Blaine, MN 
Lochness Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: puttlikeablowfly Hole #5 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 305ft.   4 / 475ft.   4 / 600ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Winter Disc Golf

5+    11/29/2014   11/29/2014
Review By: Magic Potion
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a good course if you like to "grip & rip." Holes 1, 2, 5, 6, 9 allow for this. Holes 3, 4, 8 are heavily wooded holes with narrow throwing lanes. There are 2-3 tee boxes on every hole, accounting for 3 skill levels. Baskets are really nice and catch putts well.
Cons: The most frustrating thing for me is the dogs. It is a popular dog park, and apparently dog leash etiquette doesn't apply here. You must be prepared to have patience here with the dogs (especially on hole 9 - closest to the parking lot). All tee pads are gravel or on the tar walking path that bisects the course. Spring time the course is usually soggy or flooded.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. I have played it over 30 times. It is a course that lets you work on your long and short game. There are two holes (5 & 8) where significant water comes into play. Playing the intermediate or pro tees will challenge you to make par. Remember to be patient....as I patiently waited 5 minutes watching a dog run around with my disc in its mouth and the owner chasing it around.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/28/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: - Very very little foot traffic, maybe see 2 other groups at most when your out on your round.
- Long holes, nice tee pads.
- Nice and open, a few tree shots but for the most part it's an open course!
- I've lucked out and had nicely fresh cut fairways when I have gone.
- Good length for a 9 hole course, it's big but it's great to get some exercise!
Cons: - Don't bother playing this course in the spring or anytime after a rainfall. This course is one of the worst courses I have seen for flooding issues.
- Always wet, always buggy.
- I wouldn't recommend this course to anyone, I try to avoid this course, but my friends always want to play it, not sure why...
Other Thoughts: - I would just stay off this course, unless you know for sure it's dry and playable.
- Fall time would be best time to play here, nice and dry then.
- Add another 9 holes, utilize the hill in the middle of the park, not sure why they don't add 9 more, there's plenty of room.
- Take some time to maintain this course and it will be great! I liked this course at first, but now since it's always flooded it's a downer.

Challanging 9 holer

5+    5/17/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Fepowerguy8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of opportunities for long drives, it is a long 9 hole course worth trying. Fairly easy to navigate, nice hole signs. Very clean and well kept and quiet. Not a popular course so no waiting to play. Nice tee-pads.
Cons: Lots of water holes with lots of water. A couple of the signs say the water is on one side and its actually on the other, lost a disc by trusting the sign.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun

5+    7/6/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: EarthriseTom
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course. Nice baskets, holes are nicely groomed. Good course to practice your distance throws on. Very challenging, and if you throw poorly the course punishes you for it. Great place to work on your game.
Cons: Areas to the sides of the greens are rich in plant life. If you have a bad throw, you'll be spending some time looking for it. Some water hazards on a few holes as well.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice, pleasant, fun course. Very relaxing and quiet. Good for both beginners and advanced players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Big for a 9 hole

5+    10/28/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lochness Park DGC is a LONG 9 hole course from the blue tees for sure. This is no pitch and put so bring some drivers. This course has a great location right off of interstate 35w, it is very easy to get to and a fun course to play. The course is flat as a board but does have some interesting holes and some nice water hazards. The park is nice and has other activates that don't interfere with the course. This is one of the better 9 hole course I have played and could be even better with a few tweaks.

---1. 3 Tee pads is awesome for a 9 hole course and makes this course very friendly to all ability levels. Every pad has its own color coded tee sign green=short, red=medium, and blue=long. Most of the pads offer a new look at the hole and do not simply increases the distance. Most of the tee pads are gravel which is a bit of a letdown but they are all in very playable condition.

---2.The tee signs are some of the best I have seen and they have been mounted high in the air so as not to be vandalized. They are very detailed and have all the info you could ask for.

---3.The baskets are in great shape and catch well.

---4.There is a great variety of distances available from 200' all the way up to 800' depending on what tee you play from. Each set of tees has good distance diversity as well. There is some legitimate par 4's on this course.

---5.This course has some fantastic looking holes. The blue tees force many of your tee shots to be placement shots in order to get a look at the pin. Hole #1 forces you to shoot a pretty tight gap and throw 300'+ to have a good look at a second shot. Hole #2 does the same but curves the other way. Hole #8 has a 275' water carry that must land in a small window between some big trees to get a good look at the pin. Those 3 holes are awesome and really make this course fun and challenging from the blue tees.

---6.This course has everything with the exception of elevation and is well designed. Open bombers, tight tunnels, lefts, and rights. It does favorer a RHFH/LHBH player a bit but not to the point that it is a con.

