St. Paul (South St. Paul), MN 
Kaposia Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Add signs and this is the best course in MN/St. Paul

1    8/18/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 316  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 13.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kaposia is a great piece of property with hills, ravines, water, open areas, and tunnels. Distances range from 210 to 510 feet and everything inbetween. This is a mostly fun par 3 course with a few tougher par 4's. Staying in the fairway is critical to scoring well on this course. Those 3's turn into 4's+ very quickly if you are not throwing good shots. This is an Adv/Pro championship calibur course. You will throw every disc and shot you can think of.

Near hole #1 there is a small shack with drinks, snacks, and a small selection of discs.

There is an option to play an 18 hole route and 24 hole route. We played all 26 holes on the property.

This is a very clean and well kept pay to play course. There is a very secluded feeling after you get past the first few holes and back into the woods.

Multiple pin positions and short tees on several holes.

There are several tiered greens and nice landscaping in places.

Concrete tee pads.

Mach 3 Baskets in good condition.
Cons: This course lacks tee signs and directional arrows. If you added them to this course I think this is the best course in Minneapolis/St. Paul.

There are a few longer walks to get to a few holes but none of them are wasted walks. You will not be disappointed with the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you get a map. With the use of a map this course is much more enjoyable to play. Without one you may go in the wrong direction or skip some holes.

This is a must play while visiting. I would love to have this as a home course. I was amazed at the quality course MN/St Paul has. We played 11 courses over 3 days and this area has by far the best courses as a group.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of Signature Holes!

1    8/18/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Michler
Played: 231  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm not sure how this course is only rated 4.00 on here. I've got this in my top 10 of 211 played. Kaposia will get you to throw just about every shot in your bag. Beautiful fairways cut through the woods and significant elevation change on just about every hole. There are 26 holes on the course and most of them are memorable. There is a handful of legit par 4's, but the course mostly consists of demanding par 3's that can yield quite a few birdies if your hitting lines and can also leave you with some big numbers if you get off track. Even though the course is what I'd describe as pretty heavily wooded on most of the holes, there isn't alot of schule so you won't spend much time looking for discs. Tee pads and baskets are top notch and the course is well maintained. If you are in the Minneapolis area, this is a course you simply can't miss. I played the long tees on my only visit.

Holes 1-4 Starts off pretty easy with 3 birdie holes in a more open area. 3 midrange shots and a nice ~350 ft drive.

Holes 5-7 are cut through some heavy woods. Its not ridiculously tight, but you need to hit your line to score well. These are 3 great looking holes.

Hole 8 a big par 4 in a more open area, ending on a dangerous downslope. Hole 9 is a very short, but tight putter/midrange shot.

Hole 10 is one of the best looking holes on the course. Significant downhill drop with a tunnel of trees. A beautiful 385 ft shot, but you don't need a big arm to reach it.

11-18 continue through the woods. A few midrange shots in here combined with a couple demanding par 4's that require long straight tunnel shots. The course works both your anhyzer and hyzer game through here.

A bit of a walk to find Hole 19 (we needed the map). Its a beautiful downhill midrange shot with a steep hill and heavy woods on the right and a path OB on the left. Hole 20 is a monster straight uphill par 4 through the woods (I mean WAY uphill!).

Holes 21-24 come out of the heavy woods and give some opportunities to crush some drives and come up with some creative shots to get around corners (rollers or over-the-top shots are in play for some players).
Cons: Its best to bring a map when you play, as there are some significant walks between holes and not alot of tee signs to help you out. Its pay-to-play ($5) and you can get a course map at the clubhouse.
Other Thoughts: In a nice, clean park. I'd compare it to a Water Works in KC, but with a few more tight wooded shots.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Minnesota Old Gaurd

5+    7/14/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kaposia DGC is one of Minnesota's best known courses. It has been around since 1990 and has stood the test of time. It is located in a nice county park and has hosted many A & B tear events over the years. Some things have changed over the years but this is still one of the top courses in Minnesota.

1.Nice cement tee pads most of which have been updated in the last two years.

2.Great variation in distance and shot requirement. Left, Right, Up, Down, Long, Short, Wooded and Open.

3.Lots of risk and reward opportunities including water, roll away pin placements, tightly guarded greens and tough O.B.

4.Park is clean and quiet.

5.Some nice landscaping and some tiered greens most of which have wood chips on them.

6.Challenging course that will test every aspect of your game.

7.Small pro shop with disc's and other essentials.

8.Not to buggy. This is surprising to me because there are a few swamps on the property.

9.The park is beautiful; this makes for some awesome looking holes.

10. Garbage cans and porta potties on site.

11.Benches and picnic tables at most holes.

12.Shares the park well. Many of other activities are available.

