Schnecksville, PA 
Neff's Valley Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #3 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Neat 9-holer

1    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 29  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was better than I was expecting. The tee signs were great. The first tee was easy enough to spot, and the course started off with a bang. Nice narrow shot over a stream to an open field. Second shot was a bomb to the other side of the field near the basket. The second hole was then the exact opposite, long first (maybe second) shot in an open field to an approach/putt over the creek. Very neat. The rest of the course was in the woods and was nicely laid out with the land available and the creek coming into play here and there. I thought the variety was great (short, long, wooded, open, dogleg left, dogleg right). Overall, navigation was easy. I didn't even use the course map, the tee signs were more than adequate. Natural tees were acceptable, it doesn't appear the course gets played enough to have them get really warn down. Lawn was mowed, and you shouldn't have to worry about losing a disc here. Great course to introduce new players with. One of the older reviews mention dense foliage, but that didn't appear to be the case to me.
Cons: Some of the baskets are located close together (6 & 9) and I found myself shooting at the wrong basket twice. Partly my fault for only half paying attention, but still somewhat confusing based off the tee sign. Only a problem the first time out. I could see holes 6, 7, & 9 be dangerous since they each use the same open field as a fairway, but I doubt this course ever gets busy enough to worry about it.
Other Thoughts: Stopped by this course while in the area for another function. I drove past the entrance on my original pass, but soon spotted a basket and turned back. There is not parking lot, just park on the grass median between the driving/walking paths. I was the only soul around. I imagine this is what disc golf would be like in Chernobyl. There were a few abandoned buildings and an abandoned pool. Pretty creepy. The course itself was well laid out and took advantage of the land available. I really appreciate courses like this because they take what would otherwise be useless land and make it something for people to enjoy. Having alternate tee off points to turn it into an 18-hole course is also a nice touch, though I only played off the original 9 tees. All tees are marked by colored wood planks in the ground. Holes listed as par 4 are a little inflated for a pro player, they should really all be 3's based off other courses I have played. Not a destination course, but worth a visit if you are in the area visiting some of the other great courses.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 For a niner in a random park, actually not to bad

5+    5/11/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: KAK3990
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Surprisingly long for a 9-holer
-Close proximity to several other excellent Lehigh Valley disc golf courses. (I would recommend Jordan Creek and South Mountain)
-Relatively unused, you have a good chance of playing by yourself
-Above average signage at each teebox
Cons: -Located in a run down, random park
-No real teepads to speak of, they vary but none are great
-No signature hole/really unique hole
Other Thoughts: If your looking to bag some courses or play a nice leisurely round in peace, Neff's Valley is what your looking for. Its located in an unimpressive park, but the designers made good use of what was available.
The creek comes into play on the first 2 holes but it is usually low enough to ensure easy retrieval.
It is close to lots of excellent courses and wont be disappointing if not to far out of your way.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 a quick toss around the creek

1    5/15/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Isolated, easy navigation and nice signage. Small creek in play on hole 1. It is a good course for new players, but it won't bore a B or C tier player. I was surprised to have holes long enough to use my longest drivers on a course this small, but there were multiple places where I could air out some drivers. Other than the previous comment about the roads, the course is intelligently designed to make the most of such a small area and natural features.
Cons: Tiny little 9 holer. A lot of abandon buildings look like they are falling apart around you. I was afraid to go near the building to get one of my discs, a nice hard direct hit with a driver feels like it could topple a building. My biggest pet peeve is when a course plays remotely close to roads, so I have to knock a half point for safety.

If you griplock on hole one you have to walk way past your disc to the bridge, then walk back to the disc.
Other Thoughts: You can play all 9 holes in under a half hour and move on. I played all 9, but did not play multiple tees because the course was flooded at the time due to extreme rain, not poor drainage. Course is quick, simple and the overly generous par can make you feel good with a mediocre round.

(Sorry, not the normal prerube review: I took notes on this course, but they were all lost when my phone was destroyed)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    4/30/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: For a nine hole course in the middle of nowhere, Neff's Valley is not a bad play. While not far from main roads, the course is fairly secluded and does a great job of factoring in numerous aspects of the natural surroundings, including woods, open spaces, Coplay Creek and some mild elevation changes. Further, the differences in hole lengths help bring some additional variety to the table.

The tee signs at Neff's Valley were great. Fairway, distance, expected flight path, and par (which appears to be inflated) were prominently displayed. The baskets were also in great shape.

The lawn in the park appeared to be fairly well maintained as were most of the paths and bridges.

With limited space available, this course attempts to make the most of it by having multiple tees for each hole, turning a basic nine-hole course into a playable 18 holes.

The first hole, while somewhat odd could be a signature hole at this course. Your drive requires a precision throw through narrow gaps between trees that border Coplay Creek, followed by an approach to an open basket.
Cons: Some of the hole layouts didn't seem to make sense or lacked clear lanes. The second hole essentially doubles back on the first, but, unlike the first hole, there is no clear approach. Other holes bordered extremely dense foliage which makes losing a disc a distinct possibility and can create some extremely punishing recovery throws.

