Houston, TX 
Windwood Presbyterian DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tarazarr Hole #2 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Best Church Property course yet

1    1/4/2017   1/5/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 316  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 28.8 Years
Pros: Cement Tee pads
PDGA approved baskets (A lot of private church courses have home made baskets)
Tee signs, while some were not perfect, all where there and readable.
Very wide arraignment of holes taking everyone out of your bag.
Cons: Some of the holes are rough in that they are not mowed very often or at all.
A few holes are very close to the creek, with recent rains, these were dangerous holes to play.
Along with the creek being a little high and muddy, there was a lot of water on several of the holes, my shoes did get soaked by the end of the round.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course and fun to play.

From short technical holes, to long power shots, this course has a little of everything.

First off, RESPECT the fact that this is a private course that is free to play, check in with the office if you are playing on a week day before 5pm, they only want to know who is on the course for security reasons (they are a school too)

2nd, do not bring Beer or other substances not acceptable to a church. It is a simple request of the church, if you have a problem with it, play one of the many other courses in the area.
Hole 1 tees off near the street and is your typical easy simi wide open shot.
Hole 2 is a dogleg right, it is the opening before the ditch, don't overthrow, it is not an easy comeback.
Hole 3 is a nice long turnover. You hyzer out, your in a ditch that does hold water if it has been raining.
Hole 4 is a longer shot across the drainage pond, which today had a lot of water in it.
Hole 5 you need to cross the creek and the hole is going back towards the main street. Risky shot as there is a ditch behind and the creek to the left of the basket.
These back 3 holes have not been mowed this year and the grass is pretty tall.
Hole 6 is another shot like 5, just longer.
Hole 7 has a lot of risk rewards, the basket is across the creek, short shots will be in the creek, but there is some space to land not in the actual creek.
Holes 8 and 9 are risky with the creek being high. Both are hyzer shots.
Hole 10 is a nice tunnel shot, don't hyzer out or you are in the creek.
Hole 11 is a long open shot across the drainage pond ditch with the basket back up into the trees.
Hole 12 is a long hole with a couple of options on how to approach the basket.
Hole 13 is a long hole down the drainage creek with the basket up past the tree line. There was water in the ditch today and I had to wade to get my shot that hyzered out on the other side of the ditch.
Hole 14 is shorter than the sign says, nice little anhyzer.
Hole 15 is another anhyzer shot, although you can throw over the top for a hyzer.
Hole 16 is a long anyhyzer shot or layup your hyzer for an easy 3
Hole 17 is a true risk reward shot, if you think you can throw 350, go for it, hyzer over the pond. If you are a chicken like me, lay it up past the pine trees to get your easy 3
Hole 18 is a longer defined fairway shot with areas of rough to stay out of
Hole 19 is either a big hyzer over the baseball field, or anhyzer around it.
Hole 20 is a space filler, simple 240ft hole with not a single obstacle in the way. Worst hole on the course.
Hole 21 is also wide open, but 366ft towards the main office building with a little drainage ditch in front of the basket. (only spot with no water ironically today as I was in the ditch for an easy bird)


 

1    3/4/2013   3/5/2013
Review By: adudek
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great landscape. Indeed the grass is cut and the course is well kept. All pads are cement. This course really long holes as well as the occasional shorties. There is a creek that runs through the course(4-10). There are 10 foot drop offs around these holes. Heavily wooded also where a shot off the fairway could make or break your par attempt. The creek is not very wide, but is deeper than waste high in some areas. Definitely lost a disc in the creek. Went in after it and was unsuccessful in finding it, but pulled up another disc. Nothing dampens your spirits more than losing your disc and just when you think you have found yours, you pull up another disc!!!
Cons: no alcohol allowed on course because its on church/school grounds. I happened to go on the windest day which stunk. If you happen to throw your disc in the woods, there were a lot pricker bushes. My legs came out of that course with some major scrapes. I really disliked the smell around holes 11-15 because you shooting next to a crapy looking farm/junkyard or something.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed the course. Holes 19-21 were very open and even managed a few birds. There are some holes that have tall grass and some standing water in random areas. I loved the idea that if you threw your shot over the fence the local boy scouts made ladders to get over safer.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great place but the creek scares me.

