Casper, WY 
Casper DGC Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #14
3 / --   3 / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/25/2014   5/3/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Decent signage which shows all possible pin locations, of course there is the ever present problems of determining the current position.
+There are usually 3-4 pin positions per hole, great for the locals.
+A lof of variety on this course, there are some fairly long holes (600+ for hole 6). There are some shorter holes in the mid 200s. Aces can be had here. The course is on the longer side overall but it's not too long. There are some holes that are more open and some with pretty significant obstacles. Nothing is too tight because it isn't a dense forest but they do put trees in the way pretty well.
+Elevation! A good Wyoming course wouldn't be complete without a little of this. This course is pretty flat with just a few little bumps before hole 7. That hole is about 275' to the base of a very steep hill. It makes for an interesting shot to think about. It can play tricks on your mind and discs. Hole 8 is on top of the hill but is very dangerous as you could easily go right back down. Hole 9 is straight down the hill and is a great bomber hole.
+Large cement tees
+Nice basketes
+Practice basket
+Great complimentary course just across the bike path make for 36 awesome holes of DG in the same park.
+The scenery is pretty cool here. Especially the views of Casper and Casper Mountain from 7-9. The course also has a very unique Western feel to it with the promise of seeing snakes, and cacti.
+Potential for water holes on a few of them if it has rained recently. It was bone dry when I played.
Cons: -Can be super windy
-Your disc could land in a giant growth of cacti, bring tough shoes
-Some of the bottom holes aren't really that fun and get repetitive. They did a lot with the limited trees and elevation that they had to work with on some of these but many of them are a little long, open, and flat for my liking.
-Blind pins and multiple pin positions make for a difficult round for a traveler.
-Could lose a disc or at least have a hard time getting it out of the piles of tumbleweeds or giant sage brushes.
-The closing holes on this course were pretty week. Holes 15,16, and 18 weren't that fun and were just there to get you back to where you started. At least it did that!
Other Thoughts: +They could have incorporated the hillside a little more. It is only used on 3 holes.
+It is great to have the slightly easier Bullsnake Alley on site. Definitely a disc golf destination in the middle of Wyoming. Other than Bullsnake, there isn't a course for over 100 miles so play here!
+I would definitely recommend a stop here if you are in the area or are passing through on I25. The courses here were fun, unique, and interesting. They weren't too busy and 36 holes barely took me over 2 hours.
+The markings for this course are white and Bullsnake's are orange so don't get them confused.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Riverside and Hillside

2-4    4/14/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 57  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 Hole course is off by itself on an interesting piece of land. About half of the course utilizes a riverside area with a good number of trees, while the other half uses a hillside that is more barren, but offers a lot of elevation.

All holes have very nice concrete teepads, except for a couple up on the hill where it would be difficult to get concrete.

Very nice steel tee signs with the hole number cut into a vertical steel plate, and a hole map attached to a horizontal surface. These signs are painted white which distinguishes them from the red signs on the adjacent Bullsnake Alley course.

There are four pin positions at each holes, and they offer very different angles and distances. In most cases the longest position is about twice the distance of the shortest. So amazing variety available on this course.

Each basket has a marker pointing to the next teepad, which helps navigation for a travelling player like myself.

The lower section of the course (first holes and final holes) plays among the trees that line the river. The river is never in play, but the trees and numerous pin positions require a lot of line-shaping on your drives.

The middle portion of the course plays up, down and across the large hillside. The view from the Hole 9 teepad is outstanding, with the backdrop of the mountains. And the big drive down is a nice reward after struggling to drive up the hill on the earlier holes.
Cons: With four widely variable basket locations available on each hole I found myself having to walk way forward on many of the holes just to locate the basket. The tee signs show and label the four positions so it would be great to have a marker available to show the current basket location.

I played in early spring, and the snowmelt had left some standing water in spots, and made the hillside very slippery. Climbing up and down the hills got pretty sporty a few times as the clay up there gets very greasy when wet.

