have better ratings, is how hard it is to find the next hole. The first couple are easy, but then you get to a point where you see two chains on a hill, and only one teepad. I wondered "should I tee off, play one chains, then walk down and tee off the other?" But then luckily some kid walking by just said you tee off the sidewalk where there is sometimes a marker. The layout is very confusing and they could use signs directing you to the next hole.

Also, there are a few holes that might be easy to lose a disc on (and I am not talking about the water hole-that one is obvious). The sumac gets thick in areas and it might be smart to play with someone from your group watching where the disc lands on those holes.
Other Thoughts: Give it a whirl.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

2-4    5/4/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: AliMagnetLocal
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot of fun holes, and the scenery is great. Some distance holes for those who has a good arm.
Cons: After the first seven holes good luck knowing where you are. There are very poor markers, and some cement slabs are placed randomly throughout the course as if the starting area was moved. The transition from hole to hole doesn't make sense and some of the baskets are too close to each other. Large groups of people play all at once, which can be confusing to know where to go if you are new.
Other Thoughts: Despite all the negatives, a pretty nice course to try out. Remember to bring water, because the last holes have a lot of hills to trek up and down.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly sillyness

1    4/25/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Somewhat beginner friendly. This is mostly true because of the forward tees that really change the toughest holes. That is a key feature because it is a great course that would allow a beginner to play along with a pro and see what a championship caliber course is like.

2) Concrete/asphalt teepads instead of dirt.

3) Baskets in good shape.

4) Wide varety in length with a max of over 600' and another about 550', with 5 more holes less than 200' Even those less than 200' have their own challenges however.

5) Has awesome variety: elevation changes, forced water carries, tight wooded tunnel shots, hole requiring a nice anhyzer or other throw. Baskets on slopes that can lead to roll aways (Not that I like it when it happens but it provides something to think about when shooting), a handful of open holes with scattered trees. It just plain has everything.
Cons: 1) A little dirty with garbage in a few spots.

2) Compact soils lead to bare soil in some areas (again jut simply from overuse over the years). Not too detrimental to my review but it is a factor.

3) A couple of the holes although challenging and fun to play had some quirkiness to them, that left a slightly bad taste in my mouth. Not horrible, but noticeable again.

Other Thoughts: This was the first course I played in MN out of 7 on this weekend. I only started there because Kaposia was not open at 6 AM when I was up and ready to play, so I drove down the road. I am glad I played it first because I was able to be excited about a lot of the holes. Had I played Kaposia first I would have been less enthusiastic about some of the holes, although my overall impression would still have been favorable. Just a couple holes make this course memorable and worth the trip. It will challeneg you from start to finish. There are no easy simple straight forward holes. They all have unique differences and challenges.

The only reason this course cannot receive a 4 or higher from me is because of the confusion on the course, although all the holes are great the layout is a little goofy on some holes. It is somewhat dirty with garbage which doesn't really surprise me I guess.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/19/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 27.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a nice variety of wooded and open holes that make you work the shapes of your drives. It was nice to see such good use of the terrain and obstacles to force the shot selection. Has everything from short holes through the woods to open long holes across water. Big arms and midrange specialists are all rewarded. Pretty well kept up in general.
Cons: I hadn't played it in a few years and going back I found the flow confusing. The signage that was there didn't help much and the teepads weren't in great shape. A few of the holes had fairways pretty close to each other. Expect large groups.
Other Thoughts: 3 or 4 years ago there used to be a lot of broken glass near the teepads but that seemed much better. Kudos to whoever is cleaning it up. Seems like the city needs to either make up thier mind to fix it up and/or expand or not. Either way it needs some love.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 TOUGH TO FOLLOW

1    11/17/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: D.W.G.
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Many different styles of holes... Nice layout...
Cons: Not marked very well... If you have never played it before, you could have a hard time playing the course in the right order...
Other Thoughts: Would like to play the longs in the winter... 15 has to be a monster, going over the pond...

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/9/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a wide variety of shot that need to be thrown here with a large amount of elevation change on a few holes. There are a few wooded shots but for the most part, it is fairly wide open.
Cons: The first time I played here, I spent more time looking for which hole I was suppose to play next and where the tees were then I actually did playing. This course could really stand some new numbers for the baskets as well as better tee markers.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.