Blaine, MN 
Lochness Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: puttlikeablowfly Hole #5 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 305ft.   4 / 475ft.   4 / 600ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    5/28/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: - Very very little foot traffic, maybe see 2 other groups at most when your out on your round.
- Long holes, nice tee pads.
- Nice and open, a few tree shots but for the most part it's an open course!
- I've lucked out and had nicely fresh cut fairways when I have gone.
- Good length for a 9 hole course, it's big but it's great to get some exercise!
Cons: - Don't bother playing this course in the spring or anytime after a rainfall. This course is one of the worst courses I have seen for flooding issues.
- Always wet, always buggy.
- I wouldn't recommend this course to anyone, I try to avoid this course, but my friends always want to play it, not sure why...
Other Thoughts: - I would just stay off this course, unless you know for sure it's dry and playable.
- Fall time would be best time to play here, nice and dry then.
- Add another 9 holes, utilize the hill in the middle of the park, not sure why they don't add 9 more, there's plenty of room.
- Take some time to maintain this course and it will be great! I liked this course at first, but now since it's always flooded it's a downer.

 Big for a 9 hole

5+    10/28/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lochness Park DGC is a LONG 9 hole course from the blue tees for sure. This is no pitch and put so bring some drivers. This course has a great location right off of interstate 35w, it is very easy to get to and a fun course to play. The course is flat as a board but does have some interesting holes and some nice water hazards. The park is nice and has other activates that don't interfere with the course. This is one of the better 9 hole course I have played and could be even better with a few tweaks.

---1. 3 Tee pads is awesome for a 9 hole course and makes this course very friendly to all ability levels. Every pad has its own color coded tee sign green=short, red=medium, and blue=long. Most of the pads offer a new look at the hole and do not simply increases the distance. Most of the tee pads are gravel which is a bit of a letdown but they are all in very playable condition.

---2.The tee signs are some of the best I have seen and they have been mounted high in the air so as not to be vandalized. They are very detailed and have all the info you could ask for.

---3.The baskets are in great shape and catch well.

---4.There is a great variety of distances available from 200' all the way up to 800' depending on what tee you play from. Each set of tees has good distance diversity as well. There is some legitimate par 4's on this course.

---5.This course has some fantastic looking holes. The blue tees force many of your tee shots to be placement shots in order to get a look at the pin. Hole #1 forces you to shoot a pretty tight gap and throw 300'+ to have a good look at a second shot. Hole #2 does the same but curves the other way. Hole #8 has a 275' water carry that must land in a small window between some big trees to get a good look at the pin. Those 3 holes are awesome and really make this course fun and challenging from the blue tees.

---6.This course has everything with the exception of elevation and is well designed. Open bombers, tight tunnels, lefts, and rights. It does favorer a RHFH/LHBH player a bit but not to the point that it is a con.

---7.There is water that is very much in play on two holes (from the blue tees) this makes for some great risk reward opportunities. I love the feeling of making that 275' water carry without hitting a tree and going in the pond. Hole #4 also has a O.B. line on the left and corssing any of the walking trials is considered O.B. as well.

---8.The park is very well kept and clean. It has garbage cans by every hole, is always well mowed and has a few porta-potties throughout the course.

---9.The course has picnic tables and two picnic pavilions with grills. There is also a fishing pier for other activities available to park users.

---10.The park is massive and could easily support 18 holes so this course has room to grow.
Cons: There are only two glaring cons to this course and both of them could be remedied by the park department without much cost. I really like this course a lot and could see it being a 4 discer for sure maybe even better than that.

---1.There is a huge hill right in the middle of the park that is not used at all. I love elevation changes on courses and this is the biggest let down at the course. I have heard that the park department doesn't want to deal with the erosion issues that would go along with having the course play on the hill but I think it is a big mistake. The hill has to be an easy 300' tall and is very steep on three sides. I have walked up it and there are some great views from up there. This is also is a big waste of space. The park could easily hold 18 holes and use the hill for 2 maybe 3 of them. This would add so much to this already very fun course I hope the city reconsiders this in the future.

---2.The gravel tee pads are my next complaint. They are not bad but if it is wet they get muddy fast. The course is so nice it just makes sense to have cement pads on all the holes. The pads that are cement use the walking trail and are marked with white paint. I personally have no problem with this but some people may.

---3.The park is in a low area (besides the big hill) and is surrounded by swamps. In the spring or after a big rain the ground can be very wet and the bugs are really bad on this course mid-summer.

---4.Some of the holes are very close to the walking path so be careful when throwing. Other park users have the right of way here.

---5.There is poison ivy and some other nasty plants in the park. I am super allergic to PI so I don't play here at all in the summer.

