Wellston, MI 
Udell Rollways Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl   (Taken 6/2010)
Next tee sign



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
a tale of two courses, or I expected the blair witch at any moment

1    9/25/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through an old abandoned campground along the manistee river. there are hiking trails and fishing areas here where you may encounter some non-dgers.

Teepads-- nice and in good repair. the longs are all long teepads, the shorts are 1'x2' concrete blocks set in the ground. More of a marker than a usable teepad. I would actually have preferred these to be marked dirt pads.

Signage- good on 16 of 18. Missing on 17 and 18. distances may have been a bit exaggerated on the short side. I think some holes were much longer than they were advertised. I know these signs were done by houck designs but they are seriously weird in some places. in some places the teepads are on the bottom of the sign, on some, they are on the top. Not sure why this is how it is.

Routing and nav-- easy enough. plenty of next tee signs and other ways to help you through the course. the walk from 9 to 10 is a bit long and crosses many fairways.

left and right fairway on two holes-- this is kind of cool and adds to the risk v reward factor.

Challenge--the challenge is the trees for sure. there are so many trees here it's almost rediculous. that said, some of the short tees are jokingly short and would provide a good starting point for new discers or youngin's...

Variety--yeah, there is plenty of variety here, but it seems like there are a few too many right running holes to be balanced.
Cons:
Deadfall--the deadfall here is insane. I think this course is too far out of town to have too many locals to help keep the course clear.

Lines-- the lines here are insanely tight to impossible to hit. There is a hole on the back 9 that you basically thrown into a stand of trees and there is no way to cleanly get through it...

Complete difference between front and back 9's-- the front 9 is nice and short and is easy to complete in about 30 minutes. the back 9 is way longer and way more challenging taking about an hour or more to play.
Other Thoughts:
This course is an interesting mix in an uber remote location. Nice overall balance between long and short, and dual tees for the whole family.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 OK Course, Spectacular Scenary

1    11/5/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: CRDV-3400
Played: 68  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 37.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set among mature hardwoods in what used to be a rustic camground. Design makes good use of the available terrain. Front nine is short and demands accuracy, some holes have no obvious "fairway" but there was a line (usually a lefty and a righty line) available - they just demand accuracy to negotiate successfully. The back nine plays longer, while still placing a premium on accuracy. Well balanced between lefty and righty holes. The long tees have adequate pads, the shorts too small for anything but stand and deliver. Very nice signs from Houck Designs as well as a secondary sign at the tee describing somthing about the local flora and fauna. Did not see anyone else in the park while we were there. New outhouse near the second tee. Course map and a practice area near the first tee.
Cons: Very remote, Make sure you have snacks and supplies before you arrive.
Other Thoughts: I played this course after all the leaves were down, some of the lines might not be available with full foliage.

A great place to hang out for a day, covered pavilion, BBQ grills, a spectacular view of the Manistee River valley at Horshoe Bend. Stairs to the river for swimming or fishing. Close to other recreation opportunities.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Udell Rollways

2-4    7/31/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: discervance
Played: 42  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is posted with hole maps and pars easily readable on every hole. Yes it is a tough course with LOTS of trees. Trees make a better player. no reason to cut any down. hole 16 was a tougher long hole. every hole is narrow and some what tough. people who live in the area and play alot at this course most likely will be great at accuracy. i will be there to play again soon, along with other courses in northern michigan!! Amazingly there was a road sign to remind us where we was going!!
Cons: so far from home!! :(
other than that no CONS
Other Thoughts: i really enjoyed the course map in full color as i parked my SUV. also there are alternate tees, a fire area. covered pavilion, and 200 stairs down to the river for fishing and or swimming. a great place to relax all in all. not a sould around simply a beautiful course in Manistee by the US Forestries. i am pleased

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Trees

1    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: shaggz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice tee pads, amazing signage with tagged trees to direct to next whole and path for discs.
Cons: Soooooooo many trees really needs some more trees cut down to open up the holes. Seriously need like remote control of your disc to make some of the shots as it stands on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Very nice overall course but a little more work on the holes and disc flight path area and this course could be extremely nice.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad...

1    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: badmidget
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Great signs! nice detailed course map and hole maps. Trees are marked along the fairway all the way down to the basket. Nice long tee pads. Spectacular scenery.. Like DOUBLE RAINBOW scenery
Cons: SCORE:
Disc Golfers:2
Trees: 100
Other Thoughts: This course was great in almost all ways. If they would just clear out the lanes a little more, it would be at least a 4 out of 5.

