St. Paul (South St. Paul), MN 
Kaposia Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Must play when you visit St. Paul.

1    7/1/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 57  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean well kept coarse.
Fun golf with several memorable holes.
All the things that have been said before.
Cons: $5 bucks a day is a touch high.
No honor box.
Summer camp can get in the way on 18.
Other Thoughts: This the 4th coarse played by my wife and I on our summer vacation. It was exactly what we expected from the reviews here. It is only 15 minutes from our Aunts house, I imagine we will play it again. Quality coarse.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

So Classic That Classic Didn't Recognize Itself

1    6/14/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course feels like a classic from the moment you arrive. Then it throws things for a loop before bringing you back to classic. By classic I mean that there are some park courses out there that just feel like classic disc golf. Like this is what disc golf was for a long time, in a nice park making good use of the land and allowing for people to have a good time chucking the disc around. But this particular course, while it does fit that mold, has moments where you just go what in the amazing world was that? The variety of holes is rather amazing in that regard as well. There is a good challenge to most holes, even some of the easier ones. The whole course feels well maintained. There are some amazing holes on this course that feel like some of the best holes you may have ever played. Every holes has some kind of challenge. There is a pro shop at the start of the course with snacks and what not. Tee signs do exist.
Cons: There are a couple of layout issues with this course which include long walks between a few holes and some serious problems on a few holes that may be threatened by erosion at some point in the near future. There are also holes that play right through high traffic areas like paths through the park. There are some holes that are clearly filler holes and some very short holes that didn't really need to be there. There will be a couple of places where one will want to have a map to know what is next and where to walk. The baskets feel old, and probably are old. You do now have to pay to play this course, and while it is not obvious yet at all times, the money appears to be going back into the course. The information on tee signs is not always helpful or accurate. It was noisy at times being right next to a free way. The crowds as this place can be big and slow.
Other Thoughts: The classic feel of this course, the strong local community around this course and the unique challenge that is this course help make this course an excellent rated course. There are plenty of issues with this course, but it appears as though this is being worked one slowly over time. Some of the longer holes or more wooded holes will not be fun at all for lower skill level players. I have heard rumors that this course can become a championship 18 hole course and with some of the holes as they are already it is close to it. I am curious to see the 18 hole layout. I wish I had heard more about the history of this course and all of the transitions that this course has been through.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

No Hole Numbers

5+    6/14/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: J Blaze
Played: 57  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2014
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: THIS REVIEW IS HELPFUL FOR PEOPLE NEW TO THE COURSE. I love this course and have played it at least 40 times. It offers everything a disc golfer would love, from long rolling hills to holes along a creek to tight squeezes through the woods... and is big enough that you can usually enjoy a round, somewhat uninterrupted. However, the last time I played there, we were often interrupted by disc golfers who had never been there before, and were looking for the next tee pad. It seems the mgmt at Kaposia is using the money to buy nice signs, but totally forgot to mark what hole is what, with the signs. I was frustrated with how nice the signs were, without having the most vital piece of information. Truth be told, I was more of a course tour guide that day, then a disc golfer. However, this course still easily deserves a 4.0 rating and is a can't miss course if in the St. Paul area.
Cons: -tee signs with no hole number
-$5 to play, with no beverages or food for sale!?
-unfriendly at the spot to pay
Other Thoughts: Kaposia is legendary and worth the play, no matter what the skill level. They just need some tee signs that are interchangeable!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Please, Print a map

1    5/20/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very diverse holes, a great mix of everything a player could want to experience.
- large course, not a lot of interference from other golfers.
- trashcans and benches at most holes.
- some of the most interesting holes I have played thus far
-concrete tees for both pro and am
Cons: - tee signs? forget about it.
- baskets are very hard to see, with little marking and most of the time you have to walk a ways to even see where the pin is from the tee.
- dangerous walk ways, especially after a rain

Other Thoughts: I had heard a lot of great things about this course and I had a great, some what frustrating experience. There are no tee signs, no indicators for the next tee, and the baskets are virtually unpainted leaving them in their original hard to see metallic finish.