The middle part of the course has few trees to work with, so some of the holes were basically open drives over level ground. Others however offered a lot of elevation.
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked this course quite a lot. It was the fifth course that I played in Wyoming and the best so far. I liked that the course is by itself on a dedicated piece of land, and isn't in a multi-use park competing with other activities. Other than a couple of dog-walkers I didn't run into anyone else.

On the days I played the wind was a constant factor. I imagine that is often the case out here. I'll bet this course plays very differently on a calm day. Maybe I will get a chance to find out one day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

1    6/16/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: discallday
Played: 112  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety in hole lengths; most - if not all - of the holes have 4 pin placements, ranging from less than 200 to more than 600 feet.
The availability of all of these pin placements also prevent the course from favoring righties or lefties.
Moderate usage of elevation as mentioned in the previous review. The wind (which was strongish when I played) also added some interest for each shot. Beautiful scenery if you like deserts, and I did. I saw two jack-rabbits, and a lot of cool vegetation that I am not used to seeing on a disc golf course.
Disc Golf does not seem to conflict with people using the walking/bike paths.
Cons: If it's your first time playing, the course will be hard to follow without a map and more detailed signage is needed in order to tell where the next teebox is located. Many of the holes have very useful signs detailing all of the pin placements and distances, but around half of these were damaged or missing.
I do wish there was a bit more elevation used. But for the most part, the minimal elevation variety is used pretty well.
This course is pretty open, which prevents it from having much in the way of wooded technical holes. However, when there are obstacles, there are often a number of possible routes to the basket.
Other Thoughts: I am a big fan, and now that I've made it around, I really wish I could go back and play it again. If it had more detailed signage or loaner maps readily available at the first tee, this course would get 4.5 stars from me.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Great View of Casper Mountain

5/14/2008   5/14/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Casper's DGC is tucked away behind the bike path that meanders along the North Platte River. The river itself never comes into play, but the natural vegetation forms a fun maze of cottonwoods, shallow ponds and high-country cactus. As a big fan of courses not set in a city park, I appreciate this slice of Wyoming rolling prairie and river setting. Numbers seven through nine in my opinion are the crown jewel of the course, they utilize the northern hill, bringing elevation and therefore vistas into play.

All of the teeboxes are paved except for numbers eight and nine, probably because of the difficulty of getting a cement truck up there. It is hard enough to drag your own butt up there, making the fact that they laid garden stones for the number nine tee-box an impressive feat. Every hole has four pin locations and signage that shows the location and distance for the locations. There are arrows on most baskets that direct you to the next box. The alternate pin locations are key here because every hole can either be a short birdie or a long, "count yourself lucky if you make par" hole. If the locations are changed often than this course would take a long time to get old.

The view from nine is great, you see the city and the mountains. Other stand-out holes include; number five which plays over a shallow pond with noisy frogs, and number thirteen that played alongside the base of a hill that had antelope on my visit. The pin locations were all near some interesting obstacle.
Cons: Outside of seven through nine, the course felt like a dizzying maze of the same big arm and around a tree shot. I think though, with all the different directions you face it can make for a decent wind course as well.

You have to be up for the climbs on seven, and eight if you miss, as well as the steep climb down nine, but the downhill tee shot on nine is worth it. A player would be wise to have water. It was muddy on the day I played. The signs were missing on numbers three and fourteen. The arrow on the basket number two lead me in the wrong direction and it took a little work to get back on course. Many of the basket arrows seemed misplaced, but the tee signs also display the location of the next box so it doesn't take much work to figure out. The place could use more sitting places, either logs or benches. It is long and I got tired in a few spots. It would have been super cool to kick back on number nine.
Other Thoughts: It was a little bit hard to find but have no fear, the directions are solid, its just the park roads are so narrow and somewhat confusing. The park which is really just thirty yards from number one, has bathrooms. I'm very glad I made the trip. Even though I know I'm allergic, I wish I could have been in Casper on a day that the trees are in bloom.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.