Disc Golf Store
Houston, TX 
Windwood Presbyterian DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tarazarr Hole #9 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 204ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Loads of Fun!

5+    4/29/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads are very high quality. Course is challenging but good for all levels of players. Good mix of finesse and power. Well kept and well designed with no trouble finding your way around. Mostly wooded. I always meet new friendly people.
Cons: Holes 12 & 13 stink due to the pig farm next door. Some days are worse than others, it ranges from mildy unpleasant to "my eyes are burning!!"
Other Thoughts: This is one of my top 5 favorite courses to play in the Houston area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!!

1    1/8/2011   1/8/2011
Review By: Scoopy
Played: 175  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is another beautiful course!! Great map near the first t-pad shows the entire course, pads, flight paths and distances. Great use of shots here. Some longer holes, a few shorter one, all mixed in very well. There is a big creek that comes into play on a few holes. An errant shot or unlucky kick off a tree will result in a wet or lost disc, as there are some deep holes in the creek and it was super dirty the day I played. The course flows really well, and all the locals were super friendly and helpful navigating. New signs on the front 9 were excellent!! Great picture of the hole, flight path and distance to the basket. Although this course is only a year or so old, its beat in rather well. Its a heavily played course and it shows. I liked the how the holes along the creek required a good bit of techincal and accurate shots, and there are some great risk/reward holes as well. The back nine open up a little more for those that have a big arm and can bomb shots. Great use of the land and terrain makes this a great course to play. Although I didn't see any trash cans along the course, it was very clean and I noticed very little trash scattered about, which was nice to see. Maybe it being on church grounds helps
Cons: No benches or trash cans. Benches would be a nice addition as lots of people and families play this course and there were quite a few holes we had to wait on. Having a place to sit and rest would be nice. I realize this is a newer course and is a constant work in progress, so I would imagine benches will be in place in the future. The only other drawback for me were all shots seemed to be rather straight or hyzer shots, no anny shots at all for a RHBH player, but its not really that big of deal.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in Houston. I like the mix of the wooded/creek holes and the wide open holes. The last 3 holes seemed to be added to avoid a long walk from 18 to the parking lot. Its always great to see families playing the game of disc golf, husbands, wives and their little kids were all over the course when I played, and this can only help the sport grow and possibly groom a future Pro player!! Overall this an excellent course that will definitely help you improve your game. I would recommend this course to anyone, and I found it worth the 1 hour drive to play. A must play course, in my opinion.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    12/30/2010   1/3/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the large grounds of a large church, with plenty of space devoted to disc golf. I don't think anything other than random pedestrians would ever get in the way.
- Majority of the course is set in a couple of forested areas, from pretty open to pretty tight. Some of the easier holes are on flat ground with plenty of mature trees to force good accuracy. Other ones utilize a wide, shallow valley or a deep ditch that brings some elevation into play. Tougher holes have much tighter lines, with forced routes to the basket. There are low ceilings and lots of trees to deflect any shots that stray too far.
- Lots of rugged terrain is present in many spots, both in the fairway and near the basket. A good hyzer over a big depression on #7 is a great risk/reward, and there are some baskets with hills and valleys to take into account.
- Four or five holes have a pretty big creek in play, always on the left side. Any typical RHBH shot that hyzers out, or has a bad kick, can end up in the water very easily. The terrain here almost helps this, with a sharp dropoff to the water in many spots. Hole #13 also has water on the right, and #17 has a small pond in front of the basket. Plenty of spots with big punishment.
- Good amount of protected baskets, mostly due to water hazards, but also thanks to rugged terrain and well positioned trees. Accuracy is very important off the tee and on approach, to keep an open line to the basket.
- Fun ace run/island hole, with a clearly marked and mowed circle around the basket. Good variety in hole length overall, with over half of them at 350' or above.
- Good teepads, which are well marked with the hole number, and good baskets. Signs don't have any maps or lengths, but it is pretty easy to figure out. Map in front does all the talking.
Cons: - Course is more or less flat, with most shots on flat ground. Big arms will be able to go over the various dips and valleys pretty easily, though they could be a big factor for smaller arms.
- A ton of holes need a straight or RHBH hyzer, with little to get in the way. There are still tough lines to hit, but they are pretty standard in shape and similar to each other in spots.
Other Thoughts: - This a very solid course, that uses the available terrain very, very well. The shots around the creek have great risk/reward, chances are an ace run could end up wet or in some nasty rough. A lot of baskets also have a trick to them, or some sort of obstacle, to keep things challenging. Should be a fun time for almost any skill level, with good variety in length and difficulty. Might be a bit too hazardous for a beginner, though.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A real gem keeps getting better

2-4    6/19/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: KennyM
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy access for NW Houston
Personality changes drastically with the season.
Good fair layout
Constant improvements like walk-ways, markers, and tee-boxes.
Cons: During the rainy season can be a real disc gobbler with muddy creek.
Other Thoughts: I've played this with kids as young as 10 using a scramble format and we all had a blast. Technical enough for good players but not so hard to discourage newbies. I'll be playing here for years to come.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Part of a Well Balanced Breakfast

5+    6/26/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: Stevo
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Practice baskets. Also a great mix of holes, many technical holes near a creek that can be very rewarding for a good shot and equally punishing for an errant one. 5-10 all around a creek makes for neat scenery with good risk/reward shots. 4 and 11 just plain fun. Mostly cement boxes, and trash cans.
Cons: The smell of a nearby pig farm on 14 and a long walk back from 18 - although I've heard there will be more holes installed on the walk. Ive seen at least one snake each time I've played, but it's TX in the summer. No points off for that, just a warning for others..
Other Thoughts: Great addition to Houston area courses. Make sure you check in on the week; players new to the course can get a map which isn't really necessary - signs are up to point to the next hole in the confusing areas.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great technical course

