St. Paul (South St. Paul), MN 
Kaposia Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
shouldn't be a pay to play

1    7/12/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tough course. Lots of elevation changes and blind holes. A little bit of everything.
Cons: The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because of the up keep of the course. It was pretty poorly taken care of for a pay to play course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice challenge

1    10/2/2011   1/18/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a pretty complete test of a wide range of disc golf skills. There's a handful of more open holes with scattered trees and brush in play, some of which let you open up and throw some longer shots. The build of the course plays fairly technical with a mix of really tight holes that punish even minor mistakes and holes with clearly defined wooded fairways that allow for some different lines but have enough rough to make you pay for missing the fairway.

You'll need a balanced set of shots, this course has an excellent mix of hole shapes and lengths. There are a few par 4 holes where a great tee shot and upshot are needed to card a birdie three, and a nice mix of reachable and tougher par 3s. The course is pretty fairly balanced with a good mix of left, right and straight shots. The elevation available isn't huge, but it's used excellently to add some fun and challenging shots including some tricky greens. There are 26 holes on the property, you have a choice between the 24 or the 18 hole layouts depending on the time you want to spend. Either way it feels like a complete course.
Cons: Navigation is pretty bad, there are no next tee signs and no signage at the tees. Even with a map (provided at the pay booth or available here online), it's not always obvious where to go between holes or where to throw without some wandering and scouting. There are some erosion issues in the woods, especially on the hillier parts of the course, an unfortunate side effect of being a popular course.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time here, and would definitely put it on my list for my next visit to the area. It provides a great challenge for experienced players, with good length and pretty good punishment for poor execution. Beginners will find this course pretty tough, but not to the point of being completely frustrating, it seems that a good number of newer players do play here and enjoy it.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great

1    7/18/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: LukeMetz
Played: 111  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has an awesome set up. There is a great variety of wooded fairways and long bomber holes. They have a nice little club house and practice basket.
Other Thoughts: I like the idea of pay to play courses. Its a great way to raise money. This course is very well maintained and Im sure the fee goes towards the city workers that keep Kaposia looking nice.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Add signs and this is the best course in MN/St. Paul

1    8/18/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kaposia is a great piece of property with hills, ravines, water, open areas, and tunnels. Distances range from 210 to 510 feet and everything inbetween. This is a mostly fun par 3 course with a few tougher par 4's. Staying in the fairway is critical to scoring well on this course. Those 3's turn into 4's+ very quickly if you are not throwing good shots. This is an Adv/Pro championship calibur course. You will throw every disc and shot you can think of.

Near hole #1 there is a small shack with drinks, snacks, and a small selection of discs.

There is an option to play an 18 hole route and 24 hole route. We played all 26 holes on the property.

This is a very clean and well kept pay to play course. There is a very secluded feeling after you get past the first few holes and back into the woods.

Multiple pin positions and short tees on several holes.

There are several tiered greens and nice landscaping in places.

Concrete tee pads.

Mach 3 Baskets in good condition.
Cons: This course lacks tee signs and directional arrows. If you added them to this course I think this is the best course in Minneapolis/St. Paul.

There are a few longer walks to get to a few holes but none of them are wasted walks. You will not be disappointed with the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you get a map. With the use of a map this course is much more enjoyable to play. Without one you may go in the wrong direction or skip some holes.

This is a must play while visiting. I would love to have this as a home course. I was amazed at the quality course MN/St Paul has. We played 11 courses over 3 days and this area has by far the best courses as a group.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of Signature Holes!

1    8/18/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm not sure how this course is only rated 4.00 on here. I've got this in my top 10 of 211 played. Kaposia will get you to throw just about every shot in your bag. Beautiful fairways cut through the woods and significant elevation change on just about every hole. There are 26 holes on the course and most of them are memorable. There is a handful of legit par 4's, but the course mostly consists of demanding par 3's that can yield quite a few birdies if your hitting lines and can also leave you with some big numbers if you get off track. Even though the course is what I'd describe as pretty heavily wooded on most of the holes, there isn't alot of schule so you won't spend much time looking for discs. Tee pads and baskets are top notch and the course is well maintained. If you are in the Minneapolis area, this is a course you simply can't miss. I played the long tees on my only visit.

