Austin, TX 
MetCenter DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #14 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 269ft.   3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    12/9/2010   12/13/2010
Review By: Clue
Played: 109  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really good design
Good signs and tee pads
Easy to navigate
Good for both pros and ams
Cons: A little flat and repetitive
Other Thoughts: I don't think there's anything outstanding about this course, but there's nothing wrong with it either. I think there are a couple really good golf holes, and it makes good use of the creek and ponds. I think it's definitely worth playing if you're in the area.

Advice - park a little further down, start on hole 2, and then finish on hole 1!

And remember to check out the sign as you pull in, "Trespassers will be violated"

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 very nice course

1    11/22/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: Ryme
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice pro and am tee boxes and good signage designed by John Houck. Many different shots with a couple little par 3 water holes. Plenty of +400 holes and even +1000 from the pro box. This course is rarely played compared to circle c or seawright.
Cons: There are no benches on this course nor did I see any trashcans. The course had a couple of muddy spots but the creek bed was dried up. No elevation shots and technically its a private course so you might stand a change of getting run off. (I didn't see any presence of security)
Other Thoughts: Most of my friends prefer other courses to play because of the distance of most holes. I once heard a guy say when referring to this course "the pros need somewhere to play in Austin." In my opinion its not the hardest but very challenging.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Time

1    8/22/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: cfmack
Played: 55  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great signs, including point to the next hole
- Superior tee boxes
- Nice range of open fields and tough tree shots
- Not crowded even on a Saturday afternoon
- While the lack of hills can't compete with Circle C or Searight, I had a blast
Cons: - In the spring, I bet it gets difficult with all the water
- Par 5 on Hole 10 seems rather forced
Other Thoughts: - Difficult to find, not sure if this is a pro or con

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course, as expected

1    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: Overhanding4distance
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another well mapped out 18 hole course from John Houck. Set in a business park, this course has a fair amount of tree coverage which at times can make the tunnel holes difficult. The pro and amateur concrete tee boxes are nice. There are signs that point you in the right direction. The course has a few trash cans throughout.
Good disc catchers, and all around solid course.
Cons: A bit overgrown as of 4/25/2010.
It would be nice to have a hole throwing form high to low elevation, but this course is relatively fllat. Throwing from the pond down into the course might be nice.
**6/13/2010** Very well maintained, freshly mowed fairways and fringe. She's looking good!
Other Thoughts: Overall a very enjoyable course because of the well mapped out holes, the mixture of tight and technical holes, and open fairway shots.
Probably a pretty good course for your dog to come along as it's not surrounded by thick woods like Williamson County Park, or by a major road like Pease Park. Play Well...Win!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    2/5/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful signage. Great use of land that otherwise would be lying idle. Decent shot variety and elevation change. Nice pace between long & short holes; shorter holes on either end of the longer ones so your arm won't tire too easily. Concrete tee boxes for both amateur and pro lengths. Different tees offer more than just a variation in distance, they offer a considerably different line as well. Great baskets, all readily visible and at the proper height. Moderately to slightly difficult, but plenty of shorter holes offer birdie/ace opportunities. Plentiful out of bounds areas require a fair amount of technical precision. Trees in the fairways (most of the trees out here are fairly young) are used very strategically with the design, not just as arbitrary objects. Probably the least trafficked course in the Austin metropolitan area.
Cons: Presumably the gap of land between the office park and the government/military installation was open and unused because it couldn't be built on. Probably because it's like a giant runoff/drainage ditch. Wet and muddy, even days after rain. As a result, the tee boxes, despite being concrete, are usually pretty caked with mud and dirt. Not exactly the most fluid design; some confusion in where to go after a couple of holes, as multiple tee boxes are visible from the end of the previous hole. To alleviate some of this confusion, there are a few signs between a few holes that indicate which way to fork to proceed to the next hole. Not exactly interesting; none of the holes are memorable or super unique, probably due to the fact that the land the course is on is in itself not very scenic. The out of bounds areas are marked on the signs, but it takes a bit of guesswork to actually say if you're off course when you get to your disc; additionally, some of the OBs do seem a tad on the harsh side, but that's not necessarily a huge negative. Lack of trash cans. Fortunately, there's not a lot of trash out there - but I would presume it's only because the course isn't that well trafficked (yet).
Other Thoughts: If I worked in the office building the course shares a parking lot with I'd be taking extended lunch breaks every day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good for mudders

