Austin, TX 
MetCenter DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #13 (Taken 6/2015)
4 / 446ft.   4 / 569ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Long Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Right on...and even more right

5+    12/2/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For me, this course offers the perfect amount of challenge. It nestles in nicely between Pease Park and Circle C as far as difficulty goes, although the course par signs may be a tad on the forgiving side. If you're just counting strokes though, it's going to be pretty impossible to score better here than at Pease.

Speaking of signs, this course has got 'em, and they sure are purdy with all kinds of info on them. Be sure to check the signs for OB and mandos. There is a ton of OB and water hazards, which up the difficulty level that much more.

This course offers a wide variety of shots that range from 200' touch shots to 1000' bombers. Although, one thing it offers more than anything else are right turning shots. If you're not left handed you will pretty much need to break out every type of right turning shot that exists, from hyzer-flip turnovers to big sky anny's to forehand flicks and even thumbers. You're gonna need 'em all. This course has actually forced me to learn a consistent forehand.

There's nice concrete tees for all the holes with most holes having a dual tee option and the concrete seems to be slightly longer than the tees out at Circle C or East Metro. The long teebox locations not only offer increased distance to the hole, but often times introduce entirely new lines cut through a different fairway than the short tees.

The course is not cut out of the woods (looks like it was probably farm land 20 years ago) so losing a disc in the rough is not too big of an issue. Also, for the most part, it's easy to retrieve your disc if you go into a water hazard unless you land in the pond behind 3's pin.

Pin placement is also quite good and challenging, a lot of times either being on top of man-made berms, near the creek, or protected by trees.
Cons: It's muddy out here so don't wear your Sunday's best. The entire course runs parallel to a drainage creek and the entire area sits pretty low. Combine that with a thick clay-type of dirt and it never really seems to dry out.

Most of the trees out here are very young so they don't block the wind very well or offer a lot of shade, and in general add to the lack-luster aesthetic appeal of the course.

The ground has lots of briars, branches, divets and dead reeds lying about that do not make for the most comfortable walking conditions. It can also limit shot selection by making rollers and especially skip shots a game of chance rather than skill.

There are ZERO trash cans at this place, and the littering problem is already starting to infect this course. Since this is not on city park land, I guess they don't want to pay someone to come out and empty the cans so when I play this course I take a trash bag and pick up trash to help keep this new course looking respectable. Remember to bring your own trash bag if you plan on drinking.
Other Thoughts: There's some other weird quarks with this course. For some reason this course seems to attract large groups of disc golfers. Every time I've been out there I've come across multiple groups of 6 to 10 people, which really slows down the pace of the game, especially when there's two big groups back to back. Also, the distance on the long tee of 16 is about 200' too long and one of the tee signs on 15 is turned around backwards.

It can be a little confusing to find the next tee after a few of the holes. A few things to keep in mind are that after Hole 5 you have to cut across this "crossroads" area and pass by another hole's teebox to reach 6's tee. After hole 12 you have to do the same thing. Just head straight for the creek and you'll come across 13's tee boxes.

There are definitely some memorable holes out here, but I don't think I can say there are any truly spectacular holes or any particular signature hole(s). Overall though, the course really comes together and offers a fun, challenging, and diverse disc golf experience.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/13/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: judson
Played: 78  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Individual holes a very well thought out with possible flight paths listed on the signs. Great variety of shots, forehand, backhand, hyzer, anni, flips, flex shots whatever. If you have thrown it before, plan to use it here. Signs are high quality and contain a lot of good info. Pay attention to the OBs marked on them Many are the creek and beyond. Lots of distance with some short holes to help bring your score back down if you take advantage of your birdie ops. Very nice cement tees for long AND short holes provided they are not covered in mud from the cards before you scraping their feet. I have been told that more direction signs are being mounted and on their way. this will be very helpful in a couple of spots if it is your first time out to this great course.
Cons: MUD. It hasn't rained in the last week, but I stayed out of the water all day and still had mud close to the knees of my jeans. 13 is a little tricky to find your first time around from 12. The signs have an arrow pointing in the direction of the next tee, but if you forget to make a note about it, you may end up wondering. The distance on 16 long box appears to be incorrect, my guess is low 200s. Nine and ten are about as far from your car as you can get so if you are trying to sneak in a half round for lunch and the course is busy, you may end up jumping in front of someone on the early turn. Finding this place the first time was tricky. The towing enforced signs are scary. The reserved parking lot and the visitor parking lot are the same lot but different entrances. I am still unsure where the correct place to park is.
Other Thoughts: Pay close attention to all the info on the signs. There is a lot there. It is easy to miss what is ob or where the next tee is