---7.There is water that is very much in play on two holes (from the blue tees) this makes for some great risk reward opportunities. I love the feeling of making that 275' water carry without hitting a tree and going in the pond. Hole #4 also has a O.B. line on the left and corssing any of the walking trials is considered O.B. as well.

---8.The park is very well kept and clean. It has garbage cans by every hole, is always well mowed and has a few porta-potties throughout the course.

---9.The course has picnic tables and two picnic pavilions with grills. There is also a fishing pier for other activities available to park users.

---10.The park is massive and could easily support 18 holes so this course has room to grow.
Cons: There are only two glaring cons to this course and both of them could be remedied by the park department without much cost. I really like this course a lot and could see it being a 4 discer for sure maybe even better than that.

---1.There is a huge hill right in the middle of the park that is not used at all. I love elevation changes on courses and this is the biggest let down at the course. I have heard that the park department doesn't want to deal with the erosion issues that would go along with having the course play on the hill but I think it is a big mistake. The hill has to be an easy 300' tall and is very steep on three sides. I have walked up it and there are some great views from up there. This is also is a big waste of space. The park could easily hold 18 holes and use the hill for 2 maybe 3 of them. This would add so much to this already very fun course I hope the city reconsiders this in the future.

---2.The gravel tee pads are my next complaint. They are not bad but if it is wet they get muddy fast. The course is so nice it just makes sense to have cement pads on all the holes. The pads that are cement use the walking trail and are marked with white paint. I personally have no problem with this but some people may.

---3.The park is in a low area (besides the big hill) and is surrounded by swamps. In the spring or after a big rain the ground can be very wet and the bugs are really bad on this course mid-summer.

---4.Some of the holes are very close to the walking path so be careful when throwing. Other park users have the right of way here.

---5.There is poison ivy and some other nasty plants in the park. I am super allergic to PI so I don't play here at all in the summer.

---6.There are a few long walks.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course but I don't play it much in the summer. It is a great winter, early spring and fall course so I take full advantage of it during those times. The course will not blow you away but if you are in the area during the fall it is a must play. I hope that they eventually use the hill and upgrade the tee pads.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A monster would make this suck less

5+    10/20/2011   10/20/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 104  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, lots of distance to open up throws. Water in play.
Cons: Boring, super flat, 9 holes. Length doesn't add anything to the course except throws.
Other Thoughts: Honestly there wasn't a lot that could be done here since the city refused the designer use of the hill in the center of the park. The long holes are long but not unique or anything, just a throw it a long way, then throw it a long way again. Course is super flat and just boring.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Expand this course!

1    9/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: megamerican
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to get to. Just north of 35W on Lexington Ave. There is a sign to the disc golf course just after 109th Ave.

Get ready to walk as this is no pitch and putt 9 hole course. If you don't know where the next hole is, simply follow the asphalt path in a clockwise fashion around the course.

1)The fairways are well maintained, the grass was cut on every hole.

2)Every hole has 2 or 3 seperate tees, some of them adding a lot of distance. Each separate tee on the course makes the hole play much differently. They aren't simply 40 feet back and you're still playing the same lines. About 20% of the tees are integrated into the asphalt trails which go around the park.

3)Water is used well on 2 holes. The hole information is incorrect as on hole #5 you are throwing over a shallow pond and need approximately a 250' shot to clear it.

Holy #8 was a lot of fun from the blue tee, luckily it favored a LHBH thrower such as myself. There is a good chance an errant drive can hit a tree, shoot off to the left and go into the lake.

4)The signage is the best I've seen anywhere in the Twin Cities. Each hole has a very detailed map showing you where each tee is, major trees and the basket placement. The only minor way they could make it better would be to integrate the entire course map on to the map of the park in the parking lot, but honestly the first hole sign is a few feet to the north of the lot.

5)The holes themselves are very well designed. You are going to use quite a few of your shots in just 9 holes. There is a good mix of hyzer, anhyzer, S-curve, tunnel shots, water, etc...
Cons: 1)The majority of the tee pads are dirt, much like a batters box at a softball field. They could easily be raked up and made level but were not.

2) No elevation comes into play at all in the park, even though the middle of the park has a few nice rolling hills which would make for some awesome shots.

3)Only 9 holes. There was a lot of room for expansion, even with the multiple tee pads which added a lot of length to the course.

4)A lot of holes favored someone throwing LHBH. There was only one hole that made me throw a slight anhyzer from the tee, whereas the rest were simple hyzer shots of varying length.
Other Thoughts: This is a very solid course if you live nearby or are in the area. The course condition was really good compared to some of the earlier reviews thanks to not much rain in the past two months. It was still buggy in a few spots, but nothing major.