We spent more time trying to find the next tee then we did golfing, luckily I had the map on my phone but due to the change in basket locations we still had trouble navigating the course. I wont count this against the course although, I would suggest to try to play with someone who has previously navigated it or bring a map for sure.

Besides the navigation I have to say this is the most surprising course I Have played thus far. You could not ask for more variety in hole length, elevation, and hazard. There are many heavily wooded holes and a few that shoot around smaller ponds/marsh. Many of the holes are quite long and huge uphill shots, bring something to drink, it had me pretty tuckered out by the end.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Solid experience

1    5/4/2013   5/6/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kaposia seems to be a stand-alone course that's a mix of park setting on grassy rolling hills and woodland that sets partially on the edge of steep canyon cut. The first and last holes are the most civilized, on those grassy rolling hills and trees. Things are tougher when you pop into the woods. You will be punished (fairly) by bad shots, as there's some thick little trees lining those fairways. They were thick after the spring thaw - before the foliage had grown in! (This could be considered a con, but I have not played it in the summer).
The best feature here is the variety of shots offered, and over 26 holes will see if you have any weaknesses in your game. Has uphill, downhill, left, right and everything in between.
One memorable hole (#20) starts with a slight hyzer straight uphill in a narrow slot between trees. You must land in this slot to line up for a narrow opening that goes into a grassy field where the pin is hidden over a grassy hump in said field. A gnarly tough hole!
Cons: Signage is lacking. There were distances marked on posts, though. If you don't have a map, you will have a rough outing. If you DO have a map, you may still have some confusion like I did- Especially holes 20,21,22. Though 20 is a great hole, you have to practically walk the whole thing (uphill) to see where the objectives are. Hole 21 has moved the pin Past the hockey rink, and (in my opinion) is not a very good pin placement at all. Hole 22 has changed and the tee pad is pointing in the wrong direction and then you are shooting at a blind pin, which adds to the confusion. This three hole section deflated my sails a bit with way too much walking and steam coming from my ears.

There is a lot of walking between holes, but most of it is bearable. The walk between 25 & 26 is kinda ridiculous and though 26 is a good hole, I don't think it's worth it (the group I was with skipped it altogether). Finally hole 26 is a nice, short aceable shot, but right behind it is the parking lot - to go for the ace makes this is a safety hazard to people who can't see it coming. In short, I would just take out those last two holes altogether, as fun as they are....
Other Thoughts: I played this course immediately after they had played the MN Amateur Championships. Someone later informed me that I had played some long pins that are never in that position normally (one which was part of the area that frustrated me so much). So, all considered, I still would keep my rating the same (I actually did not downgrade the course due to those foibles). But I am eager to play this course again!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Challenging, Conditions Could Be Better

5+    8/27/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very challenging and offers the most variety of holes in the Twin Cities area I believe. There are a variety of holes both in the open and in the woods. The holes also offer a variety of lines for all types of players. It's a great course to work on every shot from backhand hyzers, anhyzers, tomahawks, and forehands. The course also offers several holes with elevation change, including downhill shots on Holes 9 and 22 and uphill shots on 19, 23, and 24. There is also a creek on Hole 18, but the water plays casual. There are also several protected pin locations and greens with roll away potential, including 1, 17, and 19. Overall, I would say that the majority of the holes are set in the woods, but there are wide gaps and tunnels to hit. However, it is crucial to have accurate drives on the holes because the rough/brush at Kaposia can be quite thick, hard to get out of, and is not very forgiving. If you can steer clear of the rough and stay in the fairway, the course plays much easier.
Cons: I hear of a lot of vandalism on this course and it is definitely noticeable on some holes with chipped up tee pads, broken benches, broken glass, and broken signs. There are also some sketchy walkways in the woods and areas of erosion that could be and should be vastly improved for safety. Some of the holes in the woods also have a significant amount of brush and fallen trees that need to be cleared out. Some of it had been cleared out the last time I was there, but much more needs to be done. Considering that this course is pay to play and has been for a while, it should be in a lot better condition than it is. Lastly, Kaposia doesn't really have any water hazards.
Other Thoughts: Once this course actually gets a return on the investment that has been put into it, it could compete quality-wise with the other pay to play courses in the metro like Bryant Lake, BRP, and The Valley. The challenging aspects of this course, especially the tight fairways in the woods, thick brush off the fairways, and the pins with roll away potential, could compete with BRP once the quality improves. Lengthwise, this course is quite comparable to The Valley, but maintenance wise, it's not even close. Once these improvement are made, I would gladly rate this course a higher score.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Get your woods shots on!

