St. Paul (South St. Paul), MN 
Kaposia Park Share
Uploaded By: Craig639 Hole #18 (Taken 10/2008)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach: Stream on right is played casual, path and beyond left OB

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 2nd Time - Updated

2-4    8/8/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: Erik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Challenging
-Some really great hole designs and distance shots
-Opportunity for multiple pin locations
-Variety of open and wooded
-Easy parking
-LOTS of Ace opportunities
Cons: -Busy
-Very hard to navigate between wooded holes if you have no played there before
-Erosion, poor upkeep, no signage
Other Thoughts: *EDIT* 88/14/09 - removed some commentary & updated for 2nd trip.

On recommendation of a fellow DGCourseReview guy I went back and played the 'extra' holes, and agree, they add to the enjoyment.

Knowing the course layout better helped quite a bit. Less time getting lost, more time planning shots :)

Overall I gave it a 3.5 - I thought some of the holes were really well designed with cool and challenging pin placement, but wasnt that impressed overall with the difficulty or layout, even with the additional pins.

Being that I live in the west metro, there are comparible or better courses in my area, but for east siders, Kaposia is a great local course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't play by yourself the first time!

1    7/29/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: Miller
Played: 98  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.5 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very scenic and challenging course with a lot to offer. It has a good mix of right and left turns. It also has some wide open holes that are both long and short. It even has some long and tight holes to challenge your control and distance. If really want to challenge all of your skills this is a good choice.
Cons: The signage is almost non-existant. Few boxes were marked (although most of the pins were). If it weren't for the many friendly people out there playing we never would have navigated through it correctly as there is no signage from one pin to the next box. I would highly recommend you play with someone who is familiar with the course or follow another group through (which is what we did).
Other Thoughts: The whole time I was playing I kept thinking how cool the course was. On the other hand I would have missed about 5 baskets if it wasn't for the friendly folks. We did skip the extra 6 baskets on the advice of the locals. Maybe next time. My advice is come and enjoy this great course, but bring play with someone who knows the layout.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Put some signs in and it might be a 5!

1    7/18/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 358  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Practice basket near start.
-Lots of elevation.
-Perfect amount of woods, not too hard nor too easy.
-Good variation in length and nature of each hole.
-Benches near most tee boxes.
-Friendly locals that will point you on your way to the next hole.
-Hard to lose a disc, no water and the brush isn't too thick.
-18 full holes that aren't too crowded, definitely didn't get boring at all.
-Tee boxes looked old but were in great shape and served their purpose well.
-Park used only for disc golf. Other activities are separate.
Cons: -Poor upkeep overall. Erosion, lots of dust, damage and graffiti on everything.
-No signs of any sort. Most holes have a pole that says the hole number but that's it.
-It is hard to find the way to the next hole many times, especially in the woods and when there's multiple holes close together.
-Can be fairly busy, especially on weekends and evenings.
-Sounds of cars, people and planes at all times if that bothers you.
Other Thoughts: With signs at tees and for navigation this course would be greatly improved. Even without these its one of the best in the state. A must play if in the area.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging but Poor Upkeep

5+    6/29/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: pdirty
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very Challenging, shot making ability definitely comes into play on almost every hole. The ravine holes are a lot of fun and imaginative hole designs.
Cons: The upkeep on many of the holes is poor. I understand that it is played a lot but there is a lot of erosion on the wooded holes and nearly all the ravine holes needs some grass trimming, unfair to penalize even the best drives by having grass that is 6-10 inches tall.
Other Thoughts: If upkeep was better, it would be my favorite course to play, but combination of challenging holes with poor upkeep makes it too difficult for me to always enjoy it.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not for beginners

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has taken the spot as the most challenging and possibly one of my favorites. As lots have said, it takes all your throws, and tests how well you can use each one. There is short holes, long holes, open holes, narrow hallways, ravines, etc.
Cons: It's been reviewed upon a lot so far, but this course is not well marked. I'm still not sure if I played the entire course and am going to go with some people who have played it multiple times sometime soon. This course is NOT good for beginners. I can see it discouraging anybody just by all the tight throws you have to make. They will spend more time searching for discs than playing.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to learn the ropes on

