St. Paul (South St. Paul), MN
Kaposia Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Intermediate/Expert

1    7/24/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a medium sized city park, that is home to a few other activities. A playground and baseball field are near the beginning, and there is a hockey rink on a later hole, but these shouldn't cause any interference. Should be free and clear for DG.
- A large amount of the holes here are set in a dense forest, that have clear fairways but serious punishment in the rough. It starts with #5, a smaller valley shot to a gap, then down again, with nasty sloping woods on the right. #6 is another long straight shot in the woods, under some low branches. #10 is slightly downhill, friendly to a RHFH flex shot, but with a landing zone for a shorter hyzer. #14 is a 490' double dogleg with tight gaps, left then right, with plenty of trees to snag errant shots. #15 is a simple enough downhill hyzer, that has a tight hyzer finish through a gap to the pin. #19 is an extremely steep uphill shot with more rough off the fairway. Accuracy is crucial on these holes, due to the nasty rough/hazards, and plenty are long enough where distance is tested.
- Tons of other holes aren't as deep in the woods, but play through or around trees, bushes, and rough to define the hole shape. #8, for instance, is a blind uphill shot out of the woods, onto a lightly tree'd fairway, with the basket on a built up green behind numerous large pines. #11 is a big hyzer shot that starts out of the woods, plays to an open area, and ends back in the woods. #18 is a nice little valley shot with woods and a little stream on the right, and some path OB on the left. Some tougher longer ones near the end as well; #21 is a sharp dogleg right around dense woods, #23 is a long, uphill valley with a tough approach shot into a grove of trees, and #24 is another uphill dogleg right around more dense woods. Plenty of length on these holes as well, getting the right line with lots of distance off the tee is key.
- A few holes are definitely more open, with smaller trees dotting the fairways. #1 and #2 start the course off with some slightly downhill RHBH hyzers/straight shots, #3 is a slightly uphill anny, and #4 is a straight shot through a bushy gap. #22 is a cool shot, pretty open hyzer lane, but with a blind elevated teeshot.
- Elevation changes play a big part on a lot of holes, both on and off the fairway. #1-#4 and #24-#26 play near a similar section of the park, and have slight ups and downs. Also some extremely nasty rollaway potential behind and right of #1 and #25. Lots of uphill shots to test distance and control, like on #6, #8, #16, #20, and some more extreme ones on #23, #24, and especially #19. Downhill slopes present on #9, #12, #15, #17, and definitely #22. Some more rollaway potential behind #6 and #8's baskets, to the right of #21's fairway, and to the left of #16 and #17's fairway. DO NOT GO TOO FAR LEFT ON #17 OR SUFFER!!!
- Also a few water hazards present, but nothing too serious. The small creek around #18 is casual water, and it's just a little swampy by #11.
- Practice basket up front, baskets in general are good. Teepads are decent, though a few are breaking down a little. One natural pad on #20. Signs are nearly nonexistent, a map is a MUST to navigate the course and see the hole lengths/lines.
Cons: - Usually I don't care too much about the conditions of the course, but this place is pretty bad. Tee signs were a surprise, and not the norm, some broken/breaking teepads, some overgrown spots, and a ridiculous amount of graffiti/vandalism. I constantly hear complaints that the course doesn't invest the money it collects from the greens fees, but why would they? Any new additions to the course would probably be destroyed the same day, based on the state of everything else. That's a shame.
- Layout is a little weird in spots; #1 thru #4 are kind of smashed together at the beginning, there is a pretty long walk to #6, a few holes play directly next to a main road. Nothing too major.
Other Thoughts: - Well, this course definitely provides the difficulty, from both sets of tees. Long holes in the woods provide dead straight or dogleg lines, with nasty punishment off the fairways. Long holes out of the woods offer serious opportunities to bomb drives, and are still chock full of hazards. Good elevation changes, only a few extreme places but fairly constant. With 26 holes in the current layout, the shorter hole lengths here and there are a break instead of a bore. Definitely suited to more experienced players.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Challenging but needs upkeep

1    9/1/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: Da big bark
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Kaposia Park is a challenging course requiring a wide variety of shots and skills. The tee pads are in good shape and most tees have benches nearby. The length and challenges of the course make for an enjoyable experience. There is a short walk between holes, so you are not distracted by other players or passing traffic, except for the two holes that are near the road leading to the park.
Cons: The downside of the course is that the paths between the holes are not well marked. In addition, the course has experienced significant erosion in the paths between holes and in the fairways just past the tee off pads. In some cases the path is downright dangerous and needs to be repaired. The trees and shrubs are wildly overgrown which makes shotmaking that much harder and it makes it difficult to find discs that have gone off course.
Other Thoughts: For a course that is pay to play, I expect better maintenance of the course. The erosion and disrepair reduce the overall enjoyment of the course. Although the course offers a challenge to anyone's game, I won't go back because of the conditions.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

