Plattsburgh, NY 
Cadyville DGC Share
Uploaded By: Strauss Hole #11 (Taken 7/2011)
4 / 460ft.   4 / 563ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
 

5+    9/3/2016   9/3/2016
Review By: upstatedave
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to learn on, a good mixture of left and right hole placements, nothing extremely long. Longest hole is just over 500 feet. It has nice concrete teepads, some might think they are a little short, id estimate they are maybe 6ft long. The course is well marked as far as going hole to hole and the lay out flows pretty well.
Cons: Hole diagram sheets on each hole need updating as they give you a general idea of the hole but its not very accurate or real to life on a few. Holes 4 and 8 don't have a perfectly defined route to take from the white tee pads due to trees(I cant comment on blues as I haven't played from them on those holes). Hole 4 is a RHFH or LHBH thrown a little soft and pray it doesn't hit a tree. If it doesn't hit one and you get a nice fade you'll be set right up for a birdie shot. Hole 8 has an approximately defined 200ft fairway then probably another 100 feet of plinko trees everywhere guarding the basket for an approach which can get a little frustrating for any one who doesn't get a lucky lay. In my opinion hole 8 is worse then 4. There is also a lot of wild raspberry bushes with some nasty thorns in the rough areas also which is a nice home for ticks to hang out in.
Other Thoughts: The town of Plattsburgh owns this course and the local clubs seems to be very active using it and according to their facebook page they seem to have management days where they clean and upgrade the course on occasion. It is also rumored they might be adding another 9 holes to make an "east" loop to play.
Overall a good fun course to play just remember some bug spray if your worried about ticks. As the course changes and I get better I will update this review accordingly.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Timing is Key

5+    8/9/2016   8/17/2016
Review By: ILUVSMGS18
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 3 tees of varying difficulty:
Red- Beginner
White- Intermediate
Blue- Advanced

Unique course elements:
The multiple tree craziness on Blue 7
Totem Guy on 8, which I have a set of chains from
The Elevated basket on 16 makes for good Turbo Putting

White and Blue tees have concrete teepads.
Red tees have natural tees with a rubber mat somewhere close by usually if its a wet tee.

A decent blend of tight technical shots (3,4,8,9,12) with some more open holes (1,2,10,11,17,18) the remaining holes are either tight off the tee (6,7,13,15,16) or OH shots/hyzers to tight greens (5,14).

The holes are a fairly good blend of RHBH/RHFH with a ratio of approximately 2:1 depending on the tees and personal ability.

The course is usually clean unless some inconsiderate fools (which does happen) just leave their trash wherever even thought the closest garbage is no more than 3 holes away.

Always has scorecards/sign-in sheet which is there so they know how many people play the course.

Ample parking unless it is a Wednesday night due to fun runs on the course and surrounding area during the summer.

The course has a practice basket which has wooden blocks every 5 feet from 10-30. The ball fields provide a nice play to warm up your arm if you throw less than 500'.
Cons: The red tees are pitch and putt on the front 9 with multiple holes under 100'. The reds on the back 9 are longer but red eleven is only 320'.

Some holes are a joke or just have an unnecessary item to them such as 14 blue or 2 and 16 red or 9 white.

The signs for distance on 11 have unfortunately removed by a third party and the town is trying to come up with a solution to the issue.

Holes 17 and 18 do play along the road, however it is a less traveled road and playing the skip off the road is legal.

BEWARE OF THE DISC-MARKING POWERLINES ON 17 AND 18.
Other Thoughts: Overall its a well maintained course.

Hole 12 has been cleaned up so it is now less of a joke.

This course teaches you that you need to be able to get discs to go left, straight, and right.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Well Groomed City Park Course With Some Unique Features!

1    8/3/2015   8/4/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1006  Reviewed: 956  Exp: 38.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cadyville Rec Park is a largish multi-use park which seems to be divided into two parts. The recreational area with the ball fields, etc. and then the more wilderness area where the disc golf course is located. You can tell from the start that this is a labor of love with the local disc golf group as everything shows the amount of work they've poured into this course.

At the start there is a kiosk with a course map and other pertinent information, a practice basket and a drop down folder/desk thing asking you to sign in every time you play the course. Are they concerned you might get lost and need a rescue party sent out? I felt like I was starting out hiking the Appalachian Trail or something. There's also a warning sign about ticks and Lyme disease. Now I have a niece who just got very ill from Lyme disease and between the ticks warning sign and having to sign in, I was a little concerned. There's also a practice basket.