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 new

2-4    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: Geaver
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -pro and am tees
-really nice layout and scenery
-great teesigns
-lots of differrent shots
-enough open holes to let you rip it, but enough precision holes where discretion is advised
-pro tees don't just make the holes longer, but really change the hole, and make par seem like an accomplishment.
-course in the early stages, and will only get better with more play
- #10
Cons: Most of the cons fall under the brand spanking new course umbrella.
-no trash cans
-if it has rained in the past few days, this place can be a bit of a freakin mess.
Other Thoughts: This course is goimg to be freaking sweet once it gets a bit of traffic. I am blessed to live in a town that keeps building badass courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Met Center Review

5+    1/1/2010   10/28/2009
Review By: wrongway
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 2/4/2010
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Awesome course design. This championship caliber course with concrete t-pads and true par fours and fives will most definetly be one of the top courses in Texas. Hole two from the longs is definetly one of my favorites. On the few short holes the water definetly factors into the difficulty level... a precisely thrown shot is rewarded and greedy ones are penalized. The course has a good balance of shots for lefty's and righty's. Steeplechase on steroids is a common comparison overheard from other players.
Cons: Some crossing points over the creek are a little sketchy, but it looks like crossing points are in the works still.
Other Thoughts: Follow the signs and the paths that are wearing in to avoid other tee boxes. There are trash cans but i recommend pack it in then pack it out. I look forward to many fun rounds with good friends for a long time to come.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing.

1    10/23/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: insobox
Played: 76  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Amazing championship level course, not only that but my friend Hunter got the first recorded ace (that we know of) out there today on hole #5 off the Tree on the left, completely sick.
- Huge tee boxes for both pro and am levels.
- The one tee sign for hole 18 is amazing, another stellar job by Houck,
- Water hazards, OB clearly posted on the beautiful tee sign.
- HARD HARD HARD HARD! This course has tons to offer.
- Nice and technical, this course is similar I feel in style to Steeplechase but done much better (yes I know Houck did that course as well).
- The layout is fun a big figure 8 of sorts.
- This course is generally out of my way as Circle C and Twin Parks are kind of my 'home' courses but this extra distance was WELL worth it. My friends and I are already planning to head back as soon as possible.
- The posts for the tee signs are huge and easy to point out, as well we noticed that the tee signs currently point you where to go, as they are at the end of the boxes and whatever side they are on is the way you are supposed to throw, this helped us navigate the course, as we had never been there before.
- Hole #10, Pro or AM this is a long straight hole, it reminds me of a golf course, just simply awe inspiring.
- Water hazards, as most people would say this is a negative, I love this feature as it adds another element to the game.
Cons: UPDATED REVIEW: 12.25.2009:
- The biggest con I have now with this course is just the utter ridiculousness of all the OB's, it's currently just to much for me at this point in time.
1. Tree height on several holes can be combated by players with big arms simply playing over the holes due to the age of 85% or so of the trees being under 5 years of age. (This is no fault of the designers, and the trees will grow with the course).
2. The course does a figure 8 and at the moment it seems you have to kind of finagle your way around to miss fairways or boxes, however I noticed if you actually do line of sight, you actually are supposed to walk behind the tee boxes of the hole you are crossing, I'd assume.
Other Thoughts: - This course isn't even 'officially' open yet and there were at least 6 groups to show up after we did. (word spreads fast)

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.