Schnecksville, PA
Neff's Valley Share
Uploaded By: rpiano Hole #13 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 244ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Neat 9-holer

1    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 25  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was better than I was expecting. The tee signs were great. The first tee was easy enough to spot, and the course started off with a bang. Nice narrow shot over a stream to an open field. Second shot was a bomb to the other side of the field near the basket. The second hole was then the exact opposite, long first (maybe second) shot in an open field to an approach/putt over the creek. Very neat. The rest of the course was in the woods and was nicely laid out with the land available and the creek coming into play here and there. I thought the variety was great (short, long, wooded, open, dogleg left, dogleg right). Overall, navigation was easy. I didn't even use the course map, the tee signs were more than adequate. Natural tees were acceptable, it doesn't appear the course gets played enough to have them get really warn down. Lawn was mowed, and you shouldn't have to worry about losing a disc here. Great course to introduce new players with. One of the older reviews mention dense foliage, but that didn't appear to be the case to me.
Cons: Some of the baskets are located close together (6 & 9) and I found myself shooting at the wrong basket twice. Partly my fault for only half paying attention, but still somewhat confusing based off the tee sign. Only a problem the first time out. I could see holes 6, 7, & 9 be dangerous since they each use the same open field as a fairway, but I doubt this course ever gets busy enough to worry about it.
Other Thoughts: Stopped by this course while in the area for another function. I drove past the entrance on my original pass, but soon spotted a basket and turned back. There is not parking lot, just park on the grass median between the driving/walking paths. I was the only soul around. I imagine this is what disc golf would be like in Chernobyl. There were a few abandoned buildings and an abandoned pool. Pretty creepy. The course itself was well laid out and took advantage of the land available. I really appreciate courses like this because they take what would otherwise be useless land and make it something for people to enjoy. Having alternate tee off points to turn it into an 18-hole course is also a nice touch, though I only played off the original 9 tees. All tees are marked by colored wood planks in the ground. Holes listed as par 4 are a little inflated for a pro player, they should really all be 3's based off other courses I have played. Not a destination course, but worth a visit if you are in the area visiting some of the other great courses.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/2/2011   11/3/2011
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A pretty even mix of open and tight holes. No trouble with navigation.

The creek comes into play nicely on several holes. No trouble with retrieval if you splash down.

IMO they did a fine job with space they had, and even though you play some holes within view of a house or three, most of the holes give enough privacy.
Cons: A couple of the tee areas were pretty slick, and could use some tlc.

Number nine was drenched, but that's to be expected with the recent rain/snow.
Other Thoughts: A challenging 9 holer, that hits you right out of the gate with a 417 footer though a narrow alley that opens up for the approach, then a 354 footer to a well guarded basket.

Tougher than most of nine holers that I've played. Worth a visit

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 For a niner in a random park, actually not to bad

5+    5/11/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: KAK3990
Played: 43  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Surprisingly long for a 9-holer
-Close proximity to several other excellent Lehigh Valley disc golf courses. (I would recommend Jordan Creek and South Mountain)
-Relatively unused, you have a good chance of playing by yourself
-Above average signage at each teebox
Cons: -Located in a run down, random park
-No real teepads to speak of, they vary but none are great
-No signature hole/really unique hole
Other Thoughts: If your looking to bag some courses or play a nice leisurely round in peace, Neff's Valley is what your looking for. Its located in an unimpressive park, but the designers made good use of what was available.
The creek comes into play on the first 2 holes but it is usually low enough to ensure easy retrieval.
It is close to lots of excellent courses and wont be disappointing if not to far out of your way.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 a quick toss around the creek

1    5/15/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Isolated, easy navigation and nice signage. Small creek in play on hole 1. It is a good course for new players, but it won't bore a B or C tier player. I was surprised to have holes long enough to use my longest drivers on a course this small, but there were multiple places where I could air out some drivers. Other than the previous comment about the roads, the course is intelligently designed to make the most of such a small area and natural features.
Cons: Tiny little 9 holer. A lot of abandon buildings look like they are falling apart around you. I was afraid to go near the building to get one of my discs, a nice hard direct hit with a driver feels like it could topple a building. My biggest pet peeve is when a course plays remotely close to roads, so I have to knock a half point for safety.

If you griplock on hole one you have to walk way past your disc to the bridge, then walk back to the disc.
Other Thoughts: You can play all 9 holes in under a half hour and move on. I played all 9, but did not play multiple tees because the course was flooded at the time due to extreme rain, not poor drainage. Course is quick, simple and the overly generous par can make you feel good with a mediocre round.

(Sorry, not the normal prerube review: I took notes on this course, but they were all lost when my phone was destroyed)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    4/30/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: For a nine hole course in the middle of nowhere, Neff's Valley is not a bad play. While not far from main roads, the course is fairly secluded and does a great job of factoring in numerous aspects of the natural surroundings, including woods, open spaces, Coplay Creek and some mild elevation changes. Further, the differences in hole lengths help bring some additional variety to the table.

The tee signs at Neff's Valley were great. Fairway, distance, expected flight path, and par (which appears to be inflated) were prominently displayed. The baskets were also in great shape.