The course now features three marked tees for each hole: The Blues (longest), the Whites (rec) and the Reds (beginner type distances). The blues and the whites have concrete pads while the shorter reds are currently just natural. There are fairly basic metal signs on the blue and white tees and laminated paper ones at the red tees. There are small brooms at each concrete pads and two bag hooks on each pole. Lots of next tee signs throughout the course help you navigate easily including some next tee arrows hanging from baskets. The baskets are Discatchers with the yellow ring and the always helpful numbers on them.

I played from the whites. I'd say the layout is a fairly challenging recreational level from the white tees. Without actually playing the blues, they looked to be kind of intermediate level.

The course did have have a certain level of "uniqueness" to it. On # 8, there is a crazy totem pole looking thing right in the middle of the fairway with chains hanging off the top. # 11 has the driving distances marked off every 100 feet but like someone has previously mentioned, it's a little irrevelant as it's slightly uphill. # 16 has an 8 foot elevated basket with a well built wooden platform to retrieve your disc. I thought this was pretty cool. Lot's of courses have elevated baskets but I've never seen such a nice retrieval setup.

I intially thought # 4 was maybe a little unfair but as I really studied it more carefully, I spotted a route and then I almost skipped one in. I also really enjoyed # 9's downhill hyser throw.
Cons: I'm a little concerned about #'s. 17 and 18 playing alongside the street. I don't know how busy that street is but I can see a few discs being thrown into traffic. I hope players use good judgement on those two holes.

The course is a little on the quirky side but I liked that. I'm not sure about that weird pole on # 8 but, oh well?
Other Thoughts: This course has way too many positives to dwell on a couple of nitpicking negatives. I wish I could have taken the time to play from the longer blues and the beginner reds, for that matter. This is a course that I would love to claim as my home course. My hat's off to the local disc community here in Caddyshack, Oh sorry Cadyville!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wonky course; challenging & fun

2-4    8/2/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: rclements
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some very challenging/interesting holes (3 blue, 5 blue, 7 blue, 14 blue, 16 blue come to mind).
- Really well maintained. It's clear the locals have pride in this course
- Very clear fairways
- Concrete tee pads on whites/blues, DisCatchers and a practice basket by the parking lot
- Great balance of open & tight wooded holes, lefty/righty holes
- Adequate parking
Cons: - A few very poor/unrealistic designs (1 blue, 4 blue, 10 blue, 12 blue)
- Short tee pads
- #11 (par 4) has a driving range feel with the distance markers, but it's a bit irrelevant since it plays uphill
- Signage is nice, but often inaccurate
Other Thoughts: Only played the blue tees! Had a lot of fun!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Continued Improvements!

5+    5/7/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: LSC player
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played the course numerous times and it seems like every time I come back, another improvement has been made. I noticed that this year most tees have a small brush broom to clear off the concrete tee pads. Bonus!

The signage is very good. Even without a map, you can easily navigate the course. Each basket has a "next hole" label. Only minor searching necessary for the "other tee" if you are playing shorts/longs

Free to play and plenty of parking available. Located in a family park.

It's a multi-use area but I've yet to encounter a "sour apple". People might just be out for a walk on the course for some exercise but they highly respect the disc golfer on the tee.

Good use of the land with a variety of shots required to get a good score. It's not overly challenging so a good disc golfer could score well here. Variety from tightly wooded to grip and rip. Most of the tightly wooded holes have a true lane that you need to hit.

Score cards with map available.
Cons: A hole or two is a bit under maintained compared to the rest of the course. i.e. low hanging branches that should be removed to make the hole more realistic. One of the short holes... the number of which alludes me at the moment... but it takes a wicked dog leg right. That's great but the point at which it is done makes it more of a luck shot than anything. It's much too close to use a disc that wants to break hard to the right. Granted, this is probably the only poorly thought out hole.

Back 9... Hole... 16 maybe? It's WAYYYYY up on a pole. You have to climb stairs to get your disc back. Still not sure how I feel about it. I like that it's different but it just seems more wonky than "unique challenge".

Plays along side a moderately busy road for holes 17 and 18 which no obstruction between you and it. An errant throw will likely end up in the road or hitting a car.

