Austin, TX 
MetCenter DGC Share
Uploaded By: Dude Hole #5 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 219ft.   3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Really fun course

5+    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: gamblor01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety in the length of the holes as well as dogleg right/left. Except for a few baskets placed on the top of a small hill the course is flat, but there are some real sparks of genius in the design of this course. Hole 1 is quite possibly the most challenging first hole of any course I have ever played!

The rest of the holes are a very good mix of short to mid ranges that demand technical accuracy, long holes (hole 10!), and some short/easy holes to give your arm a little rest and your ego a boost.

The tee boxes and signs are in great condition, as are the baskets. I have never once seen a crowd out here so you will rarely have to wait on a group in front of you. The busiest I have seen this course was 5 or 6 groups playing simultaneously.
Cons: The course has a bit of a strange design often zig-zagging around and slightly crossing another fairway to get to your next hole. It's not the most obvious where the next hole is if you haven't played before.

There is very little tree canopy here (at least not around the tees or the baskets) so expect to be in direct sunlight quite a bit. You might wind up under a tree for some of your fairway throws but it can be a brutal round in the summer.

There are very few trashcans and no restrooms or water fountains. They also do not have any benches for any of the holes.

Many of the trees have been cut down due to drought and I saw several more marked for removal today. Hole 16 is short but used to force RHBH throwers to anhyzer around trees. Many of the trees in the fairway have been removed and you can simply throw directly at the basket now.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course for beginners. Many of the holes are quite long and it can be downright frustrating if you haven't developed a solid throw yet. If you're looking for a better beginner course I recommend Zilker Park or Mary Moore Searight.

My first trip here I threw a +25 but my game has improved significantly since then and my best round here is +7. We play from the amateur tees and I currently average about 240ft, with a max on flat ground of about 280ft.

I haven't lost a disc here yet but several of my friends have. Right now the creek is bone dry due to drought but there is a pond that can eat your disc if you overshoot holes 3 or 15. If you throw over the creek and OB on some holes it may be difficult to find your disc due to extremely thick and tall brush.

Come prepared with water and a snack. Playing with groups of 4 and 5 it has taken us close to 2.5 hours each time to finish a round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid challenge, bring provisions

1    5/19/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: MetCenter provides a complete game work out. The holes have great variety in shape and distance. Technical control and power requirements are balanced nicely. There are many opportunities to make choices; MetCenter is definitely a thinking player's course. The two tees (red and blue) do an excellent job of providing a good challenge for players of all levels. There are minimal opportunities to lose plastic that can be avoided.

As with most Austin area courses the locals are very friendly. The signage and tee pads are superior. The grounds are well maintained. There are multiple "signature" holes. Some of the better holes include:

Hole 1 is a fairly short par 4 that presents a very difficult challenge to open the round. The tee shot presents two tight routes. One provides a better chance at making a birdie 3, but brings a lot of risk with an OB creek. This is one of the most difficult opening shots in all of disc golf, but eminently fair.

Hole 2 provides a great contrast with hole 1. It is the longest par 4 on the course with an open tee shot that provides a great risk/reward opportunity with OB left and tempts players to cut off as much of the gentle dogleg left as they can. The basket is well placed on a steep mound with a drop-off to OB behind. A birdie 3 is a VERY good score on this hole.

Hole 3 is a terrific short, uphill par 3 with OB blind behind the basket.

Hole 4 is another fairly short par 4 that presents a very good challenge. The tee shot provides a couple options and it's important to get good placement in the fairway to have a chance at a birdie 3. Even with a good drive, the second shot still presents a good technical challenge with options. The basket is well placed in a little cove with OB short, right, and long.

Hole 10 is a medium-long par 5 that provides a good balance of the opportunity to air the disc out with some technical challenge. The fairway narrow nicely at around the 400 ft mark, making longer throwers shape a nice S shot if they want to take advantage of their power and not get blocked out.

Hole 11 is a medium length par 4 with a diabolical tee shot. This tee shot is the toughest on the course and will make all players weigh their options carefully. Many players will attempt to make a safe play off the tee to go for an "easy" par 4, but even the safe shot is challenging. The basket is well placed with OB short and left.

Hole 13 is another fairly short par 4 with a demanding tee shot. The gap is moderately wide, but the shot must be well planned and executed in order to find one of two "sweet spots" with a realistic route to the basket area. The basket is guarded with OB left. The hole can be birdied with a drive and approach that hug the OB left, but both shots are quite risky.

Hole 15 is a picturesque, uphill 320 ft par 3 that requires a nicely shaped S shot and has a drop-off to OB behind the basket.

Hole 16 is a very demanding , short par 3 with OB down the left side.

Hole 17 is yet another fairly short, very demanding par 4. (have you begun to sense a theme yet?) The tee shot requires a bit of thought and fearless execution with OB right and trees left. The basket is well protected on a peninsula bounded by OB.