1    10/27/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: Monkeypaws
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Great big concrete tee pads, the best I've seen in my limited career.
•Many fantastic narrow wooded fairways. If you can't throw straight, which I often can not, this is a challenge, but a fun one.
•Par seemed legitimate to me.
•Beautiful setting on the high bluffs above the Mississippi River, an odd constant that runs through all the courses I've played, from St, Cloud to LaCrosse.
•The pay wagon had been removed for the season, so we played for free.
•24 holes = bonus golf.
Cons: •Without a map, this place would be damn near impossible to navigate. There is a series of holes in the first nine, where you back track from pin to tee about 5 times, and play basically the same hole over and over, as opposed to going back and forth,
•Signage is gone on most holes, adding to the confusion.
•Had I payed, given the above, I'd have felt slightly cheated. The fees they collect should be reflected in the maintenance of the course.
Other Thoughts: Played on a cool, crisp, sunny autumn morning, this place was brilliant. I have relatives that live near the freeway entrance nearby, and never realized until I searched that this park was here.

Highly recommended, but get the map - you need it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    7/24/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a medium sized city park, that is home to a few other activities. A playground and baseball field are near the beginning, and there is a hockey rink on a later hole, but these shouldn't cause any interference. Should be free and clear for DG.
- A large amount of the holes here are set in a dense forest, that have clear fairways but serious punishment in the rough. It starts with #5, a smaller valley shot to a gap, then down again, with nasty sloping woods on the right. #6 is another long straight shot in the woods, under some low branches. #10 is slightly downhill, friendly to a RHFH flex shot, but with a landing zone for a shorter hyzer. #14 is a 490' double dogleg with tight gaps, left then right, with plenty of trees to snag errant shots. #15 is a simple enough downhill hyzer, that has a tight hyzer finish through a gap to the pin. #19 is an extremely steep uphill shot with more rough off the fairway. Accuracy is crucial on these holes, due to the nasty rough/hazards, and plenty are long enough where distance is tested.
- Tons of other holes aren't as deep in the woods, but play through or around trees, bushes, and rough to define the hole shape. #8, for instance, is a blind uphill shot out of the woods, onto a lightly tree'd fairway, with the basket on a built up green behind numerous large pines. #11 is a big hyzer shot that starts out of the woods, plays to an open area, and ends back in the woods. #18 is a nice little valley shot with woods and a little stream on the right, and some path OB on the left. Some tougher longer ones near the end as well; #21 is a sharp dogleg right around dense woods, #23 is a long, uphill valley with a tough approach shot into a grove of trees, and #24 is another uphill dogleg right around more dense woods. Plenty of length on these holes as well, getting the right line with lots of distance off the tee is key.
- A few holes are definitely more open, with smaller trees dotting the fairways. #1 and #2 start the course off with some slightly downhill RHBH hyzers/straight shots, #3 is a slightly uphill anny, and #4 is a straight shot through a bushy gap. #22 is a cool shot, pretty open hyzer lane, but with a blind elevated teeshot.
- Elevation changes play a big part on a lot of holes, both on and off the fairway. #1-#4 and #24-#26 play near a similar section of the park, and have slight ups and downs. Also some extremely nasty rollaway potential behind and right of #1 and #25. Lots of uphill shots to test distance and control, like on #6, #8, #16, #20, and some more extreme ones on #23, #24, and especially #19. Downhill slopes present on #9, #12, #15, #17, and definitely #22. Some more rollaway potential behind #6 and #8's baskets, to the right of #21's fairway, and to the left of #16 and #17's fairway. DO NOT GO TOO FAR LEFT ON #17 OR SUFFER!!!
- Also a few water hazards present, but nothing too serious. The small creek around #18 is casual water, and it's just a little swampy by #11.
- Practice basket up front, baskets in general are good. Teepads are decent, though a few are breaking down a little. One natural pad on #20. Signs are nearly nonexistent, a map is a MUST to navigate the course and see the hole lengths/lines.
Cons: - Usually I don't care too much about the conditions of the course, but this place is pretty bad. Tee signs were a surprise, and not the norm, some broken/breaking teepads, some overgrown spots, and a ridiculous amount of graffiti/vandalism. I constantly hear complaints that the course doesn't invest the money it collects from the greens fees, but why would they? Any new additions to the course would probably be destroyed the same day, based on the state of everything else. That's a shame.
- Layout is a little weird in spots; #1 thru #4 are kind of smashed together at the beginning, there is a pretty long walk to #6, a few holes play directly next to a main road. Nothing too major.
Other Thoughts: - Well, this course definitely provides the difficulty, from both sets of tees. Long holes in the woods provide dead straight or dogleg lines, with nasty punishment off the fairways. Long holes out of the woods offer serious opportunities to bomb drives, and are still chock full of hazards. Good elevation changes, only a few extreme places but fairly constant. With 26 holes in the current layout, the shorter hole lengths here and there are a break instead of a bore. Definitely suited to more experienced players.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a map for this challenging course