Hole 18 plays relatively close to the multi-use area. It's removed from the bball court but I do worry a bit for the little ones running around. I realize this is getting a bit nit picky.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course that you will enjoy playing. Given the general lack of courses here in the North Country, this is one you will likely come back to frequently. While not a true "destination course", I'd be willing to drive to this course if I lived anywhere in the North Country. I have a friend visiting from the Greater Binghamton, NY area and this is a course I intend on playing with him.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad at all

2-4    10/22/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Whytie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 1/26/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very nice concrete tee pads.
- Some challenging baskets.
- Easy access
- Great signs.
Cons: - You need to throw perfectly straight for most holes.
- Hole 12 is a bad joke. A right turn down a walking path.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyed the course...

1    8/21/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: gbbiv
Played: 194  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course continues to be updated... very well maintained. New tee signs everywhere... there was still snow on the ground but I think there are concrete tees everywhere now as well. Blue and White tees for each hole. Pretty easy to navigate with great signage. Good mix of tight technical skill shot sort of holes and others that are more open let 'er rip kind of holes. There are also new benches at a few of the holes and bag hangers on the tee signs.
Cons: Some of the newer blue holes seem like they are still being broken in... some are very tight... not sure it's really a con... but I'm sure some will find it frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to the tees being free of snow!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ville, Not Shack

1    10/22/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 448  Reviewed: 360  Exp: 8.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice tee locations, with benches, concrete pads, and signs, with posts that have two bag-hooks.

Between the online map, weaving-but-natural flow, and the many "next tee" signs, the course was easy to navigate.

Well-maintained park. Attractive mixture of open space and pockets of small/mid-sized trees.
Cons:
Teepads a bit small, maybe 4' x 7'.

Holes 4, 8, 9, and 12 have their pinball moments - especially #4, which is mercifully only 125'.

Griplocking and/or a headwind might bring a road into play, which parallels the right-side of fairways 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts:
The course is set upon very gently-sloping, mostly-open land. Small groupings of various types of trees, including white pines, birches, and maples, are scattered about, and used to define generous (for the most part) throwing lanes.

Being able to throw straight 200'-300', followed by a left-fade of various sharpness, will serve you well, as over 1/3rd of the holes fit that description. About 1/4th of the holes present a tree/bush at about the midpoint of a direct flightpath, forcing the player to decide how to avoid the obstacle while also reaching the basket. A few right-turners, and a few tight holes, round out the fare offered by this course.

About 2/3rds of the holes are < 300' long, but there are a few in the mid-300's, and there is also hole-11: 563', practically wide-open, gently up-slope in its entirety, with five markers placed every 100', which provides you with a rough idea of how far you can throw.

The course should appeal to a broad audience. The overall shorter distances make it playable by any level, and there enough challenges to keep upper players interested.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/4/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: hosler427
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice tee pads, signage, and bag holders
- very easy to navigate
- fairways are well manicured and taken care of
- added alternate tee pads offer some variety on the course
Cons: - course design. Holes 17 and 18 are the same exact design with 18 being slightly longer. Both holes are right by the road. Holes, 4, 8, 9, and 12 aren't very well thought out or designed.
- pole added as an obstacle on hole 8 is cheesy. It makes the course feel like a bad mini-golf course...TERRIBLE
- heavy underbrush on many holes makes tracking your shots a must.
Other Thoughts: I initially reviewed this course after it was expanded to 18 holes. I hadn't been playing disc golf for a long time so now that I am more experienced, I thought I would update my thoughts. I have had the pleasure of playing many courses in the northeast (including some world class courses in PA) over the last two years. That has allowed me to view one of my home courses more objectively. It is a nice course with some positives but there are some big drawbacks as well.

I think when the town recently purchased the land, they had an opportunity to fix some of these issues and instead compounded some of them. Overall it is a fun course to play but it is average.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/18/2010   12/18/2010
Review By: Morgan Wright
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 45.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great new baskets, Nice concrete tee pads, good distance for true par 3 holes (not pitch and putt).
Cons: Hole 8 and 9 too close to the road, an errant disc can hit a car and the driver might not have any idea what the thud was, have heart attack, die.
Other Thoughts: The piece of land the park and course are on looks like recently reclaimed farmland, in that it's covered with trees but none of the trees looks like they are over 15 years old. Just big saplings everywhere. When the trees mature this course will change. Only had 9 holes when I played it, but I rated it as if it were all 18 there.

It's 2013 now and I'm upgrading it from 3.5 to 4 because it was only a 9 hole course when I played it 2 years ago, now 18 holes. It's a 4 all day long.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.