St. Paul, MN 
Kaposia Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Super fun, could use updating.

1    9/21/2015   12/21/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 265  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Kaposia is an older 26 hole course in the southeast portion of the Twin Cities, and relatively close to the aiport.

Concrete tee pads on each hole. They're plenty grippy and wide, but could stand to be a touch longer. Some of the tees are showing their age, though. One tee per hole.

Decent DGA baskets, all mounted well and caught well. Some holes have multiple pin positions. A good job is done here with pin placements. Plenty of chances to roll away or get caught up in some shule close to a pin. Well done.

A lot of nice, rolling elevation. Combine this with lots of trees, and you get tons of really fun, technical shots. This is definitely my favorite type of golf.

Tee signs are adequete. More on this below.

Great distance variation here, especially with the undulating fairways. I never got a repetitive feel here. There's holes around 200', and some close to 500'. Well designed, especially for this being an older course. You'll use most of the discs in your bag at some point on this course.
Cons: Navigation is wonky, to be polite about it. I played with somebody that used to live on this course, and we still had issues with navigation, as holes are added/taken out regularly. You can VERY easily skip holes and not even realize it.

This place gets busy. We were there very early morning, and by the time we were done, the parking lot was pretty full.

P2P. $5/day. It's a nice course, but being P2P, it feels like it should be nicer. Compared to places like Bryant Lake, BRP, and VQ in the area, it's kind of dumpy.

As wooded as this course is, you never get that "secluded" feel. Several holes have a busy highway next to them, and there's a road that goes down the middle of the course. It's not bad, but it's noticeable.

It would be cool to see dual tee pads, just for replay factor.
Other Thoughts: Even with the negatives above, this place is a blast to play, especially if you're throwing 'em straight that day. Lots of technical, a few chances to bomb, lots of fun!

I'd love to give Kaposia a 3.75, but with some of the cons listed above, it just doesn't feel like 4.0 territory to me. Definitely worth the spin if you're in the area, even with all the other great choices around.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/15/2013   12/29/2013
Review By: joh3
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Very challenging. Mix of open and wooded holes with out of bounds on lots of holes.
Cons: Only one tee per hole. The last few holes actually take away from the courses appeal because they are open and uninspired.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Has everything you need in the summer

5+    9/8/2012   5/29/2013
Review By: rarintal
Played: 82  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2014
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: during the summer the course is amazing, it has every type of shot you could imagine. and it might be minneapolis' oldest course. very well groomed, shop on site (during summer)
Cons: pay to play (summer), during winter 9 holes are closed off because of hazard of traveling up and down ravines. in snow or slick mud
Other Thoughts: great course

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging but needs upkeep

1    9/1/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: Da big bark
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Kaposia Park is a challenging course requiring a wide variety of shots and skills. The tee pads are in good shape and most tees have benches nearby. The length and challenges of the course make for an enjoyable experience. There is a short walk between holes, so you are not distracted by other players or passing traffic, except for the two holes that are near the road leading to the park.
Cons: The downside of the course is that the paths between the holes are not well marked. In addition, the course has experienced significant erosion in the paths between holes and in the fairways just past the tee off pads. In some cases the path is downright dangerous and needs to be repaired. The trees and shrubs are wildly overgrown which makes shotmaking that much harder and it makes it difficult to find discs that have gone off course.
Other Thoughts: For a course that is pay to play, I expect better maintenance of the course. The erosion and disrepair reduce the overall enjoyment of the course. Although the course offers a challenge to anyone's game, I won't go back because of the conditions.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good

1    7/6/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: itzbrian17
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots
Low traffic
Concrete tees and good baskets
benches and garbage cans
Cons: for a pay to play, its not good enough for me.
Bad signage, if i didnt have a course guide i would have gotten lost
Also lots of trees have been downed in the middle of fairways
Other Thoughts: Like I said before, i wont go to many more times because of the fact that it's pay to play and yet the course upkeep is bad, the course needs new baskets, signs, benches, and tees

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course

2-4    5/13/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is long, really long when they have the extra holes in. There are a good deal of trees to keep you honest and not just throwing it as hard as you can.
Cons: Some holes are not clearly marked where the next tee box is at. This can be challanging your first time playing.
Other Thoughts: If you are a beginner or having an off day, you may find yourself spending a lot of time in the trees.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 2nd Time - Updated

2-4    8/8/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: Erik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Challenging
-Some really great hole designs and distance shots
-Opportunity for multiple pin locations
-Variety of open and wooded
-Easy parking
-LOTS of Ace opportunities
Cons: -Busy
-Very hard to navigate between wooded holes if you have no played there before
-Erosion, poor upkeep, no signage
Other Thoughts: *EDIT* 88/14/09 - removed some commentary & updated for 2nd trip.

On recommendation of a fellow DGCourseReview guy I went back and played the 'extra' holes, and agree, they add to the enjoyment.

Knowing the course layout better helped quite a bit. Less time getting lost, more time planning shots :)

Overall I gave it a 3.5 - I thought some of the holes were really well designed with cool and challenging pin placement, but wasnt that impressed overall with the difficulty or layout, even with the additional pins.

Being that I live in the west metro, there are comparible or better courses in my area, but for east siders, Kaposia is a great local course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not for beginners

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has taken the spot as the most challenging and possibly one of my favorites. As lots have said, it takes all your throws, and tests how well you can use each one. There is short holes, long holes, open holes, narrow hallways, ravines, etc.
Cons: It's been reviewed upon a lot so far, but this course is not well marked. I'm still not sure if I played the entire course and am going to go with some people who have played it multiple times sometime soon. This course is NOT good for beginners. I can see it discouraging anybody just by all the tight throws you have to make. They will spend more time searching for discs than playing.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/27/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: ledH3ad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long and challenging course. Most holes are wooded, demanding precise shot making. Others are open and really let you let loose. There are an extended 5 holes way in the back that offer some real challenges- i hope they open them up permanently.
Cons: Maintenance on the course needs to be improved. Some efforts have been made on grooming some of the holes, but with the number of people playing this course, degradation is pretty high.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


7/3/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: sdwhatley
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long course with many interesting hole layouts. Some cool shots and unique challenges too.
Cons: Very few shorter technical holes, just about every shot requires a well placed drive in order to make par, birdies are hard to come by. Definately not a course for beginners or those who dislike primarily long drive holes. Also, many holes are poorly manicured so discs are easy to lose, and tall grass and weeds make even the most flourescent discs difficult to spot.
Other Thoughts: Decent course, but due to the length of time needed to play a round, and average length of each hole, not terrible fun or uplifting to play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.