St. Paul (South St. Paul), MN 
Kaposia Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Guy in the Shack

5+    10/19/2015   10/23/2015
Review By: kingscoach
Played: 104  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging summer layout, technically demanding.with very few gimme birdies.
Back holes feature extreme elevation change
Old trees in an old park give this course a sense of history
Local backlash against pay to play keeps the waits way down
-Number one complaint is finding your way around. Particularly on the backside. Tee signs aren't numbered because the layout changes for the winter. Worn trails often lead in the wrong direction and it's possible to play 19 holes and not realize you've missed the back eight.

-Pay to Play hours are inconsistent, sometimes the shack isn't open when you expect it, and vice versa.

Honor box new this year doesn't give you a way to identify that it's your money in the box, no proof of purchase

-Very little running water on the course. Only drinking fountain is near the parking lot and doesn't work too well.
Other Thoughts: This is my spiel when golfers are playing KP for the first time.
1. Holes 4-8 all run paralell to one another so after holing out you have to turn back and veer right to find the next tee. The trek from five to six is particularly long.
2. Same deal between 10-11 and 14-15 but turn back and veer left.
3. After 17, backtrack to the right and descend the trail into the ravine for hole 18 OR continue forward to 26 to avoid the back nasty, perilous holes AKA best eight holes on the course.

18-26 often go unplayed and can turn a trip to Kaposia into a soul crushing catastrophe. But whipping through them at par feels like a 6 or 7 down. 19 and 20 have a combined 110 feet of elevation change straight up, and with 18 holes under your belt just getting to the top of the hill feels like a win.
Last two holes are really out of the way require a lot of up and down backtracking.
Even though I''ve been working in the shack all summer I tried to keep this objective. Hope you find it helpful if you're playing KP for the first time. As always,
May the course be with you

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

First impression

1    10/3/2015   10/8/2015
Review By: Tmcalist
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Well kept course, has a pro shop and some very interesting lines.

I gave this a two rating because I definitely felt like there were way more cons than pros. First time to play this course and because it was a championship course I was excited to play it. Now after playing it, I see why it is considered a championship course, because you have to be a freaking pro to do decent here. The course does have some cool score cards, which by the way you need for the map because you will get lost without it.
Cons: Where do I begin. The signs, might look good but they lack the key elements you actually need on a sign i.e. PAR and HOLE #. Really, the two important elements of a good posted sign for a hole and this course is missing that.

It was hard to find the next hole and tee pad. The signs they do have pointing you in the right direction were near impossible to find.

You must be a pro to play here. I am rated 881 and I shot 18 BIG at this course and this website gave me a rating of 901 which is crazy to me. I was all over the place hitting trees and having a hard time just to drop out of the rough. The rough was very unforgiving. Some holes are super narrow and several if not most felt like they were all blind shots, not able to see the basket from the tee which is very frustrating. $5 for 26 holes, sure is not a bad deal, but after playing The Valley, I would definitely prefer that course over this course any day. This course was super challenging and almost to the point where it was no longer fun. By hole 17 I was wishing that it was only an 18 hole course.
Other Thoughts: I would not necessarily recommend this course. I have heard they have tons of tournaments, outings, minis and even grill outs here which would be fun, but there are way more courses i'd prefer to play over this. If I go back to MN, I will choose a different course to play before I go back here.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1    8/9/2014   9/12/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 226  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very large park with great land for disc golf
-lots of fun shots, tons of variety over 26 holes
-design makes great use of the land and terrain
-great mix of more open, park style holes and tight, wooded holes
-makes great use of lots of elevation changes, from subtle to drastic
-a few water hazards
-challenging lines and pin placements
-friendly locals, big local scene, lots of tourneys
-plenty of parking, pro shop
Cons: -navigating the layout is confusing. the park is well worn and there seem to be trails leading each direction after some baskets. the map and numbered tee signs are a huge help. there are also some long walks between holes.
-erosion seems to be taking its toll in some areas of the course. hopefully the locals are planning for the future of the course.
-holes 25 and 26 are so separated from hole 24, i didn't even realize they were there

-not really a con but for my own curiosity i would like to see the original 18 and the tournament layout. it would be cool if that could be marked on the map.
Other Thoughts: Kaposia is a really fun course with a lot of history. Despite the fact that it is showing its age in some places, it does not play like an old course at all. You will be surprised if you come here expecting 1990's par 3 golf. There are lots of tough holes and the average distance is about 350'.

The land is perfect for disc golf. The terrain ranges from semi-open, park style holes (1-4, 8, 11, 21, 23-24, 26) to heavily wooded tunnels (5, 13, 14, )and everything in between. I really like how the variety is spread across the course; all the wooded or open holes aren't in one spot. The elevation in the park is subtle in some places or drastic off the tee in others (18, 19, 22) and there are plenty of dangerous greens and roll away opportunities. I especially liked the tight tunnel on hole 5, the green area on 8 with a big drop off behind the basket, the elevated tee shot along the creek on 18, and the blind, downhill hyzer on hole 22.