Holes 1-4 Starts off pretty easy with 3 birdie holes in a more open area. 3 midrange shots and a nice ~350 ft drive.

Holes 5-7 are cut through some heavy woods. Its not ridiculously tight, but you need to hit your line to score well. These are 3 great looking holes.

Hole 8 a big par 4 in a more open area, ending on a dangerous downslope. Hole 9 is a very short, but tight putter/midrange shot.

Hole 10 is one of the best looking holes on the course. Significant downhill drop with a tunnel of trees. A beautiful 385 ft shot, but you don't need a big arm to reach it.

11-18 continue through the woods. A few midrange shots in here combined with a couple demanding par 4's that require long straight tunnel shots. The course works both your anhyzer and hyzer game through here.

A bit of a walk to find Hole 19 (we needed the map). Its a beautiful downhill midrange shot with a steep hill and heavy woods on the right and a path OB on the left. Hole 20 is a monster straight uphill par 4 through the woods (I mean WAY uphill!).

Holes 21-24 come out of the heavy woods and give some opportunities to crush some drives and come up with some creative shots to get around corners (rollers or over-the-top shots are in play for some players).
Cons: Its best to bring a map when you play, as there are some significant walks between holes and not alot of tee signs to help you out. Its pay-to-play ($5) and you can get a course map at the clubhouse.
Other Thoughts: In a nice, clean park. I'd compare it to a Water Works in KC, but with a few more tight wooded shots.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Minnesota Classic

5+    2/2/2011   2/10/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Site of Cam Todd's 2001 PDGA Pro World Championships victory, Kaposia was once a world class course. It's glory has diminished some with the emergence of new courses, the evolution of the sport, and the decline of the park. In early 2010 it was converted to the pay to play format and has seen a lot of improvements and is being re-established as a phenomenal course.

Large new tee pads were poured on 4 or 5 of the holes. All now feature a large concrete tee pad and nice baskets.

New stairs have been built on several of the holes with elevation change, making for safer travel.

Kaposia is an advanced level course. It's long, varied, and has you throwing in thick woods up and down treacherous fairways. It's an old course, and feels like it. It doesn't have any new school super long bomber holes. It's a technical course that will challenge you to throw a lot of different lines but rarely will you need to throw farther than 350' to card a birdie or easy par.

The "club house" sells a limited selection of plastic.

The pay to play format has really eliminated a lot of undesirable elements. The course is quiet and treated with respect now. Everyone you see there is out to enjoy a friendly round of disc.

Kaposia offers fundamentally satisfying disc golf to the serious disc golfer. If you're looking for a challenging course, this one's for you.
Cons: The park has not aged all that well. It's been maintained by volunteers (thanks!) but, as a result, it's not landscaped like other pay to play courses around here. Bryant Lake, Elm Creek, Blue Ribbon Pines, and Hyland Hills all costs the same or less and are set on beautiful pieces of property and have better amenities and are more aesthetically pleasing. It is for that reason I knocked off a 1/2 star.
Other Thoughts: Kaposia is one of the most challenging courses in the Twin Cities. In the past, it was a 5 star course. It's lost a bit of shine over the years but it's still awesome.

I am a proponent of the Pay-to-Play format here. I feel it's restored the park to elite status. More improvements are planned for the future.

The daily pass is $5, the yearly pass has been raised to $40 for 2011 I understand. If you live in the area, buy a season pass.

If you're coming through on a road trip, you should play Oakwood, The Valley, and Kaposia. 3 four star courses all within 25 minutes of each other southeast of St. Paul. All playable in one day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Put some signs in and it might be a 5!

