Austin, TX
MetCenter DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #15 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Short Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good Variety and Long

2-4    10/1/2011   10/11/2012
Review By: NTexas2010
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This course wasn't afraid to stretch its legs. I like courses that "let the big dog eat" from the tee box (i.e. the 1000'+ Hole 10, 1 of 8 holes that are over 500' long when playing the blue tees).
- Along with the driver-friendly holes are technical holes throughout the course that utilize trees, water, and elevation changes.
- Any course that has established Alt Tees is a plus in my book.
Cons: -This was a year ago but some of the outlying areas of the course were under construction and affected the quality of play at the time. If that has since changed then consider this con null and void.
- It's the nature of the beast, but some of the more wooded areas were quite muddy. Old pair of shoes takes care of that though.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while visiting a friend in ATX. It's the only course I've played in Austin but if it's any indicator to the quality of courses out there, then I'm impressed and should make the trip over more often.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really fun course

5+    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: gamblor01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety in the length of the holes as well as dogleg right/left. Except for a few baskets placed on the top of a small hill the course is flat, but there are some real sparks of genius in the design of this course. Hole 1 is quite possibly the most challenging first hole of any course I have ever played!

The rest of the holes are a very good mix of short to mid ranges that demand technical accuracy, long holes (hole 10!), and some short/easy holes to give your arm a little rest and your ego a boost.

The tee boxes and signs are in great condition, as are the baskets. I have never once seen a crowd out here so you will rarely have to wait on a group in front of you. The busiest I have seen this course was 5 or 6 groups playing simultaneously.
Cons: The course has a bit of a strange design often zig-zagging around and slightly crossing another fairway to get to your next hole. It's not the most obvious where the next hole is if you haven't played before.

There is very little tree canopy here (at least not around the tees or the baskets) so expect to be in direct sunlight quite a bit. You might wind up under a tree for some of your fairway throws but it can be a brutal round in the summer.

There are very few trashcans and no restrooms or water fountains. They also do not have any benches for any of the holes.

Many of the trees have been cut down due to drought and I saw several more marked for removal today. Hole 16 is short but used to force RHBH throwers to anhyzer around trees. Many of the trees in the fairway have been removed and you can simply throw directly at the basket now.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course for beginners. Many of the holes are quite long and it can be downright frustrating if you haven't developed a solid throw yet. If you're looking for a better beginner course I recommend Zilker Park or Mary Moore Searight.

My first trip here I threw a +25 but my game has improved significantly since then and my best round here is +7. We play from the amateur tees and I currently average about 240ft, with a max on flat ground of about 280ft.

I haven't lost a disc here yet but several of my friends have. Right now the creek is bone dry due to drought but there is a pond that can eat your disc if you overshoot holes 3 or 15. If you throw over the creek and OB on some holes it may be difficult to find your disc due to extremely thick and tall brush.

Come prepared with water and a snack. Playing with groups of 4 and 5 it has taken us close to 2.5 hours each time to finish a round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid challenge, bring provisions

1    5/19/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: MetCenter provides a complete game work out. The holes have great variety in shape and distance. Technical control and power requirements are balanced nicely. There are many opportunities to make choices; MetCenter is definitely a thinking player's course. The two tees (red and blue) do an excellent job of providing a good challenge for players of all levels. There are minimal opportunities to lose plastic that can be avoided.

As with most Austin area courses the locals are very friendly. The signage and tee pads are superior. The grounds are well maintained. There are multiple "signature" holes. Some of the better holes include:

Hole 1 is a fairly short par 4 that presents a very difficult challenge to open the round. The tee shot presents two tight routes. One provides a better chance at making a birdie 3, but brings a lot of risk with an OB creek. This is one of the most difficult opening shots in all of disc golf, but eminently fair.

Hole 2 provides a great contrast with hole 1. It is the longest par 4 on the course with an open tee shot that provides a great risk/reward opportunity with OB left and tempts players to cut off as much of the gentle dogleg left as they can. The basket is well placed on a steep mound with a drop-off to OB behind. A birdie 3 is a VERY good score on this hole.

Hole 3 is a terrific short, uphill par 3 with OB blind behind the basket.

Hole 4 is another fairly short par 4 that presents a very good challenge. The tee shot provides a couple options and it's important to get good placement in the fairway to have a chance at a birdie 3. Even with a good drive, the second shot still presents a good technical challenge with options. The basket is well placed in a little cove with OB short, right, and long.

Hole 10 is a medium-long par 5 that provides a good balance of the opportunity to air the disc out with some technical challenge. The fairway narrow nicely at around the 400 ft mark, making longer throwers shape a nice S shot if they want to take advantage of their power and not get blocked out.

Hole 11 is a medium length par 4 with a diabolical tee shot. This tee shot is the toughest on the course and will make all players weigh their options carefully. Many players will attempt to make a safe play off the tee to go for an "easy" par 4, but even the safe shot is challenging. The basket is well placed with OB short and left.

Hole 13 is another fairly short par 4 with a demanding tee shot. The gap is moderately wide, but the shot must be well planned and executed in order to find one of two "sweet spots" with a realistic route to the basket area. The basket is guarded with OB left. The hole can be birdied with a drive and approach that hug the OB left, but both shots are quite risky.

Hole 15 is a picturesque, uphill 320 ft par 3 that requires a nicely shaped S shot and has a drop-off to OB behind the basket.

Hole 16 is a very demanding , short par 3 with OB down the left side.