2-4    11/5/2011   11/7/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very challenging starting from hole 5 straight through to the end
-Tons of elevation changes throughout the course
-Pleasant scenery throughout especially when you get to the later holes with the ravines
-Mobile shack at start has some discs and scorecards
-Practice basket
-Aside from a walking path that goes by a couple of holes this course is essentially uninterrupted by other park users
-Park is pretty clean, there was a little bit of trash on the ground but not much. There are a couple of garbage cans throughout the course.
Cons: -Navigation is extremely difficult at times, you absolutely will need a map
-There are some very long walks from the basket to the next hole, the flow of the course probably could have been improved in this regard
-There is a tee pad for one hole right next to the road going into the park and another hole that plays along side of the road, I am not a proponent of this as it introduces the potential for accidents to occur
-Some of the hikes on the holes can be hazardous as some of the pathways are poor at best (be very careful if it has recently rained on a few of these hikes as it very slippery going up or down the ravines)
-There are no signs at numerous holes and a couple of the later holes have dirt tees
Other Thoughts: I quite enjoyed the difficulty progression of the holes. The first four holes are wide open and between 275'-360'; all more or less reachable with a good drive and good warm-up holes. After that, you go into the woods and the holes start getting much tighter with some longer distances mixed in. After playing these holes for a while some severe elevation changes start showing up on the course with the cream of the crop being #19 with #20 a close second. #19 is a bear of an uphill hole that's just 345' but the thing plays a lot closer to 500' if you ask me. Making it even more difficult is the fact that the grade is so steep it's next to impossible to get any sort of running approach to throw and there is a giant ravine on the right so you must throw it long and accurate. Throw it down the ravine on either one of these holes and it will go all the way to the bottom; and you will spend at least 2-3 throws getting it back up.
A full round here will take quite a while, last time it took a friend and me about 3 hours; so plan accordingly and don't come here on an empty stomach. This course will wear you out, I recommend pants and good hiking shoes. There's a lot of those prickly bushes in certain areas just off the fairways and you may find yourself in them on more than one occasion.
There are several things about this course that hold it down. First off is the navigation. Signs are not present on more than a few holes which is quite a disappointment, especially considering that this is a pay to play course. On more than one occasion you may find yourself lost in between holes, especially if you do not have a map. It is absolutely imperative that you procure a map of this course before you start your round. My most recent round here was my second round here and I still got lost in between a couple of the holes.
The other disappointment is with the pathways between some of the holes. Some of the walks between holes are very long. Some of the pathways are treacherous as well. I would very surprised if there wasn't a handful of injuries at this course every year because of the poorly designed and maintained pathways between a few of the holes. Again, this is mainly an issue once the ravines start coming into play on the course.
All in all, I was pretty impressed with this course. I'm not sure if I'd call it the most difficult course in the Twin Cities as some people do, but it's definitely right up there. The only type of shot you won't really utilize here much is a straight up bomb of a drive. I'm okay with that, go to Fort Snelling if you want that. With improvements in the pathways and signage I would easily give this course a 4.5; but as is it gets a 4.0. I hold out hope that the fees collected from players will go to improve and add signage and improve the safety of some of the pathways. I highly recommend checking out this course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Minnesota Old Gaurd