This is a great course that will test even the best pros. There are a lot of tight, wooded, tunnel shots that will challenge your shot shaping abilities. The course is a great workout and requires a lot of walking up and down some big hills. You will use every shot and possible every disc in your bag on this course. If playing in the Minnesota area for the first time this course is a must.
Cons: Most of the cons of this course are due to its age and are in the proses of being addressed. The layout has been changed because of erosion and IMO it was much better before the change. The course had to pull its signature hole because of the erosion. They are trying to fix the problem and reopen the hole but it may never happen.

1.The flow of this course leaves a bit to be desired, as backtracking occurs on a few holes. IMO it was much better as an 18 hole.

2.There is no signage to speak of. It can be very hard for a first timer to find their way through the first time. It would also help if there was signs for each hole with a description of the the pin placement.

3.Some of the walks for hole to hole are a bit long.

4.The baskets are old but in pretty good shape for the most part.

6.A few of the fairways could use a more clearing.

7.Some of the fairways play over a walking path and you may have to wait for other park users before throwing.

8.Not very beginner friendly. No short tees and some of the rough can be very unforgiving.

I know that they are trying to address all of these problems. The first thing that this course needs and should have is SIGNAGE. The course is pay to play. I have no problem with that but it needs navigation signage at least some new players know where they are going.
Other Thoughts: I had not played this course in 10 years and it has changed a lot over that period of time. It is the first course I ever played. I have talked to some of the people who run the course and the plan is to go back to an 18 hole lay out and make it a Gold Level Course. I think this is a great idea that will solve many of the cons of this course. I really wish the old valley hole was still in because it was one of the most recognized holes in Minnesota disc golf history. I will play this course again and am eager to see how this course evolves in the next few years.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Old Classic

5+    2/22/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: discgobisco
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kaposia is a fantastic course with great variety and style. As an older course, it holds the classic style in an established urban park. While I would not say it operates under confined space, Kaposia does use most of the space available nicely.
- Hole variety is great at Kaposia. Despite most of the holes playing in heavily wooded areas, very few holes play alike.
-Requires you to use a lot of different throws. From drives, to upshots, you need to have all the throws to succeed at Kaposia (a good tomahawk comes in real handy if your drive is a little off.)
- Tee pad improvements started in 2010 and I believe will continue through the following year. The new pads are really nice, some of the old pads really need updating.
-Course is open in the winter. They pull the lower baskets and move a few of the pin placements closer, but the course remains open.
-Picnic table for drinking sodas while waiting.
- Kaposia is a beautiful park, more so than most of the other parks in the metro. It isn't "up-north," but it has the feeling that you aren't right in the city (suburb).
Cons: -With the additional money coming in from the pay to play format, this course has to get some better signage. I've been playing this course for 10 years and still find myself missing a hole every now and then. This can also be dangerous, as another reviewer noted, as some paths through the woods lead to oncoming traffic.
-Tee signs with accurate descriptions of the holes and lengths would be nice. As an old championship caliber course, these aesthetic improvements could help it return to glory.
-There is a litter problem. Pick up your trash, don't be a bitch.
-Pads in some areas are in dire need of face-lift.
-$5 a rounds seems a little steep. I'm not trying to sound cheap and yes I'm talking about $5, but for the improvements they made last year, I didn't see where the money went. Comparatively, Three Rivers/Hennepin Co. just dumped a ton of cash into all three of their courses, especially BL and EC, but they only charge 3$ a day.
Other Thoughts: Erosion is a problem here and the park closes annually in the spring to help control this problem. As the course evolves, It seems like erosion will eventually take the entire course from us, tread lightly.

It's also hard to walk up on the old valley shot and not get sentimental about one of the coolest shots ever. RIP #14

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Minnesota Classic

5+    2/2/2011   2/10/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Site of Cam Todd's 2001 PDGA Pro World Championships victory, Kaposia was once a world class course. It's glory has diminished some with the emergence of new courses, the evolution of the sport, and the decline of the park. In early 2010 it was converted to the pay to play format and has seen a lot of improvements and is being re-established as a phenomenal course.

Large new tee pads were poured on 4 or 5 of the holes. All now feature a large concrete tee pad and nice baskets.

New stairs have been built on several of the holes with elevation change, making for safer travel.

Kaposia is an advanced level course. It's long, varied, and has you throwing in thick woods up and down treacherous fairways. It's an old course, and feels like it. It doesn't have any new school super long bomber holes. It's a technical course that will challenge you to throw a lot of different lines but rarely will you need to throw farther than 350' to card a birdie or easy par.

The "club house" sells a limited selection of plastic.

The pay to play format has really eliminated a lot of undesirable elements. The course is quiet and treated with respect now. Everyone you see there is out to enjoy a friendly round of disc.