Hopefully in the future this course could be upgraded to an 18 hole course. There is a lot of real estate and elevation changes that could be used to make this an awesome course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Real Monster

1    6/19/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) 3 sets of tees always a nice option to be able to choose your skill level and the range of difficulty from tee to tee is pretty significant on a few of the holes, some however do noy change much from tee to tee.

2) Color coded posts indicate the different tees (Blue, Red, Green). I played one from each because I wanted to see the difference in the course layouts.

3) Nice signs located on each teepost with a general map of the hole, distance and par plus a much larger more permanent sign indicating the entire hole with all the obstacles and distances listed. It was also about 12' in the air which was a heck of an idea because it would keep the sign from being vandalized.

4) Nice large garbage cans near the tees which really seems to keep the course fairly clean!

5) Portopotty located near #5 tee and I think I remember seeing one in the parking lot also.

6) Quite a few of the tees use the asphalt walkpath around the reservoir. Normally asphalt is no good when wet, but this stuff didn't seem to get slick.

7) Gravel pads are better than nothing but they are not top fo the line so I am putting this as a pro but not adding any points to the rating because of it.

8) Nice newer Chainstar baskets some of my favorites in the game.

9) Decent amount of variety stretching from mowed fairways through deep and punishing rough, some tighter technical wooded shots, some throws from the open into a basket tucked into the woods, a couple water shots depending on what tee you throw from.

10) You need to be able to work your disc different directions in order to score well here. Some tighter annhyzers and a few hyzer shots also.

11) Very nice mis of distances on this course really promotes needed a lot of different throws and disc usage.

12) Multiple shot holes recquiring placement shots also. #1 has a gap you need to be near in order to get near the basket, the swamp hole has on or two placement shots needed to avoid the water and be able to get a look at the basket.
Cons: 1) Gravel teepads were not perfect, uneven and washed out in areas. Although they are definitely better than nothing out here.

2) Apparently this course stays wet all of the time in a few spots. It makes runups to your fairway shots kindof scetchy.

3) Not enough variety between tees some of the time and multiple times two tees were completely shared and why on earth would you put the green and blue tee together on Hole #7 it just doesnt make any sense.Sure the par may have been different but it just seemd strange.

4) Apparently this park is also a dog park or just a place a lot of people bring their dogs to socialize. A few had no idea what I was doing and were completely unaware I was trying to throw at the basket and continued to throw the tennis balls towards #9 interfering with my round. I didn't bother to educate them because I figured it was a park and can be used by all, plus I am not from the area.

5) #8 seems to be a pretty ridiculous hole. There is no fairway really and at any point you can easily kick off one of the 100 trees right into the lake. It seems like more luck than skill is needed here. It would be a great hole if it was opened up just slightly more.

6) Im pretty sure I saw a bunch of Poison Ivy, Nettles and other annoying plant material off to the sides of some of the fairways. Be careful looking for your lost discs.

7) Minimal elevation change on any holes. This was more about obstacles and slight undulations etc.

8) Mosquitos and ticks are most likely abundant here.

9) Walk path is in play although generally on the tee. You need to be careful not to hurt other park users.

10 Long walks between a lot of the holes . . . If it was all about good hole design than I am ok with it, but it is nice to have a course where you can just keep moving and not have all the extra walking.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play, but it isn't as good as it could be. A few changes on a few holes along with concrete tees would certainly get this course a better rating, perhaps even the best rating I have ever given to a 9 hole course. There are enough shot making skills needed, the amenities are awesome, the multiple tees are great, and baskets are great it has just about everything but elevation. I will be back sometime but I would avoid this course during wet periods as it would be really soupy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/3/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: Jboost
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Two or Three tees per holes makes for high replay value.
-Nice mix of short, long, wooded and open holes.
-Usually not crowded allowing for multiple throws.
Cons: -Poorly/Inconsistently maintained. I have been here with fresh cut grass and it was great, I have been here with grass halfway to my knees and it was terrible.
-Swampy holes lead to lots of mosquitoes.
-Several water hazards love the risk/reward but hate loosing discs.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Too much walking and too many ticks

5+    5/16/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 104  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Signs... Not Busy with good length on most holes but too open.
Cons: Swamp Land not maintained well and perfect breeding grounds for mosquitoes and ticks. Grass gets knee high and impossible to find a disc with the walk between some holes as long as the hole itself... Lots of room for expansion and addition of elevation changes but currently the land and state of course do not provide the best use or round which could be possible in this park.
Other Thoughts: Should have made it 18 holes and designed the layout to flow better. Not a beginners course unless you want to get multiple drives in (not make par)

www.facebook.com/DiscGolfMN

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.