Hole 17 is yet another fairly short, very demanding par 4. (have you begun to sense a theme yet?) The tee shot requires a bit of thought and fearless execution with OB right and trees left. The basket is well protected on a peninsula bounded by OB.

Hole 18 is one of the best finishing holes in all of disc golf. It's a medium-long par 4 with two distinct routes. The left route involves taking the risk of the OB creek, but cuts a lot of distance off the dog-leg. The right route is safer, but offers minimal chance of making a birdie 3. Par 4 is a good score here and birdie is cause for celebration.
Cons: While I love the well-rounded challenge of MetCenter and many unique individual holes, there are a few shortcomings which I feel prevent it from being a 4.5 or 5.0 rated course.

The property does not afford the opportunity to make two loops of 9 holes. (I know that's beyond the control of the designers, but still a "con" in my book.) Holes 1 and 18 are the only ones with a tree canopy. There are neither benches nor drinking water or restrooms on the course. Add in a long, challenging disc golf course and it makes for a long, hot round.

The course relies too heavily on the use of mandos. There are several long, awkward walks between holes. There are several places which could use additional "next tee" signs.

Hole 3's tee is too close to hole 16.

Hole 8 has a hyzer route that runs through hole 7's fairway. (likely another mando will be added in the future)

Hole 9 is a mediocre hole, dangerously smooshed between holes 12 and 13.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

To read about my review philosophy check out the other info section on my profile.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Steeplechase Industrial

5+    3/22/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short holes on this course. Good pin placement throughout. Excellent technical holes. Especially on holes 1, 4, 5. 6, 10, 12, 17, and 18 which has a good number of trees in the fairway and good interaction with the creek that runs through this course.
Cons: I have played this course both with and without water in the creek. When there is water present, plan on losing at least one disc. (Hence the Steeplechase in the title.) No Restrooms, few trashcans, and some high weeds can make for a tough disc golf experience.
Other Thoughts: This course just happens to be close to where I work, so it is a favorite of mine. Sure, it is tough, but for me, beats some of the other tough courses in Austin. At least I can play this one and have a chance at par on some holes.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Love

1    1/5/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: Soulfire75
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical course layout which requires thought out shots and strategy. A very long course which will help improve your distance.Great pin placement
Cons: The course is basicly "straight up and down" so you have keep a look out for people walking through.
Nearby construction
Other Thoughts: Met Center is a fun course, it's very long and challenging with alot off trees to shoot through. The back 9 has a creek next to it thatcomes into play on most holes. Make sure you give yourself alot of time to play it took 3 of us a little over 2 hours to play 18 holes.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, bad area!

1    9/17/2010   9/17/2011
Review By: texaspride73
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really cant tell you the pros of the course, other than it had a couple nice medium range holes, not enough. It is a nice course when considering the rest in the area, or on this side of town. It is a challenge.
Cons: No trash cans, no benches, to many long holes with mandos,
Other Thoughts: If your going here especially on the weekend be very cautious about leaving personals in your car. Vehicle was broken into, stereo stolen and a wallet taken. This all happened in broad daylight about noonish with lots of Disc golfers around. BE AWARE!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Keeper

1    1/30/2011   1/31/2011
Review By: SirSycoSexE72
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The traffic on the course is light and parking is ample on weekends. Tee boxes are well laid out and distance test even the longest throwers. Distinct difference between red and blue tees unlike other courses played in the past. Launch pads are well constructed with excellent traction and clear markers for next hole direction on most holes.
Cons: It is a long course but that to me is just another reason add this course to a players game for that extra challenge. It's hard to say what I would add having only played it once so far. Maybe just the addition of benches at a few strategic holes for the rest break since it is a long course, especially if played from blue tees.
Other Thoughts: Look forward to playing the course more and seeing what it is like when trees are in bloom providing better shade and limiting some shots like pancakes on some holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

1    12/9/2010   12/13/2010
Review By: Clue
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 20.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really good design
Good signs and tee pads
Easy to navigate
Good for both pros and ams
Cons: A little flat and repetitive
Other Thoughts: I don't think there's anything outstanding about this course, but there's nothing wrong with it either. I think there are a couple really good golf holes, and it makes good use of the creek and ponds. I think it's definitely worth playing if you're in the area.

Advice - park a little further down, start on hole 2, and then finish on hole 1!

And remember to check out the sign as you pull in, "Trespassers will be violated"

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 very nice course

1    11/22/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: Ryme
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice pro and am tee boxes and good signage designed by John Houck. Many different shots with a couple little par 3 water holes. Plenty of +400 holes and even +1000 from the pro box. This course is rarely played compared to circle c or seawright.
Cons: There are no benches on this course nor did I see any trashcans. The course had a couple of muddy spots but the creek bed was dried up. No elevation shots and technically its a private course so you might stand a change of getting run off. (I didn't see any presence of security)
Other Thoughts: Most of my friends prefer other courses to play because of the distance of most holes. I once heard a guy say when referring to this course "the pros need somewhere to play in Austin." In my opinion its not the hardest but very challenging.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Time

1    8/22/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: cfmack
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great signs, including point to the next hole
- Superior tee boxes
- Nice range of open fields and tough tree shots
- Not crowded even on a Saturday afternoon
- While the lack of hills can't compete with Circle C or Searight, I had a blast
Cons: - In the spring, I bet it gets difficult with all the water
- Par 5 on Hole 10 seems rather forced
Other Thoughts: - Difficult to find, not sure if this is a pro or con

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.