Hole 18 is one of the best finishing holes in all of disc golf. It's a medium-long par 4 with two distinct routes. The left route involves taking the risk of the OB creek, but cuts a lot of distance off the dog-leg. The right route is safer, but offers minimal chance of making a birdie 3. Par 4 is a good score here and birdie is cause for celebration.
Cons: While I love the well-rounded challenge of MetCenter and many unique individual holes, there are a few shortcomings which I feel prevent it from being a 4.5 or 5.0 rated course.

The property does not afford the opportunity to make two loops of 9 holes. (I know that's beyond the control of the designers, but still a "con" in my book.) Holes 1 and 18 are the only ones with a tree canopy. There are neither benches nor drinking water or restrooms on the course. Add in a long, challenging disc golf course and it makes for a long, hot round.

The course relies too heavily on the use of mandos. There are several long, awkward walks between holes. There are several places which could use additional "next tee" signs.

Hole 3's tee is too close to hole 16.

Hole 8 has a hyzer route that runs through hole 7's fairway. (likely another mando will be added in the future)

Hole 9 is a mediocre hole, dangerously smooshed between holes 12 and 13.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

To read about my review philosophy check out the other info section on my profile.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Love

1    1/5/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: Soulfire75
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical course layout which requires thought out shots and strategy. A very long course which will help improve your distance.Great pin placement
Cons: The course is basicly "straight up and down" so you have keep a look out for people walking through.
Nearby construction
Other Thoughts: Met Center is a fun course, it's very long and challenging with alot off trees to shoot through. The back 9 has a creek next to it thatcomes into play on most holes. Make sure you give yourself alot of time to play it took 3 of us a little over 2 hours to play 18 holes.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Keeper

1    1/30/2011   1/31/2011
Review By: SirSycoSexE72
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The traffic on the course is light and parking is ample on weekends. Tee boxes are well laid out and distance test even the longest throwers. Distinct difference between red and blue tees unlike other courses played in the past. Launch pads are well constructed with excellent traction and clear markers for next hole direction on most holes.
Cons: It is a long course but that to me is just another reason add this course to a players game for that extra challenge. It's hard to say what I would add having only played it once so far. Maybe just the addition of benches at a few strategic holes for the rest break since it is a long course, especially if played from blue tees.
Other Thoughts: Look forward to playing the course more and seeing what it is like when trees are in bloom providing better shade and limiting some shots like pancakes on some holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 very nice course

1    11/22/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: Ryme
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice pro and am tee boxes and good signage designed by John Houck. Many different shots with a couple little par 3 water holes. Plenty of +400 holes and even +1000 from the pro box. This course is rarely played compared to circle c or seawright.
Cons: There are no benches on this course nor did I see any trashcans. The course had a couple of muddy spots but the creek bed was dried up. No elevation shots and technically its a private course so you might stand a change of getting run off. (I didn't see any presence of security)
Other Thoughts: Most of my friends prefer other courses to play because of the distance of most holes. I once heard a guy say when referring to this course "the pros need somewhere to play in Austin." In my opinion its not the hardest but very challenging.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course, as expected

1    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: Overhanding4distance
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another well mapped out 18 hole course from John Houck. Set in a business park, this course has a fair amount of tree coverage which at times can make the tunnel holes difficult. The pro and amateur concrete tee boxes are nice. There are signs that point you in the right direction. The course has a few trash cans throughout.
Good disc catchers, and all around solid course.
Cons: A bit overgrown as of 4/25/2010.
It would be nice to have a hole throwing form high to low elevation, but this course is relatively fllat. Throwing from the pond down into the course might be nice.
**6/13/2010** Very well maintained, freshly mowed fairways and fringe. She's looking good!
Other Thoughts: Overall a very enjoyable course because of the well mapped out holes, the mixture of tight and technical holes, and open fairway shots.
Probably a pretty good course for your dog to come along as it's not surrounded by thick woods like Williamson County Park, or by a major road like Pease Park. Play Well...Win!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great tee pads, good course design. The creek really comes into play and is fun.
Cons: Too many long holes and not enough "fun" holes. I had played Austin Ridge earlier in the day and may it is just in comparison to that course, but it seemed like all the holes where 550+ and there where only a few birdies on the whole coruse.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Right on...and even more right

5+    12/2/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For me, this course offers the perfect amount of challenge. It nestles in nicely between Pease Park and Circle C as far as difficulty goes, although the course par signs may be a tad on the forgiving side. If you're just counting strokes though, it's going to be pretty impossible to score better here than at Pease.

Speaking of signs, this course has got 'em, and they sure are purdy with all kinds of info on them. Be sure to check the signs for OB and mandos. There is a ton of OB and water hazards, which up the difficulty level that much more.

This course offers a wide variety of shots that range from 200' touch shots to 1000' bombers. Although, one thing it offers more than anything else are right turning shots. If you're not left handed you will pretty much need to break out every type of right turning shot that exists, from hyzer-flip turnovers to big sky anny's to forehand flicks and even thumbers. You're gonna need 'em all. This course has actually forced me to learn a consistent forehand.