5+    5/30/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: krallbd
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2009
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Lots of distance, so you can huck it as hard as you can.
-A few technical holes that offer chances to try other shots.
-Tee boxes in good condition, but a bit dirty
-24 hole layout offers additional challenge
-Variety of shots necessary for success
Cons: -Gets dirty
-lack of grass and signage
-busy during peak hours
Other Thoughts: It is a great course if played at the right time. Can get too busy and that makes the experience worse. If it is open and nice outside, it is a great course to play and challenge yourself to a Majestic course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/27/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: ledH3ad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long and challenging course. Most holes are wooded, demanding precise shot making. Others are open and really let you let loose. There are an extended 5 holes way in the back that offer some real challenges- i hope they open them up permanently.
Cons: Maintenance on the course needs to be improved. Some efforts have been made on grooming some of the holes, but with the number of people playing this course, degradation is pretty high.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Minnesota Mecca of Disc Golf

2-4    6/14/2008   5/12/2009
Review By: manzilla86
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As my title says, this is the best course I have played. I haven't played a ton of courses, but I have played enough for that statement to mean something. I enjoy courses that require two great shots to get close to the pin, and Kaposia has many of these. I love the large rock landscaping on hole #3 (tiers of large rocks leading up the basket) and hole #8 (perched on the side of a large downhill, if you miss right you have a big uphill putt, but it is worth the miss for the beauty of the pin placement). Also, on the back nine there is a pond and ravine that come into play on multiple holes, and while it isn't fun going into either, those aspects of the course are just two things that make it great. A truly fun course, if you live in Minnesota or Wisconsin (or further away), you should make a pilgrimage to this Minnesota Mecca of Disc Golf.
Cons: The layout can be confusing if you haven't played before. The first time I played here I was with my brother, who already knew the course, but the first time he played the course he accidentally skipped a few holes. Also, losing a disc is very possible on many holes in the dense woods (I have lost a few and found a few on this course).
As others have said, the course is intimidating and frustrating to beginning players. However, when I bring friends here who have a hard time throwing straight, they still seem to appreciate the course despite the courses lack of appreciation for them!
Other Thoughts: Like I said in the Pro's, this is (to me) the Minnesota Mecca of Disc Golf. Give it a try if you haven't been there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/20/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: kgibbs
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long course with many challenging holes and a lot of variety.
Cons: Lots of trees and it's pretty tough to make par on most holes. Not a good course for beginners who might become easily frustrated, but it's basically where I learned to throw so it can be done.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Glad I researched this one, but I wish the other 6 holes were in!

1    4/25/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 871  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Awesome property, awesome design using all the features effectively. Lots of holes with large mature trees with tons of overhanging branches. Lots of tight wooded technical holes.

2) Nice baskets and concrete teepads (except for a couple where they are using carpet for the teepad). Multiple teepads and multiple pin locations make this course very adjustable, and will create completely different holes.

3) Unique holes are abundant. #2 with the basket set amogst a bunch of mature tree roots. Hit one of the roots wrong and you could ned up further than you started. #3 with the stones protecting the basket. #5 down then up a valley makes for a picturesque hole. I cannot imagine the long basket here!!! #7 shooting over some trimmed scrub brush, #8 long shot out of a wooded chute. Then an approach to a basket tucked on the side of a hill that if you overshoot will have at least 30-40 feet back up the hill to the basket. #16 with leaning branches overhanging the fairway makes for a cool shot. They shouldnt come into play but visually it enters your mind. #17 with the basket perched on a sidehill. #18 with the haybales to prevent skip aces from in front of the basket. I wasnt immediately sure if it was protecting from erosion or protecting the basket.

4) Nice variety in distance with #18 being the shortest. #16 is pretty short and easy also, with a handful of holes near or over 400'.
Cons: 1) Not beginner friendly, but thats ok, not every course needs to be!

2) Very little water in play (for the most part), but its pretty hard to hold that against this course when every hole is packed with excitement and challenge.

3) Layout can be confusing to a new player (such as myself) I swear I skipped #9, or maybe I missed an earlier hole and didnt even realize it.

4) Signage could use some upgrades, teesigns would be nice, and directional signs to point you to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the top 3 course I have played to date. I only wish the ravine holes were in play. I should have gone down and walked them just to see how cool they would have been, but I was running out of time. It is a well thought out, well designed, challenging course. Beginners will struggle mightily, and even experiences players might have some problems on some of the holes.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.