 

1    0/0/0000   6/17/2010
Review By: Nick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome scenery. Great place to just hang out for the day and have a cookout or maybe a family get together. Very nice large tee pads. A few chances for Aces on the front 9 especially from the short tee pads.
Cons: This course is fairly new so the fairways are still getting broke in. Very tight fairways. Long walks between some holes. Be sure to grab a map. Long drive to the course from just about anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Not a horrible course but not something i would drive out of my way for. Given some time and a few upgrades this course could have some potential.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/30/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: bloodypotato
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signs, I think it said they were Houck (sp?), and the course was easy to navigate
Course maps and general discing information at the parking lot
Back 9 had long holes that required good (though sometimes godlike) control of your throws
Nice pavilion/picnic area
The course is in a secluded setting, with little to no traffic going through (we saw one other car on the Sunday before Memorial Day)
Manistee River is down a flight of stairs, nice for taking a dip after a round, and it presents a nice view from up on the course
Cons: Signs are placed very oddly, most often at the back of the tees and away from the direction that you approach the hole
Front 9 didn't really seem to be made with any paths in mind, it seems like the just plopped a basket in the middle of some trees and said "Have fun getting this without some tree bounces!"
Fairways were either nonexistent (front 9) or filled with ferns that take your disc down in no time
Lots of bugs, especially on the back 9
Other Thoughts: Playing the front 9 made me think that I might need some anger management classes or something. This course caused me to drop a more f-bombs than in the last five years of my life. I'm pretty sure there wasn't one out of the first nine holes that I didn't hit a tree on. My group would walk up to the tees, and the next few minutes were spent trying to find the basket, as well as finding whatever path through the trees we could; every few holes we would find one where we could play around the trees, but that's not really a challenge, so we were forced to play through them for the most part.

I think that if this course receives some maintenance then I might think about visiting it again. At this point, however, the course doesn't seem like it is groomed, with fairways being as bad as the rough on some other courses. Me and my group aren't planning to travel up there again, and there are much better courses in the area for any of the disc golf inclined people out there to enjoy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fairways? What fairways???

2-4    10/28/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A remote setting among a beautiful hardwood forest with stunning views of the Manistee River lends this course some spark that's usually missing in most flat, wooded courses.

The main tee pads are large and flat but the alternate tee pads are very, very small. The main pads are marked with a 4x4 post with very nice, though oddly placed signage showing the basic layout, basket placement, and the location of the short tee. There are now plenty of next tee signs and both fairways and paths are marked with blue diamonds with hole numbers sharpied on.

There's a lot of variety in hole layout and distance in this course, easily making up for the lack of any elevation changes. Be prepared for long curving rights and lefts, a couple of straightish holes, and several sharp doglegs. On many holes there are two or more obvious routes to the basket. Accuracy and a huge dose of luck are VERY highly rewarded on this course!

There are now 2 course kiosks, one of which has a stunning map of the course layout and a box with scorecards, maps, and pencils, and the other contains the Innova throw techniques plaques. There's now also a practice basket and the new signage is just beautiful. Each long tee, besides having a tee sign, now also has a sign highlighting facts on location flora and fauna.
Cons: This course is so new the paths between holes are not naturally obvious or worn-in yet. In addition, there's still lots of small brush and rough terrain both in the fairways and on the paths. Locating pin position and navigation was difficult in a couple of places and the course layout is very awkward in a couple of spots, so make sure you take a map with you.

The short tee pads are too small anything more than a single step....forget doing a cross step here!

This is another course where the abundance of trees and the lack of any clear fairways on most holes got old after a while, although the distances on the back nine will keep you coming back for more (particularly the evil left dogleg on #11, the diabolically straight and long #16, and the long, curvy #18). Lots of tree clearing would be necessary to make this a truly fun, rather than just frustrating, course.
Other Thoughts: Just off the parking lot is a very nice picnic area and a long stairway down to the Manistee River. New bathrooms have been installed just off the parking lot, right at the short tee for #1. This is a pretty remote setting, so bring refreshments and snacks.

Very hilly but stunning mountain biking and hiking is available within a few miles at both the Big M bike/hike trail and the North Country Trail.

The local gas station about 5 miles east of the DG course on M-55 (Whitetail Party Mart) has course information and a small collection of high-end discs for sale. There's also several lodges and inns between the course and Wellston.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.