Kaposia has a wonderful, "classic" feel to it despite playing more like a longer modern course. The course's age does show in a few places: the old tee signs from previous layouts you see occasionally, the erosion present in the hilly areas, well worn walking paths in the woods that are not always paths to the next hole, etc. I'm happy that this course is pay to play and I hope that the money goes to continuing the upgrades and face lifts that keep this 25 year old course enjoyable to play and looking good.

As a side note, I really would like to know what the original 18 looked like and I'd also like to see the tournament layout and long pins.

This was the only course I got to play on my brief stop in the Twin Cities and it really made me wish I had more time to play some other courses. Kaposia has a little bit of almost everything and does it pretty well. The trimmings are a little ragged but the golf is excellent. It may be a bit punishing for less experienced players but AM2 players and up will love it, especially if you like a wooded course.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Must play when you visit St. Paul.

1    7/1/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 79  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Clean well kept coarse.
Fun golf with several memorable holes.
All the things that have been said before.
Cons: $5 bucks a day is a touch high.
No honor box.
Summer camp can get in the way on 18.
Other Thoughts: This the 4th coarse played by my wife and I on our summer vacation. It was exactly what we expected from the reviews here. It is only 15 minutes from our Aunts house, I imagine we will play it again. Quality coarse.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

So Classic That Classic Didn't Recognize Itself

1    6/14/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course feels like a classic from the moment you arrive. Then it throws things for a loop before bringing you back to classic. By classic I mean that there are some park courses out there that just feel like classic disc golf. Like this is what disc golf was for a long time, in a nice park making good use of the land and allowing for people to have a good time chucking the disc around. But this particular course, while it does fit that mold, has moments where you just go what in the amazing world was that? The variety of holes is rather amazing in that regard as well. There is a good challenge to most holes, even some of the easier ones. The whole course feels well maintained. There are some amazing holes on this course that feel like some of the best holes you may have ever played. Every holes has some kind of challenge. There is a pro shop at the start of the course with snacks and what not. Tee signs do exist.
Cons: There are a couple of layout issues with this course which include long walks between a few holes and some serious problems on a few holes that may be threatened by erosion at some point in the near future. There are also holes that play right through high traffic areas like paths through the park. There are some holes that are clearly filler holes and some very short holes that didn't really need to be there. There will be a couple of places where one will want to have a map to know what is next and where to walk. The baskets feel old, and probably are old. You do now have to pay to play this course, and while it is not obvious yet at all times, the money appears to be going back into the course. The information on tee signs is not always helpful or accurate. It was noisy at times being right next to a free way. The crowds as this place can be big and slow.
Other Thoughts: The classic feel of this course, the strong local community around this course and the unique challenge that is this course help make this course an excellent rated course. There are plenty of issues with this course, but it appears as though this is being worked one slowly over time. Some of the longer holes or more wooded holes will not be fun at all for lower skill level players. I have heard rumors that this course can become a championship 18 hole course and with some of the holes as they are already it is close to it. I am curious to see the 18 hole layout. I wish I had heard more about the history of this course and all of the transitions that this course has been through.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

No Hole Numbers

5+    6/14/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: J Blaze
Played: 63  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2015
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: THIS REVIEW IS HELPFUL FOR PEOPLE NEW TO THE COURSE. I love this course and have played it at least 40 times. It offers everything a disc golfer would love, from long rolling hills to holes along a creek to tight squeezes through the woods... and is big enough that you can usually enjoy a round, somewhat uninterrupted. However, the last time I played there, we were often interrupted by disc golfers who had never been there before, and were looking for the next tee pad. It seems the mgmt at Kaposia is using the money to buy nice signs, but totally forgot to mark what hole is what, with the signs. I was frustrated with how nice the signs were, without having the most vital piece of information. Truth be told, I was more of a course tour guide that day, then a disc golfer. However, this course still easily deserves a 4.0 rating and is a can't miss course if in the St. Paul area.
Cons: -tee signs with no hole number
-$5 to play, with no beverages or food for sale!?
Other Thoughts: Kaposia is legendary and worth the play, no matter what the skill level. They just need some tee signs that are interchangeable!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great challenging course

2-4    6/11/2013   3/11/2014
Review By: BirdieMachine
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24.7 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes. Very challenging and must play well to score well. Errant shots are punished on most holes. Big tee pads in great shape. This course has everything to challenge a player to the max!
Cons: Some vandalism and upkeep could be better. I don't mind this as it doesn't effect my experience.
5 Bucks to play, it's totally worth it!
Other Thoughts: A must play in the Twin Cities area along with Blue Ribbon Pines. My two favorite courses played out of 33 so it gets 5 stars!

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

5+    11/15/2013   12/29/2013
Review By: joh3
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Very challenging. Mix of open and wooded holes with out of bounds on lots of holes.
Cons: Only one tee per hole. The last few holes actually take away from the courses appeal because they are open and uninspired.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 shouldn't be a pay to play

1    7/12/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Tough course. Lots of elevation changes and blind holes. A little bit of everything.
Cons: The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because of the up keep of the course. It was pretty poorly taken care of for a pay to play course.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice layout

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 59  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Interesting holes in a beautiful park.
Cons: Needs better signage and better maps.
A couple of holes had poorly placed baskets.
Other Thoughts: For a pay to play course I expect a little better. IT is a tight course and some blind holes that were a bit tough to navigate since it was my first trip through it.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.