1    7/18/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Practice basket near start.
-Lots of elevation.
-Perfect amount of woods, not too hard nor too easy.
-Good variation in length and nature of each hole.
-Benches near most tee boxes.
-Friendly locals that will point you on your way to the next hole.
-Hard to lose a disc, no water and the brush isn't too thick.
-18 full holes that aren't too crowded, definitely didn't get boring at all.
-Tee boxes looked old but were in great shape and served their purpose well.
-Park used only for disc golf. Other activities are separate.
Cons: -Poor upkeep overall. Erosion, lots of dust, damage and graffiti on everything.
-No signs of any sort. Most holes have a pole that says the hole number but that's it.
-It is hard to find the way to the next hole many times, especially in the woods and when there's multiple holes close together.
-Can be fairly busy, especially on weekends and evenings.
-Sounds of cars, people and planes at all times if that bothers you.
Other Thoughts: With signs at tees and for navigation this course would be greatly improved. Even without these its one of the best in the state. A must play if in the area.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Minnesota Mecca of Disc Golf

2-4    6/14/2008   5/12/2009
Review By: manzilla86
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As my title says, this is the best course I have played. I haven't played a ton of courses, but I have played enough for that statement to mean something. I enjoy courses that require two great shots to get close to the pin, and Kaposia has many of these. I love the large rock landscaping on hole #3 (tiers of large rocks leading up the basket) and hole #8 (perched on the side of a large downhill, if you miss right you have a big uphill putt, but it is worth the miss for the beauty of the pin placement). Also, on the back nine there is a pond and ravine that come into play on multiple holes, and while it isn't fun going into either, those aspects of the course are just two things that make it great. A truly fun course, if you live in Minnesota or Wisconsin (or further away), you should make a pilgrimage to this Minnesota Mecca of Disc Golf.
Cons: The layout can be confusing if you haven't played before. The first time I played here I was with my brother, who already knew the course, but the first time he played the course he accidentally skipped a few holes. Also, losing a disc is very possible on many holes in the dense woods (I have lost a few and found a few on this course).
As others have said, the course is intimidating and frustrating to beginning players. However, when I bring friends here who have a hard time throwing straight, they still seem to appreciate the course despite the courses lack of appreciation for them!
Other Thoughts: Like I said in the Pro's, this is (to me) the Minnesota Mecca of Disc Golf. Give it a try if you haven't been there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/20/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: kgibbs
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long course with many challenging holes and a lot of variety.
Cons: Lots of trees and it's pretty tough to make par on most holes. Not a good course for beginners who might become easily frustrated, but it's basically where I learned to throw so it can be done.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Glad I researched this one, but I wish the other 6 holes were in!

1    4/25/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Awesome property, awesome design using all the features effectively. Lots of holes with large mature trees with tons of overhanging branches. Lots of tight wooded technical holes.

2) Nice baskets and concrete teepads (except for a couple where they are using carpet for the teepad). Multiple teepads and multiple pin locations make this course very adjustable, and will create completely different holes.

3) Unique holes are abundant. #2 with the basket set amogst a bunch of mature tree roots. Hit one of the roots wrong and you could ned up further than you started. #3 with the stones protecting the basket. #5 down then up a valley makes for a picturesque hole. I cannot imagine the long basket here!!! #7 shooting over some trimmed scrub brush, #8 long shot out of a wooded chute. Then an approach to a basket tucked on the side of a hill that if you overshoot will have at least 30-40 feet back up the hill to the basket. #16 with leaning branches overhanging the fairway makes for a cool shot. They shouldnt come into play but visually it enters your mind. #17 with the basket perched on a sidehill. #18 with the haybales to prevent skip aces from in front of the basket. I wasnt immediately sure if it was protecting from erosion or protecting the basket.

4) Nice variety in distance with #18 being the shortest. #16 is pretty short and easy also, with a handful of holes near or over 400'.
Cons: 1) Not beginner friendly, but thats ok, not every course needs to be!

2) Very little water in play (for the most part), but its pretty hard to hold that against this course when every hole is packed with excitement and challenge.

3) Layout can be confusing to a new player (such as myself) I swear I skipped #9, or maybe I missed an earlier hole and didnt even realize it.

4) Signage could use some upgrades, teesigns would be nice, and directional signs to point you to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the top 3 course I have played to date. I only wish the ravine holes were in play. I should have gone down and walked them just to see how cool they would have been, but I was running out of time. It is a well thought out, well designed, challenging course. Beginners will struggle mightily, and even experiences players might have some problems on some of the holes.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.