Houston, TX
Windwood Presbyterian DGC Share
Uploaded By: c_a_miller Hole #18 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 416ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 surprisingly good

1    1/31/2010   2/20/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 335  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15 Years
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -front nine is pretty technical, it has semi-tight fairways with fairly punishing rough and well guarded pins. Hole 2 is a good example of this. The hole is probably 250' straight and 150' left well guarded by several trees. The rough on this hole is also nasty if you hyzer out before the turn into the basket.
-front nine also has a lot of risky pin placements with large drop offs and water on some. A good example of this is hole 7 where you have to throw a high, tight slow hyzering shot (rhbh) to get across the creek and up the hill to get to a pin, with roll aways and jail possible around the pin. And holes 8 and 9 also have precarious layups to the basket with the creek less than 10 ft behind the basket. 9's dangerous shot is off the tee, while 8's is an approach shot.
-the majority of the back nine has a different feel than the front. It opens up considerably into a wooded, mature grove and it adds more distance. The terrain plays a bit flatter since the creek is no longer in play. Most of the holes are easy 3s with deuces available for the longer arms and a couple for the shorter arms (hole 13)
Cons: -Course plays a bit biased to the rhbh player. I can only think of a couple l-->r holes. This is basically because of the fairly simple design of running along one side of the creek with the creek to the left and then back along the other side, again the creek on the left.
-Navigation is a bit of an issue, we figured it out fairly easily with 5 players, but it could be more difficult with less players who haven't played too many courses.
-Hole 12(?) is a good hole (long anhyzer shot along a drainage ditch) but it doesn't have the infrastructure (bridges across the drainage ditch) to make it memorable in a good way. It pretty much just left us frustrated with wet feet.
-18 ends a long way from the parking lot. And the only time you are close to the lot is at hole 1, and you are fairly close after hole 11.

Other Thoughts: This was a fun course. I think it is easy enough for rec players (and church members, Sunday schools etc.) to have a good time playing, get interested, and improve. And for int and adv players, it is still challenging enough to be fun. I would consider this course to be a work in progress, but when it's done, it'll be a very good course. I think we ranked this course 5th or 6th on our 11 course Houston trip (9 in Houston area, 1 in Nac, one in Little Rock AR), which is saying a lot considering it's almost brand new and we played the best of Houston.


19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for those wanting more advanced play

5+    9/4/2010   2/3/2010
Review By: ROCthrower
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course with lots of wooded and open shots. There are some great risk-reward mid-range shots where if you miss your disc will end up wet! All in all the holes are well thought out, well marked and all have cement pads.
Update: Be sure to check out the new back 3 holes to make this a 21-hole course now. There are 2 great OB risk/reward holes, easy for lefties but a bear for everyone else! Hole #20 gets anyone prepared for the Shawshank course by having an island hole which you have to land in the cut grass or else you're OB! Great design and great fun!
Cons: The pig farm has quite an unpleasant stench when you come around to hole 14.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to grab a map and scorecard! Also check in is necessary on the weekdays, which is simple and easy. If you live out in the North Houston area and are looking for a good course where you can really let loose and play, then I'd highly recommend this course for you. Most of the courses in North Houston are short and tight, and only play well for beginners.
Update: Every Saturday @ 9am there is a mini-tournament. $10 to play, $5 goes to the pot and $5 goes back to the course to help with the upkeep! Hope to see you out there!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

One of the most fun courses around.

2-4    1/13/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2012
21 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course which is great exposure for our sport considering there is a school on the property with plenty of kids enjoying the "Frisbees" I really enjoy the atmosphere of this course and the Church that has been nothing but helpful when it comes to hosting tournaments
Even though most of the holes can be 2'd the scoring spread is very good in the sense that there are many chances to also 4 an easy hole by making a dumb mistake…CREEK! I initially thought this was just an easy birdie course but in the last PDGA event a 1000 rated round was right around par much to my surprise.
Anyway Windwood is a great place to play on the NW side of Houston and is one of my favorite courses in town.

No longer "Pros"….course overview from my perspective.
Hole 1- 285ft or so with bushes on the left and a ditch if you go too far- Pretty much need to birdie.

Hole 2- Probably only 270ft in a straight line from the tee but this is actually a good three and nearly undeuceable. Throw your drive through a gap 25ft away and nestle in the landing zone 230-240ft away (making sure to avoid the rough long and especially short as you will have few looks to the basket.). From the landing zone it is about 100ft to the basket with a large anhyzer gape or smaller hyzer line to the pin.