Kaposia offers fundamentally satisfying disc golf to the serious disc golfer. If you're looking for a challenging course, this one's for you.
Cons: The park has not aged all that well. It's been maintained by volunteers (thanks!) but, as a result, it's not landscaped like other pay to play courses around here. Bryant Lake, Elm Creek, Blue Ribbon Pines, and Hyland Hills all costs the same or less and are set on beautiful pieces of property and have better amenities and are more aesthetically pleasing. It is for that reason I knocked off a 1/2 star.
Other Thoughts: Kaposia is one of the most challenging courses in the Twin Cities. In the past, it was a 5 star course. It's lost a bit of shine over the years but it's still awesome.

I am a proponent of the Pay-to-Play format here. I feel it's restored the park to elite status. More improvements are planned for the future.

The daily pass is $5, the yearly pass has been raised to $40 for 2011 I understand. If you live in the area, buy a season pass.

If you're coming through on a road trip, you should play Oakwood, The Valley, and Kaposia. 3 four star courses all within 25 minutes of each other southeast of St. Paul. All playable in one day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 shows her age

5+    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: CFH-mn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: new pads, staircase going in, its 1/2 finished,
this course has a little of everything.
26 holes in all- $5 for the day- picnic area
no waiting, minimal hoodlums, much cleaner
HEAVILY WOODED- easy to find discs
bring bright colors- leave all green discs at home...
Cons: HEAVILY WOODED easy to lose disc...
the picnic tables show there age as do the woods.
Other Thoughts: i put in signs with hole # dist par, added a couple arrows were needed.
1st year pay to play is awesome! the long waits to throw are gone.
you get to cross spring fed stream, play on old indian hunting grounds!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hits the Spot

5+    9/20/2009   7/20/2010
Review By: eric2010
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very long, obstacle-filled, elevation changing holes and lots of them. Concrete pads, great baskets. Great practice pin. Pretty well groomed. Friendly crowds. Changes from 18 to 27 holes in summer. Great scenery, wildlife. I can't say enough about this course. Best course I have played.
Cons: Can get exhausting if your stamina ain't up there. There are stretches of holes where every drive needs to be 400 feet or over. Takes a toll on the arm. Some of these holes are so tough, the best one can hope for is a par at times. Gets kinda discouraging. The course layout gets a little confusing so I suggest first timers come with someone familiar with the course. There is one particular transition that is pretty dangerous. You have to walk right into the line of the next guy teeing off to get to the pad.
Other Thoughts: I miss this course soooooo much. Come prepared for about a 2 hour round not counting getting slowed by long searches or crowds. I have a high metabolism so I pack almost a full lunch and several Gatorades or plenty of water. This course really is a gem.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course

2-4    5/13/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is long, really long when they have the extra holes in. There are a good deal of trees to keep you honest and not just throwing it as hard as you can.
Cons: Some holes are not clearly marked where the next tee box is at. This can be challanging your first time playing.
Other Thoughts: If you are a beginner or having an off day, you may find yourself spending a lot of time in the trees.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 2nd Time - Updated

2-4    8/8/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: Erik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Challenging
-Some really great hole designs and distance shots
-Opportunity for multiple pin locations
-Variety of open and wooded
-Easy parking
-LOTS of Ace opportunities
Cons: -Busy
-Very hard to navigate between wooded holes if you have no played there before
-Erosion, poor upkeep, no signage
Other Thoughts: *EDIT* 88/14/09 - removed some commentary & updated for 2nd trip.

On recommendation of a fellow DGCourseReview guy I went back and played the 'extra' holes, and agree, they add to the enjoyment.

Knowing the course layout better helped quite a bit. Less time getting lost, more time planning shots :)

Overall I gave it a 3.5 - I thought some of the holes were really well designed with cool and challenging pin placement, but wasnt that impressed overall with the difficulty or layout, even with the additional pins.

Being that I live in the west metro, there are comparible or better courses in my area, but for east siders, Kaposia is a great local course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't play by yourself the first time!

1    7/29/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: Miller
Played: 98  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.4 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very scenic and challenging course with a lot to offer. It has a good mix of right and left turns. It also has some wide open holes that are both long and short. It even has some long and tight holes to challenge your control and distance. If really want to challenge all of your skills this is a good choice.
Cons: The signage is almost non-existant. Few boxes were marked (although most of the pins were). If it weren't for the many friendly people out there playing we never would have navigated through it correctly as there is no signage from one pin to the next box. I would highly recommend you play with someone who is familiar with the course or follow another group through (which is what we did).
Other Thoughts: The whole time I was playing I kept thinking how cool the course was. On the other hand I would have missed about 5 baskets if it wasn't for the friendly folks. We did skip the extra 6 baskets on the advice of the locals. Maybe next time. My advice is come and enjoy this great course, but bring play with someone who knows the layout.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center