Fairbanks, AK
UAF DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #10 (Taken 7/2010)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/27/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: tcbringhurst
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Good hole locations
Cons: Construction on campus meant half the holes are unplayable. I couldn't finish the course after hole 11 because they were all taken down. It is in the middle of campus too, so pedestrians are at risk of getting hit by errant discs.
Other Thoughts: Wait till the construction is done to play this course. Go to Birch Hill instead

 Joe Quigley once played here!

2-4    7/2/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.7 Years
Pros: *Nice distance
*Worked well with college layout
*Some fun wide open bombs
Cons: *Close to buildings and other people
*Zig-zagged alot
*Confusing even with map
*No benches or chill spots along the way
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course, clearly designed by locals, maybe even Nate! haha worthwhile to hit up if you are in the area and way better than the nine-holer at Healy! Wish there would been someone to huck with but summer seemed pretty slow there. Gonna check out Brich Hill soon!

 Great, varied course

5+    5/16/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: stormrider
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Varied hole layout that meanders through a hilly college campus. There's a handful of tighter, more technical shots, and some wide open bombers into large downhill fields (appoint a spotter if you're playing with friends).
Cons: There's a bit of a hike between a few of the holes, and your legs definitely feel it a bit more than many 18ers.

Course layout can be confusing, but the scorecard with a map is available online and at the Woodcenter facility.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth a play if you're in the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Views, Confusing Layout

1    7/28/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: KAK3990
Played: 43  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great views of the city of Fairbanks
-18 holes that vary the type of shots called for
-A good play while I was on vacation
Cons: -Very hard to follow the layout of this course
-Often have to cross roads or walk an unmarked distance between tees
-Hole 18 does not end where Tee 1 begins
Other Thoughts: This course offers an opportunity to play in an area that dosent offer many courses. The course is set up on a series of beautiful hills overlooking the city and the views and quite stunning on many holes. Mostly wide open with some trees placed here and there. There can be a good amount of foot traffic so be careful when teeing off.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better then no course

1    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: J-TRU
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: IT IS ACTUALLY 18 HOLES.This course sits on a beautiful campus. They used the natural surroundings well to make a good begginer course. Good mix of shots(forehand, backhand,thumber, long, short)
Cons: VERY CONFUSING. I lucked out and ran into some local students at hole one that showed me the way. I can bet if you do not play with someone who knows the course, you will not find all 18 holes. They are all over campus, crossing streets and in some cases you have to walk blocks to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I'm not here to bag on the course, because i think any coures is worth playing at least once. It just really depends on what kind of player you are. If your like me and have to play every course you find then you will enjoy playing it no matter what. I found no course maps, so wait for a nice day and play with some locals. Oh, by the way I played this coures at 11:30pm and loved every second of it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.