The lawn in the park appeared to be fairly well maintained as were most of the paths and bridges.

With limited space available, this course attempts to make the most of it by having multiple tees for each hole, turning a basic nine-hole course into a playable 18 holes.

The first hole, while somewhat odd could be a signature hole at this course. Your drive requires a precision throw through narrow gaps between trees that border Coplay Creek, followed by an approach to an open basket.
Cons: Some of the hole layouts didn't seem to make sense or lacked clear lanes. The second hole essentially doubles back on the first, but, unlike the first hole, there is no clear approach. Other holes bordered extremely dense foliage which makes losing a disc a distinct possibility and can create some extremely punishing recovery throws.

While being secluded is a positive aspect of the course, the abandoned pool, out buildings, picnic tables, and other dilapidated structures makes this course creepy as hell. CREEPY AS HELL.

While the tee signs are fantastic, on some of the holes the tee boxes don't appear to be present.

For a few of the holes, the proximity of the baskets and/or fairways to roads does introduce a certain amount of danger that could have been avoided when the course was being designed.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with Neff's Valley. The disc golf community in the slate region has a decent course on their hands that is a much better option than nearby Victory Park. This course would be great for any player, from those new to the game that need exposure to open drives and wooded fairways, to more seasoned players that want a quick 9 or 18 with a bit of variety and a little challenge.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A nifty set of nine

1    3/27/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Even after playing several other more impressive courses in the Allentown area, I still had a good time playing here. Some of the pros include:

- water hazards (the little stream is in play for several holes)

- Nice technical shots (#3 and 4 in particular) are balanced by some open-air bombs.

- signage is good and holes are easy to find.

All in all, this little course is more difficult than meets the eye, but is still very do-able for a beginner. In fact, I think it's a great place to introduce someone to the game (see below).
Cons: - a lot of clutter with the pavilions, pool equipment, and other miscellaneous garbage, although they don't really interfere with any holes. It's more of an eyesore than anything.

- posted signs make the place a little unfriendly. I had this feeling that the cops were going to come the whole time and I wasn't even doing anything wrong. It also makes you think twice about throwing any errant discs.

- The par fours are a little generous -- especially with number 7. I think this shot can easily be achieved in 3 tries.

- some holes are very short (< 200 feet)
Other Thoughts: All things considered, this is a very nice nine hole course. I would kill for a course like this near my hometown for a quick round.

I recommend playing here after a day of rounds at Little Lehigh Parkway and Jordan Creek as a way of relaxing and restoring your ego. This is also a great place to introduce someone to disc golf since it contains, in my opinion, many of the elements needed for a true disc golf experience: water hazards, open air bombs, tight wooded technical shots, and doglegs -- all without being too terribly challenging!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Hole lengths / pars

5+    11/14/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: Daumer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: #1 - 417' - Pro 3 - Am 4
#2 - 354' - Pro 3 - Am 4
#3 - 190' - Pro 3 - Am 3
#4 - 280' - Pro 3 - Am 3
#5 - 265' - Pro 3 - Am 3
#6 - 290' - Pro 3 - Am 3
#7 - 438' - Pro 3 - Am 4
#8 - 354' - Pro 3 - Am 3
#9 - 340' - Pro 3 - Am 3
If someone knows how to update the hole stats with these numbers, I'd appreciate it. - Thanks

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Much better than Levans...

2-4    11/9/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: adlacro
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes with the baskets from Levans still in great shape. Nice mix of shorter, tighter holes with some longer, tougher holes. The Coplay Creek comes into play with the tee shot on one, the approach shot (or putt, for those with bigger arms) on two, the tee and part of the fairway on four, and it runs beyond the basket of hole 5. Seven of the nine holes have alternate tees. Nice tee signs with pictures, well done. Course has two loops with 3 being a short, deuceable filler hole. Not your typical nine hole course for sure. Despite the water holes, the creek is usually shallow enough to get discs without too much of a hassle.
Cons: Not much in the way of elevation (hole 7 goes up maybe 15 feet or so but otherwise this course is flatter than a pancake. I'm sure the natural tees will be muddy after rain, and the area is probably prone to flooding.
Other Thoughts: I can't complain though. For as many flaws and complaints that Levans had is as many positives and complements that Neffs has and will continue to get. The hope is for more holes eventually, but some issues need to be discussed. Great job by all who had their hands in the building and design of this course. I enjoyed it and can't wait to get up there again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice 9 hole

2-4    11/6/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: aklimbing
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The people who designed the course and take care of it are proud of there accomplishment and they should be. Its a nice course with some longer holes and some challenging holes for both backhand throwers and flick throwers.
Cons: The park is run down, but needs people like disc golf players to utilize the area. The course also seems like it can be wet for several days after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: Its really close to LCCC and will get better if people go play. I would recommend playing this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Nice new course

1    11/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: Ckppr76
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is nice and quite there was nobody there when we played. The have alternate tee so you can play it as an 18 hole course. The tee signs are up and are very nice. This is a nice place to go and play a few rounds and not have to worry about losing discs.
Cons: The park is run down.
Other Thoughts: This is

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.