5+    3/10/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: osbogosley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2010
4 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: I would rate it higher if the land was not a wet drainage area. The overall design is very good. Don't let hole one stop you it gets better. One of the hardest opening holes I've seen. There are a wide variety of holes and lots of well marked out of bounds on the tee signs. While playing, the out of bounds are not visible and many times I threw what looked like a good shot only to find it ob where the creek winds around. Verticle poles are needed to mark the OB. Great tee signs.
Cons: Lots of confusing short walks between holes because you can see lots of other tees and no distinct paths yet. Many of the small trees will be lost with lots of play and this course will open up over the years. This is a hackberry forest. After playing this again I am lowering my rating. There are many holes with no fairway. I threw several drives that missed all the trees but still finished in a spot with no shot to the basket. If you like being frustrated this is the course for you. You may not think so at first but this course favors big arms. On the few holes with open fairways only big arms have an advantage. There are so many dead hackberry trees that soon there may be fairways.
Other Thoughts: The design deserves a rating of 2. If 2 of the hillsides didn't stay so wet it would be a better course. I wish Austin would someday give the disc golfers some decent park land.

4 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 166  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 21.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great tee pads, good course design. The creek really comes into play and is fun.
Cons: Too many long holes and not enough "fun" holes. I had played Austin Ridge earlier in the day and may it is just in comparison to that course, but it seemed like all the holes where 550+ and there where only a few birdies on the whole coruse.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 mixed feelings

2-4    12/25/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one of those courses you have to play alot and learn well to achieve and finish with a respectable score. Must play safe and not go for the gusto on several holes is one key. All the holes are well thought out and the course has a good flow from start to finish. Just landing in the fairway isn't good enough to maintain par you have to land in the right spots to avoid troublesome upshots and putts. At first glance the course will decieve you since there is no underbrush, but the trees are thick enough you won't have a clear shot if your not in a landing zone.
Cons: need benches and trashcans. Remove some mandos because the course is already a butt kicker. Wait about 3 days after a rain before playing, water pools in lots of places, the creek is up and the gound is just to muddy. Unless you want to drag around an extra 10 lbs on each foot for this long course.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Can't wait to play again!

2-4    12/21/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: zj1002
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great new course that values placement. A lot of the 400+ holes require you to land your disc in ideal spots in order to score well, which is something a lot of older courses in Austin don't have. You can't just throw your disc down the fairway and free lance it. Nice signs and teepads that point you in the direction of the next hole.
Cons: No benches, trashcans, or # on baskets. Some holes can be very muddy, so be prepared. This course is NOT beginner friendly and may turn newer players away from this sport. You can tell there is still some work to be done, so most of these cons will probably not be an issue in the future.
Other Thoughts: The creek that runs through the course is not as bad as some people have said in previous reviews. You can reach down and fish out most discs, and I played just after rain. If you want a course that forces placement then play here, if not go Zilker or Searight and have fun with the locals.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not a fan of this one!

2-4    12/21/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: LewisFlameworks
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.6 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Heard many good things about this course, but as far as new courses in Austin....I'm not a big fan of this one. Super Hard and water is brutal (very frustrating). That said, there are some pros...
Nice boxes (good length and concrete) and nice signs with good info. Nice baskets. Good lines on many holes, good variety of shots have to be used. Shot (200' ) and long (1000') holes throughout, But over all a loooong course to play. Not too far from central Austin.
Cons: This is not one you're gonna get in at lunch... 2 hours plus to play. Many of the holes throw back on each other since the layout of the course kinda throws all the way down one side and then back up the other way. Some of the holes tee boxes are in direct line of previous hole's box (waiting for a headache!) Lots of water and mud. VERY WINDY every time I've played... not much growth to break the wind. NO TRASH CANS! What happen to Don't Mess With Texas!? No benches... and this course seems to have large groups playing often. Tons of prickly patches. Need to label all pins with hole # (easier to navigate).
Other Thoughts: I will play this course again, but only when I don't plan on having fun.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.