2-4    2/19/2012   2/19/2012
Review By: rodeo_cwboy
Played: 76  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I really enjoy the variety in the hole types. From difficult creek hazards to wide open grip it and rip it. As a LHBH, it makes it very interesting on hole 2 alone. My worse hole possible. Also, as a beginner with only 4 months under my belt.. I strive to aim these challenges head on. love it and look to perfecting my skills every week.
Cons: THE CREEK!!!! I hate it. I have lost 4 disc there are ready.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun times with MidnightBiker

1    2/7/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: LoPan12
Played: 35  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +A good mix of tight woody holes and open bombs.
+Good signage on most of the holes with good spacious teepads
+man made elevation worked into some of the holes
+Use of the creek makes you decide between going for it, or laying up safe.
+Good drainage for a Houston course, most of it was dry save for a few areas that are meant to come up when rain is heavy.
+Baseball field and property fences used for OB makes otherwise boring holes into more technical ones.
Cons: -Area around 16-18 seemed neglected, with lots of fallen branches everywhere.
-One or two of the later holes seemed like filler holes, just to get you from the previous hole to the next one.
Other Thoughts: After playing several other courses that were waterlogged, Windwood stood out just on its dryness, in a not easy to dry place.
The front holes are mostly in the woods and along the creek, calling for more definite lines and technical shots, as well as judicious selection of landing zones as you lay up to the pin, so that you stay out of the water.
The back holes open up and let you air out your discs while keeping you restricted to specific lines.
Thanks to Midnightbiker for showing me around!
Registration at the church office during weekdays for safety of kids at the pre-school.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Presbyter's Paradise

1    12/28/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 21 Holes of great play can be found here. From a straight-ahead shot on hole 1 to twists and turns through the woods around the church with an excellent mini ravine up-throw on hole 7 across the creek. Every hole on this course is a challenge in itself. Personally, I loved the variety of holes here. Throws on holes 4 and 11 across the retention pond And two throws across ponds on 14 and 17. The holes are not overly long here, but they don't need to be. I parred two just trying to keep my discs out of jeopardy, especially on holes 4 through 11 in the woods by the creek and again on holes 14 and 17, If you are a technical player, this is your course!
Cons: Too many chances to lose a disc. Found the footing treacherous on some of the climbs up and down around the creek and retention pond, Hole 13 is a straightaway. If you cannot throw straight down a narrow embankment, your disc goes in a watery-filled ditch. No signs on holes 12 through 16, just posts and tees.
Other Thoughts: Best church course I have played yet! some thought went into this one. Great place to play. If you're in North Houston, check this one out. The church people are friendly and you can pick up a course map in the office. Always nice to have people willing to share a course as great as this one is.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Loads of Fun!

5+    4/29/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads are very high quality. Course is challenging but good for all levels of players. Good mix of finesse and power. Well kept and well designed with no trouble finding your way around. Mostly wooded. I always meet new friendly people.
Cons: Holes 12 & 13 stink due to the pig farm next door. Some days are worse than others, it ranges from mildy unpleasant to "my eyes are burning!!"
Other Thoughts: This is one of my top 5 favorite courses to play in the Houston area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!!

