Houston, TX 
Windwood Presbyterian DGC Share
Uploaded By: c_a_miller Hole #17 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 First Course for me

2-4    8/16/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: MJanert
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Front desk has a map/scoreboard for personal use
-Practice/Putting basket on hole 1 with distance markers
-Easy to navigate
-Concrete tee pads
-Ladders to get over fences
Cons: -Yes, there was a pig farm across the ditch, but it shouldn't bother you too much
-Hole 13 is right on the back edge of the pig farm which has a ditch in the middle. It's very narrow and if your disc does land in the ditch it's very overgrown and its quite swampy in the middle
Other Thoughts: It's a great course that starts easy, get's pretty technical quickly, but then eases up with wide open shots at the end. It appears that a lot of planning and effort was gone into designing the course. I understood the course was a little difficult for beginners, but I went anyways and still had a great time; nothing that can't be managed. If you're looking for a great course in the area this is definitely worth checking out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A must visit course

5+    5/7/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: Fett2oo5
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'll start from the beginning:
- Practice basket is right up front with distance markers (footstones), a bench, bag pole and instructions for a fun little putting game.
- There is a map of the entire course before Tee1
- First Tee and Pin is in plain sight.
- Holes 2-10 are gently nestled throughout the woods. Each requiring a different strategy but not forcing you to stay with a single throwing style.
- A creek winds along the first half of the course. Brand new, well designed and well built bridges were installed this week.
- Professionally built benches and great bag-poles abound.
- Hole sign on every tee.
- Trash cans spread throughout.
- 11-21 open up to wider fairways and add some distance, while each hole remains different than all the rest.
- The local Boy Scouts and designer/workers have put a lot of work into this course with the benches, bag-poles, bridges, maps, tree signs, and fence ladders (in case you throw it over a fence they've provided ladders for a safe traverse)
- Whoever manicures the grass will sometimes cut the grass at different heights as well! OB has tall grass, thicker grass on the sides of the fairway, and short grass on the fairway. (This isn't always the case but it is a very nice perk when it does happen) And just shows how much they care for the course.
Cons: The church has a pig-farmer neighbor behind the campus across a drainage gulley. So when the wind blows toward the church the back 2 holes kind of smell bad. I don't mind it though.
You can tell when funding is a little tight, sometimes it will go 3 or so weeks without being mowed.
If there is a hard rain 1 or 2 days before you go expect a few holes to have some water on them. So #4 and #11 fly over a retention area, but don't fret, there are stepping stones to get you across with dry feet.
Other Thoughts: The Pros FAR out-weight the cons on this course. This is a must visit for any Disc Golf player. Even if you only play it once, you gotta check it out!

2011 summer there was a harsh drought for this area. Trees were dying everywhere, including here. They've painstaking removed the dead trees and debris. And early this spring (2013) they planted dozens of new trees to replace them.

Pictures need to be updated for this course, a lot of care and improvement has happened in the last year.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Going to Church

2-4    3/7/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained and challenging without being brutal. Does not favor one type of throwing technique. I did a mini road trip to Houston and I played this place twice because it was so enjoyable. An example of what a disc golf course can be.
Cons: Nothing really.....you need to be careful around the creek with baskets positioned precariously but this adds a more cerebral aspect to play.
Other Thoughts: Thank you Windwood

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    3/4/2013   3/5/2013
Review By: adudek
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great landscape. Indeed the grass is cut and the course is well kept. All pads are cement. This course really long holes as well as the occasional shorties. There is a creek that runs through the course(4-10). There are 10 foot drop offs around these holes. Heavily wooded also where a shot off the fairway could make or break your par attempt. The creek is not very wide, but is deeper than waste high in some areas. Definitely lost a disc in the creek. Went in after it and was unsuccessful in finding it, but pulled up another disc. Nothing dampens your spirits more than losing your disc and just when you think you have found yours, you pull up another disc!!!
Cons: no alcohol allowed on course because its on church/school grounds. I happened to go on the windest day which stunk. If you happen to throw your disc in the woods, there were a lot pricker bushes. My legs came out of that course with some major scrapes. I really disliked the smell around holes 11-15 because you shooting next to a crapy looking farm/junkyard or something.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed the course. Holes 19-21 were very open and even managed a few birds. There are some holes that have tall grass and some standing water in random areas. I loved the idea that if you threw your shot over the fence the local boy scouts made ladders to get over safer.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is one of the most scenic courses in Houston as it goes through a forest and over ponds you almost forget you are on a church at time.
-The course is very well maintained. The grass is mowed weekly and it is quite apparent that the people who maintain the course really care about the dignity of the course.
-Almost no shots off the tee are the same. At this course there are chances for aces #4, dog leg lefts, long 500+ holes at #13, and short technical shots that if played incorrectly can end up with a wet disc.
-Every hole except #14 has long concrete tee pads. They also have installed benches and bag posts at each hole.
-The course is easy to navigate. The tee signs are top of the notch
-There is a bit of elevation change on some holes, which is something you will not see in Houston very often
-The baskets are very new and just had a few more chains added to catch putts better

Best holes: #4, #11, #20
Cons: Cons on this course are really just small nit-picky things.

