Blaine, MN 
Lochness Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: puttlikeablowfly Hole #2 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 290ft.   4 / 420ft.   4 / 565ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 fun

5+    7/6/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: EarthriseTom
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course. Nice baskets, holes are nicely groomed. Good course to practice your distance throws on. Very challenging, and if you throw poorly the course punishes you for it. Great place to work on your game.
Cons: Areas to the sides of the greens are rich in plant life. If you have a bad throw, you'll be spending some time looking for it. Some water hazards on a few holes as well.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice, pleasant, fun course. Very relaxing and quiet. Good for both beginners and advanced players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9-Holer

1    4/28/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 111  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Awesome tee signs.
* Three sets of tees for different skills levels (some are combined on various holes, although the pars may be different depending on which color you are playing).
* Baskets are in great shape.
* Some tee boxes painted on paved paths.
* Attractive park.
* Variety of hole lengths no matter what set of tees you are playing.
* Some water hazards in play (even when course is not flooded).
* Some tight, technical holes, and a couple of bombers.
* Good mix of left-to-right and right-to-left shots. Some holes require one-or-the-other, while some give you an option.
* The different tees don't simply play at different distances, but rather, many of them come in from vastly different angles.
Cons: * Some of the natural / crushed stone tees are uneven / rutted.
* Almost no elevation change on the course, which is a little frustrating when you spend your round going around a large hill in the middle of the park.
* Course was very wet / partially flooded, which I'm guessing is rare, but it still seemed like many places would be wet often throughout the year ... needs some more woodchips.
* I think it's a little "rude" to make the first hole a long bomber, especially when there is no practice basket to warm up on.
Other Thoughts: This is easily one of the best nine-hole courses I have played. The three sets of tees accommodate a variety of skill levels, so an advanced player can play with a novice and everyone can have fun. A player could also make a decent 18 by playing two rounds from different tees. Don't overlook this course simply because it is nine holes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A REAL Disc Golf Course!!

2-4    10/5/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: dispatch1313
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is by the best 9 hole course I have ever played. I actually like this course better than most 18 hole courses I've played. The fairways were freshly mowed when I went. Pitch & putt holes are retarded, this course has none! Most of the holes are long enough to use your distance driver and let 'r rip. The underbrush/weeds on the sides of the fairways is trampled down enough now where finding your disc is easy.
Cons: If there were concrete teepads on all the holes this course would be a 4.5 in my book. The only other con I have is that it is only 9 holes and not 18. However, I would rather play 9 excellent holes as this course has, then to have them cram 18 holes in the same space.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course almost as much as Blue Ribbon Pines. I will definitely be playing this course a lot more. Too bad its 40 mins from my house:(

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Up there for the longest and most satisfying nine hole course in the metro

2-4    7/2/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: a_beautifulplace
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very very nicely laid out
-Excellent flow
-Longest nine hole i've ever played
-850 foot double dog leg?!
-Minimal water
-Very quiet
-Great hike in a beautiful little park
-Nice posts, everything clearly marked
-Every hole has a garbage can
-Excellent variety of shots needed
Cons: -A LOT of poisonous plants
-Some places need to be mowed, badly
-I think it is a general rule that people spend a lot of time looking for discs here
-My only complaints lay in the finding of or losing your disc at this place
Other Thoughts: Play this course. Expert, intermediate, beginner, non-player. This course caters to virtually everyones play style. This place is in pristine shape, let's try to keep it that way! Lochness is one of the courses I crave to play on a daily basis.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/3/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: By far the best 9 hole course I have ever played. Three sets of tees on 6 of the holes, with 2 sets on the remaining three. Each tee sets up a different shot, with the tees not necissarily determining how difficult the shot will be.
There is some real distance out there, unlike most courses I have played. Even though there is a large amount of distance on a lot of the shots, low scores are possible. There are a few birdie opportunities, even from the long tees.
The lay out is really good, it is clear where your shots need to go as well as clear where the next tee pad is. I believe all the holes have signs, which include distance and where the hole is.
Very well manicured. There are some really tight alleyways to throw through on a few holes. Also water comes into play on at least 1 hole.
Cons: Location is a big con. It is a long ways away from anything. For beginners, it is a course that would frustrate them beyond belief.
Also there is no real elevation change anywhere on the course, even though there is a giant hill in the middle. I guess they can't use it though.
Other Thoughts: Great course, if you're ever near here, make sure you stop and play it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Quite enjoyable, good arm workout.

5+    4/9/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: marcusmpe
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent tees, nice signs and baskets on every hole.
3 tees for every hole (some combined).
Variety of hole lengths and shot types.
Great overall course condition.
Cons: Little to no elevation change.
Only 9 holes right now.
Off-fairway can be very dense woods or very tall grass.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course. You will definitely be able to let your drives rip on some holes. Other holes are shorter and require a very specific shot (#3 especially). Park is not too crowded so far and the course conditions are great. I'll be playing there very frequently this summer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center