St. Paul (South St. Paul), MN 
Kaposia Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Challenging but Poor Upkeep

5+    6/29/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: pdirty
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very Challenging, shot making ability definitely comes into play on almost every hole. The ravine holes are a lot of fun and imaginative hole designs.
Cons: The upkeep on many of the holes is poor. I understand that it is played a lot but there is a lot of erosion on the wooded holes and nearly all the ravine holes needs some grass trimming, unfair to penalize even the best drives by having grass that is 6-10 inches tall.
Other Thoughts: If upkeep was better, it would be my favorite course to play, but combination of challenging holes with poor upkeep makes it too difficult for me to always enjoy it.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not for beginners

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has taken the spot as the most challenging and possibly one of my favorites. As lots have said, it takes all your throws, and tests how well you can use each one. There is short holes, long holes, open holes, narrow hallways, ravines, etc.
Cons: It's been reviewed upon a lot so far, but this course is not well marked. I'm still not sure if I played the entire course and am going to go with some people who have played it multiple times sometime soon. This course is NOT good for beginners. I can see it discouraging anybody just by all the tight throws you have to make. They will spend more time searching for discs than playing.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to learn the ropes on

5+    5/30/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: krallbd
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2009
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Lots of distance, so you can huck it as hard as you can.
-A few technical holes that offer chances to try other shots.
-Tee boxes in good condition, but a bit dirty
-24 hole layout offers additional challenge
-Variety of shots necessary for success
Cons: -Gets dirty
-lack of grass and signage
-busy during peak hours
Other Thoughts: It is a great course if played at the right time. Can get too busy and that makes the experience worse. If it is open and nice outside, it is a great course to play and challenge yourself to a Majestic course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Improvements

2-4    5/27/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: ledH3ad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long and challenging course. Most holes are wooded, demanding precise shot making. Others are open and really let you let loose. There are an extended 5 holes way in the back that offer some real challenges- i hope they open them up permanently.
Cons: Maintenance on the course needs to be improved. Some efforts have been made on grooming some of the holes, but with the number of people playing this course, degradation is pretty high.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Minnesota Mecca of Disc Golf

2-4    6/14/2008   5/12/2009
Review By: manzilla86
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As my title says, this is the best course I have played. I haven't played a ton of courses, but I have played enough for that statement to mean something. I enjoy courses that require two great shots to get close to the pin, and Kaposia has many of these. I love the large rock landscaping on hole #3 (tiers of large rocks leading up the basket) and hole #8 (perched on the side of a large downhill, if you miss right you have a big uphill putt, but it is worth the miss for the beauty of the pin placement). Also, on the back nine there is a pond and ravine that come into play on multiple holes, and while it isn't fun going into either, those aspects of the course are just two things that make it great. A truly fun course, if you live in Minnesota or Wisconsin (or further away), you should make a pilgrimage to this Minnesota Mecca of Disc Golf.
Cons: The layout can be confusing if you haven't played before. The first time I played here I was with my brother, who already knew the course, but the first time he played the course he accidentally skipped a few holes. Also, losing a disc is very possible on many holes in the dense woods (I have lost a few and found a few on this course).
As others have said, the course is intimidating and frustrating to beginning players. However, when I bring friends here who have a hard time throwing straight, they still seem to appreciate the course despite the courses lack of appreciation for them!
Other Thoughts: Like I said in the Pro's, this is (to me) the Minnesota Mecca of Disc Golf. Give it a try if you haven't been there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/20/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: kgibbs
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long course with many challenging holes and a lot of variety.
Cons: Lots of trees and it's pretty tough to make par on most holes. Not a good course for beginners who might become easily frustrated, but it's basically where I learned to throw so it can be done.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Glad I researched this one, but I wish the other 6 holes were in!

1    4/25/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Awesome property, awesome design using all the features effectively. Lots of holes with large mature trees with tons of overhanging branches. Lots of tight wooded technical holes.

2) Nice baskets and concrete teepads (except for a couple where they are using carpet for the teepad). Multiple teepads and multiple pin locations make this course very adjustable, and will create completely different holes.

3) Unique holes are abundant. #2 with the basket set amogst a bunch of mature tree roots. Hit one of the roots wrong and you could ned up further than you started. #3 with the stones protecting the basket. #5 down then up a valley makes for a picturesque hole. I cannot imagine the long basket here!!! #7 shooting over some trimmed scrub brush, #8 long shot out of a wooded chute. Then an approach to a basket tucked on the side of a hill that if you overshoot will have at least 30-40 feet back up the hill to the basket. #16 with leaning branches overhanging the fairway makes for a cool shot. They shouldnt come into play but visually it enters your mind. #17 with the basket perched on a sidehill. #18 with the haybales to prevent skip aces from in front of the basket. I wasnt immediately sure if it was protecting from erosion or protecting the basket.