While being secluded is a positive aspect of the course, the abandoned pool, out buildings, picnic tables, and other dilapidated structures makes this course creepy as hell. CREEPY AS HELL.

While the tee signs are fantastic, on some of the holes the tee boxes don't appear to be present.

For a few of the holes, the proximity of the baskets and/or fairways to roads does introduce a certain amount of danger that could have been avoided when the course was being designed.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with Neff's Valley. The disc golf community in the slate region has a decent course on their hands that is a much better option than nearby Victory Park. This course would be great for any player, from those new to the game that need exposure to open drives and wooded fairways, to more seasoned players that want a quick 9 or 18 with a bit of variety and a little challenge.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Swap-a-Course...for the better

1    11/1/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 119  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Creepy, abandoned feel - reminds me of the late 90's when area courses weren't as heavily used
• Gets the Coplay Creek involved on holes 1, 2, 4 & 5
• Good length on a few holes (400+ ft. on 1, 2 & 7)
• Decent mix of wooded/open/water holes
• Very manageable rough, disc loss highly improbable
• Baskets in good shape
• Easily navigated (even w/o tee signs, arrows, etc)
• For newer players, good introduction to challenging disc golf
• Favorite Hole: #5, it's the tightest wooded hole with decent length culminating at a smartly placed basket on the edge of the Coplay Creek
Cons: • Brand new course (which will certainly change over time)
• Just 9 holes (so play it twice!)
• Some holes play too close to one another (1 & 2 especially although I like both holes)
• Natural tees which are marked with white flags
• Signs are wooden stakes with the hole #
• Really limited space (but land allocated is used well)
• Seems a bit right hand biased
• A couple holes near the road (#2 but especially 7)
• Weakest hole is #3; it just feels more like a 'transition'
Other Thoughts: I was perplexed when I heard this new 9 holer was recently installed…and right up the road from Levens Rec. Park (another 9 hole course…and not at all good). Why would we need another nine hole course in that area? The Greater Lehigh Valley has plenty of excellent courses to offer…it just didn't make sense. Until I read a posting on the lvdiscgolf.org message board that this course is REPLACING the 'not good' nearby Levens Rec. Park (the baskets from there were used at this course)!

This revelation has certainly altered my initial view about this course. I could go on and on about the many improvements this course needs. But it's a brand new course and will develop. The variety, length and risk factor elevates it above your typical nine hole park pitch/putt. But of course, this is the Lehigh Valley and I wouldn't expect anything less. They know they're disc golf 'round here and will squeeze everything possible out of an allocated piece of land - even if that land (and it's subsequent disc golf yield) isn't the optimal choice.

Neff's Valley Park replaces a nearby (inferior) course and re-uses the resources (baskets) on a neglected piece of land in an efficient way. All this while offering a degree of variety and challenge not readily seen in a nine hole course. Hopefully the local players can stop by, give it a play, review it and share their perspective. I enjoyed it and will stop by every now and again when I'm close by to see how it evolves.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Discing by the Pool!

1    1/16/2010   11/3/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course surprised me. I was expecting a simple nine hole course set on the grounds of an abandoned public pool. I figured I would bring my midranges and a token driver. To my pleasant surprise I could bring my full bag as there are real holes here. The first 2 holes are long open field shots over 400 ft each with #1 starting over a healthy creek and #2 finishing over the same creek. The stream comes into play 2 more times in the next 3 wooded holes before the course finishes utilizing an open field in an uncramped manner. #7 is over 400 ft with a 20 ft elevation gain over an open field. The finisher is a solid rhbh anhyzer. For added challenge you can play the access road as OOB on holes 6&7. The park is eerily set on the grounds of an abandoned Public Pool so there is zero traffic here. With 4 stream holes, 3 woodsy holes, and 6 more open holes there is ample variety here to keep you interested. It's definetely worth playing twice. Plenty of parking. Great tee signs in place and theres dual tees on 7 of the 9 baskets making an 18 hole day possible. Alternate tees change the holes enough to make it interesting often going from lefty to righty hole etc.
Cons: Ample Parking and port-o-potty available (even in winter). The course is set on the dilapidated grounds of an old public pool and disc golf seems to be the first use the land has seen in years,however grass is mowed and fairways are clear.Nothing truly special here to draw you back. Natural Tees can get sloppy. Outside of the gradual elevation gain on 7 there is no elevation in play. Holes 1 & 2, 10 &11 utilize the same huge field as a fairway and might intersect one another if course is ever busy.(improbable)
Other Thoughts: Another worthy nine holer for the region. With Upper Macungie, Angelica, Unami, and Eurana this area has a plethora of quality 9 hole courses.When entering lot, holes #1 & #2 are to the left and #3 is straight ahead and shoots from the lot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.