Blaine, MN 
Lochness Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: puttlikeablowfly Hole #2 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 290ft.   4 / 420ft.   4 / 565ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great 9-Holer

1    4/28/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 103  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Awesome tee signs.
* Three sets of tees for different skills levels (some are combined on various holes, although the pars may be different depending on which color you are playing).
* Baskets are in great shape.
* Some tee boxes painted on paved paths.
* Attractive park.
* Variety of hole lengths no matter what set of tees you are playing.
* Some water hazards in play (even when course is not flooded).
* Some tight, technical holes, and a couple of bombers.
* Good mix of left-to-right and right-to-left shots. Some holes require one-or-the-other, while some give you an option.
* The different tees don't simply play at different distances, but rather, many of them come in from vastly different angles.
Cons: * Some of the natural / crushed stone tees are uneven / rutted.
* Almost no elevation change on the course, which is a little frustrating when you spend your round going around a large hill in the middle of the park.
* Course was very wet / partially flooded, which I'm guessing is rare, but it still seemed like many places would be wet often throughout the year ... needs some more woodchips.
* I think it's a little "rude" to make the first hole a long bomber, especially when there is no practice basket to warm up on.
Other Thoughts: This is easily one of the best nine-hole courses I have played. The three sets of tees accommodate a variety of skill levels, so an advanced player can play with a novice and everyone can have fun. A player could also make a decent 18 by playing two rounds from different tees. Don't overlook this course simply because it is nine holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/1/2010   2/9/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The long 9 hole plays in a circle around a large hill at Lochness Park. It's well maintained and gets a reasonable amount of foot traffic from walkers. None of the holes plays directly across the path, or across other holes, so you don't have to worry about hitting walkers or fellow disc golfers.

The 2-3 tee positions for each hole are generally separated by a large distance and each presents a significantly different look than the others. As a result, replay value is pretty high.

The course is new and has great signs and good baskets.

The course is fairly quiet. I've run into other players on the course, but waiting at the tee pad has never been a problem.

I like the course because it provides an opportunity to work on shaping a lot of different lines. Most holes are fairly wide open, but each has a few strategically placed obstacles and hazards. How you navigate the hole and what lines you use are left to the golfer.
Cons: The downside is that, if you don't get creative, the course won't force you to. Aside from hole 3, you never have to hit a narrow hallway, nor are you constrained by a low ceiling. If you can't throw very far, this may get boring. If you can, there are opportunities to throw a lot of crazy lines and work on your skill set.

The lack of elevation change is disappointing. I understand it's probably a safety issue, but that big hill in the middle really seems like it was meant to have a disc thrown all up and down it.

The natural tee pads can be a problem. The course is long, and throwing from them can be frustrating. Some are worse than others, and most holes have an option to throw from the path, which is wide and smooth asphalt.
Other Thoughts: There is quite a bit of walking involved with playing a round here. In addition to the long holes, there can be a long walk between the holes. At first I thought, "They could have put another 5 or 6 holes inbetween the existing 9", but I realized this would have meant playing across or along the path and endangering walkers. I like the hike, but some people may not feel that way.

Lochness is worth stopping by and playing if you're in the area, but it's not so picturesque or challenging that it demands a visit. It's the closest course to my house, and because it's fairly wide open, it's a great course to practice a wide variety of shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A REAL Disc Golf Course!!

2-4    10/5/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: dispatch1313
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is by the best 9 hole course I have ever played. I actually like this course better than most 18 hole courses I've played. The fairways were freshly mowed when I went. Pitch & putt holes are retarded, this course has none! Most of the holes are long enough to use your distance driver and let 'r rip. The underbrush/weeds on the sides of the fairways is trampled down enough now where finding your disc is easy.
Cons: If there were concrete teepads on all the holes this course would be a 4.5 in my book. The only other con I have is that it is only 9 holes and not 18. However, I would rather play 9 excellent holes as this course has, then to have them cram 18 holes in the same space.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course almost as much as Blue Ribbon Pines. I will definitely be playing this course a lot more. Too bad its 40 mins from my house:(

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The opposite of chip and putt

2-4    9/25/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a 9 hole course that plays in and around the wooded area of a flat section of park, There is a medium sized 2 hump hill that you will go clockwise around while you play. The park has a shelter, very good parking and a biffy in addition to every hole having a garbage can.

The main thing that differentiates this course from every other 9 hole course you have played is that it is the opposite of a pitch and putt course. Almost every hole has good length, up to 850' on the blue tees. If a pitch and putt course is for practicing chips and putting, this course is for practicing driving and long fairway approaches. All holes have at least 2 teepads and many have 3. Signage is as good as it gets. The course also has a lake that comes into play on one hole.

Teepads are either crushed limestone or painted areas of the asphalt walking path that follows the course around the hills.
Cons: This course is limited by the flat nature of the terrian. Other than that I think the designer used the resources available to him very well with the possible exception of the long walks between holes. This is especially notable from hole 8 to 9 where you have to follow the path for about 400'. The entire walk has you following woods on your left. It made me wonder if there wasn't a chance for a good woods hole which would have filled a bit of a void in this course.

Even though there was a ton of garbage cans I spent a good amount of time picking up beer cans.
Other Thoughts: Since it is only 9 holes and having good alternate teepads it is very worth your time to play multiple rounds when you go here.

