Burlington, KY
Boone Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: InnocentCrook Hole #2 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Boone Woods: Disc Golf 101

1    9/3/2011   9/3/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 155  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 9.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quiet, simple, friendly course with just enough to make a good course:
Basics well in-hand: baskets, pads and signs all in good shape.
Moderately rolling terrain makes holes play longer/shorter than posted distances.
Pretty straightforward, with just enough trees to add reasonable difficulty (to what would otherwise be a point and shoot course out in the open).
Just enough distance on the Front 9 to make drivers worthwhile.
Just technical enough on the Back 9 where control is really an asset over distance.
Nice flow from to hole and wonderful signs make navigation pretty much foolproof. Tee markers provide distance, line, and point towards the next tee. Just check the tee sign to see which direction to head after you putt out and walk till to see the next tee marker.
Front and Back nine are two separate loops which start/end near the parking lot. Easy to play quick rounds, finish a round you started, or play a couple of rounds on the longer more open Front, or the shorter, more technical Back.
Not much time searching for discs.
Cons: There's really not a lot "wrong" with this course, but...
Not very challenging (then again, Idlewild's just minutes away).
A few holes on the Back 9 have tees that are close to the previous basket, so make sure everyone ahead is well clear of you.
Back 9 takes you through areas of a multi-use park that are not dedicated to disc golf or close to people's back yards; caution and courtesy are warranted.
Other Thoughts: Although not epic or demanding in any way, there's certainly no crime in being decent.

Definitely one of the best beginner courses I've seen anywhere. Many beginner courses are simple pitch & putt, featuring all short holes, or holes completely in the open, usually on fairly flat ground. As mentioned earlier, this course just enough rolling terrain for novices to see how elevation changes make holes play shorter or longer. Just enough trees to appreciate that disc golf requires shot shaping, rather than simply going straight at the basket. Just enough variety to require drivers, mids and putters from the tee. Just enough distance (on the front) that most people playing for the first few times will think that holing out in 3 strokes is a healthy stretch. No denying this course is solid, well designed, and stands on its own merit.

The few holes with water were dry when I played, but even if present, would be shallow enought to not present a disc loss risk.

BONUS info: located quite in the heart of suburbia with all kinds of eateries nearby. YMCA right next to course was happy to let me take a shower for a small donation, and Boone County Public Library close enough for me to write this review and post it immediately after my round.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, easy play

1    6/18/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: tennissaxplaya
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course did a pretty good job using what land it had to work with, especially on the wooded holes on the back 9. The holes did not seem to favor a specific type of throw, and most holes at least had a couple of defined throwing lanes. I appreciate the use of distance on the front nine, although none of the holes would be long enough to consider being a par 4, and it was nice to have some more technical holes on the back 9. I felt like the baskets, tee pads and signs were in very good shape.
Cons: I felt like this course did get a little repetitive on the front nine with all but 1 hole basically being an open driving hole. While the course incorporated some distance (multiple holes over 300 ft), and some wooded holes (a good part of the back 9), there did not seem to be any combination of the two. There was not an excessive amount of challenge, because you either threw it fair, or threw it straight and were in good shape.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course. Having not really played in months, I still shot a 2-under round, which easily could have been 5-under with a couple of mulligans. I did appreciate the fact that I never had any trouble finding a disc playing by myself. This is a nice course and if I lived closer, I would love to bring some of my more casual disc golfing friends to this course as opposed to Lincoln Ridge or Idlewild. Lastly this course does have some variety, in that I did have to consider distances on the short holes, where some courses, you just throw hard and then putt and approach.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/9/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: dbcaldwell
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Back 9 are the best for ace shots and lowering your score. It is a great course to play a quick round of DG, or just to practice in general. NOTE: Master BW before trying to lower you Idlewilde score.
Cons: Front 9 can be aggravating . Hole 4 can be rough because of the trees. I normally throw a sidearm Beast and will hopefully be guaranteed a par opportunity

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A piece of work.

1    3/16/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.9 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads, Tee signs, Baskets, Defined fairways, Variety of holes, Water hazards, Clean, Not crowded, Parking, Restrooms, Maintained, Fun and best of all its FREE!
Cons: Short holes, Safety hazards and No practice basket (currently used on hole #5)
Other Thoughts: The course is located in a county park that is maintained by Boone County. The concrete tee pads and comprehensive tee signs mounted on 4x4 and a hanging bucket makes it easy to navigate. They are consistent throughout the course giving an easy landmark for the next hole. I was the only person playing and had no problem navigating or issues with locating the next tee or basket.
Course offers fairways that are open rolling hills with elevation changes -/+, heavily wooded tunnels, tight doglegs and water hazards. All the characteristics of a disc golf course that we look for it was there just not on a large scale. The back half of the course does have a few short holes with tee pads close to the previous baskets and close to some townhouses, but these are the technical holes. I enjoyed the time playing the course it will challenge a beginner yet satisfy the appetite for an intermediate player. It serves its purpose.
I am not from the area and had punched in the coordinates to several courses and this was the first one it led me to. It wasn't till after I played and was looking at my navigation system to take me to the next course closest to me is when I realized I was only 1.7 mi. away from Idle wild and not far away from Lincoln Ridge either. I was disappointed because it was too late to play either and surprised to have so many quality courses so close together.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/27/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: JonRoc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great course to be relaxed yet still challenged.
-Great for practicing and perfecting any Disc Golf technique.
-Hole to hole you are challenged in a new way and it helps you grow in the mental aspect of disc golf.
Examples:
I. Hole 1 is a nice warm-up hole that you can approach in a variety of ways.
II. Hole 2 has slight trees in the fairway and can be easily Hyzered.
III. Hole 3 & 4 challenge you with hilly terrain and trees.
IV. Hole 5 is a bit longer and usually requires you to read the wind and throw accordingly. Many times I have thought the wind calm only to find out that 100' down the fairway your disc gets ripped to the right.