1    7/6/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: itzbrian17
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots
Low traffic
Concrete tees and good baskets
benches and garbage cans
shaded
Cons: for a pay to play, its not good enough for me.
Bad signage, if i didnt have a course guide i would have gotten lost
Also lots of trees have been downed in the middle of fairways
Other Thoughts: Like I said before, i wont go to many more times because of the fact that it's pay to play and yet the course upkeep is bad, the course needs new baskets, signs, benches, and tees

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice challenge

1    10/2/2011   1/18/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a pretty complete test of a wide range of disc golf skills. There's a handful of more open holes with scattered trees and brush in play, some of which let you open up and throw some longer shots. The build of the course plays fairly technical with a mix of really tight holes that punish even minor mistakes and holes with clearly defined wooded fairways that allow for some different lines but have enough rough to make you pay for missing the fairway.

You'll need a balanced set of shots, this course has an excellent mix of hole shapes and lengths. There are a few par 4 holes where a great tee shot and upshot are needed to card a birdie three, and a nice mix of reachable and tougher par 3s. The course is pretty fairly balanced with a good mix of left, right and straight shots. The elevation available isn't huge, but it's used excellently to add some fun and challenging shots including some tricky greens. There are 26 holes on the property, you have a choice between the 24 or the 18 hole layouts depending on the time you want to spend. Either way it feels like a complete course.
Cons: Navigation is pretty bad, there are no next tee signs and no signage at the tees. Even with a map (provided at the pay booth or available here online), it's not always obvious where to go between holes or where to throw without some wandering and scouting. There are some erosion issues in the woods, especially on the hillier parts of the course, an unfortunate side effect of being a popular course.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time here, and would definitely put it on my list for my next visit to the area. It provides a great challenge for experienced players, with good length and pretty good punishment for poor execution. Beginners will find this course pretty tough, but not to the point of being completely frustrating, it seems that a good number of newer players do play here and enjoy it.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a map for this challenging course

2-4    11/5/2011   11/7/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 21  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very challenging starting from hole 5 straight through to the end
-Tons of elevation changes throughout the course
-Pleasant scenery throughout especially when you get to the later holes with the ravines
-Mobile shack at start has some discs and scorecards
-Practice basket
-Aside from a walking path that goes by a couple of holes this course is essentially uninterrupted by other park users
-Park is pretty clean, there was a little bit of trash on the ground but not much. There are a couple of garbage cans throughout the course.
Cons: -Navigation is extremely difficult at times, you absolutely will need a map
-There are some very long walks from the basket to the next hole, the flow of the course probably could have been improved in this regard
-There is a tee pad for one hole right next to the road going into the park and another hole that plays along side of the road, I am not a proponent of this as it introduces the potential for accidents to occur
-Some of the hikes on the holes can be hazardous as some of the pathways are poor at best (be very careful if it has recently rained on a few of these hikes as it very slippery going up or down the ravines)
-There are no signs at numerous holes and a couple of the later holes have dirt tees
Other Thoughts: I quite enjoyed the difficulty progression of the holes. The first four holes are wide open and between 275'-360'; all more or less reachable with a good drive and good warm-up holes. After that, you go into the woods and the holes start getting much tighter with some longer distances mixed in. After playing these holes for a while some severe elevation changes start showing up on the course with the cream of the crop being #19 with #20 a close second. #19 is a bear of an uphill hole that's just 345' but the thing plays a lot closer to 500' if you ask me. Making it even more difficult is the fact that the grade is so steep it's next to impossible to get any sort of running approach to throw and there is a giant ravine on the right so you must throw it long and accurate. Throw it down the ravine on either one of these holes and it will go all the way to the bottom; and you will spend at least 2-3 throws getting it back up.
A full round here will take quite a while, last time it took a friend and me about 3 hours; so plan accordingly and don't come here on an empty stomach. This course will wear you out, I recommend pants and good hiking shoes. There's a lot of those prickly bushes in certain areas just off the fairways and you may find yourself in them on more than one occasion.
There are several things about this course that hold it down. First off is the navigation. Signs are not present on more than a few holes which is quite a disappointment, especially considering that this is a pay to play course. On more than one occasion you may find yourself lost in between holes, especially if you do not have a map. It is absolutely imperative that you procure a map of this course before you start your round. My most recent round here was my second round here and I still got lost in between a couple of the holes.
The other disappointment is with the pathways between some of the holes. Some of the walks between holes are very long. Some of the pathways are treacherous as well. I would very surprised if there wasn't a handful of injuries at this course every year because of the poorly designed and maintained pathways between a few of the holes. Again, this is mainly an issue once the ravines start coming into play on the course.
All in all, I was pretty impressed with this course. I'm not sure if I'd call it the most difficult course in the Twin Cities as some people do, but it's definitely right up there. The only type of shot you won't really utilize here much is a straight up bomb of a drive. I'm okay with that, go to Fort Snelling if you want that. With improvements in the pathways and signage I would easily give this course a 4.5; but as is it gets a 4.0. I hold out hope that the fees collected from players will go to improve and add signage and improve the safety of some of the pathways. I highly recommend checking out this course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great