Hole 3- One of my favoritesI A 315ish hole where you need to aim left and play either a tight S or late right turn. There is a large ditch short of the pin and scrubby trees behind leaving those who throw long with tricky putts/

Hole-4 280 or so down across a drainage area with the pin sitting on the other side on a 15ft upslope. This hole gets tricky since long shots skip away leaving you with a long comeback putt with a steep dropoff if you miss. Landing short means a tough uphill putt (usually windy) with misses having to hit tough 3 saves,

Hole 5- Short (220ft) shot where you just need to throw straight and soft down the middle allowing your disc to hyzer 10 15ft at the end and you are parked. Go long and you have a steep ditch (15-25ft putts with the chains 5ft above your head)...DON"T GO LEFT.....why would you ever go left here (reasons: throwing a driver that skips left into the creek) Don't throw a driver on this hole!

Hole 6- 275ft low hyzer ( I actually suggest a driver here. :P.

Hole 7- Very tough birdie for being under 300ft . The drive must flex before a large tree and fall back left. Tough to control distance and lift from the wind. Wall of trees 25ft behind the basket.

Hole 8- short 230ft hole with a creek close on the left. There are both a RHFH/LHBH route high and left and a low hyzer line to the right.that leave longer putts on average looking at the water.

Hole 9- Hole nine is a <200ft hole with the creek very close on the left. I advise throwing a slow disc to the right of the basket allowing the hill to slide the disc down). Even "bad" shots usually have a shot at 2.


Hole 10- 330ft right down a beautiful tunnel fairway (not super tight) with a bush 40ft in front of the basket narrowing the fairway on the left.

11 and 12 were also nice being 430 and 390 with a slight anhyzer flex needed to get the birdie.

Hole 11- 425Ft over the drainage areas to a narrowing/protected green. Nasty rough on the right starting 150ft short of the basket.

Hole 12- 375ft hole that calls for a punch/turnover shot to get to the pin or a very wide sweeping hyzer that plays much longer than 375ft. Surprisingly hard to get a deuce on this one.

Hole 13- "Pig Hole" 510ft with a large ditch to the left of the 35ft fairway. The ditch isn't OB and a drive long and left leaves a decent look into the basket.

Hole 14. 375ft Slight hyzer...or wide anhyzer defined by large groups of trees.

Hole 15- 375ft Hole where the wide hyzer seems to be the best option. They just planted a large amount of small trees down the fairway that make getting a good look for a putt harder/luckier.

Hole 16- 400ft hole with two options...Wide anhyzer over an Ob chain-link fence or a punch straight down the right hand side of the fairway that slowly hyzers at the end of its flight.

Hole 17- 395ft hyzer that must fade before a large pine tree 300ft away or risk goin OB in the "lake" short of the basket.

Hole 18- 415ft up a hill and then slowly sloping back towards the basket. Trail on the right was OB at the last tournament but usually played as casual/

Hole 19- 475ft hole with a fairway alongside a baseball field. The fairway curves to the right with the outfield fence. Long grass to the left is played as Ob making long drives risky.

Hole 20- Island hole that is around 240ft with a 30ft radius (60ft landing area) . Go to concrete drop zone if you miss on the drive.

hole 21- 365ft wide open hyzer with a small ditch running to the right of the basket...small wooden bridge 20ft long of the pin.
Cons: Limb on hole 12 should probably be trimmed to allow for a higher ceiling.

"Pig Hole"- I'm just not a fan of this hole under the current OB rules (way too easy to just throw left VS going down the "fairway"...I wish the Ditch and beyond was still OB.

Hole 15- Small trees really make it a poke-and-pray as you hyzer into the basket.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great addition to the Houston area and hopefully the HFDS will try and run some clinics for the kids and church members and see if we can get them hooked.



I have this course as a 3.8....so it rounds up to a 4. (would have chosen 3.75 is it was an option.

21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Christmas Round

1    12/25/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: sensei
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2010
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice design using typical boggy Houston terrain.

Good mix of short tight shots and big open shots.

Well placed markers pointing you to the next tee box.
Cons: Some maps of each hole at the tee box would be helpful for people new to the course. I played alone on the first few holes and had to walk a few and back track so I knew which shot to throw (hole 2 is a good example of this)

For RHBH throwers, it seems very difficult to end up anywhere but the brush on the right or the pig farm smelling drainage on the left.

Natural tees are in pretty good shape now but could easily get trenched out with regular play.
Other Thoughts: With some minor tweaks, this course will be in my favorites list. Thank you very much for putting in a nice 18 holer in NW Houston!

UPDATE: I see a lot of the problems I mentioned have been addressed. I can't wait to play there again the next time I'm in Houston.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Just What Cypress Needed

5+    12/22/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 91  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
18 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Located just east of 249 on Spring Cypress Road, Windwood is in an ideal location for disc golfers starved for a course since the privatization of Oak Meadows. But luckily location isn't the only thing this course has going for it. Situated on an excellent piece of property behind Windwood Presbyterian church this course is the product of a dream and tons of hard work from some pretty devoted individuals. I honestly can't say I've been around a course that has gotten so much positive attention so quickly. If that's all the good I had to say about this course, it may just be enough for you to go play it, but wait there's more.