1    1/8/2011   1/8/2011
Review By: Scoopy
Played: 200  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is another beautiful course!! Great map near the first t-pad shows the entire course, pads, flight paths and distances. Great use of shots here. Some longer holes, a few shorter one, all mixed in very well. There is a big creek that comes into play on a few holes. An errant shot or unlucky kick off a tree will result in a wet or lost disc, as there are some deep holes in the creek and it was super dirty the day I played. The course flows really well, and all the locals were super friendly and helpful navigating. New signs on the front 9 were excellent!! Great picture of the hole, flight path and distance to the basket. Although this course is only a year or so old, its beat in rather well. Its a heavily played course and it shows. I liked the how the holes along the creek required a good bit of techincal and accurate shots, and there are some great risk/reward holes as well. The back nine open up a little more for those that have a big arm and can bomb shots. Great use of the land and terrain makes this a great course to play. Although I didn't see any trash cans along the course, it was very clean and I noticed very little trash scattered about, which was nice to see. Maybe it being on church grounds helps
Cons: No benches or trash cans. Benches would be a nice addition as lots of people and families play this course and there were quite a few holes we had to wait on. Having a place to sit and rest would be nice. I realize this is a newer course and is a constant work in progress, so I would imagine benches will be in place in the future. The only other drawback for me were all shots seemed to be rather straight or hyzer shots, no anny shots at all for a RHBH player, but its not really that big of deal.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in Houston. I like the mix of the wooded/creek holes and the wide open holes. The last 3 holes seemed to be added to avoid a long walk from 18 to the parking lot. Its always great to see families playing the game of disc golf, husbands, wives and their little kids were all over the course when I played, and this can only help the sport grow and possibly groom a future Pro player!! Overall this an excellent course that will definitely help you improve your game. I would recommend this course to anyone, and I found it worth the 1 hour drive to play. A must play course, in my opinion.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    12/30/2010   1/3/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the large grounds of a large church, with plenty of space devoted to disc golf. I don't think anything other than random pedestrians would ever get in the way.
- Majority of the course is set in a couple of forested areas, from pretty open to pretty tight. Some of the easier holes are on flat ground with plenty of mature trees to force good accuracy. Other ones utilize a wide, shallow valley or a deep ditch that brings some elevation into play. Tougher holes have much tighter lines, with forced routes to the basket. There are low ceilings and lots of trees to deflect any shots that stray too far.
- Lots of rugged terrain is present in many spots, both in the fairway and near the basket. A good hyzer over a big depression on #7 is a great risk/reward, and there are some baskets with hills and valleys to take into account.
- Four or five holes have a pretty big creek in play, always on the left side. Any typical RHBH shot that hyzers out, or has a bad kick, can end up in the water very easily. The terrain here almost helps this, with a sharp dropoff to the water in many spots. Hole #13 also has water on the right, and #17 has a small pond in front of the basket. Plenty of spots with big punishment.
- Good amount of protected baskets, mostly due to water hazards, but also thanks to rugged terrain and well positioned trees. Accuracy is very important off the tee and on approach, to keep an open line to the basket.
- Fun ace run/island hole, with a clearly marked and mowed circle around the basket. Good variety in hole length overall, with over half of them at 350' or above.
- Good teepads, which are well marked with the hole number, and good baskets. Signs don't have any maps or lengths, but it is pretty easy to figure out. Map in front does all the talking.
Cons: - Course is more or less flat, with most shots on flat ground. Big arms will be able to go over the various dips and valleys pretty easily, though they could be a big factor for smaller arms.
- A ton of holes need a straight or RHBH hyzer, with little to get in the way. There are still tough lines to hit, but they are pretty standard in shape and similar to each other in spots.
Other Thoughts: - This a very solid course, that uses the available terrain very, very well. The shots around the creek have great risk/reward, chances are an ace run could end up wet or in some nasty rough. A lot of baskets also have a trick to them, or some sort of obstacle, to keep things challenging. Should be a fun time for almost any skill level, with good variety in length and difficulty. Might be a bit too hazardous for a beginner, though.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A real gem keeps getting better

2-4    6/19/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: KennyM
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy access for NW Houston
Personality changes drastically with the season.
Good fair layout
Constant improvements like walk-ways, markers, and tee-boxes.
Cons: During the rainy season can be a real disc gobbler with muddy creek.
Other Thoughts: I've played this with kids as young as 10 using a scramble format and we all had a blast. Technical enough for good players but not so hard to discourage newbies. I'll be playing here for years to come.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Part of a Well Balanced Breakfast

5+    6/26/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: Stevo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Practice baskets. Also a great mix of holes, many technical holes near a creek that can be very rewarding for a good shot and equally punishing for an errant one. 5-10 all around a creek makes for neat scenery with good risk/reward shots. 4 and 11 just plain fun. Mostly cement boxes, and trash cans.
Cons: The smell of a nearby pig farm on 14 and a long walk back from 18 - although I've heard there will be more holes installed on the walk. Ive seen at least one snake each time I've played, but it's TX in the summer. No points off for that, just a warning for others..
Other Thoughts: Great addition to Houston area courses. Make sure you check in on the week; players new to the course can get a map which isn't really necessary - signs are up to point to the next hole in the confusing areas.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.