1    7/18/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: LukeMetz
Played: 111  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has an awesome set up. There is a great variety of wooded fairways and long bomber holes. They have a nice little club house and practice basket.
Other Thoughts: I like the idea of pay to play courses. Its a great way to raise money. This course is very well maintained and Im sure the fee goes towards the city workers that keep Kaposia looking nice.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Add signs and this is the best course in MN/St. Paul

1    8/18/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kaposia is a great piece of property with hills, ravines, water, open areas, and tunnels. Distances range from 210 to 510 feet and everything inbetween. This is a mostly fun par 3 course with a few tougher par 4's. Staying in the fairway is critical to scoring well on this course. Those 3's turn into 4's+ very quickly if you are not throwing good shots. This is an Adv/Pro championship calibur course. You will throw every disc and shot you can think of.

Near hole #1 there is a small shack with drinks, snacks, and a small selection of discs.

There is an option to play an 18 hole route and 24 hole route. We played all 26 holes on the property.

This is a very clean and well kept pay to play course. There is a very secluded feeling after you get past the first few holes and back into the woods.

Multiple pin positions and short tees on several holes.

There are several tiered greens and nice landscaping in places.

Concrete tee pads.

Mach 3 Baskets in good condition.
Cons: This course lacks tee signs and directional arrows. If you added them to this course I think this is the best course in Minneapolis/St. Paul.

There are a few longer walks to get to a few holes but none of them are wasted walks. You will not be disappointed with the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you get a map. With the use of a map this course is much more enjoyable to play. Without one you may go in the wrong direction or skip some holes.

This is a must play while visiting. I would love to have this as a home course. I was amazed at the quality course MN/St Paul has. We played 11 courses over 3 days and this area has by far the best courses as a group.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of Signature Holes!

1    8/18/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Michler
Played: 229  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm not sure how this course is only rated 4.00 on here. I've got this in my top 10 of 211 played. Kaposia will get you to throw just about every shot in your bag. Beautiful fairways cut through the woods and significant elevation change on just about every hole. There are 26 holes on the course and most of them are memorable. There is a handful of legit par 4's, but the course mostly consists of demanding par 3's that can yield quite a few birdies if your hitting lines and can also leave you with some big numbers if you get off track. Even though the course is what I'd describe as pretty heavily wooded on most of the holes, there isn't alot of schule so you won't spend much time looking for discs. Tee pads and baskets are top notch and the course is well maintained. If you are in the Minneapolis area, this is a course you simply can't miss. I played the long tees on my only visit.

Holes 1-4 Starts off pretty easy with 3 birdie holes in a more open area. 3 midrange shots and a nice ~350 ft drive.

Holes 5-7 are cut through some heavy woods. Its not ridiculously tight, but you need to hit your line to score well. These are 3 great looking holes.

Hole 8 a big par 4 in a more open area, ending on a dangerous downslope. Hole 9 is a very short, but tight putter/midrange shot.

Hole 10 is one of the best looking holes on the course. Significant downhill drop with a tunnel of trees. A beautiful 385 ft shot, but you don't need a big arm to reach it.

11-18 continue through the woods. A few midrange shots in here combined with a couple demanding par 4's that require long straight tunnel shots. The course works both your anhyzer and hyzer game through here.

A bit of a walk to find Hole 19 (we needed the map). Its a beautiful downhill midrange shot with a steep hill and heavy woods on the right and a path OB on the left. Hole 20 is a monster straight uphill par 4 through the woods (I mean WAY uphill!).

Holes 21-24 come out of the heavy woods and give some opportunities to crush some drives and come up with some creative shots to get around corners (rollers or over-the-top shots are in play for some players).
Cons: Its best to bring a map when you play, as there are some significant walks between holes and not alot of tee signs to help you out. Its pay-to-play ($5) and you can get a course map at the clubhouse.
Other Thoughts: In a nice, clean park. I'd compare it to a Water Works in KC, but with a few more tight wooded shots.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Minnesota Old Gaurd

5+    7/14/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 67  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 3.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kaposia DGC is one of Minnesota's best known courses. It has been around since 1990 and has stood the test of time. It is located in a nice county park and has hosted many A & B tear events over the years. Some things have changed over the years but this is still one of the top courses in Minnesota.