---6.There are a few long walks.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course but I don't play it much in the summer. It is a great winter, early spring and fall course so I take full advantage of it during those times. The course will not blow you away but if you are in the area during the fall it is a must play. I hope that they eventually use the hill and upgrade the tee pads.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Expand this course!

1    9/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: megamerican
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to get to. Just north of 35W on Lexington Ave. There is a sign to the disc golf course just after 109th Ave.

Get ready to walk as this is no pitch and putt 9 hole course. If you don't know where the next hole is, simply follow the asphalt path in a clockwise fashion around the course.

1)The fairways are well maintained, the grass was cut on every hole.

2)Every hole has 2 or 3 seperate tees, some of them adding a lot of distance. Each separate tee on the course makes the hole play much differently. They aren't simply 40 feet back and you're still playing the same lines. About 20% of the tees are integrated into the asphalt trails which go around the park.

3)Water is used well on 2 holes. The hole information is incorrect as on hole #5 you are throwing over a shallow pond and need approximately a 250' shot to clear it.

Holy #8 was a lot of fun from the blue tee, luckily it favored a LHBH thrower such as myself. There is a good chance an errant drive can hit a tree, shoot off to the left and go into the lake.

4)The signage is the best I've seen anywhere in the Twin Cities. Each hole has a very detailed map showing you where each tee is, major trees and the basket placement. The only minor way they could make it better would be to integrate the entire course map on to the map of the park in the parking lot, but honestly the first hole sign is a few feet to the north of the lot.

5)The holes themselves are very well designed. You are going to use quite a few of your shots in just 9 holes. There is a good mix of hyzer, anhyzer, S-curve, tunnel shots, water, etc...
Cons: 1)The majority of the tee pads are dirt, much like a batters box at a softball field. They could easily be raked up and made level but were not.

2) No elevation comes into play at all in the park, even though the middle of the park has a few nice rolling hills which would make for some awesome shots.

3)Only 9 holes. There was a lot of room for expansion, even with the multiple tee pads which added a lot of length to the course.

4)A lot of holes favored someone throwing LHBH. There was only one hole that made me throw a slight anhyzer from the tee, whereas the rest were simple hyzer shots of varying length.
Other Thoughts: This is a very solid course if you live nearby or are in the area. The course condition was really good compared to some of the earlier reviews thanks to not much rain in the past two months. It was still buggy in a few spots, but nothing major.

Hopefully in the future this course could be upgraded to an 18 hole course. There is a lot of real estate and elevation changes that could be used to make this an awesome course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Real Monster

1    6/19/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) 3 sets of tees always a nice option to be able to choose your skill level and the range of difficulty from tee to tee is pretty significant on a few of the holes, some however do noy change much from tee to tee.

2) Color coded posts indicate the different tees (Blue, Red, Green). I played one from each because I wanted to see the difference in the course layouts.

3) Nice signs located on each teepost with a general map of the hole, distance and par plus a much larger more permanent sign indicating the entire hole with all the obstacles and distances listed. It was also about 12' in the air which was a heck of an idea because it would keep the sign from being vandalized.

4) Nice large garbage cans near the tees which really seems to keep the course fairly clean!

5) Portopotty located near #5 tee and I think I remember seeing one in the parking lot also.

6) Quite a few of the tees use the asphalt walkpath around the reservoir. Normally asphalt is no good when wet, but this stuff didn't seem to get slick.

7) Gravel pads are better than nothing but they are not top fo the line so I am putting this as a pro but not adding any points to the rating because of it.

8) Nice newer Chainstar baskets some of my favorites in the game.

9) Decent amount of variety stretching from mowed fairways through deep and punishing rough, some tighter technical wooded shots, some throws from the open into a basket tucked into the woods, a couple water shots depending on what tee you throw from.

10) You need to be able to work your disc different directions in order to score well here. Some tighter annhyzers and a few hyzer shots also.

11) Very nice mis of distances on this course really promotes needed a lot of different throws and disc usage.

12) Multiple shot holes recquiring placement shots also. #1 has a gap you need to be near in order to get near the basket, the swamp hole has on or two placement shots needed to avoid the water and be able to get a look at the basket.
Cons: 1) Gravel teepads were not perfect, uneven and washed out in areas. Although they are definitely better than nothing out here.

2) Apparently this course stays wet all of the time in a few spots. It makes runups to your fairway shots kindof scetchy.

3) Not enough variety between tees some of the time and multiple times two tees were completely shared and why on earth would you put the green and blue tee together on Hole #7 it just doesnt make any sense.Sure the par may have been different but it just seemd strange.

4) Apparently this park is also a dog park or just a place a lot of people bring their dogs to socialize. A few had no idea what I was doing and were completely unaware I was trying to throw at the basket and continued to throw the tennis balls towards #9 interfering with my round. I didn't bother to educate them because I figured it was a park and can be used by all, plus I am not from the area.