Other reviews have mentioned the poor course maintenance but when I was there it was in great shape. Even the rough was knocked down enough to make finding discs easy. Maybe it is finally getting wore in.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Fun

1    8/9/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: jonas
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long course! Very challenging especially with water. It is nice to have holes that are wooded. The distances make you think about what discs to use. Very easy to find with GREAT signs for Tees
Cons: NEEDS TO BE MOWED! It is crazy how tall the grass and weeds are on this course. There is no really fairway. Time was wasted looking for discs even when they landed in an open area. If mowed this course would be a 4.5
Other Thoughts: Great place with three tee boxes. Have fun and challenge yourself playing all three colors!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Up there for the longest and most satisfying nine hole course in the metro

2-4    7/2/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: a_beautifulplace
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very very nicely laid out
-Excellent flow
-Longest nine hole i've ever played
-850 foot double dog leg?!
-Minimal water
-Very quiet
-Great hike in a beautiful little park
-Nice posts, everything clearly marked
-Every hole has a garbage can
-Excellent variety of shots needed
Cons: -A LOT of poisonous plants
-Some places need to be mowed, badly
-I think it is a general rule that people spend a lot of time looking for discs here
-My only complaints lay in the finding of or losing your disc at this place
Other Thoughts: Play this course. Expert, intermediate, beginner, non-player. This course caters to virtually everyones play style. This place is in pristine shape, let's try to keep it that way! Lochness is one of the courses I crave to play on a daily basis.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Boring Course

2-4    6/9/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: jeydax
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three tees per hole. Some advanced/intermediate and advanced/newbie tees were combined on some holes. It's quite easy to find the starting position tee to tee as they are mostly along the path. There are a few challenging holes.
Cons: An extremely boring course. Absolutely no elevation changes, it's all on flat ground. The course is almost entirely based on how far you can throw. This wouldn't be a bad thing if each hole had some unique feel, but save for one or two holes they were all quite similar.
Other Thoughts: Some concrete, some dirt tees. Definitely a good course to practice your long shots on, but other than that it's quite boring. Tee 7 has the advanced tee going over some water.

I really don't see how people could give this course any higher than 2.5. It has no character, nearly all the holes are similar to eachother, no elevation changes. The only saving grace is that it tests your long shots and it is easy to find every tee.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/3/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: By far the best 9 hole course I have ever played. Three sets of tees on 6 of the holes, with 2 sets on the remaining three. Each tee sets up a different shot, with the tees not necissarily determining how difficult the shot will be.
There is some real distance out there, unlike most courses I have played. Even though there is a large amount of distance on a lot of the shots, low scores are possible. There are a few birdie opportunities, even from the long tees.
The lay out is really good, it is clear where your shots need to go as well as clear where the next tee pad is. I believe all the holes have signs, which include distance and where the hole is.
Very well manicured. There are some really tight alleyways to throw through on a few holes. Also water comes into play on at least 1 hole.
Cons: Location is a big con. It is a long ways away from anything. For beginners, it is a course that would frustrate them beyond belief.
Also there is no real elevation change anywhere on the course, even though there is a giant hill in the middle. I guess they can't use it though.
Other Thoughts: Great course, if you're ever near here, make sure you stop and play it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Quite enjoyable, good arm workout.

5+    4/9/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: marcusmpe
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent tees, nice signs and baskets on every hole.
3 tees for every hole (some combined).
Variety of hole lengths and shot types.
Great overall course condition.
Cons: Little to no elevation change.
Only 9 holes right now.
Off-fairway can be very dense woods or very tall grass.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course. You will definitely be able to let your drives rip on some holes. Other holes are shorter and require a very specific shot (#3 especially). Park is not too crowded so far and the course conditions are great. I'll be playing there very frequently this summer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Strong contender for best nine-hole course in metro area

2-4    11/18/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: MannyGetYourFun
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Most nine-hole courses in the TC suburbs are crammed inside busy city parks. Not Lochness, an ambitious and well thought-out course that will make any city/park planner a believer in the game if it's done right.

- Distance is what sets Lochness apart from many others. Intermediates will second-guess the use of its long tees (every hole has at least two or three pads). Beginners will shriek away in terror. Case in point: the blue tee of Hole 1, an 850 ft. (yes, you read right) par 4 demon. Though none of the other holes go past 600+, the blue holes rarely dip below 400.

- Besides testing your arm, Lochness will also test your accuracy. You're up against doglegs in both directions, wooded holes, a tricky water hazard, and even a hole that curls inward.

- It's not just one of the most challenging courses, it's also one of the most scenic.

- Blue, red, and green tee markers make it easy to navigate.
Cons: - Most of the tee-pads are dirt (for now, I think). The only asphalt pads are spray painted on sidewalks.

- The rough is really rough in some spots. Hole 5's fairway is pretty much all prairie grass and dried-up wetland, with just a thin strip of pathway cut through. Hole 7, the lone water hole, also has some pretty bad spots.

- No elevation, even though the course wraps around a giant hill. I've seen several players throw discs off it already, which makes me think that there will be some conflicts between players and park officials in the near future.
Other Thoughts: - Though Lochness Park still needs some improvement in landscaping, it should be held as a model for designers who don't want to cram 18 holes in a smaller area "just 'cause." The only other nine-hole course that's this fun (but not as challenging) is the one at Bethel University.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.