Ammon, ID 
McCowin Park Share
Uploaded By: Valktastic Hole #9 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Calm, short 9-hole course for the family

5+    7/14/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: Alan01
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Covers a well-kept city park. Cement tee boxes and good signage add to the experience.
No blind tees.
Short enough that family members of all ages can play and be competitive.
A great destination for an early evening outing, and is close to a Sonic drive-in for drinks :-)
Cons: This course is just too tame for serious disc golfers.
There are no holes where you can really let it rip, and most holes don't really require that much in the way of technical skill.
This is more like an executive course...all short par 3s.
Other Thoughts: This is the course we hit when playing disc golf is just one of the things we want to do while we are out. If we want a disc golf outing, however, we usually head for 18 holes at Freeman Park, Idaho Falls.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

2-4    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 36  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: 1. Concrete Tees
2. Signs with distance and par
3. Good layout
4. Variety of holes
5. Located within a very nice park
Cons: 1. Lots of people walking around the park.
2. Holes are all very short
Other Thoughts: This was a really good short 9 hole course. Great for a quick round on the way home. I had fun not having to throw my arm out like the 18 hole course in Idaho Falls. Course wraps around itself and ends back at hole 1. Cool fencing obstacles have been installed. Overall a really fun course and would suggest to others.

Great short course

1    11/3/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: Salki12
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: I give this course a 3 because out of all the short 9 hole courses I have played, this course is very well put together and informative. Tee signs with accurate distance markers make it much easier to learn how your discs fly and what distance you can get out of each one. I am horrible at measuring distance and I have wanted to see how far I can throw certain midranges and this is a perfect place to learn.
- Discatcher Baskets
- Concrete Pads
- Fun Obstacles
- Sign Posts
Cons: If you play here you will already know that it is a short course, so if it's expected, then it really isn't a "Con." There might be some confusion after hole 2 as to where the tee off is for hole 3, but it's just a matter of looking down the fence line for the concrete pad.
Other Thoughts: *Great first course*
Tee Signs with distances are great
Near all the good shops of IF, so stop by if you are in the area.

 

1    7/12/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
Pros: Good baskets, concrete tees, posts with distances, easy to navigate. Beginner friendly. Well maintained park, with other things to do (ie swimming pool).
Cons: Not very challenging. Short distances, but creative use of space for sure.
Other Thoughts: A moderate or better player would get a birdie on most holes. Might be best for kids and beginners, but not really one for the pro tour.

 good beginner

5+    6/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: Topher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -flat concrete tees
-DISCatcher baskets
-good for beginners
Cons: -super short holes
-not very technical
Other Thoughts: I just talked to the guy who is in charge of the course and said they have several more obstacles to put into place to make the course more technical. Overall I think it was a good use of the small area and lack of obstacles, it is perfect for beginners and kids.

I also found that it is pretty technical and challenging if you go for an ace on every hole, or even just a birdie on a couple. My favorite is hole 4, there is a 3-4 foot gap about 50-70 feet away underneath some lilacs that you can shoot for. Great way to practice tight shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Family Friendly Course

5+    10/19/2009   10/31/2009
Review By: Valktastic
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Good for sharpening your putt and aproach shots. Family friendly course that would be great for introducing new poeple to the sport. Most holes are under 200 ft., but the use of the obstacles makes you use different throws.
Cons: Very short course. Average hole distance is 196 feet. Some holes have you throwing close to other tee boxes and people. Sometimes there is a lot of traffic near the 9th hole.
Other Thoughts: If you want to get your first Ace just keep playing this course . . . It takes about 20 to 30 minutes to play a round.

If you have children this course is great for bringing them along. They can play the course with you or hang out on the playground that you can see almost the whole time you are playing. There is also a nice gazebo between the 1st and 9th hole that is great for hanging out or a picnic.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.