This course has teeth and in a good way. It is balanced with lefties and righties in mind. There are tunnel shots like 10 and challenging bombs like 11. There are water hazards and up/downs through trees. There is utilized elevation here people!! Something almost never seen on Houston courses. When I first laid my eyes on 7 I had to shake Scott's hand (course co-designer) and thank him for finally giving me a cage on a cliff. The variety of shots on this course are quite good and some of the earlier problems (repeating holes) have been rectified.

As far as course infrastructure goes, it has improved tremendously. The cages are good, in great condition (I think they are DGA Mach 2's). The teepads are now almost completely concrete with 17 being the only one not finished yet (this hole is having a pond put on in it so the tee position is yet to be finalized). The teesigns are wood posts at the foot of the teepads and I love there positioning. I have heard too many horror stories of guys tripping and hitting wood posts on drives so their placement is appreciated.
Cons: As far as I know there are no alternate hole configurations and with this land they could conceivably have quite a few. Bring your Deep Woods Off, Off smoker and a Mosquito net on days after rain as this course becomes a swarm on warm wet days.
Other Thoughts: A lot of people thought the day Oak Meadows closed to the public, that disc golf would be dead in Cypress forever. Well not anymore, this fantastic labor of love has breathed new life into this starved area of town. Doug, Scott and Windwood Church itself need to be commended for this great new course. This place has come a long way in a short time and is looking tremendous. If you live in the area (meaning the entire Houston area) you owe it to yourself to play this course it's that good.

18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Not your typical church course

5+    12/12/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2011
23 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
What stands out is that this isn't your typical church course. There a lot of challenging holes with decent risk built into them. The course offers a nice balance of technical shots in the woods and more open shots that really let you air out a disc. The wooded holes all have realistic fairways or paths to the basket. The open holes are not completely open and still have some element of challenge other than pure distance. Well done balance of lefty/righty/straight shots. Distances are laser accurate. Tee posts are bright white (for now) and easy to see. Several "Next Tee" signs aid navigation in tricky parts. New bridges have been built to assist in crossing the stream. Logs have been laid down to help crossing in other areas as well as steps built into the sides of some ravine banks. Nice, large concrete tee pads on almost all holes leave no worries about solid footing.
Cons:
Course map needs more precision on the OB boundaries.

Holes #8 and #9 are big risk shots with baskets on the edge of the creek. Ace runs at them are likely to get wet, as are some missed birdie putts.

Hole #13 needs a "basket here -->" sign to aid in locating the blind basket location.
Other Thoughts:
Hole #20 island hole is intended to be played "tin cup" from the drop-zone, i.e. if you miss your tee shot you go to the DZ throwing three and you continue to throw from there until your disc comes to rest inside the island boundary taking penalty strokes for each miss.

There is a childrens' school on property so you MUST check in at the front desk before playing during normal business hours. It's free to play, but by law you must check in first. Course is closed before Noon on Sunday. There is a lost & found box for discs at the check-in desk.

A ton of work went into the course in a short amount of time to get it up and running quickly.

Right now this is the only 18+ hole game in town open to the public on the Northwest corner of Houston, it's worth a stop if you're in the area or close.

Based on the C-Tier tournament held 8-May-2010 that played with three temp holes and tight OB rules the SSA is ~61.5 for 21 holes.

23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

  Hope to see it get better...

2-4    8/24/2010   11/9/2009
Review By: ChingLizard
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 10/21/2010
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of interesting shots. Some very classic-looking holes. A couple utilized very interesting design features. Good to see another 18-basket course on the NW side of town.
Cons: I know it is still in the "rough" but the course is difficult to navigate using a pull-cart...hell...it's even a challenge to walk parts of it! When I played it, there we a couple of serious design flaws. Holes 5 and 11 (I think) shared fairways and crossed, and I think that this would prevent a competition from being held there - or at least make one very problematic.

The walk for the last 3-4 holes seems almost unnecessary as it leaves you completely on the farthest point away from the parking lot. I know for casual rounds, I would rather play 3 of the beginning holes than the last 4.
Other Thoughts: Several folks have requested that I update my review of this course. While the one problem of #5 and #11 has changed and improved, my overall assessment still stands. The course isn't cart-friendly, and there is a long walk from the last hole back to the first. I still think the course needs to loop around so that hole #18 finishes in the vicinity of the parking lot.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best in Houston

5+    3/26/2012   11/8/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2012
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course design - you can't say it enough. It's hard enough to make you work and think out each shot, but forgiving enough to not get you frustrated and quit. It's a classic example of a course where you can shoot for pars and usually get them, but shooting for birdies can get you in trouble if you're not on target.