5) #8 seems to be a pretty ridiculous hole. There is no fairway really and at any point you can easily kick off one of the 100 trees right into the lake. It seems like more luck than skill is needed here. It would be a great hole if it was opened up just slightly more.

6) Im pretty sure I saw a bunch of Poison Ivy, Nettles and other annoying plant material off to the sides of some of the fairways. Be careful looking for your lost discs.

7) Minimal elevation change on any holes. This was more about obstacles and slight undulations etc.

8) Mosquitos and ticks are most likely abundant here.

9) Walk path is in play although generally on the tee. You need to be careful not to hurt other park users.

10 Long walks between a lot of the holes . . . If it was all about good hole design than I am ok with it, but it is nice to have a course where you can just keep moving and not have all the extra walking.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play, but it isn't as good as it could be. A few changes on a few holes along with concrete tees would certainly get this course a better rating, perhaps even the best rating I have ever given to a 9 hole course. There are enough shot making skills needed, the amenities are awesome, the multiple tees are great, and baskets are great it has just about everything but elevation. I will be back sometime but I would avoid this course during wet periods as it would be really soupy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/7/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: wean681
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of tree and open holes. Will definitely test how far you can throw. Fairways are usually in pretty good condition. New signs this year make it clear where the hole is.
Cons: Not much in the way of elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course. That said, I will NOT play this course from mid-June to late August because everything off the fairways gets incredibly thick during the summer. During the spring and fall it is a great 9 hole course, but in the summer you will probably spend more time looking for discs that throwing them. Because of that, I didnt rate it any higher than a 3.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/1/2010   2/9/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The long 9 hole plays in a circle around a large hill at Lochness Park. It's well maintained and gets a reasonable amount of foot traffic from walkers. None of the holes plays directly across the path, or across other holes, so you don't have to worry about hitting walkers or fellow disc golfers.

The 2-3 tee positions for each hole are generally separated by a large distance and each presents a significantly different look than the others. As a result, replay value is pretty high.

The course is new and has great signs and good baskets.

The course is fairly quiet. I've run into other players on the course, but waiting at the tee pad has never been a problem.

I like the course because it provides an opportunity to work on shaping a lot of different lines. Most holes are fairly wide open, but each has a few strategically placed obstacles and hazards. How you navigate the hole and what lines you use are left to the golfer.
Cons: The downside is that, if you don't get creative, the course won't force you to. Aside from hole 3, you never have to hit a narrow hallway, nor are you constrained by a low ceiling. If you can't throw very far, this may get boring. If you can, there are opportunities to throw a lot of crazy lines and work on your skill set.

The lack of elevation change is disappointing. I understand it's probably a safety issue, but that big hill in the middle really seems like it was meant to have a disc thrown all up and down it.

The natural tee pads can be a problem. The course is long, and throwing from them can be frustrating. Some are worse than others, and most holes have an option to throw from the path, which is wide and smooth asphalt.
Other Thoughts: There is quite a bit of walking involved with playing a round here. In addition to the long holes, there can be a long walk between the holes. At first I thought, "They could have put another 5 or 6 holes inbetween the existing 9", but I realized this would have meant playing across or along the path and endangering walkers. I like the hike, but some people may not feel that way.

Lochness is worth stopping by and playing if you're in the area, but it's not so picturesque or challenging that it demands a visit. It's the closest course to my house, and because it's fairly wide open, it's a great course to practice a wide variety of shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Fun

1    8/9/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: jonas
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long course! Very challenging especially with water. It is nice to have holes that are wooded. The distances make you think about what discs to use. Very easy to find with GREAT signs for Tees
Cons: NEEDS TO BE MOWED! It is crazy how tall the grass and weeds are on this course. There is no really fairway. Time was wasted looking for discs even when they landed in an open area. If mowed this course would be a 4.5
Other Thoughts: Great place with three tee boxes. Have fun and challenge yourself playing all three colors!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Meets those who want to open up their arm.

1    11/7/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: slash87
Played: 140  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like the previous reviewer said this is a great addition to the north metro. It has a lot to offer in distance, narrow fairways, and a water hole. It will challenge both righties and lefties and will allow many to improve specific shots in their game.
Cons: There is no elevation change (or very little). This course would of been great if they could of utilized the hill in the middle of the park. Sadly they could not because of MN pollution control.Cement tee pads would of been a better idea then crushed stone too.
Other Thoughts: Give this course time as it is in its infancy. As more play it, it will become a better course. It is a well needed course for those who are trying to improve there arm strength and add a little distance to their throws. Enjoy and keep throwing!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center