Course Extinct
Candler, NC 
Buncombe County Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 101ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Putter's Paradise

1    2/18/2011   2/18/2011
Review By: ashevillain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a nice place for first time players to get the feel of throwing discs. Also a good place to practice your short game no matter your experience level.
Cons: Very short course. You'll be very bored if you come here expecting a real challenge.
Other Thoughts: I'm not even a very good player so take this with a grain of salt. I took 3 discs - 2 putters (a Star Aviar Driver and a KC Pro Pig) and 1 midrange (DX Skeeter) and played each disc separately. It was a VERY WINDY day and I was able to at least par (scored many birdies) with each of the discs. I didn't keep score.

The Buncombe County Sports Complex seems to have enough land that they could build an actual decent 18 hole course. I'm sure there are budgetary constraints but if they could get it worked out it might be nice to let the Sand Hill Elementary school have this course and let the more serious players have a more serious course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ideal for kids and first time players

1    11/20/2009   6/16/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Alternate titles:
"Ace runs galore"
"Cubby's heaven"
"Perfect venue to set the world record for most holes played in 24 hours (if you don't die of boredom)"

*An ideal course to introduce kids and people brand new to throwing discs to the sport. Kids aged 8-10 should absolutely love it!
*Great for ace runs (if you're a teenager or older and have even a little experience). Cubby should move here!
*Simple to navigate. If you can't find your way here then you'd better give up on going to any other courses without someone to hold your hand. I'm pretty sure that any 5 year old can find each tee and basket.
*Beauty- not so much on the course, but with the mountain views in the distance.
*No safety issues
*Impossible to lose a disc
*Quick rounds. It only took me 10 minutes to play.
Cons:
-No obstacles. Not a tree or a bush in play.
-Adults with any experience will get bored very quickly
-The par on the signs is not accurate. In this case it's too low since many are marked as par 2. They don't seem to realize that this is a Green level course, so every hole is a par 3 for Green level players. Most Adults need to understand that their skill level is higher than skill level of the course's intended player, so they will shoot significantly under Green par. This course is a poster child for why consistent par standards are needed for different course levels!
-No amenities but most people playing this course won't really even be looking for much. A map isn't necessary. Score cards would be a nice touch. You can walk a few feet to use almost any basket for a warm up. Benches aren't needed. If you need a restroom just hold it for 10 minutes until you finish your round.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: Green (most suited for kids, very new players, and players rated 800.)
Course Difficulty: 0.3 (out of 10)

I wish that every town had a course like this, and I would have loved to take my kids here when they were small. This is the ideal place to take an 8 year old kid playing their first course. I found it hard to rate this course because it does it's job very well for it's intended player, but my low rating reflects my own personal lack of enjoyment of the course. I even gave it a little extra credit for being such a great Green level course. Since every hole was an open ace run that made it a little fun, but playing once was enough. Even though having only 6 holes is usually like 1/3 of a plate of food, this little appetizer was enough.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beginnerland

1    5/22/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great beginner course. Short easy to navigate. Green grass, mountain views. New tee signs, tee pads, baskets. Hole one next to (large) parking lot. Hours 8 am to 9 pm!
Cons: Super-short holes. Not much elevation. Only 6 holes. No benches.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course... if you're a beginner. Otherwise you may get bored quick (like I did). This is the perfect course to bring a newbie to. It has short, reachable holes for kids or beginners to gain some confidence before heading out to one of the many other (real) courses in the area.
If you want to get your first Ace, come here & play!
DSCJNKY now has two on the first hole!
My favorite hole: #3

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kids, Beginners, and Aces

5+    10/31/2009   10/31/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 258  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great for Kids and Beginners. The holes are SHORT, wide open, and flat. It's a nice little simple course on a grass field. No chance to get lost. No chance to lose a disc. Lots of opportunity for beginners to have fun while learning to throw. And, it's next to an elementary school.
- Safe. DG only part of the park… and, the holes have ample spacing (almost to a fault, since some of the holes could have been longer). Since the course is for wild throwing, inexperienced players… the course designer designed it to be as safe as possible.
- Short Game Practice. I just take a stack of 5 putters and try to throw them all within 10-15' of the basket. Decent practice for me while my girlfriend works on her game.
- Basket Height. Several of the baskets are at varying height levels (shorter than normal), which is good for little kids and makes for some variety in the course (kinda gives you a simulated downhill putt).
Cons:
- Short. Pitch and Putt at best. But, since it is next to an elementary school and designed as a beginner course, it has a place in the DG world.
- Repetetive. Only two holes vary from the rest… one slightly uphill 154' and the other longer at 179'. Otherwise they're straight and flat and just over 100'.
Other Thoughts:
- Ace Runs. This course was the basis for the "Ace: What's Too Short" thread. With hole lengths of 101, 122, 154, 124, 129, 179' and not a tree in sight, ace runs are mandatory. Although, according to the thread… possibly not countable in your Aces tally. The first time I came here I "aced" the 1st hole on my first throw (I don't count it), and my girlfriend wedge-aced the 5th hole (she counts it).
- Pars. For kids and extreme beginners I would call everything a 3… however, for advanced players the tee-signs have four of the holes labeled as Par 2's.
- My Rating. It's really hard to rate a course like this. I give this course a 1.5 knowing that to kids and beginner it probably ranks much higher. But, to the advanced player it definitely ranks lower in terms of Epic DG experiences. So, a 1.5 is a nice little score for a nice little course.
- My Score: I just practice here… no score.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.