1    7/20/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: longhornDG
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Has 2 practice baskets (one near the tee box on hole 1, and the other near the playground after hole 18)
- Clear intent of design on each hole makes for an enjoyable round
- Great map and scorecard available if you go between 8-5 during the week
- Good variety of holes: some technical tight holes that require accuracy, and some you can just air it out on)
Cons: - Long walk from end of 18th hole back to parking lot (new practice basket next to playground gives you something to do on the trek back)
- Drainage: several holes require you to walk through some thick marshy-like grasses. Rough pathways have been established
- Creek: this is probably biased because I lost a disc in the creek on hole #9. But, seriously don't be surprised if you lose a disc or two.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course even though I'm still a beginner. I could see this course providing a challenge to all levels of disc golfers. Everyone should be prepared to either lose a disc or search for discs on several holes that have the creek running through them or thick grasses/under brush.

Newcomers to the sport might want to stay away from this course for awhile, or practice at one of the 2 practice baskets for awhile.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of Houston's Best

2-4    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Caleb
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Cemented Tees (except few holes on back)
-Wide variety of hole types, calls for variety of shots used.
-Clean
-Score Card availible w/ map of course at check in.
-Check in keeps shady characters at bay.
-Practice hole.
Cons: -Few Missing T-Boxes on back.
-2 holes play over a flood plane can be messy if it rains.
-1 hole plays by a man made bayou and a pig farm which can be unpleasant if you don't keep shots in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It can be challenging for beginners but more advanced players shouldn't have too hard of a time playing this course. Either way, it's still fun to play.

The front 9 plays through a wooded area and follows along a creek that comes into play many holes which calls for accurate shots. The Back 9 stretches out and calls for more distance than accuracy. There are some elevation changes which is a rarity in this city.

I encourage everyone to check in with the office out of respect for the church and for the children's safety. (You only have to check in when kids are there 8-5, after 5 it's free game. TAKE YOUR ID IN) They give you a score card and a map with hole distances, which helps navigate the course.

The back 9 is a bit messy and even more so after it rains. They are still working on some holes on the back 9 and are developing a pond on 17 that can make that hole more fun and difficult. The few tee's w/ no cement are still marked and is easy to find a decent place to tee from.

The practice tee is in the back after hole 18 by the soccer fields.

Park closer to the soccer fields to cut down on your walk after 18.

This is easily one of the better courses in Houston and I will be a returning player.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    5/3/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2011
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, very enjoyable round with a nice challenge but not overly frustrating.

Tees. Nice concrete tees (on nearly every hole).

Baskets. A practice basket at the beginning, all baskets are in good shape.

Parking/Amenities. Check in at the school keeps out the sex offenders, no worries of being molested on this one. Large parking area, score card and pencil provided.

Not Crowded. Though this course is getting more popular by the day, it is still rather quiet out there. Location, difficulty, and the need to check in probably keep a lot of people off the course, most people playing are rather serious players, no riffraff, no crowds.

Clean/Well Maintained. Very little trash, well manicured fairways, and well maintained grounds all make for an eye appealing experience.

Variety of Holes. Each hole was a welcome change from the previous, with several nice ace runs, good risk/reward shots, large variety of shots and line shaping required, yeah not many straight up anny shots, but I'm not going to complain., none of the holes are terribly long though they may seem longer because of the difficulty.

Good use of water. Water comes into play on several holes, though it isn't terribly threatening most of the time. The stream meandering past several holes can eat discs, but if you know where it went in you should be able to find it, the retaining pond wasn't much of a threat, unless you have an unreliable/shank of a drive.
Cons: Not For Beginners. May be overly challenging for a beginner with some of the narrow fairways and water, also, if I was introduced to disc golf on this course I would be sorely disappointed when I found out that most courses are not this nice.

A poor throw may end in a lost disc. Yeah, this is true on most any course I suppose - but the thick rough and water make it more likely here if you're attached to any specific disc.

Yeah, it's a bit of a walk from 18 to the parking lot, we found the soccer fields a good place for a Long Drive Competition (this is where I injured my knee, obviously won't hold that against the course, but a point of note for myself).
Other Thoughts: A great course, very enjoyable, nice challenge, not overly frustrating, I wish I wasn't 1500 miles away or I'd play it more often. Thanks SpringDGLover and ThePatrick for a great round

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: linkbhg
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 69 Not
Pros: Varied course with lots of water in play. Really like the shots that open into the retention ponds.
Cons: The creek can be intimidating.
Other Thoughts: Not so much a con, but i really was having an "off" day to play a new course.

4 of 73 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in Houston

2-4    5/11/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: Midnightbiker
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
22 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Course is located right off a main highway, and very easy to find and get to. Some elevation change, and tricky pin placements, along with tight technical holes, and wide open, "rip it" holes make for a wide variety of shots in one course. Practice basket on site, and great concrete tee boxes. Maps and score cards are provided by the Church. Great place to spend a morning or afternoon playing disc golf with your friends, or a great place to meet new friends. People there were very friendly, and it had great parking. This course caters to Pros as well as Rec players.
Cons: Not much bad to say about this course. The walk from 18 back to the parking lot is about 1/8th of a mile. There are a few places on the course where its really easy to loose a disc, and some places the course is a little hard to navagate with out a map from the Church.
Other Thoughts: Over all this is one of the must play courses in the Houston area. If you live in the area, or just visiting, you gotta check out Windwood. This is not a course for true beginners, but someone with at least 3 months or more experience playing will have a good time here. This course is quicky becomeing one of Houstons gems. I would recommend bringing some "trash discs" or floaters for holes 8-10 since they have a creek very close to the holes and its easy to loose a disc. I shanked one in the creek on #10.

22 of 32 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.