There's nice concrete tees for all the holes with most holes having a dual tee option and the concrete seems to be slightly longer than the tees out at Circle C or East Metro. The long teebox locations not only offer increased distance to the hole, but often times introduce entirely new lines cut through a different fairway than the short tees.

The course is not cut out of the woods (looks like it was probably farm land 20 years ago) so losing a disc in the rough is not too big of an issue. Also, for the most part, it's easy to retrieve your disc if you go into a water hazard unless you land in the pond behind 3's pin.

Pin placement is also quite good and challenging, a lot of times either being on top of man-made berms, near the creek, or protected by trees.
Cons: It's muddy out here so don't wear your Sunday's best. The entire course runs parallel to a drainage creek and the entire area sits pretty low. Combine that with a thick clay-type of dirt and it never really seems to dry out.

Most of the trees out here are very young so they don't block the wind very well or offer a lot of shade, and in general add to the lack-luster aesthetic appeal of the course.

The ground has lots of briars, branches, divets and dead reeds lying about that do not make for the most comfortable walking conditions. It can also limit shot selection by making rollers and especially skip shots a game of chance rather than skill.

There are ZERO trash cans at this place, and the littering problem is already starting to infect this course. Since this is not on city park land, I guess they don't want to pay someone to come out and empty the cans so when I play this course I take a trash bag and pick up trash to help keep this new course looking respectable. Remember to bring your own trash bag if you plan on drinking.
Other Thoughts: There's some other weird quarks with this course. For some reason this course seems to attract large groups of disc golfers. Every time I've been out there I've come across multiple groups of 6 to 10 people, which really slows down the pace of the game, especially when there's two big groups back to back. Also, the distance on the long tee of 16 is about 200' too long and one of the tee signs on 15 is turned around backwards.

It can be a little confusing to find the next tee after a few of the holes. A few things to keep in mind are that after Hole 5 you have to cut across this "crossroads" area and pass by another hole's teebox to reach 6's tee. After hole 12 you have to do the same thing. Just head straight for the creek and you'll come across 13's tee boxes.

There are definitely some memorable holes out here, but I don't think I can say there are any truly spectacular holes or any particular signature hole(s). Overall though, the course really comes together and offers a fun, challenging, and diverse disc golf experience.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 new

2-4    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: Geaver
Played: 43  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -pro and am tees
-really nice layout and scenery
-great teesigns
-lots of differrent shots
-enough open holes to let you rip it, but enough precision holes where discretion is advised
-pro tees don't just make the holes longer, but really change the hole, and make par seem like an accomplishment.
-course in the early stages, and will only get better with more play
- #10
Cons: Most of the cons fall under the brand spanking new course umbrella.
-no trash cans
-if it has rained in the past few days, this place can be a bit of a freakin mess.
Other Thoughts: This course is goimg to be freaking sweet once it gets a bit of traffic. I am blessed to live in a town that keeps building badass courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing.

1    10/23/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: insobox
Played: 76  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Amazing championship level course, not only that but my friend Hunter got the first recorded ace (that we know of) out there today on hole #5 off the Tree on the left, completely sick.
- Huge tee boxes for both pro and am levels.
- The one tee sign for hole 18 is amazing, another stellar job by Houck,
- Water hazards, OB clearly posted on the beautiful tee sign.
- HARD HARD HARD HARD! This course has tons to offer.
- Nice and technical, this course is similar I feel in style to Steeplechase but done much better (yes I know Houck did that course as well).
- The layout is fun a big figure 8 of sorts.
- This course is generally out of my way as Circle C and Twin Parks are kind of my 'home' courses but this extra distance was WELL worth it. My friends and I are already planning to head back as soon as possible.
- The posts for the tee signs are huge and easy to point out, as well we noticed that the tee signs currently point you where to go, as they are at the end of the boxes and whatever side they are on is the way you are supposed to throw, this helped us navigate the course, as we had never been there before.
- Hole #10, Pro or AM this is a long straight hole, it reminds me of a golf course, just simply awe inspiring.
- Water hazards, as most people would say this is a negative, I love this feature as it adds another element to the game.
Cons: UPDATED REVIEW: 12.25.2009:
- The biggest con I have now with this course is just the utter ridiculousness of all the OB's, it's currently just to much for me at this point in time.
1. Tree height on several holes can be combated by players with big arms simply playing over the holes due to the age of 85% or so of the trees being under 5 years of age. (This is no fault of the designers, and the trees will grow with the course).
2. The course does a figure 8 and at the moment it seems you have to kind of finagle your way around to miss fairways or boxes, however I noticed if you actually do line of sight, you actually are supposed to walk behind the tee boxes of the hole you are crossing, I'd assume.
Other Thoughts: - This course isn't even 'officially' open yet and there were at least 6 groups to show up after we did. (word spreads fast)

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center