Austin, TX 
MetCenter DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #13 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 446ft.   4 / 569ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Variety and Long

2-4    10/1/2011   10/11/2012
Review By: NTexas2010
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This course wasn't afraid to stretch its legs. I like courses that "let the big dog eat" from the tee box (i.e. the 1000'+ Hole 10, 1 of 8 holes that are over 500' long when playing the blue tees).
- Along with the driver-friendly holes are technical holes throughout the course that utilize trees, water, and elevation changes.
- Any course that has established Alt Tees is a plus in my book.
Cons: -This was a year ago but some of the outlying areas of the course were under construction and affected the quality of play at the time. If that has since changed then consider this con null and void.
- It's the nature of the beast, but some of the more wooded areas were quite muddy. Old pair of shoes takes care of that though.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while visiting a friend in ATX. It's the only course I've played in Austin but if it's any indicator to the quality of courses out there, then I'm impressed and should make the trip over more often.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Steeplechase Industrial

5+    3/22/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short holes on this course. Good pin placement throughout. Excellent technical holes. Especially on holes 1, 4, 5. 6, 10, 12, 17, and 18 which has a good number of trees in the fairway and good interaction with the creek that runs through this course.
Cons: I have played this course both with and without water in the creek. When there is water present, plan on losing at least one disc. (Hence the Steeplechase in the title.) No Restrooms, few trashcans, and some high weeds can make for a tough disc golf experience.
Other Thoughts: This course just happens to be close to where I work, so it is a favorite of mine. Sure, it is tough, but for me, beats some of the other tough courses in Austin. At least I can play this one and have a chance at par on some holes.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

1    12/9/2010   12/13/2010
Review By: Clue
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really good design
Good signs and tee pads
Easy to navigate
Good for both pros and ams
Cons: A little flat and repetitive
Other Thoughts: I don't think there's anything outstanding about this course, but there's nothing wrong with it either. I think there are a couple really good golf holes, and it makes good use of the creek and ponds. I think it's definitely worth playing if you're in the area.

Advice - park a little further down, start on hole 2, and then finish on hole 1!

And remember to check out the sign as you pull in, "Trespassers will be violated"

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mudcenter

2-4    2/5/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful signage. Great use of land that otherwise would be lying idle. Decent shot variety and elevation change. Nice pace between long & short holes; shorter holes on either end of the longer ones so your arm won't tire too easily. Concrete tee boxes for both amateur and pro lengths. Different tees offer more than just a variation in distance, they offer a considerably different line as well. Great baskets, all readily visible and at the proper height. Moderately to slightly difficult, but plenty of shorter holes offer birdie/ace opportunities. Plentiful out of bounds areas require a fair amount of technical precision. Trees in the fairways (most of the trees out here are fairly young) are used very strategically with the design, not just as arbitrary objects. Probably the least trafficked course in the Austin metropolitan area.
Cons: Presumably the gap of land between the office park and the government/military installation was open and unused because it couldn't be built on. Probably because it's like a giant runoff/drainage ditch. Wet and muddy, even days after rain. As a result, the tee boxes, despite being concrete, are usually pretty caked with mud and dirt. Not exactly the most fluid design; some confusion in where to go after a couple of holes, as multiple tee boxes are visible from the end of the previous hole. To alleviate some of this confusion, there are a few signs between a few holes that indicate which way to fork to proceed to the next hole. Not exactly interesting; none of the holes are memorable or super unique, probably due to the fact that the land the course is on is in itself not very scenic. The out of bounds areas are marked on the signs, but it takes a bit of guesswork to actually say if you're off course when you get to your disc; additionally, some of the OBs do seem a tad on the harsh side, but that's not necessarily a huge negative. Lack of trash cans. Fortunately, there's not a lot of trash out there - but I would presume it's only because the course isn't that well trafficked (yet).
Other Thoughts: If I worked in the office building the course shares a parking lot with I'd be taking extended lunch breaks every day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 mixed feelings

2-4    12/25/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one of those courses you have to play alot and learn well to achieve and finish with a respectable score. Must play safe and not go for the gusto on several holes is one key. All the holes are well thought out and the course has a good flow from start to finish. Just landing in the fairway isn't good enough to maintain par you have to land in the right spots to avoid troublesome upshots and putts. At first glance the course will decieve you since there is no underbrush, but the trees are thick enough you won't have a clear shot if your not in a landing zone.
Cons: need benches and trashcans. Remove some mandos because the course is already a butt kicker. Wait about 3 days after a rain before playing, water pools in lots of places, the creek is up and the gound is just to muddy. Unless you want to drag around an extra 10 lbs on each foot for this long course.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not a fan of this one!

2-4    12/21/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: LewisFlameworks
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.6 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Heard many good things about this course, but as far as new courses in Austin....I'm not a big fan of this one. Super Hard and water is brutal (very frustrating). That said, there are some pros...
Nice boxes (good length and concrete) and nice signs with good info. Nice baskets. Good lines on many holes, good variety of shots have to be used. Shot (200' ) and long (1000') holes throughout, But over all a loooong course to play. Not too far from central Austin.
Cons: This is not one you're gonna get in at lunch... 2 hours plus to play. Many of the holes throw back on each other since the layout of the course kinda throws all the way down one side and then back up the other way. Some of the holes tee boxes are in direct line of previous hole's box (waiting for a headache!) Lots of water and mud. VERY WINDY every time I've played... not much growth to break the wind. NO TRASH CANS! What happen to Don't Mess With Texas!? No benches... and this course seems to have large groups playing often. Tons of prickly patches. Need to label all pins with hole # (easier to navigate).
Other Thoughts: I will play this course again, but only when I don't plan on having fun.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.