1.Nice cement tee pads most of which have been updated in the last two years.

2.Great variation in distance and shot requirement. Left, Right, Up, Down, Long, Short, Wooded and Open.

3.Lots of risk and reward opportunities including water, roll away pin placements, tightly guarded greens and tough O.B.

4.Park is clean and quiet.

5.Some nice landscaping and some tiered greens most of which have wood chips on them.

6.Challenging course that will test every aspect of your game.

7.Small pro shop with disc's and other essentials.

8.Not to buggy. This is surprising to me because there are a few swamps on the property.

9.The park is beautiful; this makes for some awesome looking holes.

10. Garbage cans and porta potties on site.

11.Benches and picnic tables at most holes.

12.Shares the park well. Many of other activities are available.

This is a great course that will test even the best pros. There are a lot of tight, wooded, tunnel shots that will challenge your shot shaping abilities. The course is a great workout and requires a lot of walking up and down some big hills. You will use every shot and possible every disc in your bag on this course. If playing in the Minnesota area for the first time this course is a must.
Cons: Most of the cons of this course are due to its age and are in the proses of being addressed. The layout has been changed because of erosion and IMO it was much better before the change. The course had to pull its signature hole because of the erosion. They are trying to fix the problem and reopen the hole but it may never happen.

1.The flow of this course leaves a bit to be desired, as backtracking occurs on a few holes. IMO it was much better as an 18 hole.

2.There is no signage to speak of. It can be very hard for a first timer to find their way through the first time. It would also help if there was signs for each hole with a description of the the pin placement.

3.Some of the walks for hole to hole are a bit long.

4.The baskets are old but in pretty good shape for the most part.

6.A few of the fairways could use a more clearing.

7.Some of the fairways play over a walking path and you may have to wait for other park users before throwing.

8.Not very beginner friendly. No short tees and some of the rough can be very unforgiving.

I know that they are trying to address all of these problems. The first thing that this course needs and should have is SIGNAGE. The course is pay to play. I have no problem with that but it needs navigation signage at least some new players know where they are going.
Other Thoughts: I had not played this course in 10 years and it has changed a lot over that period of time. It is the first course I ever played. I have talked to some of the people who run the course and the plan is to go back to an 18 hole lay out and make it a Gold Level Course. I think this is a great idea that will solve many of the cons of this course. I really wish the old valley hole was still in because it was one of the most recognized holes in Minnesota disc golf history. I will play this course again and am eager to see how this course evolves in the next few years.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Old Classic

5+    2/22/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: discgobisco
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kaposia is a fantastic course with great variety and style. As an older course, it holds the classic style in an established urban park. While I would not say it operates under confined space, Kaposia does use most of the space available nicely.
- Hole variety is great at Kaposia. Despite most of the holes playing in heavily wooded areas, very few holes play alike.
-Requires you to use a lot of different throws. From drives, to upshots, you need to have all the throws to succeed at Kaposia (a good tomahawk comes in real handy if your drive is a little off.)
- Tee pad improvements started in 2010 and I believe will continue through the following year. The new pads are really nice, some of the old pads really need updating.
-Course is open in the winter. They pull the lower baskets and move a few of the pin placements closer, but the course remains open.
-Picnic table for drinking sodas while waiting.
- Kaposia is a beautiful park, more so than most of the other parks in the metro. It isn't "up-north," but it has the feeling that you aren't right in the city (suburb).
Cons: -With the additional money coming in from the pay to play format, this course has to get some better signage. I've been playing this course for 10 years and still find myself missing a hole every now and then. This can also be dangerous, as another reviewer noted, as some paths through the woods lead to oncoming traffic.
-Tee signs with accurate descriptions of the holes and lengths would be nice. As an old championship caliber course, these aesthetic improvements could help it return to glory.
-There is a litter problem. Pick up your trash, don't be a bitch.
-Pads in some areas are in dire need of face-lift.
-$5 a rounds seems a little steep. I'm not trying to sound cheap and yes I'm talking about $5, but for the improvements they made last year, I didn't see where the money went. Comparatively, Three Rivers/Hennepin Co. just dumped a ton of cash into all three of their courses, especially BL and EC, but they only charge 3$ a day.
Other Thoughts: Erosion is a problem here and the park closes annually in the spring to help control this problem. As the course evolves, It seems like erosion will eventually take the entire course from us, tread lightly.

It's also hard to walk up on the old valley shot and not get sentimental about one of the coolest shots ever. RIP #14

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.