4) Nice variety in distance with #18 being the shortest. #16 is pretty short and easy also, with a handful of holes near or over 400'.
Cons: 1) Not beginner friendly, but thats ok, not every course needs to be!

2) Very little water in play (for the most part), but its pretty hard to hold that against this course when every hole is packed with excitement and challenge.

3) Layout can be confusing to a new player (such as myself) I swear I skipped #9, or maybe I missed an earlier hole and didnt even realize it.

4) Signage could use some upgrades, teesigns would be nice, and directional signs to point you to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the top 3 course I have played to date. I only wish the ravine holes were in play. I should have gone down and walked them just to see how cool they would have been, but I was running out of time. It is a well thought out, well designed, challenging course. Beginners will struggle mightily, and even experiences players might have some problems on some of the holes.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/18/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: maeittreim
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Really Long Course, makes for some fun 2nd shots. Goes both up and down in over hills making it a really fun and adventurous course to play
Cons: Back 9 all in woods. Really easy to loose a disc on more than 1/2 of the holes because of the up and down hilly landscapes.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kaposia Park, MN

1    8/1/2007   3/13/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 151  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful, mature park with restrooms, ample parking.
Cons: Slight issue with signage as to where to go on course for first time players, especially between hole 8 and tee pad 9. Crowded, very popular course as it should be, which is not really a con, unless your pressed for time.

Other Thoughts: This course plays best for advanced and pro players. Beginners will struggle a bit with some of the blind tee shots and narrow fairways which will take a toll on all players no matter what your ability is. The first four holes play out on a grassy area that gives you a chance to warm up, as it were, then the course heads into the woods where narrow fairways, hidden baskets (from the tee pad), and a lot of cussing is the rule. The wooded area demands very controlled tee and approach shots otherwise you will most likely lose a disc in the schule. On the bright side, if you go looking for your disc and you don't find it, you will most likely run across someone else's lost disc. The final hole eighteen takes you right back from where you started, the parking lot and does not play in the woods, but on a grassy area.
Foliage is dense in the wooded areas, with mature trees and bushes of all types and variety. Some areas are a little sparser than other areas in the woods, but don't count on an errant shot to be there. The terrain is a little hilly, some excellent use of that aspect throughout the course. All fairways have at least one preferred flight path to take from the tee pad with multiple pin placements on most of the holes. First time players should allow for time to walk up the fairways to spot the pin location on that particular hole. If its crowded this may be a drawback.
Ive been told Kaposia is one of the most popular courses in the twin cities area, the well-defined fairways and walking paths support that statement. This was the course I was directed to when I was there visiting and im glad I was able to play it. It stands out as a very challenging course but still fun as heck to play. Time to play the course is longer than an average 6000-foot course because you will inevitably spend time looking for a lost disc, perhaps 2 to 3 hours for a foursome to play. Experienced locals probably do much better than that if its not too crowded.
Tee signs show their age. This course was established in the early eighties I believe? Someone correct me if I'm wrong about that. But, some of the signs look that old. I got lost after playing hole 8. I couldn't find anything to point me towards the next tee, which is across the street and well into another part of the woods. Don't be shy to ask for directions from someone playing the course, the people there are very considerate and friendly.
My experience there as a first time player was great. I did spend time walking up fairways to spot the pin locations and got lost a couple of times trying to find tee pads, but overall it was awesome. The first hole in the woods, hole 5 was my favorite. Definitely a must play if your in that part of Minnesota. I played during the week when it wasn't too crowded though.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Woods Course

5+    10/15/2008   2/28/2009
Review By: Bangchains
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging technical course. Don't let the first four holes fool you as they are the easiest on the course A birdy on these holes is necessary for the strokes you will likely pick up in the woods. The rest of the course has a good mixture of unique holes that will challenge every shot you have. Make an error and you can plan on turning a birdy into a double bogey.
Cons: Very limited signage, difficult to navigate for first timers. Also, gets very busy during peak hours and is a long course when waiting due to lost discs in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Kaposia is definitely one of the must play courses in the Twin Cities. Beginners beware, this course it is not for the light hearted as even the most seasoned player can be eaten alive by Kaposia.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.