The back nine add finesse challenges with narrow passages through trees yet the course finishes off nicely with holes 16-18 being open and longer.





Cons: Only a few holes are over 300' not much of a challenge for distance.
Can get very muddy very easily!
Other Thoughts: Since the renovation in 2009 the Boone County Parks system has always been making improvements on the course. They recently added 2 bridges and have been keeping the course nice and tidy when needed. This course is well on its way to becoming a 3.5 rated course that every disc golfer should check out if possible.

Any level player can enjoy playing here, sometimes I will take only my KC Pro for 18 holes and do great!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/12/2011   2/12/2011
Review By: vizi25
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: very fun and quick course, great for beginners, the tee pads are kept in great shape and easy to see next holes. the front nine are average 300 ft. and open and the back nine are average 150 to 200 with tricky shots for good practicing
Cons: not many cons just could be bigger

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Growing on me.

5+    1/18/2011   1/20/2011
Review By: Shex44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.9 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a short course, so I can take beginner friends or my girlfriend there. Back nine is shorter than the front. Holes 3 & 4 are the hardest on the course. #4 is the only hole that COULD be considered a "par 4" by a good player. The new design of 13 is much better. A big pro for me is that I live 3 miles away.
Cons: It's short. Holes 10-17 are easily deuceable. 11, 12, 14, and 15 are really short. My girlfriend, who has played maybe 10 times, has hit the basket off the tee on 12 and 15 in the same round.
Other Thoughts: At first I didn't like the new design, but the more I play it the more I like it for what it is. You can play a round in under an hour. It doesn't let you rip it off the tee every hole, but it is good practice.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    10/27/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Boone Woods Park has a nice little 18 hole course that is a nice contrast to Idlewild that is about a mile away. This course is located in a great little park that has a bunch of stuff to do like tennis, soccer, horseshoes, and has a great playground with a huge fort for the kids. There are also a couple of bathrooms along/near the course that are very convenient. The course has very nice baskets, tees tee signs and garbage buckets on every sign. There is a very nice mix of open and wooded holes. Although most of the previous reviews mentioned how short a course this is there are 7 holes that are over 300 feet and let you air it out a little bit. Most of the wooded holes are very short but have little to no underbrush to worry about. On most holes there is at least a little bit of shot shaping required but still a lot of different lines to the basket. There is not a ton of elevation on this land but it was used to good effect for the course. Also you can see that this course is well maintained. The fairways were mowed and there was no trash anywhere on the course. Also there are some very nice bridges that have been built exclusively for the disc golf course. This course was a very fun play and I really enjoyed holes number 3 and 4. #3 is a 330 ft hole that weaves goes over a wooded gulley to a slightly sloped pin. This is followed by #4 which is 350ft and tees off from the open over a little creek and slightly up hill to a well protected pin.
Cons: This course is definitely not a overly challenging play, especially when compared to other courses in the area. It would be great for a beginner or intermediate player. A couple of the holes have townhouses or yards of homes near by and could come into play on a bad shot or a windy day. Holes 11, 12 and 13 felt very cramped together in the woods and the walk between 9 and 10 was a little disconnected. Holes 5, 6, 7 and 8 were very wide open and kind of boring.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course that I think would do very well in a place where Idlewild and Banklick were not so close. Although not remarkable I would still suggest to anybody to give it a try. This would be a great park to bring your kids to so they can enjoy the sweet fort while you go discing.

There was a very bad storm the day before I played this course and quite a few trees and branches were down although not many effecting the disc golf course. Unfortunately basket #1 got dinged by a branch and while still usable it has a slight bent top that makes for a narrower entrance to the front of the basket (closest to the tee). The local public works department already had most of the debris cleared by the time we got there to play so other than the basket it should not be a factor. I never saw the practice basket that is supposed to be there so I have no idea if it survived the storm.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Idlewilds Handicapped Brother

1    10/9/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: SmoothSailor
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging holes, plenty of chance to take a high score on most holes. Water comes into play on several holes and there are a couple of long holes throwing downhill. Good mix between woods and field, excellent mix of hills and flat ground, didn't really notice any elevation changes while walking.
Cons: I can't really remember any cons to the course, but it wasn't an awe-inspiring 4.5-5.0 course.
Other Thoughts: My friend who was guiding me around the course called it "Idlewild's retarded brother." We played this course on our first day at 7:30am and it was perfect. By the time we were done with the round it was time to take the hoodies off.

This course has a ton of trees once you get into the woods and a lot of the holes have a hill in play either up or down, so watch your shots and keep everything solid; one wrong kick from a tree could end up giving you 3 extra strokes on a hole.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Moderate Course

1    7/2/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 60  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Every hole challenges you in a different way
-Great elevation changes
-The pin shows what hole the pin goes to by placing the hole number on top of the pin
-The practice pin allows you to practice before you get started
-It is a great beginner course
-It is taken care of pretty well
Cons: -On some of the tees the sign is gone so you dont know which pin you are going for
-Every hole is a par 3
-It doesn't have many long holes
-It doesn't really challenge you
-You have to walk through the park to get to the next hole sometimes and it can interfere with you while you are playing
-Not many people play there
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't really stand a chance, because Idlewild is right down the road and Lincoln Ridge is not too far away. So many people would rather go there than go to here. Out of all the courses that i have played this was the most moderate and didn't challenge me in different ways.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.