Plattsburgh, NY 
Cadyville DGC Share
Uploaded By: Strauss Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / --   3 / 163ft.   3 / 210ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Wonky course; challenging & fun

2-4    8/2/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: rclements
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: - Some very challenging/interesting holes (3 blue, 5 blue, 7 blue, 14 blue, 16 blue come to mind).
- Really well maintained. It's clear the locals have pride in this course
- Very clear fairways
- Concrete tee pads on whites/blues, DisCatchers and a practice basket by the parking lot
- Great balance of open & tight wooded holes, lefty/righty holes
- Adequate parking
Cons: - A few very poor/unrealistic designs (1 blue, 4 blue, 10 blue, 12 blue)
- Short tee pads
- #11 (par 4) has a driving range feel with the distance markers, but it's a bit irrelevant since it plays uphill
- Signage is nice, but often inaccurate
Other Thoughts: Only played the blue tees! Had a lot of fun!

Continued Improvements!

5+    5/7/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: LSC player
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played the course numerous times and it seems like every time I come back, another improvement has been made. I noticed that this year most tees have a small brush broom to clear off the concrete tee pads. Bonus!

The signage is very good. Even without a map, you can easily navigate the course. Each basket has a "next hole" label. Only minor searching necessary for the "other tee" if you are playing shorts/longs

Free to play and plenty of parking available. Located in a family park.

It's a multi-use area but I've yet to encounter a "sour apple". People might just be out for a walk on the course for some exercise but they highly respect the disc golfer on the tee.

Good use of the land with a variety of shots required to get a good score. It's not overly challenging so a good disc golfer could score well here. Variety from tightly wooded to grip and rip. Most of the tightly wooded holes have a true lane that you need to hit.

Score cards with map available.
Cons: A hole or two is a bit under maintained compared to the rest of the course. i.e. low hanging branches that should be removed to make the hole more realistic. One of the short holes... the number of which alludes me at the moment... but it takes a wicked dog leg right. That's great but the point at which it is done makes it more of a luck shot than anything. It's much too close to use a disc that wants to break hard to the right. Granted, this is probably the only poorly thought out hole.

Back 9... Hole... 16 maybe? It's WAYYYYY up on a pole. You have to climb stairs to get your disc back. Still not sure how I feel about it. I like that it's different but it just seems more wonky than "unique challenge".

Plays along side a moderately busy road for holes 17 and 18 which no obstruction between you and it. An errant throw will likely end up in the road or hitting a car.

Hole 18 plays relatively close to the multi-use area. It's removed from the bball court but I do worry a bit for the little ones running around. I realize this is getting a bit nit picky.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course that you will enjoy playing. Given the general lack of courses here in the North Country, this is one you will likely come back to frequently. While not a true "destination course", I'd be willing to drive to this course if I lived anywhere in the North Country. I have a friend visiting from the Greater Binghamton, NY area and this is a course I intend on playing with him.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not bad at all

2-4    10/22/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Whytie
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 1/26/2014
Pros: - Very nice concrete tee pads.
- Some challenging baskets.
- Easy access
- Great signs.
Cons: - You need to throw perfectly straight for most holes.
- Hole 12 is a bad joke. A right turn down a walking path.

Enjoyed the course...

1    8/21/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: gbbiv
Played: 81  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course continues to be updated... very well maintained. New tee signs everywhere... there was still snow on the ground but I think there are concrete tees everywhere now as well. Blue and White tees for each hole. Pretty easy to navigate with great signage. Good mix of tight technical skill shot sort of holes and others that are more open let 'er rip kind of holes. There are also new benches at a few of the holes and bag hangers on the tee signs.
Cons: Some of the newer blue holes seem like they are still being broken in... some are very tight... not sure it's really a con... but I'm sure some will find it frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to the tees being free of snow!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ville, Not Shack

1    10/22/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice tee locations, with benches, concrete pads, and signs, with posts that have two bag-hooks.

Between the online map, weaving-but-natural flow, and the many "next tee" signs, the course was easy to navigate.

Well-maintained park. Attractive mixture of open space and pockets of small/mid-sized trees.
Cons:
Teepads a bit small, maybe 4' x 7'.

Holes 4, 8, 9, and 12 have their pinball moments - especially #4, which is mercifully only 125'.

Griplocking and/or a headwind might bring a road into play, which parallels the right-side of fairways 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts:
The course is set upon very gently-sloping, mostly-open land. Small groupings of various types of trees, including white pines, birches, and maples, are scattered about, and used to define generous (for the most part) throwing lanes.

Being able to throw straight 200'-300', followed by a left-fade of various sharpness, will serve you well, as over 1/3rd of the holes fit that description. About 1/4th of the holes present a tree/bush at about the midpoint of a direct flightpath, forcing the player to decide how to avoid the obstacle while also reaching the basket. A few right-turners, and a few tight holes, round out the fare offered by this course.