5+    7/14/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kaposia DGC is one of Minnesota's best known courses. It has been around since 1990 and has stood the test of time. It is located in a nice county park and has hosted many A & B tear events over the years. Some things have changed over the years but this is still one of the top courses in Minnesota.

1.Nice cement tee pads most of which have been updated in the last two years.

2.Great variation in distance and shot requirement. Left, Right, Up, Down, Long, Short, Wooded and Open.

3.Lots of risk and reward opportunities including water, roll away pin placements, tightly guarded greens and tough O.B.

4.Park is clean and quiet.

5.Some nice landscaping and some tiered greens most of which have wood chips on them.

6.Challenging course that will test every aspect of your game.

7.Small pro shop with disc's and other essentials.

8.Not to buggy. This is surprising to me because there are a few swamps on the property.

9.The park is beautiful; this makes for some awesome looking holes.

10. Garbage cans and porta potties on site.

11.Benches and picnic tables at most holes.

12.Shares the park well. Many of other activities are available.

This is a great course that will test even the best pros. There are a lot of tight, wooded, tunnel shots that will challenge your shot shaping abilities. The course is a great workout and requires a lot of walking up and down some big hills. You will use every shot and possible every disc in your bag on this course. If playing in the Minnesota area for the first time this course is a must.
Cons: Most of the cons of this course are due to its age and are in the proses of being addressed. The layout has been changed because of erosion and IMO it was much better before the change. The course had to pull its signature hole because of the erosion. They are trying to fix the problem and reopen the hole but it may never happen.

1.The flow of this course leaves a bit to be desired, as backtracking occurs on a few holes. IMO it was much better as an 18 hole.

2.There is no signage to speak of. It can be very hard for a first timer to find their way through the first time. It would also help if there was signs for each hole with a description of the the pin placement.

3.Some of the walks for hole to hole are a bit long.

4.The baskets are old but in pretty good shape for the most part.

6.A few of the fairways could use a more clearing.

7.Some of the fairways play over a walking path and you may have to wait for other park users before throwing.

8.Not very beginner friendly. No short tees and some of the rough can be very unforgiving.

I know that they are trying to address all of these problems. The first thing that this course needs and should have is SIGNAGE. The course is pay to play. I have no problem with that but it needs navigation signage at least some new players know where they are going.
Other Thoughts: I had not played this course in 10 years and it has changed a lot over that period of time. It is the first course I ever played. I have talked to some of the people who run the course and the plan is to go back to an 18 hole lay out and make it a Gold Level Course. I think this is a great idea that will solve many of the cons of this course. I really wish the old valley hole was still in because it was one of the most recognized holes in Minnesota disc golf history. I will play this course again and am eager to see how this course evolves in the next few years.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.