Other amenities includes bathrooms in the church, two warm-up baskets (one by #1 and the other by #18), markers for putting by the #1 warm-up basket, numerous benches and bag racks, and even a water spigot by #14 tee to refill your bottles. They have also added chain kits to baskets increasing the overall number of chains per basket and decreasing the spit outs that some players were concerned about.

Windwood has 21 quality holes, most with good size concrete tees. #14 is the one exception because the dirt road prevents concrete from being installed. Holes #19-#21 now fill in the long walk between #1 and #18 that many complained about with the initial design. Everything is beautifully maintained, and the last three holes serve as a real game changer if you play the OB as intended. Basically anything over the fence or in the unmowed grass area is OB. Pulling a 6 and up on #20, a 240' "island hole" is a real possibility playing typically into a headwind to a 60' "island" landing area.

There's a muddy creek that make six holes a real challenge for any RHBH throwers. Hole #8 and #9 are the best example, which come right after surviving a signature hole #7. Each fade at the end of the disc flight begs to skip into the water. However, the creek is shallow in many areas making disc retrieval a good possibility. Hole length is good and varies from tightly wooded 200' drives to wide open 500'+ bombs. This diversity keeps Windwood fresh and doesn't overkill one type of hole like you may see at River Grove DGC or Bear Branch Park. I think it actually compares best to the Cedar Hills course at Jack Brooks Park.

BEST HOLE/S: #6; #7
Cons: No elevation - it's a negative for almost all Houston courses, but that is essentially the only design element Windwood is missing. The drainage issues have all been resolved, but still bring some bug spray too, because to mosquitoes can be incredibly bad, but what do you expect playing golf by a creek. #17 could still use a few bridges around the manmade pond.

WORST HOLE/S: #12
Other Thoughts: Windwood Presbyterian DGC is a prime example of how a good course can be built in the flat terrain of nothing that is Houston, Texas. It uses the surrounding hazards and mild slopes to emphasize the importance of accuracy with every shot. It was built by disc golfers and proves that proper design will yield great results even if your terrain isn't sublime. To me, this fact coupled with all of the improvments push Windwood to just hit 4.5 discs.

Doug Rogers, the designer of Pecan Acres Park and Scott Hawkins have done an excellent job. Plus, the lead pastor and many members seem very excited about having this course become fantastic, which is a major positive.

With the Northwest corner of Houston increasingly becoming a hot spot for new disc golf courses - Windwood has already become one of the best, and certainly in the running for top overall Houston course. People who are tired of being banned from Oak Meadows Park DGC, think Texas Army Trail plays a little too tight, or are just sick of the numerous nine hole courses in the area will greatly appreciate this place. Please make sure you respect the course rules and check-in during week days through 5pm since it is a school, and not play on Sunday mornings. You'll need your license to check in if it's your first time on the course. There are maps located by check-in, or you can print it in the links tab.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely Done!

1    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: kpc2004
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: as stated before, this course had a variety of different shots. the baskets are tucked away and allow for tough but not too difficult shots. each basket is marked with neon orange tape making it easier to find. the use of the trees, retention pond, and creek worked out very well. the property is quite large and the course is spread out nicely and never compact.
Cons: there were MILLIONS of mosquitos out there, plenty of spiders, and even a few snakes. keep an eye out and wear some bug spray!! unfortunatly i didnt wear any and it was almost unbearable. keep an eye on the creek along a few holes because it looks like it could eat a disc or two. as of now, the tee boxes are dirt with some stumps in them. someone in my group almost rolled his ankle on one of them when he was driving so watch your footing. also, GET A MAP!!! we had one and it was still tough on a hole or two to find the basket. It will definatly be better next time now that i know where all the holes are.
Other Thoughts: great job windwood!!! im super excited you guys added this to the community!!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    11/1/2009   11/2/2009
Review By: Miller
Played: 97  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of variety to it. There is elevation, water, left and right turns, woods, open areas, short holes, and long holes. It really has a little of everything to it. The first ten play in a nice wooded section that is very challenging to birdie with bogeys not far away. After that the course opens up a little and lets you air it out.
Cons: As mentioed the course is just barely finished with some redesigns coming. So there are only bricks to to designate the teeboxes and no course markings. This will change after the course has been finalized. There is also some clearing of the paths that still needs to be done. So I wouldn't so it's cart or stoller friendly at all.
Other Thoughts: Northwest Houston has been lacking courses for a while. Until this last summer the closest free option was Agnes Moffitt. Now with this 18 coupled with Wortham and Northside some nice courses are popping up. Even if you don't live close, it's worth the drive.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.