About 2/3rds of the holes are < 300' long, but there are a few in the mid-300's, and there is also hole-11: 563', practically wide-open, gently up-slope in its entirety, with five markers placed every 100', which provides you with a rough idea of how far you can throw.

The course should appeal to a broad audience. The overall shorter distances make it playable by any level, and there enough challenges to keep upper players interested.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/4/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: hosler427
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice tee pads, signage, and bag holders
- very easy to navigate
- fairways are well manicured and taken care of
- added alternate tee pads offer some variety on the course
Cons: - course design. Holes 17 and 18 are the same exact design with 18 being slightly longer. Both holes are right by the road. Holes, 4, 8, 9, and 12 aren't very well thought out or designed.
- pole added as an obstacle on hole 8 is cheesy. It makes the course feel like a bad mini-golf course...TERRIBLE
- heavy underbrush on many holes makes tracking your shots a must.
Other Thoughts: I initially reviewed this course after it was expanded to 18 holes. I hadn't been playing disc golf for a long time so now that I am more experienced, I thought I would update my thoughts. I have had the pleasure of playing many courses in the northeast (including some world class courses in PA) over the last two years. That has allowed me to view one of my home courses more objectively. It is a nice course with some positives but there are some big drawbacks as well.

I think when the town recently purchased the land, they had an opportunity to fix some of these issues and instead compounded some of them. Overall it is a fun course to play but it is average.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    12/18/2010   12/18/2010
Review By: Morgan Wright
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 43.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great new baskets, Nice concrete tee pads, good distance for true par 3 holes (not pitch and putt).
Cons: Hole 8 and 9 too close to the road, an errant disc can hit a car and the driver might not have any idea what the thud was, have heart attack, die.
Other Thoughts: The piece of land the park and course are on looks like recently reclaimed farmland, in that it's covered with trees but none of the trees looks like they are over 15 years old. Just big saplings everywhere. When the trees mature this course will change. Only had 9 holes when I played it, but I rated it as if it were all 18 there.

It's 2013 now and I'm upgrading it from 3.5 to 4 because it was only a 9 hole course when I played it 2 years ago, now 18 holes. It's a 4 all day long.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Cadyville Rocks

5+    7/3/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: rob n alyssa
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Don't be deceived by the pictures, this course is a place to play. A Nice environment with forgiving hazards (mostly foliage). Honestly this is my favorite so far in the area. Well groomed and cared for. Family friendly (including jogging strollers!)

Accessible for beginners, nice challenge for intermediate/advanced. Free to Play!

Can't wait for the next nine holes!

Cons: Like the others said - still a bit short with the 9 holes, nothing else to bug out about though.
Other Thoughts: compared to other courses in the area, this one is tops. Granted it is quite flat, the lay out and diversity in fairway design makes for a great challenge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Spotless

2-4    6/15/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
- Great signs with distances
-Well maintained. Beautifully mowed and manicured fairways and greens.
-Nice park for other family. Swingsets, basketball courts, etc.
-New DiscCatcher Baskets
-Easy navigation. No ned for a map. Great course flow.
-Almost no chance of losing a disc
-Great place to learn the game or bring a new player.
Cons: -Only 9 holes. But the next 9 are funded and are on the way.
-Fairly short overall. No big bombs if you have a big arm.
-No real difficult or unique holes.
-No elevation. Only flat landscape available.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice, clean course. It is nothing that will challenge a really good player, but it is great at what it is supposed to be. A really nice course for beginners and people that are still learning the game. There are 4 holes over 345', but they are mostly straight with little obstacles. If you are an advanced player you can probably just play putter rounds here.

I'm not sure what the plans for the back nine are, but if they are able to use the available woods and make some challenging holes, this course could be a great place for people in Upstate NY.

There aren't many courses in this part of NY so if you are nearby make a point to go play Cadyville.

Sept 2012 Update - Cadyville now has 18 holes. All holes have nice baskets and pads as well as signs. New layout adds a couple short, very wooded holes that will challenge anyone to sneak a disc through the gap. There is also some additional longer holes on the back 9. #11 is now 563' of mostly open field to the basket with 100 markers along the way. #10 is a cool little 295' blind shot with a basket tucked into some mature pines.

This is still a worthy course, but the design seems to straddle between beginner friendly, and more challenging. Holes 8 and 9 are short technical holes, but seem to lack a great line to the basket. And some of the longer holes have some punishing rough if you can't stay on the fairway. Given the dearth of courses in Northern NY it is nice to have this one, and worth playing if you are up there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course!

5+    4/21/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: Kalob Drollette
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: This is my first, and only course, and as a beginner, the course is very easy to learn on, yet challenging enough to keep up with improvements in my game. I have had a few chances to talk to and play with the course designer Aric Strauss, and what a blessing that has been! Strauss knows just about all there is to know about the less-than-popular sport, and is a great teacher for beginners.
Cons: The course is not yet complete, having only 9 holes right now, but with the back 9 on its way, there is truly no cons to this course, always a great time!

4 of 27 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.