-This is quite an intimidating course and could discourage beginners. The brush is ruthless and an errant shot can mean looking for your disc for quite a while.
- A few of the holes go over a retention pond which at times could mean that it is flooded after a good rain, the creek that a few holes play around can also get really high and swallows discs like no one's business.
-A few of the holes have a bad design. #2 is a 250' drive and then a 90 degree dog leg left and about another 100' to the hole. And hole #13 is a 450' narrow shot with the basket perched to the left.

Worst holes: #2, #13
Other Thoughts: This is the destination course in Houston. It may be the second best course if not the best (behind Texas Army Trail) within Houston city limits. The combination of different shots and challenge factor makes this course one that has to be played.

It also is a free course but dropping a few bucks at the donation box on Hole #21 should be worth the experience of playing here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of Best Courses I've Played

5+    5/19/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: g00p
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very technical course
Variety of open drives and tight wooded controlled sections.
Terrain elevation changes
Well maintained
Cons: Mosquitos due to being near creek
If you don't have a floating disc you will end up having to get in the creek.
Other Thoughts: I have NO idea why people complain about losing discs in the creek, unless they have no concept about buying a floating disc. I use my wonderful Innova Dragon on holes 4-10 and never have lost a disc since I started using it. The creek poses a good challenge for control and with the floating disc you won't lose it. If you use a regular disc be prepared to get wet unless you have perfect control.

One of my favorite courses. Thanks Windwood Church!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great place but the creek scares me.

2-4    2/19/2012   2/19/2012
Review By: rodeo_cwboy
Played: 73  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I really enjoy the variety in the hole types. From difficult creek hazards to wide open grip it and rip it. As a LHBH, it makes it very interesting on hole 2 alone. My worse hole possible. Also, as a beginner with only 4 months under my belt.. I strive to aim these challenges head on. love it and look to perfecting my skills every week.
Cons: THE CREEK!!!! I hate it. I have lost 4 disc there are ready.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun times with MidnightBiker

1    2/7/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: LoPan12
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +A good mix of tight woody holes and open bombs.
+Good signage on most of the holes with good spacious teepads
+man made elevation worked into some of the holes
+Use of the creek makes you decide between going for it, or laying up safe.
+Good drainage for a Houston course, most of it was dry save for a few areas that are meant to come up when rain is heavy.
+Baseball field and property fences used for OB makes otherwise boring holes into more technical ones.
Cons: -Area around 16-18 seemed neglected, with lots of fallen branches everywhere.
-One or two of the later holes seemed like filler holes, just to get you from the previous hole to the next one.
Other Thoughts: After playing several other courses that were waterlogged, Windwood stood out just on its dryness, in a not easy to dry place.
The front holes are mostly in the woods and along the creek, calling for more definite lines and technical shots, as well as judicious selection of landing zones as you lay up to the pin, so that you stay out of the water.
The back holes open up and let you air out your discs while keeping you restricted to specific lines.
Thanks to Midnightbiker for showing me around!
Registration at the church office during weekdays for safety of kids at the pre-school.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Presbyter's Paradise

1    12/28/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 21 Holes of great play can be found here. From a straight-ahead shot on hole 1 to twists and turns through the woods around the church with an excellent mini ravine up-throw on hole 7 across the creek. Every hole on this course is a challenge in itself. Personally, I loved the variety of holes here. Throws on holes 4 and 11 across the retention pond And two throws across ponds on 14 and 17. The holes are not overly long here, but they don't need to be. I parred two just trying to keep my discs out of jeopardy, especially on holes 4 through 11 in the woods by the creek and again on holes 14 and 17, If you are a technical player, this is your course!
Cons: Too many chances to lose a disc. Found the footing treacherous on some of the climbs up and down around the creek and retention pond, Hole 13 is a straightaway. If you cannot throw straight down a narrow embankment, your disc goes in a watery-filled ditch. No signs on holes 12 through 16, just posts and tees.
Other Thoughts: Best church course I have played yet! some thought went into this one. Great place to play. If you're in North Houston, check this one out. The church people are friendly and you can pick up a course map in the office. Always nice to have people willing to share a course as great as this one is.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Regular

5+    7/15/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: Unluckyfortunes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, a few holes with elevation changes, water hazards, practice basket with bag holders benches and cement distance markers from 15-50+ft., 21 holes! Water spout on 14 for bottle refills.SHADED mostly. Well kept grounds.
Cons: No beer for anyone with a decent soul, it is on church grounds and is provided to us well kept and is constantly being upgraded with things like bag holders and practice cement measuring blocks and a water spout. I dont drink here,but I do like my brews while golfing. Not enough trash cans. And I got poison Ivy there once, CON. Just keep an eye out, I've been there 15+ times and haven't seen it after I got it that once.
Other Thoughts: Take the trip. Check in at the office ,besides on the weekend. Be respectful, it is on church grounds.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.